DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to application 19/199,245 filed 5/5/25. Claims 120 are pending with claim 1 in independent form.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 and 15-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Powell et al. US 2020/0257869 A1.
Powell teaches:
Re: claim 1, A scanning device, comprising: an imager (imager 110) configured to capture images of items passing through a field of view ([0053]); a memory (memory 104, 106) having rules stored thereon associated with actions to be taken based on decoded GS 1 label application data ([0035]); and a processor (processor 102) operably coupled to the imager and the memory, the processor configured to generate unique actions for specific results of checks on GS 1 label application data decoded from a GS 1 Digital Link label on the item ([0077], [0080], [0086]-[0090], [0103]).
Re: claim 2, The scanning device of claim 1, wherein the unique actions include the scanning device transmitting a special message to a host over a host interface ([0077], [0080], [0086]-[0090], [0103]).
Re: claim 3, The scanning device of claim 1, wherein the unique actions include the scanning device transmitting special label data to a host over a host interface ([0077]).
Re: claim 4, The scanning device of claim 1, wherein the unique actions include the scanning device generating a unique audible message based on the GS 1 label application data ([0075]).
Re: claim 5, The scanning device of claim 4, wherein the unique audible message includes at least one of a unique beep volume, unique beep frequency, unique beep pattern, unique sound pattern from a wave file or other sound representation ([0075]).
Re: claim 6, The scanning device of claim 1, wherein the unique actions include the scanning device producing a unique visual message based on the GS 1 label application data ([0075]).
Re: claim 7, The scanning device of claim 6, wherein the unique visual message includes at least one of a unique hue or pattern of hues of an illumination source or pattern of illumination sources, unique flash pattern of an illumination source or pattern of illumination sources, a unique brightness of an illumination source or pattern of illumination sources ([0075] indicator light).
Re: claim 15, The scanning device of claim 1, wherein the unique actions are based on configuration settings ([0013], [0052], [0138]).
Re: claim 16, The scanning device of claim 1, wherein the configuration settings may be enabled or disabled by a user ([0013], [0052], [0138]).
Re: claim 17, the scanning device of claim 1, wherein the unique actions include transmitting a command to a point-of-sale (POS) system over a first communication channel instructing the POS system to generate an alert based on the GS 1 label application data ([0075]).
Re: claim 18, The scanning device of claim 17, wherein the POS system includes a POS application for managing a transaction using GTINs received by the scanning device ([0038]-[0039], [0041]-[0042]).
Re: claim 19, The scanning device of claim 17, wherein the POS system includes a virtual display application for managing the commands received by the scanning device based on the GS 1 label application data, wherein the POS application and the virtual display application are independent from each other ([0041]-[0042]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8-9, 12 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Powell et al. US 2020/0257869 A1 in view of Baiera US 2009/0204415 A1.
The teachings of Powell have been discussed above.
Powell fails to specifically teach:
Re: claim 8, The scanning device of claim 1, wherein the processor configured to generate unique actions when a specific product is scanned to remind the user of a special action that is needed.
However, Baiera teaches:
Re: claim 8, The scanning device of claim 1, wherein the processor configured to generate unique actions when a specific product is scanned to remind the user of a special action that is needed (abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Baiera into the system of Powell thereby ensuring consumer safety by preventing exposure to products that may be contaminated or dangerous ([0002]-[0003]).
Re: claim 9, Powell as modified by Baiera additionally teaches the scanning device of claim 1, wherein the processor configured to generate unique actions when a specific batch or lot number of a specific product is scanned to identify a recalled item (Baiera – abstract).
Re: claim 12, Powell as modified by Baiera additionally teaches the scanning device of claim 1, wherein the processor configured to generate unique actions when a specific serial number or range of serial numbers is scanned to identify a recalled item (Baiera – abstract; [0027]).
Re: claim 20, Powell as modified by Baiera teaches the scanning device of claim 19, wherein the virtual display application triggers a pop-up window over a GUI for the POS application in response to the command received by the scanning device ([0026]-[0027], [0035], [0038], [0047]).
Claim(s) 10-11 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Powell et al. US 2020/0257869 A1 in view of Tak US 2012/0095823 A1.
The teachings of Powell have been discussed above.
Powell fails to specifically teach:
Re: claim 10, The scanning device of claim 1, wherein the processor configured to generate unique actions when a product is scanned on or after the expiration date to prevent the item from being sold or cause the product to be sold at a reduced price.
However, Tak teaches:
Re: claim 10, The scanning device of claim 1, wherein the processor configured to generate unique actions when a product is scanned on or after the expiration date to prevent the item from being sold or cause the product to be sold at a reduced price ([0080]-[0082]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Tak into the system of Powell to decrease the waste of products and provide quality control ([0011]-[0012] and preventing the sale of foods that have expired [0133])).
Re: claim 11, Powell as modified by Tak additionally teaches the scanning device of claim 1, wherein the processor configured to generate unique actions when a product is scanned within a timeframe of the expiration date to indicate the product should be sold at a reduced in price (Tak – [0080]-[0082]).
Re: claim 13, Powell as modified by Tak additionally teaches the scanning device of claim 1, wherein the processor configured to generate unique actions in response to a specific label type being decoded ([0076] sub bar code 250).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 14 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of record fails to teach or fairly suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art, in conjunction with all the other limitations of the claims: With respect to claim 14 and all its dependencies, wherein the processor configured to generate unique actions to inform a user that a specific label type has not yet been decoded, when included with all the limitations of claim 1 from which it depends. The prior art of record fails to provide sufficient teaching or motivation to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the additionally recited features of these claims in the combinations as claimed.
Contact Information
If all attempts to reach the examiner by telephone and email are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Michael Lee, can be reached at telephone number 571-272-2398. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/KRISTY A HAUPT/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876
KAH