DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 2-8, 10-18, and 20-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-3, 12, 14-16, and 19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,006,924. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because patent ‘924 anticipates subject matter in the instant claims. Claim 2 recites a system for detecting abnormal blood flow conditions, comprising: a processor (encompassed by processor in claim 1 of ‘924); a first ultrasound transmitter located on a patient’s head in communication with the processor (encompassed by first ultrasound transmitter in claim 1 of ‘924); a first ultrasound receiver located on a patient’s head in communication with the processor (encompassed by first ultrasound receiver in claim 1 of ‘924); a memory in communication with the processor (encompassed by memory in claim 1 of ‘924), comprising a diagnostic application, wherein the diagnostics application directs the processor to: transmit a first ultrasound signal from the first ultrasound transmitter across a patient’s brain (encompassed by transmit step in claim 1 of ‘924); receive the first ultrasound signal using the first ultrasound receiver, where the ultrasound signal is affected during transit by a signal tracer (encompassed by microbubble in claim 1 of ‘924) in the blood of the patient stimulated by the first ultrasound signal (encompassed by receive step in claim 1 of ‘924); analyze the first received ultrasound signal to detect a profile of the signal tracer (encompassed by detect and time-box steps in claim 1 of ‘924); and identify an abnormal blood flow condition based on the detected profile of the signal tracer (encompassed by locate step in claim 1 of ‘924). Claim 3 is encompassed by claim 3 of ‘924. Claim 4 is encompassed by claim 1 of ‘924. Claim 5 is encompassed by claim 2 of ‘924. Claim 6 is encompassed by claim 2 of ‘924. Claim 7 is encompassed by claim 1 of ‘924. Claim 8 is encompassed by claim 1 of ‘924. Claim 10 is encompassed by claim 1 of ‘924. Claim 11 is encompassed by claim 12 of ‘924. Claim 12 recites a method for detecting abnormal blood flow conditions, comprising transmitting a first ultrasound signal from a first ultrasound transmitter located on a patient’s head across the patient’s brain (encompassed by transmitting in claim 14 of ‘924); receiving the first ultrasound signal using a first ultrasound receiver located on the patient’s head, wherein the ultrasound signal is affected during transmit by a signal tracer in the blood of the patient stimulated by the first ultrasound signal (encompassed by receiving in claim 14 of ‘924); analyzing the first received ultrasound signal to detect a profile of the signal tracer (encompassed by detecting, time-boxing, and determining steps in claim 14 of ‘924); and identifying an abnormal blood flow condition based on the detected profile of the signal tracer (encompassed by locating in claim 14 of ‘924). Claim 13 is encompassed by 16 of ‘924. Claim 14 is encompassed by claim 14 of ‘924. Claim 15 is encompassed by claim 15 of ‘924. Claim 16 is encompassed by claim 15 of ‘924. Claim 17 is encompassed by claim 14 of ‘924. Claim 18 is encompassed by claim 14 of ‘924. Claim 20 is encompassed by claim 14 of ‘924. Claim 21 is encompassed by claim 19 of ‘924.
Claims 9 and 19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,006,924 in view of Arditi et al. (US 2008/0228080). Patent’ 924 anticipates the subject matter substantially as claimed (see above) except for monitoring a wash-in and wash-out of the signal tracer. However, Arditi et al. teaches in the same field of endeavor monitoring wash-in and wash-out of a bolus administration ([0055]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided ‘924 with monitoring wash-in and wash-out as taught by Arditi et al. in order to determine when the bolus passes and when microbubbles recirculate ([0057]).
