DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 have been examined.
Priority
Acknowledgement is made of the applicant’s claim to priority to the provisional application 63/643381, filed 05/06/2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/21/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 11, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20150222517 to McLaughlin et al (hereinafter McLaughlin) and US 20190191304 to Hatch et al (hereinafter Hatch).
As per claims 1, 11, and 16, McLaughlin teaches:
A computer-implemented method, comprising:
sending a paired verification message to an accessory device, the paired verification message requesting the accessory device to verify a paired state of the accessory device with respect to an electronic user device associated with a first user; and receiving a response from the accessory device, the response identifying a first paired state of a plurality of paired states (McLaughlin: [0184] For example, FIG. 6A shows a simplified URL 600 that can be constructed to allow access to an accessory's characteristics and services. URL 600 includes a protocol-identifying prefix 602 ("http://"), a hostname 604 (which can be provided through the discovery process of FIG. 4 described above), and a local URL 606. Local URL 606 can be selected from a set of URLs supported by the accessory. Table 4 lists URLs that a uniform accessory protocol can define according to an embodiment of the present invention. [0186] The /identify URL can allow an unpaired controller to invoke the accessory's self-identification routine, e.g., before the accessory has established a pairing with any controller. If the accessory is not paired with any controller, the accessory can respond with an HTTP 204 "No Content" response and proceed to invoke the self-identification routine. If the accessory has established a pairing with a controller, the accessory can decline the request (e.g., with an HTTP 400 "Bad Request" response) indicating that the URL is not valid, i.e., the accessory’s response identifies the paired state of the accessory);
McLaughlin does not teach the rest of the limitations. However, Hatch teaches:
based in part on the first paired state, requesting a pairing lock status from a computer server (Hatch: [0033]: For example, upon being turned on by a user, the new accessory 130 may transmit an announcement 210 that announces its presence and provides an identifier that identifies itself, such as a serial number, a MAC address, a network layer address, or the like. In response to the announcement 210, the portable device 110 (or the associated device 120) may transmit a query to the remote server 150. [0035] In various examples, the controller 110 may transmit the query 220 for a number of purposes. In one example, the query 220 requests that the remote server 150 notify the controller 110 whether the new accessory 130 is associated with a user account, such as a user account with which the controller 110 is associated, or another user account, or not associated with any user account);
receiving a pairing lock status response from the computer server; and determining, based on the pairing lock status response received from the computer server, that the accessory device is paired with a user identifier (ID) of a second user (Hatch: [0035]: In one example, the query 220 requests that the remote server 150 notify the controller 110 whether the new accessory 130 is associated with a user account, such as a user account with which the controller 110 is associated, or another user account, or not associated with any user account. [0050]: For example, the new accessory may be associated with another user's account. It was well known to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that in response to the query, the remote server 150 will notify the controller 110 that the new accessory is associated with another user account (user id of second user) (pair lock status) and the controller will determine based on the response that the new accessory is associated with another user account).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the teachings of Hatch in the invention of McLaughlin to include the above limitations. The motivation to do so would be to provide a simplified means of establishing a bonded relationship between two devices (Hatch: [0002]).
As per claims 2, McLaughlin in view of Hatch teaches:
The method of claim 1, further comprising: providing a message for presentation on the electronic user device, the message indicating that the accessory device is not associated with the first user (Hatch: [0047]: If the device identifier is new, e.g., not known to the controller, the controller may optionally prompt the user (block 440) whether to associate the new accessory to the user's account and/or to pair an associated device with the new accessory, i.e., the prompt indicates to the user that the accessory is not associated with the user).
Claims 3, 9, 10, 12, 14, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McLaughlin in view of Hatch as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of US 20200107164 to Lopatin et al (hereinafter Lopatin) and US 20210076204 to Goyal et al (hereinafter Goyal).
