DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7-8, and 10-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Icenogle (WO 2015057999).
Regarding claim 1, Icenogle discloses a catheterization tray (abstract), comprising:
a sterile side configured to enable a user to carry out sterile steps of a catheterization procedure in a sterile field (paragraph 00146, “multiple compartments for housing and/or securing… other sterile and/or non-sterile catheterization elements”, also see fig. 31A, first side on the right of interior wall 212 capable of serving as a sterile side of the tray”);
a set of sterile items positioned in the sterile side (fig. 31A, sterile items including catheter 191 and urine collection bag 192, which according to [0006] of the instant specification, drainage tubing and drainage bag are considered sterile items);
a non-sterile side configured to enable a user to carry out non-sterile steps of the catheterization procedure outside of the sterile field (paragraph 00146, “multiple compartments for housing and/or securing… other sterile and/or non-sterile catheterization elements”, also see fig. 31A, second side to the left interior wall 212 and is capable of serving for performing non-sterile steps of the catheterization procedure outside the sterile field);
a set of non-sterile items positioned in the non-sterile side (fig. 31A, one or more swabs 150 cleaning solution packet 160); and
a partition (212) extending between the sterile side and the non-sterile side from a first side wall of the catheterization tray to a second side wall of the catheterization tray (fig. 31A, separator wall 212 separating compartment in first and second sides as defined, paragraph 0081) to maintain sterility of the sterile side (fig. 31A, separator wall 212 keeping sterile and non-sterile components separate maintains sterility of the first side).
Regarding claim 2, Icenogle discloses wherein the set of sterile items are ordered in accordance with a sterile work path (fig. 31A, sterile items to be used and ordered in a sterile work path).
Regarding claim 3, Icenogle discloses wherein the set of non-sterile items are ordered in accordance with a non-sterile work path (fig. 31A, non-sterile items to be used and ordered in a non-sterile work path).
Regarding claim 4, Icenogle discloses further comprising a sterile wrap (56) and a belly band (46) configured to hold the sterile wrap around the catheterization tray (fig. 20, belly band 46 and sterile wrap 56, see paragraph 0013, “belly band may be positioned outside the sterile wrap”).
Regarding claim 5, Icenogle discloses the device further comprising a perineal care kit (74) positioned outside of the sterile wrap (paragraph 0014, “adding a peri-care kit to the catheterization tray outside the belly band and sterile wrap”) along with a package of hand sanitizer (paragraph 0014, “peri-care kit to the catheterization tray outside the belly band and sterile wrap, the peri-care kit including… hand sanitizer”, see fig. 19, hand sanitizer 76).
Regarding claim 7, Icenogle discloses the device further comprising at least a first pair of gloves positioned inside of the sterile wrap (fig. 23, “package 58 of sterile gloves”, see paragraph 0075, “Catheterization package may include… gloves”).
Regarding claim 8, Icenogle discloses wherein the set of sterile items include a drainage system and a catheter (fig. 31A, sterile items includes catheter 191 and urine collection bag 192).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Icenogle in view of Hakky (US 20050101941)
Regarding claim 10, Icenogle discloses wherein the set of non-sterile items include a waterproof underpad (86) configured for placement under a patient (fig. 24, folded pad/drape 86, see paragraph 00131 on the second side) and a fenestrated drape configured for placement over the patient (fig. 24, folded pad/drape 86, see paragraph 00131, “(1) waterproof underpad, and (2) a separate fenestrated drape”, also see paragraph 00199 and fig. 34, “the side cutouts 272 may facilitate placement of the fenestrated drape 270 about the legs of the patient”).
Regarding claim 11, wherein the set of non-sterile items further include a skin-preparation kit including a package of an antiseptic and one or more swabs configured for preparing the patient for inserting a urinary catheter.
Regarding claim 12, Icenogle discloses the device further comprising instructions for the catheterization procedure imprinted directly on a surface of the catheterization tray (see Icenogle’s abstract, “tray is intuitively arranged and includes instructions printed thereon”), the instructions revealed in accordance with the sterile steps and the non-sterile steps of the catheterization procedure as the set of sterile items and the set of non-sterile items are removed from the catheterization tray (see Icenogle’s paragraph 0011, “the instructions/procedural indicators, and implements are arranged in an arrangement such that the medical procedure proceeds intuitively from step to step based on the arrangement”, also see Icenogle’s fig. 5, sterile steps of Foley Care and Maintenance near fillets 18, and steps that would belong on the non-sterile side including retracting genitalia and prepping patient with swabs above interior wall 12).
