DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 12 of U.S. Patent No. 12292405 B2 in view of Yoshioka et al. US 5,651,869 (hereafter ‘Yoshioka”). Claim 12 of U.S. Patent No. 12292405 B2 meets all of the limitations of claim 1 of the instant application except for “a first substrate having a first electrode disposed thereon; a second substrate comprising an opposing surface to the first electrode, . . . .[italicizing by the Examiner]” Note:
that the scope of the phrase “a plain opposing surface” in claim 12 of U.S. Patent No. 12292405 B2 is understood by the Examiner to include a surface devoid of electrodes: “In some embodiments, the opposing surface is a plain opposing surface. For example, in some embodiments the electrodes are co-planar.”1 See col. 2:61-63 in U.S. Patent No. 12292405 B2;
the Examiner is construing the reagent coating in claim 12 of U.S. Patent No. 12292405 B2 as the first reaction layer of
claim 1 of the instant application; and
the Examiner is construing the pH modifying reagent coating in claim 12 of U.S. Patent No. 12292405 B2 as the second reaction layer of claim 1 of the instant application
Yoshioka discloses a sensor (see the title) for assessing an analyte of interest in a liquid beverage sample (fruit juice; col. 1:1-9 and col. 6:28-32), wherein the sensor comprises a first substrate (1 in Figure 3 and col. 6:10-14) having a first electrode (4 in Figures 1-3; col. 5:39-41) disposed thereon (Figure 3); and a second substrate (30 in Figure 3 and col. 6:10-14) comprising an opposing surface to the first electrode (in the embodiment shown in Figure 3 cover 30 opposes substrate 1. See also col. 6:14-18.), wherein the opposing surface is a plain opposing surface (Figure 3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the application to provide a first substrate as taught by Yoshioka in the sensor of claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12292405 B2 because it is prima facie obvious as effectively simple substitution of one known element (electrode support means, unspecified in claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12292405 B2) for another to obtain predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the application to provide a second substrate as taught by Yoshioka in the sensor of claim 12 of U.S. Patent No. 12292405 B2 because the second substrate will act as a cover protecting the reagent and measurement area. Also, the second substrate along with a closely spaced first substrate can form a capillary space for drawing in, through capillarity, sample applied to the front end of the sensor.
Claim 2 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 12 and 4 together of U.S. Patent No. 12292405 B2 in view of Yoshioka. Claim 1, from which claim 2 depends, has been addressed above. Claim 4 of U.S. Patent No. 12292405 B2 meets the additional limitation of claim 2 of the instant application. Note that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to consider combining together features from dependent claims in a patent, especially when they depend from the same independent claim as they then clearly modify the same base invention.
Claim 3 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 12 of U.S. Patent No. 12292405 B2 in view of Yoshioka. Claim 1, from which claim 3 depends, has been addressed above. Claim 12 of U.S. Patent No. 12292405 B2, through claim 1, meets the additional limitation of claim 3 of the instant application.
Claim 4 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 12 and 6 together of U.S. Patent No. 12292405 B2 in view of Yoshioka. Claim 1, from which claim 4 depends, has been addressed above. Claim 6 of U.S. Patent No. 12292405 B2 meets the additional limitation of claim 4 of the instant application. Note that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to consider combining together features from dependent claims in a patent, especially when they depend from the same independent claim as they then clearly modify the same base invention.
Claim 5 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 12 and 5 together of U.S. Patent No. 12292405 B2 in view of Yoshioka. Claim 1, from which claim 5 depends, has been addressed above. Claim 5 of U.S. Patent No. 12292405 B2 meets the additional limitation of claim 5 of the instant application. Note that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to consider combining together features from dependent claims in a patent, especially when they depend from the same independent claim as they then clearly modify the same base invention.
Claim 6 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 12 and 15 together of U.S. Patent No. 12292405 B2 in view of Yoshioka. Claim 1, from which claim 6 depends, has been addressed above.