As per claims 3 and 12, McLaughlin in view of Hatch does not teach the limitations of claim 3. However, Lopatin teaches:
further comprising: receiving, from the computer server during an initial onboarding and based on device information, an (Lopatin: [0050]: a finder device that sends a location for a wireless accessory that is in the light lost mode can be directed by the device locator server 203 to relay a message to the wireless accessory 201 that notifies the wireless accessory that it is in the light lost mode. A similar mechanism can be used to relay a message to the wireless accessory 201 that places the accessory in an explicit lost mode. [0078]-[0079] In one embodiment, a message and contact information provided by the requesting user can be displayed on the user device to alert a person who finds the lost wireless accessory on how to contact the requesting user. In one embodiment, the message and contact information can be displayed when another user attempts to pair another electronic device with the lost accessory. In one embodiment, when an electronic device 1000 that is different from the electronic device 9000 of FIG. 9 and is not associated with the registered user or owner of a wireless accessory attempts to pair with a lost wireless accessory, the accessory pairing UI of the electronic device can be displayed as shown in FIG. 10. In one embodiment, the accessory pairing UI 302 can display a name or description 1001 associated with the wireless accessory, as well as a message 1002 entered by the user of the accessory upon placing the accessory into lost mode. Contact information 1004 can also be displayed).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the teachings of Lopatin in the invention of McLaughlin in view of Hatch to include the above limitations. The motivation to do so would be to enable the electronic device 1000 to contact the requesting user by using the provided contact information 1004 (Lopatin: [0080]).
McLaughlin in view of Hatch and Lopatin does not teach an encrypted message. However, Goyal teaches:
an encrypted message (Goyal: [0025]: The primary device 120 uses cellular service credentials associated with the SIM(s)/eSIM(s) installed in the primary device 120 to authenticate and communicate with associated entitlement servers 210 of the MNOs to obtain the status of the eSIMs for one or more accessory devices linked with the primary device 110, including the first accessory device 110. [0027]: At action 6, the primary device 120 performs an Extensible Authentication Protocol Authentication and Key Agreement (EAP-AKA) procedure to authenticate and establish a secure connection with an entitlement server 210 of an MNO associated with a SIM/eSIM of the primary device, i.e., the communications between the server and primary device will be encrypted and the obtained status of the accessory device will be encrypted).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the teachings of Goyal in the invention of McLaughlin in view of Hatch and Lopatin to include the above limitations. The claim would have been obvious because a particular known technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art (see KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc. 550 U.S. ___, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (Supreme Court 2007) (KSR)).
As per claims 9 and 14, McLaughlin in view of Hatch does not teach the limitations of claim 9. However, Lopatin teaches:
further comprising: connecting to the accessory device after an initial onboarding (Lopatin: [0052]: During the initial pairing, the mobile device and the wireless accessory can exchange identifiers, passkeys, or other credentials that enables a wireless data exchange to be performed between a mobile or another electronic device and the wireless accessory. [0054]: The mobile device can then register the wireless accessory with a device management server (block 405)); sending periodic requests to the computer server for a lost message associated with the accessory device (Lopatin: [0035]: For standard beacon signals, the finder device 202 can place encrypted location data into a queue and transmit the location data to the device locator server 203 during a periodic transmission window. [0050]: In one embodiment, a finder device that sends a location for a wireless accessory that is in the light lost mode can be directed by the device locator server 203 to relay a message to the wireless accessory 201 that notifies the wireless accessory that it is in the light lost mode. A similar mechanism can be used to relay a message to the wireless accessory 201 that places the accessory in an explicit lost mode); receiving, from the computer server and based on the periodic requests, an indication of a lost mode associated with the accessory device (Lopatin: [0050]: In one embodiment, a finder device that sends a location for a wireless accessory that is in the light lost mode can be directed by the device locator server 203 to relay a message to the wireless accessory 201 that notifies the wireless accessory that it is in the light lost mode. A similar mechanism can be used to relay a message to the wireless accessory 201 that places the accessory in an explicit lost mode); and receiving, from the computer server, an (Lopatin: [0080]: when an electronic device 1000 that is different from the electronic device 9000 of FIG. 9 and is not associated with the registered user or owner of a wireless accessory attempts to pair with a lost wireless accessory, the accessory pairing UI of the electronic device can be displayed as shown in FIG. 10. In one embodiment, the accessory pairing UI 302 can display a name or description 1001 associated with the wireless accessory, as well as a message 1002 entered by the user of the accessory upon placing the accessory into lost mode. Contact information 1004 can also be displayed, along with a user interface element 1006, such as a button, that enables the electronic device 1000 to contact the requesting user by using the provided contact information 1004).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the teachings of Lopatin in the invention of McLaughlin in view of Hatch to include the above limitations. The motivation to do so would be to provide for system and methods to crowdsource the location of wireless devices and accessories that lack a connection to a wide area network (Lopatin: [0004]).
