DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s response filed 8/26/2026 did not include any claim amendments. For the reasons stated below applicant’s arguments do not overcome the 35 USC 103 rejection over Abraham in view of Ng from the office action mailed 5/26/2026; therefore, this rejection is maintained below.
Claim Objections
Claim 30 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim status is “Currently Amended” wherein there are no amendment markings. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 30-60 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abraham et al., International Publication No. WO2019/036285 (hereinafter referred to as Abraham – for citation purposes US Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0216774 is being used) in view of Ng et al., US Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0183595 (hereinafter referred to as Ng).
Regarding claims 30-53, Abraham discloses automatic transmission of a hybrid electric vehicle, providing gear wear reduction (as recited in claim 30) (see Title and Para. [0002]); comprising a base oil or mixture of Group II-IV base oils (as recited in claim 30 and reads on claim 31) (Para. [0019]) and esters formed from monohydric Guerbet alcohols and carboxylic acids (Para. [0068]-[0072]).
Abraham discloses all the limitations discussed above but does not explicitly disclose the ester reaction product recited in instant claim 30.
Ng discloses a lubricating oil composition for improving traction control in gears (see Abstract and Para. [0183]) comprising a base oil or mixture of base oils (Para. [0074]-[0090]) to which is added 5-50 wt% of esters as base stock or cobase stocks, including 2-butyloctylhexanoate, 2-butyloctyl dodecanoate, and 2-octyldodecyl heptanoate (as recited in claim 30 and reads on claims 32-37, 40 and 50-53) (see Example 7Figure 1 and Para. [0033]-[0038] and [0119]) which can be formed by acids including; such as, branched acids, stearic, isostearic and sebacic acids (as recited in claims 37-49) (Para. [0046], [0052] and [0079]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use the ester compounds of Ng in the composition of Abraham in order to enhance the low viscosity low volatility properties, (2) good high-temperature thermal and oxidative stability, (3) good solvency for polar additives, (4) good deposit control, and (4) traction benefits (Para. [0031] of Ng).
The combination of references do not disclose the thermal-conductivity limitation recited in claim 30.
It is the position of the examiner that this property would have been inherent in the modified composition of Abraham/Ng as the modified composition explicitly discloses the compound limitations of claim 30.
“Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties.” A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claims 54-60, see discussion above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 8/26/2026 regarding claims 30-60 have been fully considered and are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the combination of references do not recite the thermal-conductivity limitation recited in the instant claims. This argument is not persuasive for the reasons discussed above. Further the motivation to combine references does not need to be for the same purpose as the instant application, as long as the motivation to combine the references flows from the references themselves and is not based on impermissible hindsight.
It is the position of the examiner that moving forward applicant should consider arguing unexpected results and amend the claims in a manner that is commensurate in scope with the data provided from the Tables of the instant specification.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VISHAL V VASISTH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771