DETAILED ACTION
This is in reply to an application filed on May 6, 2025 regarding Application No. 19/199,414. Claims 1-12 are pending.
Priority
This application claims benefit of priority under 35 U.S.C. §119 (e) from provisional U.S. Patent Application Nos. 63/248,548, filed on September 27, 2021, and 63/272,663, filed on October 27, 2021.
The instant application is a continuation* of Application No. 18/413,040, filed on January 16, 2024, now abandoned, which is a continuation of Application No. 17/844,058, filed on June 20, 2022, now Patent No. 11,934,626.
* Note: although indicated as a continuation of Application No. 8/413,040 in the May 6, 2025 Application Data Sheet, the instant application appears to be a divisional application (species corresponding to figures 13-17).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on May 6, 2025, July 23, 2025, and November 21, 2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the Office. Please note that the Office has included or updated the application number, filing date, and/or art unit number on the IDSes.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because the specification states:
[0032] Please refer to FIG. 13 to FIG. 15. FIG. 13 is an exploded diagram of the joystick 10B according to a third embodiment of the present invention…. FIG. 15 is a sectional view of the joystick 10B according to the third embodiment of the present invention. The joystick 10B can include a cover 60, a stick head 62, an actuating component 64, a sheathing component 66, a supporting component 68, a resilient recovering component 70 and a substrate 72. The actuating component 64 can have two engaging slots 74. The actuating component 64 passes through the stick head 62, and two fixing components 76 of the joystick 10B can be engaged with the engaging slots 74 and abut against two opposite surfaces of the stick head 62 respectively, so that the actuating component 64 can be tightly assembled with the stick head 62….
(emphasis added).
However, figures 13 and 15-17 (actuating component 64, fixing components 76, and engaging slots 74) show sheathing component 66 including two engaging slots 74. See also claim 1 (“a sheathing component”). Compare with FIGs. 3-8 (actuating component 14, fixing component 28, and engaging slot 36) and [0022] (“… The fixing component 28 can be engaged with an engaging slot 36 of the actuating component 14, and contact against a top surface 242 of the second rotation component 24. The actuating component 14 can be fixed on the two opposite surfaces of the second rotation component 24 via the abutting portion 34 and the fixing component 28, so as to prevent the actuating component 14 from being separated from the second rotation component 24. Therefore, the actuating component 14 can be revolved relative to the second rotation component 24 in a revolving axial direction via assembly of the abutting portion 34 and the fixing component 28.”), and FIGs. 9-12 (actuating component 14, fixing component 28, and engaging slot 36)).
The Office suggests:
[0032] Please refer to FIG. 13 to FIG. 15. FIG. 13 is an exploded diagram of the joystick 10B according to a third embodiment of the present invention…. FIG. 15 is a sectional view of the joystick 10B according to the third embodiment of the present invention. The joystick 10B can include a cover 60, a stick head 62, an actuating component 64, a sheathing component 66, a supporting component 68, a resilient recovering component 70 and a substrate 72. The sheathing component 66 can have two engaging slots 74. The actuating component 64 passes through the stick head 62, and two fixing components 76 of the joystick 10B can be engaged with the engaging slots 74 and abut against two opposite surfaces of the stick head 62 respectively, so that the sheathing component 66 can be tightly assembled with the stick head 62….
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 6 and 10 are objected to for the reasons discussed below.
Claim 6: “the slidable manner” should be changed to “[[the ]]a slidable manner” since the claim language was not previously recited.
Claim 10: “the optical signal” should be changed to “the optical detection signal” to correspond to the term previously recited.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The claim is rejected because “the actuating component comprises an engaging slot” may not be supported by the specification. While paragraph [0032] discloses: “The actuating component 64 can have two engaging slots 74.”, the corresponding drawings FIGs. 13 and 15-17 show: the sheathing component 66 comprises an engaging slot 74”. See also Objection to the Specification above.
The Office suggests: “the sheathing component comprises an engaging slot”. For purposes of examination, the claim language is interpreted as discussed in the rejections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cecchi et al. in Patent No. 5,491,462 (hereinafter Cecchi) in view of Olsson in US 2012/0274563 A1 (hereinafter Olson).