McLaughlin in view of Hatch and Lopatin does not teach: establishing an encrypted and secure link with the computer server; and receiving, from the computer server, an encrypted message. However, Goyal teaches:
establishing an encrypted and secure link with the computer server; and receiving, from the computer server, an encrypted message (Goyal: [0025]: The primary device 120 uses cellular service credentials associated with the SIM(s)/eSIM(s) installed in the primary device 120 to authenticate and communicate with associated entitlement servers 210 of the MNOs to obtain the status of the eSIMs for one or more accessory devices linked with the primary device 110, including the first accessory device 110. [0027]: At action 6, the primary device 120 performs an Extensible Authentication Protocol Authentication and Key Agreement (EAP-AKA) procedure to authenticate and establish a secure connection with an entitlement server 210 of an MNO associated with a SIM/eSIM of the primary device, i.e., the communications between the server and primary device will be encrypted and the obtained status will be encrypted).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the teachings of Goyal in the invention of McLaughlin in view of Hatch and Lopatin to include the above limitations. The claim would have been obvious because a particular known technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art (see KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc. 550 U.S. ___, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (Supreme Court 2007) (KSR)).
As per claims 10 and 15, McLaughlin in view of Hatch, Lopatin, and Goyal teaches:
The method of claim 9, wherein the encrypted message includes contact information associated with the second user (Lopatin: [0080]: In one embodiment, the accessory pairing UI 302 can display a name or description 1001 associated with the wireless accessory, as well as a message 1002 entered by the user of the accessory upon placing the accessory into lost mode. Contact information 1004 can also be displayed, along with a user interface element 1006, such as a button, that enables the electronic device 1000 to contact the requesting user by using the provided contact information 1004).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McLaughlin in view of Hatch as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lopatin.
As per claim 4, McLaughlin in view of Hatch does not teach the limitations of claim 4. However, Lopatin teaches:
further comprising: sending periodic requests to the computer server for a lost message associated with the accessory device (Lopatin: [0057]: The electronic device can generate a first set of public keys that were included within a beacon signal broadcast by wireless accessory during a first period (block 421). The first period can be, for example, 24 hours, although other initial search periods can be used. The electronic device can perform a subsequent operation to request the device locator server to send location data that corresponds with first set of public keys (block 422). [0058] If data is not returned by the server (block 423, “no”) the electronic device can generate a second set of public keys that were included within a beacon signal broadcast by the wireless accessory during a second period (block 424). The second period can be the 24, 48, or another number of hours before the first period. The electronic device can then request for the device locator server to send data that corresponds with the second set of public keys (block 425). If data is not returned by the server (block 426, “no”), or the server sends a reply that indicates data is not available, method 420 includes for the electronic device can widen the search time by requesting successively older time periods until the max period is reached (block 427)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the teachings of Lopatin in the invention of McLaughlin in view of Hatch to include the above limitations. The motivation to do so would be to provide for system and methods to crowdsource the location of wireless devices and accessories that lack a connection to a wide area network (Lopatin: [0004]).
Claims 5-8, 13, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McLaughlin in view of Hatch as applied to claims 1, 11, and 16 above, and further in view of US 20230291559 to Kim et al (hereinafter Kim).