Regarding claim 13, Icenogle discloses a method of using a catheterization package (abstract), comprising:
unwrapping the catheterization package to reveal a catheterization tray (paragraph 00145, “The tray and components may be sterilized”, paragraph 00158, “following steps: (1) open CSR sterile wrap 130”), the catheterization tray comprising:
a sterile side configured to enable a user to carry out sterile steps of a catheterization procedure in a sterile field (paragraph 00146, “multiple compartments for housing and/or securing… other sterile and/or non-sterile catheterization elements”, also see fig. 31A, first side on the right of interior wall 212 capable of serving as a sterile side of the tray);
a non-sterile side configured to enable a user to carry out non-sterile steps of the catheterization procedure outside of the sterile field (paragraph 00146, “multiple compartments for housing and/or securing… other sterile and/or non-sterile catheterization elements”, also see fig. 31A, second side to the left interior wall 212 and is capable of serving for performing non-sterile steps of the catheterization procedure outside the sterile field); and
a partition (212) extending between the sterile side and the non-sterile side from a first side wall of the catheterization tray to a second side wall of the catheterization tray (fig. 31A, separator wall 212 separating compartment in first and second sides as defined, paragraph 0081) to maintain sterility of the sterile side (fig. 31A, separator wall 212 keeping sterile and non-sterile components separate maintains sterility of the first side).
removing an underpad and a fenestrated drape from the non-sterile side of the catheterization tray (paragraph 00158, “following steps… (3) place underpad; (4) place fenestrated drape”, thereby removing the underpad and fenestrated drape from the packaging, see fig. 24, folded pad/drape 86); and
removing a drainage system including a urinary catheter, drainage tubing, and a drainage bag from the sterile side of the catheterization tray (fig. 29, tubing 95 connected to a catheter and to urine collection bag 96, also see paragraph 00139, “immediately after the catheter has been properly placed in the patient… urine collection bag 96 may be unfolded and hung below the patient to collect urine as it rains from the patient”).
Regarding claim 14, Icenogle discloses the method of using the catheterization package further comprising: removing a perineal care kit (74) and a package of hand sanitizer (76) from outside a sterile wrap of the catheterization package (fig. 18, peri-care kit 74 and hand sanitizer 76, paragraph 0013, “package may also include a peri-care kit located outside of the sterile wrap”, paragraph 00121, “peri-care kit may include hand sanitizer 76”), and cleaning a peri-urethral area of the patient with the perineal care kit 74 (paragraph 0013, “using the peri-care kit to cleanse a portion of the patient’s perineum prior to unwrapping the sterile wrap”).
Regarding claim 15, Icenogle discloses the method further comprising:
placing the underpad under a patient (see Icenogle, paragraph 00131, “The underpad may have a waterproof side and a liquid absorbent side. If so, the absorbent side is placed up under the patient”); and
and placing the fenestrated drape (86) over the patient (paragraph 00131, “after placing the underpad, the health care provided places the fenestrated drape on the patient”) while maintaining the sterile field (paragraph 00146, “multiple compartments for housing and/or securing a ureteral catheter assembly… as well as other sterile and/or non-sterile catheterization elements… sterile catheterization elements may be housed… in a manner that the sterile elements remain uncontaminated by non-sterile catheterization elements”, thereby maintaining a sterile field).
Regarding claim 16, Icenogle discloses the method further comprising:
preparing a patient and the urinary catheter for catheterization (see Icenogle, paragraph 00194, “prepare patient with swabs”); and
catheterizing the patient while maintaining the sterile field (paragraph 00146, “multiple compartments for housing and/or securing a ureteral catheter assembly… as well as other sterile and/or non-sterile catheterization elements… sterile catheterization elements may be housed… in a manner that the sterile elements remain uncontaminated by non-sterile catheterization elements”, thereby maintaining the sterile field).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Icenogle in view of Macinnes (US 20110233079)
Regarding claim 6, Icenogle does not teach the device further comprising at least a first pair of gloves positioned outside of the sterile wrap.