Claim 15 of U.S. Patent No. 12292405 B2 meets the additional limitation of claim 6 of the instant application. Note: (1) from clam 15 “. . . ., wherein the first electrode or opposing surface is coated with glucose dehydrogenase-pyrrolo-quinoline-quinone (GDH-PQQ), flavin adenine dinucleotide-glucose dehydrogenase (FAD-GDH) or glucose oxidoreductase (GOD).[italicizing by the Examiner]”; and (2) that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to consider combining together features from dependent claims in a patent, especially when they depend from the same independent claim as they then clearly modify the same base invention.
Claim 7 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 12 of U.S. Patent No. 12292405 B2 in view of Yoshioka. Claim 1, from which claim 7 depends, has been addressed above. Claim 12 of U.S. Patent No. 12292405 B2 inherently meets the additional limitation of claim 7 as of the instant application as claim 7 only expresses an intended use of the sensor, which is not precluded by claim 12 of U.S. Patent No. 12292405 B2. In this regard note that when the structure and composition received in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. See MPEP 2112.02.
Claim 8 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 12 and 2 together of U.S. Patent No. 12292405 B2 in view of Yoshioka. Claim 1, from which claim 8 depends, has been addressed above. Claim 2 of U.S. Patent No. 12292405 B2 meets the additional limitation of claim 8 of the instant application. Note that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to consider combining together features from dependent claims in a patent, especially when they depend from the same independent claim as they then clearly modify the same base invention.
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 12, 15, and 2 together of U.S. Patent No. 12292405 B2 in view of Yoshioka and Yoshioka et al. US 5,192,415 (hereafter “Yoshioka II”).
Claim 6, from which claim 9 depends, has been addressed above. As for the analyte of interest being fructose, note the following in claim 2 of U.S. Patent No. 12292405 B2, “. . . ., wherein the analyte of interest is . . . ., fructose, or . . . . “ As for having the first or second reaction layer comprise a fructose selective enzyme, particularly a fructose dehydrogenase enzyme, Yoshioka II discloses an electrochemical sensor for assessing an analyte of interest in a liquid beverage (fruit juice) that comprises a substrate, at least two electrodes, and a reagent layer, which may include fructose dehydrogenase. See the title, Figure 1, and col. 7:8-20. In light of Yoshioka II and the portion of claim 2 of U.S. Patent No. 12292405 B2 quoted above it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the application to have the enzyme in the sensor of claims 12 and 15 together of U.S. Patent No. 12292405 B2 in view of Yoshioka be a fructose dehydrogenase enzyme because it is prima facie obvious as simple substitution of one known element (analyte specific enzyme) for another to obtain predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 12, 15, and 2 together of U.S. Patent No. 12292405 B2 in view of Yoshioka and Loetzbeyer et al. DE 19528761 A1 based on an EPO machine-generated English language translation (hereafter “Loetzbeyer”). Claim 6, from which claim 11 depends, has been addressed above. As for the analyte of interest being malic acid, note the following in claim 2 of U.S. Patent No. 12292405 B2, “. . . ., wherein the analyte of interest is . . . ., or malic acid“ As for having the first or second reaction layer comprise a L-malate selective enzyme, particularly a L-malate dehydrogenase enzyme, Loetzbeyer discloses a device for assessing the ripeness of fruit based on the ratio or glucose to malate. The device comprises a reagent that includes malate dehydrogenase. See the title and paragraphs [0003], [0010], and [0011]. In light of Loetzbeyer and the portion of claim 2 of U.S. Patent No. 12292405 B2 quoted above it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the application to have the enzyme in the sensor of claims 12 and 15 together of U.S. Patent No. 12292405 B2 in view of Yoshioka be a malate dehydrogenase enzyme because it is prima facie obvious as simple substitution of one known element (analyte specific enzyme) for another to obtain predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B). As for the malate dehydrogenase enzyme being a
L-malate dehydrogenase enzyme, Loetzbeyer is silent as to the stereochemistry of the malate to be detected. So, to have the malate dehydrogenase enzyme be in the sensor of claims 12 and 15 together of U.S. Patent No. 12292405 B2 in view of Yoshioka and Loetzbeyer be L-malate dehydrogenase enzyme is prima facie obvious as simple substitution of one known element (malate dehydrogenase enzyme) for another to obtain predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
Claim 13 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 12 and 15 together of U.S. Patent No. 12292405 B2 in view of Yoshioka. Claim 6, from which claim 13 depends, has been addressed above.