As per claims 5, 13, and 17, McLaughlin in view of Hatch does not teach the limitations of claim 5. However, Kim teaches:
further comprising: receiving, from the computer server, an encryption key associated with the second user (Kim: [0080]: According to an embodiment, when it is identified that the accessory device 210 is in a lost state, the at least one server 220 may transmit a public key along with the state information); encrypting first location information associated with the accessory device using the encryption key (Kim: [0081] In operation 440, the processor 300 may encrypt the location information of the accessory device 210 based on the public key); and storing the encrypted first location information of the accessory device on the computer server or a location information server (Kim: [0082] In operation 450, the processor 300 may transmit the location information of the accessory device 210 to the at least one server 220 in response to the state information. Storing the received location information was well known to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the teachings of Kim in the invention of McLaughlin view of Hatch to include the above limitations. The motivation to do so would be to provide an electronic device that controls power consumption in an accessory device and a method for operating the same (Kim: [0009]).
As per claims 6 and 18, McLaughlin view of Hatch and Kim teaches:
The method of claim 5, wherein the first location information of the accessory device is based on second location information of the electronic user device, and the method further comprises: sending, to the computer server, a consent associated with storing the encrypted first location information of the accessory device (Kim: [0098] The first neighboring device may transmit device information of the accessory device 210 to the at least one server 220 and request a public key, in operation 630. [0099] The first neighboring device may encrypt the location information of the accessory device 210 using the public key, in operation 634. According to an embodiment, the first neighboring device may obtain the location information of the first neighboring device as location information of the accessory device 210. The first neighboring device may transmit the encrypted location information to the at least one server 220, in operation 636. [0091]. [0093] When the device-to-device connection is disconnected, the external electronic device 230 may report the loss of the accessory device 210 to the at least one server 220, in operation 602. The at least one server 220 may identify the accessory device 210 as being in a lost state based on the report for the loss of the accessory device 210, i.e., by sending a report to the server about the loss of the accessory device, the electronic device is consenting to letting the server store the encrypted location information).
As per claims 7 and 19, McLaughlin view of Hatch and Kim teaches:
The method of claim 5, further comprising: prior to encrypting the first location information, receiving an indication of consent associated with storing the first location information on the computer server (Kim: [0093] When the device-to-device connection is disconnected, the external electronic device 230 may report the loss of the accessory device 210 to the at least one server 220, in operation 602. The at least one server 220 may identify the accessory device 210 as being in a lost state based on the report for the loss of the accessory device 210. [0098]-[0099]: The first neighboring device may encrypt the location information of the accessory device 210 using the public key, in operation 634. The first neighboring device may transmit the encrypted location information to the at least one server 220, in operation 636, i.e., the report (consent) is sent to the server before encrypting the location information).
As per claims 8 and 20, McLaughlin view of Hatch and Kim teaches:
The method of claim 5, further comprising: prior to encrypting the first location information, retrieving a previous consent associated with storing the first location information to the computer server (Kim: [0098] The first neighboring device may transmit device information of the accessory device 210 to the at least one server 220 and request a public key, in operation 630. For example, the at least one server 220 may identify the state information of the accessory device 210 based on the device information. The at least one server 220 may identify the external electronic device 230 as being in a lost state based on a report (e.g., report of operation 602) indicating the loss of the external electronic device 230).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 20220201491 to Jin et al: A pairing method and a device. The method is applied to first user equipment, and the first user equipment belongs to a cluster including at least two pieces of user equipment. Each piece of user equipment in the cluster stores first information, and the first information includes a pairing credential and identification information of a first accessory device that has been successfully paired with any piece of user equipment in the cluster. The method includes: detecting a second accessory device, where the second accessory device is an accessory device that has not been successfully paired with any piece of user equipment in the cluster; and pairing with and establishing a connection to the second accessory device based on the pairing credential and synchronizing identification information of the second accessory device to all user equipment in the cluster.
MADHURI R. HERZOG
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2438
/MADHURI R HERZOG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2438