Regarding claim 1, Cecchi teaches:
A joystick (20 in FIGs. 1-2), comprising (Cecchi: FIGs. 1-2, col. 2, ll. 42-43 (“… [A] joystick controller… 20….”), and col. 3, ll. 23-24 (“The controller 20 also includes a joystick, indicated generally at 80….”)):
a substrate (bottom surface of 24) (Cecchi: FIGs. 1-2 and col. 2, ll. 62 (“… The lower housing portion 24 has a bottom wall….”), see also col. 3, ll. 10-11 (“The lower housing 24 has a circular rim 62 on its bottom surface….”));
a stick head (wider diameter upper 82) movably located above the substrate (Cecchi: FIGs. 1-2, col. 2, ll. 11-13 (“… [A] joystick [80] supported by the housing [22 and 24] for pivotal movement in any direction to any tilt angle.”), and col. 3, l. 24 (“… The joystick [80] comprises a control shaft 82….”));
an actuating component (narrower diameter lower 82 below upper 82 stick head) (Cecchi: FIGs. 1-2, col 2, l. 62 – col. 3, l. 9 (including: “… Linear movement of the slider knobs 56 and 60 of the potentiometers 54 and 58 causes the potentiometers [54 and 58] to generate signals respectively representative of x and y coordinate axes movement, for example to be provided as an input to a video game.”), col. 3, l. 24 (“… The joystick [80] comprises a control shaft 82….”) and ll. 30-31 (“… The control shaft 82 extends downwardly within the hemispherical member [84] and at its bottom has a seat 90….”), and col. 4, ll. 22-34 (“… [U]pon pivotal movement of the joystick 80, any component of motion of the joystick in the x-direction is directly mechanically coupled to and causes linear vertical movement of the slider knob 56 of the x-direction potentiometer 54 to cause the potentiometer [54] to generate a signal representative of the amount by which the joystick [80] is pivoted in the x-direction. Similarly, any component of movement of the joystick in the y-direction is directly mechanically coupled to and causes linear vertical movement of the slider knob 60 of the y-direction potentiometer 58 to cause the potentiometer [58] to generate a signal representative of the amount by which the joystick [80] is pivoted in the y-direction….”));
a sheathing component (72, 76, 78, 84-86, and 88) assembled with the actuating component (Cecchi: FIGs. 1-2, col. 3, ll. 25-31 (“… [A] hemispherical-shaped member 84 having a spherical surface 85. A cylindrical section 86… extends downwardly from a lower circumference of the hemispherical member [84] and an annular flange 88 extends radially outwardly from the bottom of the cylindrical section [86]. The control shaft 82 extends downwardly within the hemispherical member [84] and at its bottom has a seat 90….”), and ll. 35-37 (“… [T] he annular flange 88 at the lower end of the joystick [80] is rested on the annular part 76 and within the outer circular lip 78 of the ring 72….”)); and
a resilient recovering component (70), two opposite ends of the resilient recovering component respectively abutting against the substrate and the sheathing component (Cecchi: FIGs. 1-2 and col. 3, ll. 13-22 (“… A tapered helical controller spring 70 rests on the bottom surface [of lower housing 24]…. A ring 72, comprising a cylindrical inner part 74, an annular part 76 extending radially outwardly from an upper end of the cylindrical inner part [74], and a circular lip 78 extending upwardly and outwardly from an outer end of the annular part [76], is supported on the upper end of the controller spring [70] with the cylindrical part 74 extending downwardly within, and the annular part 76 supported on and extending outwardly across, the uppermost convolution of the spring [70].”)).
However, it is noted that Cecchi does not teach:
an identification feature being disposed on a bottom of the actuating component.