Claim 12 of U.S. Patent No. 12292405 B2 already meets the additional limitation of claim 13 of the instant application.
Claim 14 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 13 and 15 together of U.S. Patent No. 12292405 B2 in view of Yoshioka. Claim 13, from which claim 14 depends, has been addressed above.
Claim 13 of U.S. Patent No. 12292405 B2 meets the additional limitation of claim 14 of the instant application.
Claim 15 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 12 and 15 together of U.S. Patent No. 12292405 B2 in view of Yoshioka. Claim 13, from which claim 15 depends, has been addressed above.
Claim 15 of U.S. Patent No. 12292405 B2 already meets the additional limitation of claim 15 of the instant application.
Claim 16 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 12 and 9 together of U.S. Patent No. 12292405 B2 in view of Yoshioka. Claim 1, from which claim 16 depends, has been addressed above. Claim 9 of U.S. Patent No. 12292405 B2 meets the additional limitation of claim 16 of the instant application. Note that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to consider combining together features from dependent claims in a patent, especially when they depend from the same independent claim as they then clearly modify the same base invention.
Claim 17 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 12 of U.S. Patent No. 12292405 B2 in view of Yoshioka. Claim 1, from which claim 17 depends, has been addressed above. Figure 3 of Yoshioka meets the additional limitations of claim 17 (noting especially spacer layer 20). See also Yoshika col. 6:10-27.
Claim 19 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 12 of U.S. Patent No. 12292405 B2 in view of Yoshioka. Claim 1, from which claim 19 depends, has been addressed above. Figure 3 of Yoshioka meets the additional limitations of claim 19. See also Yoshika col. 6:10-27.
Claim 20 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 12 and 17 together of U.S. Patent No. 12292405 B2 in view of Yoshioka. Claim 1, from which claim 20 depends, has been addressed above.
Claim 17 of U.S. Patent No. 12292405 B2 meets the additional limitation of claim 20 of the instant application. Note that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to consider combining together features from dependent claims in a patent, especially when they depend from the same independent claim as they then clearly modify the same base invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 7-10, 13-17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshioka in view of Yoshioka II.
Addressing claim 1, Yoshioka discloses a sensor (see the title) for assessing an analyte of interest in a liquid beverage sample (fruit juice; col. 1:1-9 and col. 6:28-32), wherein the sensor comprises:
a first substrate (1 in Figure 3 and col. 6:10-14) having a first electrode (4 in Figures 1-3; col. 5:39-41) disposed thereon (Figure 3); and
a second substrate (30 in Figure 3 and col. 6:10-14) comprising an opposing surface to the first electrode (Figure 3), and a second electrode (5 in Figures 1-3;
col. 5:43-58), wherein the opposing surface can comprise the comprises either a second electrode or be a non-conductive surface (consider Figure 3).
Yoshioka does not disclose “a first reaction layer disposed on the first electrode wherein the first reaction layer comprises at least one of an electroactive species and an enzyme…” However, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand from Figure 2 that reaction layer 37 in Figure 3, which includes at least one of an electroactive species and an enzyme (col. 5:59 – col. 6:92), could instead be located on the first electrode, especially in view of the Yoshioka Figure 2 embodiment in which the first electrode (4) is coated with a reagent (7) and in view of the fact that Yoshioka does not appear to attribute any benefit to one location for reagent over the other location. Put another way, to have the reaction layer 37 in Figure 3 instead be located on the first electrode is prima facie obvious as rearrangement of parts with no material effect on the operation of the sensor. See MPEP 2144.01(VI)(C).