However, Macinnes teaches a catheterization kit (abstract) wherein a pair of gloves 2402 is located outside the sterile wrap (paragraph 0116, “The sanitizer 2401 and gloves 2402 are shown placed atop the first portion 2301, but may be alternatively placed atop, and therefore outside of the sterile field…”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the at least first pair of gloves of the two or more pairs of gloves is located outside the sterile wrap, as taught by Macinnes, for the purpose of allowing the practitioner to maintain the sterile field before touching any part of the packaging (see Macinnes, paragraph 0015, “the health care services provider may- before ever touching the catheter assembly or tray contents- apply the liquid hand sanitizer 2401 to their hands and dawn rubber gloves”), thereby eliminating the need for the practitioner to leave the sterile field to obtain gloves or wash their hands (see Macinnes, paragraph 0015, “The inclusion of these accessories in the packaging eliminates the need for the health care services provider to leave the sterile field to wash their hands, obtain gloves, and so forth”).
Regarding claim 9, Icenogle discloses wherein the package includes a syringe of sterile water (paragraph 0075, “a syringe of sterile liquid (e.g., a 10cc syringe of sterile water”, see fig. 25, syringe 88) a container containing lubricant (paragraph 0075, “a packet or container of lubricant”, see fig. 25, container 89), and a sterile sample container (paragraph 0075, “sample container”, see fig. 25, sample container 54).
Icenogle is silent to wherein the package includes a syringe of sterile saline, wherein the package comprises a sterile sample container, and fails to teach wherein the set of sterile items further include the syringe of sterile saline, a container containing lubricant, and a sterile sample container
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed the invention to modify the sterile side such that the set of sterile items further include the syringe of sterile fluid, the container containing lubricant, and the sample container, as these would be the components that the practitioner would want to keep sterile to prevent potential infections to the patient and to prevent contamination to the sampling container that would ruin the sample, and since it has been held that choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions (i.e., arrangements of the components of the catheterization tray that remain in a logical order) with a reasonable expectation of success is considered to be of ordinary skill in the art. (MPEP §2143(E) , “Obvious to try- choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions with a reasonable expectation of success.) (MPEP §2143(E), “Obvious to try- choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions with a reasonable expectation of success.). In this instance, relocating the syringe of the sterile fluid and the container containing lubricant in a way that would still lead to a logical order of operations for the practitioner and also be within the first side of the tray configured to be a sterile side of the tray, as the intuitive design of the tray appears to more so come from the order in which items are revealed (paragraph 00111, “For example, a first item may be revealed in the package, then once the first item is used, a second item that was underneath the first item is revealed, the second item being next logical item for use in the catheterization procedure”).
Icenogle is silent to wherein the package includes a syringe of sterile saline, wherein the package comprises a sterile sample container
However, Hakky teaches an indwelling urinary catheter (abstract) wherein the balloon 30 is filled with either sterile water or saline, treating them as equivalents in the art (paragraph 0038, “sterile water or saline, is needed to inflate the balloon 30”). NOTE: While Hakky doesn’t specify if the saline is sterile, Icenogle already discloses that the fluid is sterile.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the container of sterile fluid disclosed in Icenogle to substitute the sterile liquid with sterile saline, as taught and suggested by Hakky, for the purpose of providing a suitably sterile fluid to enter the balloon and prevent contamination, and because sterile water and sterile saline were art-recognized equivalents before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to substitute the sterile water disclosed in Icenogle with sterile saline.
Icenogle is silent to wherein the sample container is sterile.
However, because the purpose of a sample container is to test the urine sample, one of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate the desire to keep the sample container otherwise sterile in order for no other materials such as external pathogens affect readings done on the urine sample.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5, 9-11, and 15-18 of U.S. Patent No. US 11896778.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because instant claim 1 contains substantially all of the limitations of patented claim 1, with the notable difference of not having as many technical features as claim 1. As such, patented claim 1 appears to be a more specific species of instant claim 1.
A similar analysis to instant claim 13 can be made with respect to patented claim 15
Regarding claim 2, the patented application discloses wherein the set of sterile items are ordered in accordance with a sterile work path (claim 1).
Regarding claim 3, the patented application discloses wherein the set of non-sterile items are ordered in accordance with a non-sterile work path (claim 1).
Regarding claim 4, the patented application discloses the device further comprising a sterile wrap and a belly band configured to hold the sterile wrap around the catheterization tray (claim 2).
Regarding claim 5, the patented application discloses the device further comprising a perineal care kit positioned outside of the sterile wrap along with a package of hand sanitizer (claims 1-2).
Regarding claim 6, the patented application discloses the device further comprising at least a first pair of gloves positioned outside of the sterile wrap (claim 3).
Regarding claim 7, the patented application discloses the device further comprising at least a first pair of gloves positioned inside of the sterile wrap (claim 4).
Regarding claim 8, the patented application discloses wherein the set of sterile items include a drainage system and a catheter (claim 1).