Olsson teaches:
an identification feature (230 in FIGs. 10-12) being disposed on a bottom of an actuating component (1300 in FIG. 13) (Olsson: FIGs. 10-13, “[0078] As shown in FIG. 13, a center column assembly 1300 may be made to mount to an actuator keying element 312 (as shown in FIG. 11) of the manual actuator element 110….”, and “[0080]… A magnet, such as permanent magnet 230 (as shown in FIGS. 10 and 11), may be mounted centrally into the circular facing on the bottom of the slider disk element 1038. A slide base 910 may be positioned below the center column assembly 1300 nearest to the slider disk element 1038. The slider disk element 1038 may be made to slide against a sliding surface 1042 on the slide base 910 during displacements of the manual actuator element 110. On the bottom side of the slide base 910, a sensor crevice 1122 may be formed to accommodate the magnetic sensor 250.”, see also FIGs. 1-9 and 14).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include: the features taught by Olsson, such that Cecchi as modified teaches: an actuating component, an identification feature being disposed on a bottom of the actuating component (actuating component of Cecchi combined with the identification feature and actuating component of Olsson), to determine joystick input as taught by Olsson.
Regarding claim 2, Cecchi as modified by Olsson teaches:
The joystick of claim1.
However, it is noted that Cecchi as modified by Olsson does not teach:
wherein the joystick further comprises a fixing component, the actuating component comprises an engaging slot, and the fixing component is engaged with the engaging slot and abuts against the stick head,
but which would have been obvious to include, such that Cecchi as modified teaches: wherein the joystick further comprises a fixing component, the actuating component comprises an engaging slot, and the fixing component is engaged with the engaging slot and abuts against the stick head, since it would have been within the general skill of one of ordinary skill in the art to select features on the basis of their suitability for the intended use to improve durability and input precision in connecting components.
Regarding claim 3, Cecchi as modified by Olsson teaches:
The joystick of claim 1, wherein the joystick further comprises a cover (106 in FIG. 2 of Cecchi) disposed on the stick head to shelter the actuating component (Cecchi: FIG. 2 and col. 4, ll. 41-42 (“… [A]n ergonometrically-shaped handle 106 is on the joystick control shaft 82”).).
Regarding claim 4, Cecchi as modified by Olsson teaches:
The joystick of claim 1, wherein the joystick further comprises a supporting component (22 and 24 in FIGs. 1-2 of Cecchi) where inside the sheathing component is freely moved (Cecchi: FIGs. 1-2, col. 2, ll. 42-53 (“…The joystick controller [20] comprises an upper housing portion 22 and a lower housing portion 24, which may be integrally formed… to form a housing (FIG. 2) for containing and supporting the other joystick controller [20] components. The upper housing portion [22] has a circular opening 26 within a bearing surface 28 at a lower end of a downwardly depending frusto-conical portion 30 of a top wall of the upper housing [22]….”), and col. 3, ll. 10-13 (“… The lower housing 24 has a circular rim 62 on its bottom surface, within which an upstanding pedestal 64 mounts an upstanding pivot pin 66 having a spherical fulcrum 68 at its top….”) and ll. 33-52 (“To support the joystick 80 on the housing [22 and 24], the control shaft 82 is extended upwardly through the upper housing opening 26, the annular flange 88 at the lower end of the joystick [80] is rested on the annular part 76 and within the outer circular lip 78 of the ring 72, and the seat 90 at the control shaft bottom is set upon the fulcrum 68. With the joystick [80] so mounted, the spherical surface 85 of the hemispherical member 84 slidingly abuts the circular bearing 28 at the inner end of the frusto-conical portion 30, and the joystick [80] is manually pivotable in any direction to any tilt angle about the fulcrum 68, with the spherical surface [85] being in sliding engagement with and moving in the bearing [28]. The pivot point of the joystick [80] is at the intersection of two radii of the spherical surface [85], i.e., at the center of the spherical surface [85], and the spring 70 resists, but is yieldable to permit, pivoting of the joystick [80] by selected amounts in any direction throughout 360° of arc. The tapered configuration of the spring 70 permits the spring convolutions to collapse within themselves as at 92, so as not to impede pivotal movement of the joystick [80].”)).
