DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/23/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings were submitted on 05/05/2025. These drawings are reviewed and accepted by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kumar (US 20110257989 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 8, and 15, Kumar teaches:
“obtaining an indication to provide access to a prescription resource at an electronic computing device associated with a user” (par. 0023; ‘The patient 110 may use the prescription management application 102 to manage his or her prescriptions or other prescription-related health care data.’)
“causing one or more user interfaces to be provided at the electronic computing device to perform an action prerequisite to providing access to the prescription resource, the one or more user interfaces using a communication mode selected based on configuration information associated with the electronic computing device, the configuration information indicating compatibility of the electronic computing device to provide output to the user or receive input from the user in accordance with the selected communication mode” (par. 0045, prescription identifier; ‘The prescription entry prompt 246 may be displayed on the graphical user interface 216 of the mobile communication device 204 in response to the patient's selection of a prescription entry prompt activation button 248. The prescription entry prompt 246 includes a prescription identifier field 250.’; par. 0058, application settings for notifications; ‘In one embodiment, the prescription management application 202 may also have application settings that are customizable or changeable by the patient 210. For example, the patient 210 may change the method by which the patient 210 is notified when his or her prescription is ready for retrieval at the pharmacy 212. Non-limiting examples of the type of notification the patient 210 may receive include a graphical notification, such as the prescription availability notification 214, or an audio notification.’); and
“causing the prescription resource to be provided at the electronic computing device upon completion of the prerequisite action via the one or more user interfaces” (par. 0047; ‘For example, the patient 210 may select the prescription status module activation button 252 to cause the prescription management application 202 to display the prescription status, as shown in FIG. 5.’).
Regarding claims 2 (dep. on claim 1), 9 (dep. on claim 8), and 16 (dep. on claim 15), Kumar further teaches:
“wherein the one or more processors include one or more processors of the electronic computing device” (par. 0075; ‘The computing device 702 includes a communications fabric 703, which provides communications between a processor unit 705, a memory 707,, a persistent storage 709, a communications unit 711, an input/output (I/O) unit 713, and a display 715.’).
Regarding claims 3 (dep. on claim 1) and 10 (dep. on claim 8), Kumar further teaches:
“wherein the one or more processors include one or more processors of one or more servers communicatively connected to the electronic computing device” (par. 0033; ‘In addition to the server on which the health care management hub, 106 may be implemented, additional intervening servers may facilitate data communication or storage within the prescription management system 100.’).
Regarding claims 4 (dep. on claim 1), 11 (dep. on claim 8), and 17 (dep. on claim 15), Kumar further teaches:
“wherein the configuration information indicates capability of the electronic computing device to provide output to the user” (par. 0064; ‘Referring to FIG. 15, an illustrative embodiment of a process for initiating a prescription availability notification on the mobile communication device and presenting a set of selectable modules related to the prescription on a graphical user interface, referred to in steps 307 and 309 in FIG. 13, may include displaying the prescription availability notification on the mobile communication device (step 501).’).
Regarding claims 5 (dep. on claim 1), 12 (dep. on claim 8), and 18 (dep. on claim 15), Kumar further teaches:
“wherein the configuration information indicates capability of the electronic computing device to receive input from the user” (par. 0058; ‘In one embodiment, the prescription management application 202 may also have application settings that are customizable or changeable by the patient 210.’).
Regarding claims 6 (dep. on claim 1), 13 (dep. on claim 8), and 19 (dep. on claim 15), Kumar further teaches:
“wherein the configuration information includes hardware configuration information indicative of hardware included within or otherwise operatively connected to the electronic computing device” (par. 0058; ‘Non-limiting examples of the type of notification the patient 210 may receive include a graphical notification, such as the prescription availability notification 214, or an audio notification.’ Settings for audio notification inherently would require hardware configuration information since it is hardware only that can output an audio notification.).
Regarding claims 7 (dep. on claim 1), 14 (dep. on claim 8), and 20 (dep. on claim 15), Kumar further teaches:
“wherein the configuration information includes application configuration information indicative of hardware access permissions associated with one or more software applications executing via the electronic computing device” (par. 0058; ‘In one embodiment, the prescription management application 202 may also have application settings that are customizable or changeable by the patient 210.’).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,568,865. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because removing inherent and/or unnecessary limitations/step and rearranging the claims would be within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art. It is well settled that the omission of an element, e.g. identifying, via the one or more processors, a plurality of modes of communication usable to perform the one or more actions;, etc. (see claim 1 of US Patent) and its function is an obvious expedient if the remaining elements perform the same function as before. In re Karlson, 136 USPQ 184 (CCPA 1963). Also note Ex parte Rainu, 168 USPQ 375 (Bd. App. 1969). Omission of a reference element or step whose function is not needed would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Conclusion
Other pertinent prior art are cited in the PTO-892 for the applicant's consideration.
MARK . VILLENA
Examiner
Art Unit 2658
/MARK VILLENA/Examiner, Art Unit 2658