Yoshioka also does not disclose “a second reaction layer disposed on the opposing surface of the second substrate, is coated with wherein the second reaction layer comprise a pH modifying reagent capable of adjusting the pH of the liquid sample to be suitable for assaying the analyte of interest…”
Yoshioka II discloses a sensor (see the title) for assessing an analyte of interest in a liquid beverage sample (col. 7:8-15), wherein the sensor comprises a first electrode (4 in Figure 2; col. 6:43-48), a second electrode (5 in Figure 2; col. 6:43-48), and an opposing surface (30; col. 6:32-34), wherein the opposing surface is a plain opposing surface (there is nothing in Yoshioka II to suggest that either surface of cover 30 is not “plain”. Yoshioka II further discloses including in the sensor a coating (11) with a pH modifying reagent capable of adjusting the pH of the liquid sample to be suitable for assaying the analyte of interest (col. 7:31-51). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the application to provide a coating (11) with a pH modifying reagent capable of adjusting the pH of the liquid sample to be suitable for assaying the analyte of interest as taught by Yoshioka II in the sensor of Yoshioka because Yoshioka II discloses
See Yoshioka II col. 5:6-16.
As for locating this coating with a pH modifying reagent on the opposing surface of the second substrate of the sensor of Yoshioka, although Yoshioka II Figure 3 shows the pH modifying reagent coating as being on the same surface upon which the electrodes are located (that is, not upon the opposing surface), one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the application would understand that such relative positioning is not critical, what is critical is that the coating with a pH modifying reagent be located separately from the reagent which includes an electroactive species, as this will improve the preservative property of the sensor and also be preferably closer to the sample inlet than the reagent which includes an electroactive species. See Yoshioka II col. 4:25-30 (“(3)”) and col. 7:38-57. Thus, locating this coating with a pH modifying reagent on the opposing surface of the sensor of Yoshioka is prima facie obvious as rearrangement of parts with no material effect on the operation of the sensor (MPEP 2144.04(VI)(A)).
wherein the sensor is configured to detect for electrochemical detection of a redox reaction in the presence of the liquid beverage sample .
As for the claim 1 limitation “. . . ., wherein the sensor is configured for electrochemical detection a redox reaction in the presence of the liquid beverage sample…”, both the sensor of Yoshioka and Yoshioka II are clearly configured for electrochemical detection a redox reaction. See Yoshioka the Abstract and Figures 4 and 5, and Yoshioka II the Abstract and Figure 4. From Yoshioka II col. 5:44-57 and col.7:8-20 one of ordinary skill in the art would know how to select an appropriate reagent known in the art, such as one comprising fructose dehydrogenase, suitable for a liquid beverage sample.
Addressing claim 2, for the additional limitation of this claim note the following in Yoshioka II
See Yoshioka II col. 5:58-67.
Also, in Yoshioka II
See Yoshioka II col. 7:27-44.
Thus, in light of this disclosure of Yoshioka II to have the pH modifying reagent alter the pH of the liquid sample to be within one of the claimed ranges, such between 4 and 5 is prima facie obvious as routine optimization of a known result effect variable (the pH of the enzyme environment). See MPEP 2144.05(II).
Addressing claims 4 and 5, for the additional limitations of these claims note the following in Yoshioka II
See Yoshioka II col. 5:58-67.
See Yoshioka col. 9:18-24.
Addressing claim 7, this claim only expresses an intended use of the sensor, which is not precluded by Yoshioka as modified by Yoshioka II. In this regard, note that when the structure and composition received in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. See MPEP 2112.02.
Addressing claim 8, for the additional limitation of this claim see Yoshioka II
col. 3:60-64.
Addressing claims 9 and 10, for the additional limitations of these claims see Yoshioka II col. 6:56 – col. 7:13.
Addressing claims 13-15, for the additional limitations of these claims see Yoshioka II col. 5:50-56 and Yoshioka col. 4:35-39.
Addressing claim 16, for the additional limitation of this claim see Yoshioka II
col. 7:27-30 and see Yoshioka col. 5:1-10.