Regarding claim 5, Cecchi as modified by Olsson teaches:
The joystick of claim 4, wherein the supporting component comprises a first supporting portion (22 in FIGs. 1-2 of Cecchi) and a second supporting portion (24) assembled with each other to cover the sheathing component (Cecchi: FIGs. 1-2 and col. 2, ll. 42-49 (“…The joystick controller [20] comprises an upper housing portion 22 and a lower housing portion 24, which may be integrally formed… to form a housing (FIG. 2) for containing and supporting the other joystick controller [20] components….”)).
Regarding claim 6, Cecchi as modified by Olsson teaches:
The joystick of claim 4, wherein the sheathing component contacts against an inner wall of the supporting component in the slidable manner (Cecchi: FIGs. 1-2, col. 2, ll. 49-53 (“… The upper housing portion [22] has a circular opening 26 within a bearing surface 28 at a lower end of a downwardly depending frusto-conical portion 30 of a top wall of the upper housing [22]….”), and col. 3, ll. 39-44 (“… [T]he spherical surface 85 of the hemispherical member 84 slidingly abuts the circular bearing 28 at the inner end of the frusto-conical portion 30, and the joystick [80] is manually pivotable in any direction to any tilt angle about the fulcrum 68, with the spherical surface [85] being in sliding engagement with and moving in the bearing [28]….”)).
Regarding claim 7, Cecchi as modified by Olsson teaches:
The joystick of claim 4, wherein the resilient recovering component is disposed inside the supporting component (Cecchi: FIGs. 1-2, col. 2, ll. 42-49 (“…The joystick controller [20] comprises an upper housing portion 22 and a lower housing portion 24, which may be integrally formed… to form a housing (FIG. 2) for containing and supporting the other joystick controller [20] components….”), and col. 3, ll. 13-14 (“… A tapered helical controller spring 70 rests on the bottom surface [of lower housing 24]….”)).
Regarding claim 8, Cecchi as modified by Olsson teaches:
The joystick of claim 4, wherein the bottom of the actuating component (a bottom of the narrower diameter lower 82 below upper 82 stick head in FIGs. 1-2 of Cecchi) is stuck into the sheathing component and located inside the supporting component (Cecchi: FIGs. 1-2, col. 2, ll. 42-49 (“…The joystick controller [20] comprises an upper housing portion 22 and a lower housing portion 24, which may be integrally formed… to form a housing (FIG. 2) for containing and supporting the other joystick controller [20] components….”), and col. 3, ll. 30-31 (“… The control shaft 82 extends downwardly within the hemispherical member [84] and at its bottom has a seat 90….”)).
Regarding claim 11, Cecchi as modified by Olsson teaches:
The joystick of claim 4, wherein the actuating component is revolved inside the supporting component when the sheathing component is upwardly pushed by the resilient recovering component to abut against the supporting component (Cecchi: FIGs. 1-2, col. 2, ll. 42-53 (“…The joystick controller [20] comprises an upper housing portion 22 and a lower housing portion 24, which may be integrally formed… to form a housing (FIG. 2) for containing and supporting the other joystick controller [20] components. The upper housing portion [22] has a circular opening 26 within a bearing surface 28 at a lower end of a downwardly depending frusto-conical portion 30 of a top wall of the upper housing [22]….”), and col. 3, ll. 13-22 (… A tapered helical controller spring 70 rests on the bottom surface [of lower housing 24]…. A ring 72, comprising a cylindrical inner part 74, an annular part 76 extending radially outwardly from an upper end of the cylindrical inner part [74], and a circular lip 78 extending upwardly and outwardly from an outer end of the annular part [76], is supported on the upper end of the controller spring [70] with the cylindrical part 74 extending downwardly within, and the annular part 76 supported on and extending outwardly across, the uppermost convolution of the spring [70].”), ll. 30-31 (“… The control shaft 82 extends downwardly within the hemispherical member [84] and at its bottom has a seat 90….”), ll. 33-52 (“… [T]the spherical surface 85 of the hemispherical member 84 slidingly abuts the circular bearing 28 at the inner end of the frusto-conical portion 30, and the joystick [80] is manually pivotable in any direction to any tilt angle about the fulcrum 68, with the spherical surface [85] being in sliding engagement with and moving in the bearing [28]. The pivot point of the joystick [80] is at the intersection of two radii of the spherical surface [85], i.e., at the center of the spherical surface [85], and the spring 70 resists, but is yieldable to permit, pivoting of the joystick [80] by selected amounts in any direction throughout 360° of arc. The tapered configuration of the spring 70 permits the spring convolutions to collapse within themselves as at 92, so as not to impede pivotal movement of the joystick [80].”), and ll. 63-67 (“… [T]he controller spring 70, when the joystick [80] is manually released, automatically mechanically centers the joystick [80] by returning it to the rest position where the circular lip 78 is moved against and engages the lower ends of the ribs 96.”)).
