DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/05/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s argument that only a single perforating gun is used to control the pressure profile in the instant invention as opposed to the two guns used by Le, and thus the claims as amended are patentable over Le is not persuasive since the claims are not limited to the use of only one perforating gun the wellbore at a time, and Le discloses all of the features of the claims with one of the two guns of Le since a single gun contains both the charges and the pressure applicator and also creates the overbalance and underbalance via detonation of the charges.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7, 11-18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Le (US 20110209871 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Le discloses a perforating tool for perforating a subterranean formation intersected by a wellbore, the perforating tool comprising: a carrier (102) having an interior; at least one shaped charge (102-126) disposed in the interior; and a pressure applicator (secondary pressure generators, pgphs. 36, 37) disposed in the interior and adjacent to the shaped charge (pgphs. 36, 37, fig. 2), wherein the pressure applicator is configured to release a gas simultaneous with detonation of the at least one shaped charge (pgphs. 41, 37), wherein the gas passes through a perforation formed by the at least one shaped charge (pgph. 39, 48, a relatively large overbalance in the near wellbore region and in the perforations created by gases released by the pressure applicators will result in those gases passing through the perforations formed by the charges).
With respect to claims 2-5, Le discloses wherein the detonation of the at least one shaped charge creates a dynamic underbalance wherein pressure within the interior of the carrier is below hydrostatic pressure in the wellbore (pgphs. 39, 40), wherein the gas is configured to mitigate the dynamic underbalance by generating a gas pressure that increases the pressure within the interior of the carrier (pgph. 41), wherein the gas pressure is below an anticipated fracture threshold for the subterranean formation (pgph. 48), wherein the detonation of the at least one shaped charge further creates an overbalanced pressure difference between the hydrostatic pressure in the wellbore and formation fluid pressure in the subterranean formation (pgph. 48).
With respect to claim 7, Le further discloses wherein the pressure applicator is configured to release the gas in accordance with a predetermined gas parameter selected from the group consisting of pre-specified gas pressure, release volume, flow rate, and combinations of the same (pgphs. 39, 40, 48-50)
With respect to claims 11-13, Le further discloses wherein the pressure applicator is configured to release the gas for a pressure application interval between 0.01 seconds and 2 seconds (pgph. 39), and wherein the pressure applicator comprises a gas-generating material that is configured to generate the gas when initiated, wherein the gas-generating material is selected from the group consisting of thermites, metals, and metalloids (pgph. 36).
With respect to claims 14, Le further discloses an initiator (140) that is configured to apply kinetic energy, thermal energy, electrical energy, or a combination of the same to initiate the gas-generating material (pgphs. 34, 36).
The limitations of claims 15-18 and 20 are substantially similar to those of claims 1-4, 7, 12, and 14, rejected supra.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6, 8, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Le.
With respect to claims 6 and 19, Le fails to specifically disclose the amount of pressure added by the gas generating device, but does disclose that the additional gas pressure will not result in fracturing in pgph. 48 or unseating of a packer in pgph. 47 and discloses specifically designing the amount of pressure generators to prevent exceeding these pressures in pgphs. 47-50, specifically pgph. 49. Furthermore, Le discloses a wide range of possibilities for ratios of charges with the secondary pressure generating coating to charges without, varying from 100 to 1 to 1 to 100, which will almost certainly read on the claimed range of gas pressure generation since it is such a wide range claimed.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have included an amount of gas generators in Le to produce a pressure between 10 and 120 percent of the overbalanced pressure difference generated by the shaped charges of Le since Le discloses tailoring the use of the gas generators to multiple factors (fracture pressure, max allowable pressure on packers, max pressure rating of the string, pgphs. 47-50) and discloses such a wide range of possible inclusion of the gas generators (pgph. 36) that this limitation is almost certainly already read upon and since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). Please note that in the instant application, pgphs. 32, 35, applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations.
With respect to claim 8, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have included an amount of gas generators in Le to produce a pressure between 250 and 5000 psi since Le discloses tailoring the use of the gas generators to multiple factors (fracture pressure, max allowable pressure on packers, max pressure rating of the string, pgphs. 47-50) and discloses such a wide range of possible inclusion of the gas generators (pgph. 36) that this limitation is almost certainly already read upon and since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). Please note that in the instant application, pgphs. 32, 35, applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations.
Claim(s) 9 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Le in light of Harive (US 20180016879 A1).
With respect to claims 9 and 10 Le fails to specifically disclose the volume and flow rate generated by the gas generators.
Nevertheless, Harive discloses selecting the gas generating material size, shape, and composition in order to provide a predetermined volume over a predetermined time frame, which entails a predetermined flow rate (pgph. 33, Harive).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have tailored the type, shape, and amount of gas generators in Le to produce a predetermined volume and flow rate of gas as taught by Harive in order to provide a pre-determined underbalance in the gun to produce clean perforation tunnels and avoid damage to equipment (pgphs. 32, 33), and it would have been obvious to have used a release volume between 50 in3 and 1,000 in3 and a flow rate is between 0.1 m3/s and 10 m3/s since these are wide ranges and since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). Please note that in the instant application, pgphs. 32, 35, applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KIPP C WALLACE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3674 05/13/2026