Regarding claim 9, the patented application discloses wherein the set of sterile items further include a syringe of sterile saline, a container containing lubricant, and a sterile sample container (claim 5), but is silent to wherein the sample container is sterile.
However, because the purpose of a sample container is to test the urine sample, one of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate the desire to keep the sample container otherwise sterile in order for no other materials such as external pathogens affect readings done on the urine sample.
Regarding claim 10, the patented application discloses wherein the set of non-sterile items include a waterproof underpad configured for placement under a patient and a fenestrated drape configured for placement over the patient (claim 9).
Regarding claim 11, the patented application discloses wherein the set of non-sterile items further include a skin-preparation kit including a package of an antiseptic and one or more swabs configured for preparing the patient for inserting a urinary catheter (claim 10).
Regarding claim 12, the patented application discloses the device further comprising instructions for the catheterization procedure imprinted directly on a surface of the catheterization tray, the instructions revealed in accordance with the sterile steps and the non-sterile steps of the catheterization procedure as the set of sterile items and the set of non-sterile items are removed from the catheterization tray (claim 11).
Regarding claim 14, the patented application discloses the method further comprising: removing a perineal care kit and a package of hand sanitizer from outside a sterile wrap of the catheterization package; and cleaning a peri-urethral area of a patient with the perineal care kit (claim 16).
Regarding claim 15, the patented application discloses the method further comprising: placing the underpad under a patient; and placing the fenestrated drape over the patient while maintaining the sterile field (claim 17).
Regarding claim 16, the patented application discloses the method further comprising: preparing a patient and the urinary catheter for catheterization; and catheterizing the patient while maintaining the sterile field (claim 18).
Claims 1-16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 and 10-13 of U.S. Patent No. US 12290645.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because instant claim 1 contains substantially all of the limitations of patented claim 1, with the notable difference of not having as many technical features as claim 1. As such, patented claim 1 appears to be a more specific species of instant claim 1.
A similar analysis to instant claim 13 can be made with respect to patented claim 10
Regarding claim 2, the patented application discloses wherein the set of sterile items are ordered in accordance with a sterile work path (claim 1).
Regarding claim 3, the patented application discloses wherein the set of non-sterile items are ordered in accordance with a non-sterile work path (claim 1).
Regarding claim 4, the patented application discloses the device further comprising a sterile wrap and a belly band configured to hold the sterile wrap around the catheterization tray (claim 2).
Regarding claim 5, the patented application discloses the device further comprising a perineal care kit positioned outside of the sterile wrap along with a package of hand sanitizer (claim 2).
Regarding claim 6, the patented application discloses the device further comprising at least a first pair of gloves positioned outside of the sterile wrap (claim 3).
Regarding claim 7, the patented application discloses the device further comprising at least a first pair of gloves positioned inside of the sterile wrap (claim 4).
Regarding claim 8, the patented application discloses wherein the set of sterile items include a drainage system and a catheter (claim 5).
Regarding claim 9, the patented application discloses wherein the set of sterile items further include a syringe of sterile saline, a container containing lubricant, and a sterile sample container (claim 6).
Regarding claim 10, the patented application discloses wherein the set of non-sterile items include a waterproof underpad configured for placement under a patient and a fenestrated drape configured for placement over the patient (claim 7).
Regarding claim 11, the patented application discloses wherein the set of non-sterile items further include a skin-preparation kit including a package of an antiseptic and one or more swabs configured for preparing the patient for inserting a urinary catheter (claim 8).
Regarding claim 12, the patented application discloses the device further comprising instructions for the catheterization procedure imprinted directly on a surface of the catheterization tray, the instructions revealed in accordance with the sterile steps and the non-sterile steps of the catheterization procedure as the set of sterile items and the set of non-sterile items are removed from the catheterization tray (claim 9).
Regarding claim 14, the patented application discloses the method further comprising: removing a perineal care kit and a package of hand sanitizer from outside a sterile wrap of the catheterization package; and cleaning a peri-urethral area of a patient with the perineal care kit (claim 11).
Regarding claim 15, the patented application discloses the method further comprising: placing the underpad under a patient; and placing the fenestrated drape over the patient while maintaining the sterile field (claim 12).
Regarding claim 16, the patented application discloses the method further comprising: preparing a patient and the urinary catheter for catheterization; and catheterizing the patient while maintaining the sterile field (claim 13).
Conclusion
/Brandon W. Levy/Examiner, Art Unit 3781