Regarding claim 12, Cecchi as modified by Olsson teaches:
The joystick of claim 4, wherein the stick head utilizes the actuating component to move the sheathing component inside the supporting component in multiple directions when the stick head is laterally pressed (Cecchi: FIGs. 1-2, col. 2, ll. 42-53 (“…The joystick controller [20] comprises an upper housing portion 22 and a lower housing portion 24, which may be integrally formed… to form a housing (FIG. 2) for containing and supporting the other joystick controller [20] components. The upper housing portion [22] has a circular opening 26 within a bearing surface 28 at a lower end of a downwardly depending frusto-conical portion 30 of a top wall of the upper housing [22]….”), and col. 3, ll. 30-31 (“… The control shaft 82 extends downwardly within the hemispherical member [84] and at its bottom has a seat 90 that rests on the fulcrum 68.”) and ll. 33-52 (“… [T]the spherical surface 85 of the hemispherical member 84 slidingly abuts the circular bearing 28 at the inner end of the frusto-conical portion 30, and the joystick [80] is manually pivotable in any direction to any tilt angle about the fulcrum 68, with the spherical surface [85] being in sliding engagement with and moving in the bearing [28]. The pivot point of the joystick [80] is at the intersection of two radii of the spherical surface [85], i.e., at the center of the spherical surface [85], and the spring 70 resists, but is yieldable to permit, pivoting of the joystick [80] by selected amounts in any direction throughout 360° of arc. The tapered configuration of the spring 70 permits the spring convolutions to collapse within themselves as at 92, so as not to impede pivotal movement of the joystick [80].”), see also col. 4, ll. 22-34 (x and y directions components of motion of the joystick)).
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cecchi in view of Olsson, in further view of Wright in US 2007/0126700 A1 (hereinafter Wright).
Regarding claim 9, Cecchi as modified by Olsson teaches:
The joystick of claim 4, wherein the substrate (940 in FIG. 10 of Olsson) comprises a detection module (250 of FIG. 10 of Olsson) (Olsson: FIG. 10 and “[0082]… [A] PCB 940, which may contain the magnetic sensor 250….”, see also FIGs. 2 and 12).
However, it is noted that Cecchi as modified by Olsson does not teach:
an optical detection signal emitted by the detection module enters the sheathing component and the supporting component to project onto the identification feature.
