DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 20 recites “The system of claim 1”, however claim 1 refers the method. For examination purposes, claim 20 is interpreted to depend from claim 11.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 7, 11-12, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Funk et al. (US Pub. 2015/0066913), herein referenced as Funk.
Regarding claim 1, Funk discloses “A method comprising: identifying a first news content item related to a topic ([0026], [0031], Figs. 3, 6, i.e., a user conducts a search on a person in the news);
based on monitoring at least one database for news content items related to the topic, identifying a plurality of future news content items related to the topic and published after publication of the first news content item ([0005]-[0006], [0030], [0033], Figs. 4-5, 7, i.e., automatically performing a subsequent search using the stored at least one keyword upon the occurrence of a trigger event, wherein the trigger event can be trending events or a news event);
identifying a subset of the plurality of future news content items that comprise new information not present in the first news content item ([0005]-[0006], [0030], [0033], Figs. 4-5, 7, i.e., the trigger event is generated by remote server 510 whenever it detects new content relevant to one of the saved searches); and
generating for display on a user interface a timeline (search results area 640) for the topic comprising: a first identifier of the first news content item adjacent to a date of publication of the first news content item; and for each respective news content item of the subset of the plurality of future news content items that comprise new information not present in the first news content item: a respective identifier for the respective news content item; a respective date of publication of the respective news content item; and wherein identifiers of the timeline are arranged sequentially based on publication dates.” ([0031]-[0033], Figs. 6-7, i.e., search interface 600 also includes a persistent search results area 640, which is made up of a plurality of panels 650-680 positioned in a timeline-based manner. Panels 650-680 are visual representation of search results performed on Sept. 1st, Sept. 8th, Sept. 10th, and the current date, respectively, using one of the previously saved searches. In one aspect, every time a trigger event occurred, another search is performed and displayed in persistent search display area 640. It is noted that the searches are performed based on trigger events such as trending events or news events. Thus, the date of the searches corresponds to publication dates when the trigger event occurs).
Regarding claim 2, Funk discloses “wherein: the monitoring at least one database for news content items related to the topic is performed based on determining that a time period since the date of publication of the first news content item exceeds an update period.” ([0006], [0027], i.e., a trigger event may be a predetermined amount of time since the first search).
Regarding claim 7, Funk discloses “wherein the timeline for the topic is generated for display on the user interface based on receiving a user selection tagging the first news content item related to the topic.” ([0026], [0031], Figs. 3, 6, i.e., a user conducts a search on a person in the news. In other words, the search query “tags” the news content).
Regarding claim 11, Funk discloses “A system comprising: a memory; control circuitry ([0041]-[0042], Fig. 11) configured to: identify a first news content item related to a topic ([0026], [0031], Figs. 3, 6, i.e., a user conducts a search on a person in the news);
based on monitoring at least one database for news content items related to the topic, identify a plurality of future news content items related to the topic and published after publication of the first news content item ([0005]-[0006], [0030], [0033], Figs. 4-5, 7, i.e., automatically performing a subsequent search using the stored at least one keyword upon the occurrence of a trigger event, wherein the trigger event can be trending events or a news event);
identify a subset of the plurality of future news content items that comprise new information not present in the first news content item ([0005]-[0006], [0030], [0033], Figs. 4-5, 7, i.e., the trigger event is generated by remote server 510 whenever it detects new content relevant to one of the saved searches); and
input/output circuitry configured to generate for display on a user interface a timeline (search results area 640) for the topic comprising: a first identifier of the first news content item adjacent to a date of publication of the first news content item; and for each respective news content item of the subset of the plurality of future news content items that comprise new information not present in the first news content item: a respective identifier for the respective news content item; a respective date of publication of the respective news content item; and wherein identifiers of the timeline are arranged sequentially based on publication dates.” ([0031]-[0033], Figs. 6-7, i.e., search interface 600 also includes a persistent search results area 640, which is made up of a plurality of panels 650-680 positioned in a timeline-based manner. Panels 650-680 are visual representation of search results performed on Sept. 1st, Sept. 8th, Sept. 10th, and the current date, respectively, using one of the previously saved searches. In one aspect, every time a trigger event occurred, another search is performed and displayed in persistent search display area 640. It is noted that the searches are performed based on trigger events such as trending events or news events. Thus, the date of the searches corresponds to publication dates when the trigger event occurs).
Regarding claim 12, claim 12 is interpreted and thus rejected for the reasons set forth above in the rejection of claim 2.
Regarding claim 17, claim 17 is interpreted and thus rejected for the reasons set forth above in the rejection of claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Funk in view of Gross (US Pub. 2018/0199102), herein referenced as Gross.
Regarding claim 8, Funk fails to explicitly disclose “wherein the timeline for the topic further comprises, for each respective news content item of the subset of the plurality of future news content items that comprise new information not present in the first news content item: a respective identifier of a type of update corresponding to the respective news content item.”
Gross teaches the technique of providing a respective identifier of a type of update corresponding to the respective news content item ([0026], [0028], [0030], [0034]-[0037], Fig. 3, i.e., timeline 300 can include events 304a-304d based on detected metrics associated with the video content. The metrics can be external to, but associated with, the video content. For example, the metrics can be based social media (e.g., instances of associated keywords or hashtags), activity on website associated with the video content, phone activity (e.g., text messages received through a system or phone calls), viewership information (e.g., total count of viewers or viewer demographics), etc. In other words, the timeline includes identifiers for types of updates (i.e., events) for news content items).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of providing a respective identifier of a type of update corresponding to the respective news content item as taught by Gross, to improve the multimedia searching system of Funk for the predictable result of providing the user with easy-to-understand graphical identifiers correlating to different events.
Regarding claim 18, claim 18 is interpreted and thus rejected for the reasons set forth above in the rejection of claim 8.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-6, 9-10, 13-16, 19-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ALEXANDER Q HUERTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2425 June 22, 2026