Claims 2-8 and 11-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-3, 14, 16-18, and 19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,376,827. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because patent ‘827 anticipates subject matter in the instant claims. Claim 2 recites a system for detecting abnormal blood flow conditions, comprising: a processor (encompassed by processor in claim 1 of ‘827); a first ultrasound transmitter located on a patient’s head in communication with the processor (encompassed by first ultrasound transmitter in claim 1 of ‘827); a first ultrasound receiver located on a patient’s head in communication with the processor (encompassed by first ultrasound receiver in claim 1 of ‘827); a memory in communication with the processor (encompassed by memory in claim 1 of ‘827), comprising a diagnostic application, wherein the diagnostics application directs the processor to: transmit a first ultrasound signal from the first ultrasound transmitter across a patient’s brain (encompassed by transmit step in claim 1 of ‘827); receive the first ultrasound signal using the first ultrasound receiver, where the ultrasound signal is affected during transit by a signal tracer (encompassed by microbubble in claim 1 of ‘827) in the blood of the patient stimulated by the first ultrasound signal (encompassed by receive step in claim 1 of ‘827); analyze the first received ultrasound signal to detect a profile of the signal tracer (encompassed by identify and time-box steps in claim 1 of ‘827); and identify an abnormal blood flow condition based on the detected profile of the signal tracer (encompassed by detect step in claim 1 of ‘827). Claim 3 is encompassed by claim 3 of ‘827. Claim 4 is encompassed by claim 1 of ‘827. Claim 5 is encompassed by claim 2 of ‘827. Claim 6 is encompassed by claim 2 of ‘827. Claim 7 is encompassed by claim 1 of ‘827. Claim 8 is encompassed by claim 1 of ‘827. Claim 11 is encompassed by claim 14 of ‘827. Claim 12 recites a method for detecting abnormal blood flow conditions, comprising transmitting a first ultrasound signal from a first ultrasound transmitter located on a patient’s head across the patient’s brain (encompassed by transmitting in claim 16 of ‘827); receiving the first ultrasound signal using a first ultrasound receiver located on the patient’s head, wherein the ultrasound signal is affected during transmit by a signal tracer in the blood of the patient stimulated by the first ultrasound signal (encompassed by receiving in claim 16 of ‘827); analyzing the first received ultrasound signal to detect a profile of the signal tracer (encompassed by identifying and time-boxing steps in claim 16 of ‘827); and identifying an abnormal blood flow condition based on the detected profile of the signal tracer (encompassed by detecting in claim 16 of ‘827). Claim 13 is encompassed by 18 of ‘827. Claim 14 is encompassed by claim 16 of ‘827. Claim 15 is encompassed by claim 17 of ‘827. Claim 16 is encompassed by claim 17 of ‘827. Claim 17 is encompassed by claim 16 of ‘827. Claim 18 is encompassed by claim 16 of ‘827.
Claims 9 and 19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,376,827 in view of Arditi et al. (US 2008/0228080). Patent’ 924 anticipates the subject matter substantially as claimed (see above) except for monitoring a wash-in and wash-out of the signal tracer. However, Arditi et al. teaches in the same field of endeavor monitoring wash-in and wash-out of a bolus administration ([0055]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided ‘827 with monitoring wash-in and wash-out as taught by Arditi et al. in order to determine when the bolus passes and when microbubbles recirculate ([0057]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 2-6, 10-16, and 20-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hoelscher et al. (US 2016/0030009).
Hoelscher et al. discloses a system for detecting abnormal blood flow conditions, comprising: a processor (210; 310); a first ultrasound transmitter located on a patient’s head in communication with the processor (220); a first ultrasound receiver located on a patient’s head in communication with the processor (220); a memory (315) in communication with the processor, comprising a diagnostics application (345; [0025]), where the diagnostics application directs the processor to: transmit a first ultrasound signal from the first ultrasound transmitter across a patient’s brain ([0020]); receive the first ultrasound signal using the first ultrasound receiver ([0020]; [0024]), where the ultrasound signal is affected during transit by a signal tracer in the blood of the patient stimulated by the first ultrasound signal ([0019]; [0035]); analyze the first received ultrasound signal to detect a profile of the signal tracer ([0045]; [0047]; [0049]; [0051]); and identify an abnormal blood flow condition based on the detected profile of the signal tracer ([0025]; [0035]; [0045]; [0047]; [0050-0052]; [0056]).
With respect to claims 3 and 13, Hoelscher et al. discloses wherein the first ultrasound receiver is located on the patient’s head ipsilaterally with respect to the first ultrasound transmitter ([0020]).
With respect to claims 4 and 14, Hoelscher et al. discloses wherein the signal tracer is a microbubble tracer ([0019]).
With respect to claims 5-6 and 15-16, Hoelscher et al. discloses comparing two hemispheres ([0047]; [0053]; [0056]).
With respect to claims 10 and 20, Hoelscher et al. discloses wherein the abnormal flow condition is a stroke ([0019]).
With respect to claims 11 and 21, Hoelscher et al. discloses wherein a first transducer assembly comprises the first ultrasound transmitter and the first ultrasound receiver ([0020]; [0038]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoelscher et al. (US 2016/0030009) in view of Arditi et al. (US 2008/0228080).
Hoelscher et al. discloses the subject matter substantially as claimed except for monitoring a wash-in and wash-out of the signal tracer. However, Arditi et al. teaches in the same field of endeavor monitoring wash-in and wash-out of a bolus administration ([0055]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided Hoelscher et al. with monitoring wash-in and wash-out as taught by Arditi et al. in order to determine when the bolus passes and when microbubbles recirculate ([0057]).
Allowable Subject Matter
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art of record fails to disclose or render obvious the claimed combination of subject matter particularly time-boxing the received ultrasound signals to reflect spatial segments of the brain which contains the abnormal blood flow condition.
Conclusion
/PETER LUONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797