Wright teaches:
an optical detection signal (corresponding to 402 in FIG. 5) emitted by a detection module (104, 205 and associated DSP, and 402) projects onto an identification feature (of 101 of 401) (Wright: FIGs. 1 and 5,”[0032] [In FIG. 1,] [l]ight source 102 transmits light onto the surface 101 of the surface member…. [I]llumination optics 103 may be used to focus the transmitted light onto a specific region of surface 101. Alternatively, the light source 102 may transmit light directly onto the surface 101. Because surface 101 is optically rough, the transmitted light is scattered off the surface 101 of the surface member to form a speckle variation. Optical motion sensor 105 receives the speckle variation from the surface 101 of the surface member…. [I]maging optics 104 may be used to focus the scattered light from surface 101 onto the optical motion sensor 105. Imaging optics 104 may be telecentric for optimum performance. Alternatively, the surface may reflect the speckle variation directly onto the optical motion sensor 105.”, and “[0061]… [J]oystick handle 403 [in FIG. 5] is directly coupled to curved surface member 401, having optically rough surface 101. Curved surface member 401 is positioned over a fixed enclosure assembly 310 such that curved surface member 401 moves over the optical motion sensor 205 as the joystick handle 403 moves. Fixed enclosure assembly 310 may include optical motion sensor 205 and LED 402 mounted to circuit board 504. Circuit board 504 may be attached to joystick enclosure base 505. Fixed enclosure assembly 310 may further include imaging optics 104, positioned between the optical motion sensor 205 and the curved surface member 401. Fixed enclosure assembly 310 may also include aperture 311 to allow light to enter/leave the fixed enclosure assembly 310 to/from surface 101 of curved surface member 401. Alternatively, the fixed enclosure assembly 310 may include optical motion sensor 105, illumination optics 103, imaging optics 104, and light source 102. Light source 102 may be, for example, laser light source 302.”, see also FIGs. 2-4 and 8-12, [0031], [0041], [0064], and “[0089] FIG. 8 illustrates… three fields of view of the image sensor over a pattern printed on a surface member of a user interface mechanism. Surface 101 has a pattern 800 printed on surface 101 of surface member 301….”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include: the features taught by Wright, such that Cecchi as modified teaches: wherein the substrate comprises a detection module, an optical detection signal emitted by the detection module enters the sheathing component and the supporting component to project onto the identification feature (substrate, detection module, sheathing component, supporting component, and identification feature of Cecchi as modified combined with the optical detection signal, detection module, and project onto an identification feature of Wright), to determine joystick input as taught by Wright.
Regarding claim 10, Cecchi as modified by Olsson and Wright teaches:
The joystick of claim 9, wherein the detection module receives and analyzes the optical signal from the identification feature to detect a behavior of the identification feature and decide motion of the stick head (Wright: the detection module receives, analyzes, and detect as claimed and decide motion of an actuating component 403; FIGs. 1-2 and 4-5,”[0032]… Optical motion sensor 105 [in FIG. 1] receives the speckle variation from the surface 101 of the surface member….”, “[0038] Optical motion sensor 105 detects the speckle variation, transmitting data to the front-end electronics 106. The front-end electronics 106 are used to condition or pre-process the analog signals received from optical motion sensor 105 to be processed by signal processing block 107….”, “[0039] Apparatus 100 may further include interface 108 that receives the processed signals from the signal processing block 107. The interface 108 outputs the x-, y-, and z-directional data 109, on line 110….”, and “[0064]… [T]he optical motion sensor 205 and associated DSP (not illustrated in FIG. 5) may detect the incremental joystick motions 404 in x-, and y-directions and the incremental joystick motions 405 in the z-direction. The optical motion sensor 205 and associated DSP may provide an accurate measure of x-, y-, and z-axis incremental planar joystick motions 406 of the curved surface member 401 relative to the optical motion sensor 205 in the fixed enclosure assembly 310. In other words, the optical motion sensor 205 and associated DSP may provide an accurate measure of the x-, y-, and z-axis incremental displacements of the curved surface member 401 and corresponding joystick handle 403. The optical motion sensor 205 and associated DSP may also determine the absolute position of the curved surface member 401 and associated joystick handle 403 using the incremental displacement of the curved surface member 401. To determine the absolute position, the optical motion sensor 205 and associated DSP may detect a fixed reference point as a center point that represents when the joystick handle is in a rest position, or when the output x-, y-, and z-coordinates from the DSP are (0, 0, 0). By periodically detecting this fixed reference point, "drift" in the positional output of the joystick handle 403 may be reduced, increasing the tracking accuracy of the curved surface member 401 of the joystick handle 403 using the optical motion sensor 205.”, see also FIGs. 8-12, [0031], [0041], and [0090]; claim 1 above (stick head)).
Conclusion
/K. K./
Examiner, Art Unit 2626
/TEMESGHEN GHEBRETINSAE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2626 2/23/26