Addressing claim 17, for the additional limitation of this claim see Yoshioka Figure 3, noting especially spacer layer 20. See also Yoshika col. 6:10-27.
Addressing claim 19, for the additional limitation of this claim see Yoshioka Figure 3. See also Yoshika col. 6:10-27.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 18 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
a) in claim 18 the combination of limitations requires the following underlined features
In contrast, in the sensor of claim 12 of U.S. Patent No. 12292405 B2 in view of Yoshioka there is no hydrophilic PET layer. Perhaps more importantly, while the second substrate (30) has been punched, it has only been punched to form a hole (31). See Yoshioka Figure 3 and col. 6:10-27. The first substrate has not been punched; one of ordinary skill in the art would understand the spacer (20) has been punched to form a channel.
/ALEXANDER S NOGUEROLA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1795
1 The specification can be used as a dictionary to learn the meaning of a term in the claim. Toro Co. v. White Consol. Indus., Inc., 199 F.3d 1295, 1299, 53 USPQ2d 1065, 1067 (Fed. Cir. 1999)("[W]ords in patent claims are given their ordinary meaning in the usage of the field of the invention, unless the text of the patent makes clear that a word was used with a special meaning."); Renishaw PLC v. Marposs Societa' per Azioni, 158 F.3d 1243, 1250, 48 USPQ2d 1117, 1122 (Fed. Cir. 1998) ("Where there are several common meanings for a claim term, the patent disclosure serves to point away from the improper meanings and toward the proper meanings."). "The Patent and Trademark Office (‘PTO’) determines the scope of the claims in patent applications not solely on the basis of the claim language, but upon giving claims their broadest reasonable construction ‘in light of the specification as it would be interpreted by one of ordinary skill in the art.’ " Phillips v. AWH Corp., 415 F.3d 1303, 1316, 75 USPQ2d 1321, 1329 (Fed. Cir. 2005) (en banc) (quoting In re Am. Acad. of Sci. Tech. Ctr., 367 F.3d 1359, 1364, 70 USPQ2d 1827, 1830 (Fed. Cir. 2004); see also MPEP § 2111.01. Further, those portions of the specification which provide support for the reference claims may also be examined and considered when addressing the issue of whether a claim in the application defines an obvious variation of an invention claimed in the reference patent or application (as distinguished from an obvious variation of the subject matter disclosed in the reference patent or application). In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 441-42, 164 USPQ 619, 622 (CCPA 1970). The court in Vogel recognized "that it is most difficult, if not meaningless, to try to say what is or is not an obvious variation of a claim," but that one can judge whether or not the invention claimed in an application is an obvious variation of an embodiment disclosed in the patent or application which provides support for the claim. According to the court, one must first "determine how much of the patent disclosure pertains to the invention claimed in the patent" because only "[t]his portion of the specification supports the patent claims and may be considered." The court pointed out that "this use of the disclosure is not in contravention of the cases forbidding its use as prior art, nor is it applying the patent as a reference under 35 U.S.C. 103, since only the disclosure of the invention claimed in the patent may be examined." In AbbVie Inc. v. Kennedy Institute of Rheumatology Trust, 764 F.3d 1366, 112 USPQ2d 1001 (Fed. Cir. 2014), the court explained that it is also proper to look at the disclosed utility in the reference disclosure to determine the overall question of obviousness in a nonstatutory double patenting context. See Sun Pharm. Indus., Ltd. v. Eli Lilly & Co., 611 F.3d 1381, 95 USPQ2d 1797 (Fed. Cir. 2010); Pfizer, Inc. v. Teva Pharm. USA, Inc., 518 F.3d 1353, 86 USPQ2d 1001 (Fed. Cir. 2008); Geneva Pharmaceuticals Inc. v. GlaxoSmithKline PLC, 349 F3d 1373, 1385-86, 68 USPQ2d 1865, 1875 (Fed. Cir. 2003).
See MPEP 804 II.B.2(a).
2 The Examiner understands an electron acceptor to be an electroactive species.