DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 17 and 18 recite the limitation "the pairs formed by the binding warps and upper surface side collapsing yarns" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. There is no “collapsing yarn” limitation to establish antecedent basis for the limitation that refers to “the pair formed by the binding warps and upper surface side collapsing yarns”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 12, 13, 15, 16 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a(1) as being anticipated by US 4515853 (Borel).
Regarding claim 1, ‘853 discloses: industrial fabric [fabric in figs. 1 and 2 can function in industrial applications] in which an upper surface side fabric and a lower surface side fabric are bound [fabric layers in figs.1 and 2 are shown “bound” and disclosed in par. 3, “The upper layer 1 and the lower layer 2 are interconnected by binder threads, namely, by a binder warp 4 and a binder weft 5.”], wherein the upper surface side fabric and the lower surface side fabric are formed by interweaving warps and wefts [shown in fig. 1 and as disclosed in par. 2], wherein the wefts include: binding wefts [5, fig. 1] that bind the upper surface side fabric and the lower surface side fabric; upper surface side wefts that form a part of the upper surface side fabric [shown in figs. 1 and 2]; and lower surface side wefts that form a part of the lower surface side fabric [shown in figs. 1 and 2 and as disclosed in pars. 2 and 3]; wherein the warps include: binding warps [4 shown in figs. 1 and 2 and as disclosed in pars. 2 and 3] that bind the upper surface side fabric and the lower surface side fabric; upper surface side warps that are interwoven with the upper surface side wefts without being interwoven with the lower surface side wefts so as to form a part of the upper surface side fabric; and lower surface side warps that are interwoven with the lower surface side wefts without being interwoven with the upper surface side wefts so as to form a part of the lower surface side fabric [shown in figures 1 and 2 and inherent to the definition of “binder warp” and “binder weft” and the statement, “The upper layer 1 and the lower layer 2 are interconnected by binder threads, namely, by a binder warp 4 and a binder weft 5.”].
Regarding claim 2, ‘853 discloses: wherein in the pairs formed by the binding warps and the warps arranged vertically with the binding warps, the binding warps and the warps complement each other so as to form a weaving pattern for one upper surface side warp [the formation of a weaving pattern for one upper surface side warp inherently is affected by the binding warp and the vertical arranged warps in the fabric structure shown in figs. 1 and 2].
Regarding claim 3, ‘853 discloses: wherein in the pairs formed by the binding warps and the warps arranged vertically with the binding warps, the binding warps and the warps complement each other so as to form a weaving pattern for one lower surface side warp [the formation of a weaving pattern for one lower surface side warp inherently is affected by the binding warp and the vertical arranged warps in the fabric structure shown in figs. 1 and 2].
Regarding claim 4, ‘853 discloses: wherein the binding wefts are not adjacent to one another in the warp direction [fig. 1 shows binding wefts 5 not adjacent to each other].
Regarding claim 12, ‘853 discloses: wherein the binding wefts have a diameter smaller than that of the lower surface side wefts [seen clearly in fig. 1].
Regarding claim 13, ‘853 discloses: wherein a diameter of the upper surface side warps and a diameter of the binding warps are the same [seen clearly in fig. 4].
Regarding claim 15, ‘853 discloses: wherein the upper surface side warps and the binding warps are interwoven with the upper surface side wefts and the binding wefts so as to form the upper surface side fabric formed in a predetermined weaving pattern for each warp row [This statement is an inherent result of the woven fabric structure shown in figs. 1 and 2; all weaving patterns are predetermined periodic repeating patterns].
Regarding claim 16, ‘853 discloses: wherein the lower surface side warps and the binding warps are interwoven with the lower surface side wefts so as to form the lower surface side fabric formed in a predetermined weaving pattern for each warp row [This statement is an inherent result of the woven fabric structure shown in figs. 1 and 2; all weaving patterns are predetermined periodic repeating patterns].
Regarding claim 19, ‘853 discloses: wherein in the pairs formed by the binding warps and the binding warps arranged vertically with the binding warps, the binding warps and the binding warps complement each other so as to form a weaving pattern for one lower surface side warp [see annotated figs. 1 and 2 below; the pattern of the lower surface side warp is inherently affected by binding warps vertically arranged in pairs].
Double Patenting
Claims 1-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of U.S. Patent No. 12,344,967. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the limitations in claims 1-19 are fully disclosed by the patented claims. In such a situation, a later patent to a genus would, necessarily, extend the right to exclude granted by an earlier patent directed to a species or sub-genus. In this type of nonstatutory double patenting situation, an obviousness analysis is not required for the nonstatutory double patenting rejection. The species or sub-genus claimed in the conflicting patent anticipates the claimed genus in the application being examined and, therefore, a patent to the genus would improperly extend the right to exclude granted by a patent to the species or sub-genus should the genus issue as a patent after the species or sub-genus.
Table below shows specific mapping of instant claims to the patented claims that disclose the limitations of the instant claims.
Instant claims
Patented claims that disclose the instant claimed scope
1
Patented claims 1 and 2 both fully disclose instant claim 1.
2
Patented claims 1 and 2 both fully disclose instant claim 1.
3
Patented claims 1 and 2 both fully disclose instant claim 1.
4
Patented claim 1 fully discloses instant claim 4.
5
Patented claims 1 and 2 both fully disclose instant claim 5.
6
Patented claims 3 and 8 both fully disclose instant claim 6.
7
Patented claim 2 fully discloses instant claim 7.
8
Patented claim 2 fully discloses instant claim 8.
9
Patented claim 2 fully discloses instant claim 9.
10
Patented claim 2 fully discloses instant claim 10.
11
Patented claim 2 fully discloses instant claim 11.
12
Patented claim 9 fully discloses instant claim 12.
13
Patented claim 10 fully discloses instant claim 13.
14
Patented claim 11 fully discloses instant claim 14.
15
Patented claim 2 fully discloses instant claim 15.
16
Patented claim 2 fully discloses instant claim 16.
17
Patented claim 4 fully discloses instant claim 17.
18
Patented claim 2 fully discloses instant claim 18.
19
Patented claim 1 fully discloses instant claim 19.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Various papermaking fabrics are attached to establish the general state of the prior art.
/ROBERT H MUROMOTO JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732