DETAILED ACTION
Priority
2. Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. § 119(a)-(d). The certified copy has been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statements (IDS) were submitted on 05/06/2025 and 06/30/2026. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR § 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
5. This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: an imaging device; an image processing device; a spectroscopic element....in claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claim 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kiyohara et al., (WO 2022176621 A1) (hereinafter Kiyohara) (cited by IDS) in view of Mizutani et al., (US 2024/0056690 A1) (hereinafter Mizutani).
Regarding claim 1, Kiyohara discloses an imaging device (e.g., see Fig. 3; abstract) comprising:
a spectroscopic element (e.g., see paraphs 0003, 0006, 0019: a spectroscopic element; Fig. 3: filter array 10, paragraphs 0062-0065) that disperses incident light into more than three plurality of wavelength bands (e.g., see paragraphs 0006: a filter array including a plurality of types of filters having different transmission spectra,… a processing circuit that generates hyperspectral image data including images corresponding to four or more bands included in a target wavelength range based on the image data; also see paragraphs 0036-0040: wavelengths of at least two of the four or more bands);
an image sensor (e.g., see Fig. 3: image sensor 20) that captures a subject image via the spectroscopic element to generate image data (e.g., see paragraphs 0062-0065; paragraphs 0002, 0019: generate an image using the spectroscopic element);
an input interface (e.g., see Figs. 8A-8B: GUI) that receives first selection information indicating a first wavelength band selected by a user from the plurality of wavelength bands (e.g., see Figs. 8A-8B; paragraph 0009, 0046, 0105, 0108: band selection can be made by user as depicted via GUI shown in Figures); and
a controller (e.g., see Fig. 3: processing circuit 60; paragraph 0068) that corresponds to the first wavelength band, the multispectral image data including pieces of image information corresponding to the plurality of wavelength bands (e.g., see paragraphs 0074, 0085, 0088: the processing circuit adjusts and generates hyperspectral image data; Fig. 6, paragraphs 0095, 0097; paragraphs 0036-0040: wavelengths of at least two of the four or more bands), respectively.
Kiyohara does not explicitly a controller that adjusts exposure based on a luminance value of a piece of image information that is included in multispectral image data.
However, Mizutani discloses a controller that adjusts exposure based on a luminance value of a piece of image information that is included in multispectral image data (e.g., see abstract, paragraph 0008, 0091: a control circuit that performs exposure control in accordance with the spectral characteristic of the desired object on the basis of a detection value (a luminance signal) of the detection circuit; Figs. 2-3, 9, paragraphs 0077, 0084, 0107).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by Kiyohara to add the teachings of Mizutani as above, in order to provide an improved imaging apparatus that performs multi-spectral imaging (see paragraph 0002: Mizutani).
Regarding claim 2, Kiyohara and Mizutani disclose all the limitations of claim 1, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Furthermore, Kiyohara discloses wherein the multispectral image data is generated based on the image data, and the controller acquires the multispectral image data (e.g., see paragraphs 0074, 0085, 0088: the processing circuit generates hyperspectral image data; Fig. 6, paragraphs 0095, 0097).
Kiyohara does not explicitly disclose the controller adjusts the exposure based on the luminance value included in the multispectral image data.
However, Mizutani discloses the controller adjusts the exposure based on the luminance value included in the multispectral image data (e.g., see abstract, paragraph 0008, 0091: a control circuit that performs exposure control; Figs. 2-3, 9, paragraphs 0077, 0084, 0107).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by Kiyohara to add the teachings of Mizutani as above, in order to provide an improved imaging apparatus that performs multi-spectral imaging (see paragraph 0002: Mizutani).
Regarding claim 3, Kiyohara and Mizutani disclose all the limitations of claim 2, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Furthermore, Kiyohara discloses further comprising a processing circuit that generates the multispectral image data based on the image data (e.g., see paragraphs 0074, 0085, 0088: the processing circuit generates hyperspectral image data; Fig. 6, paragraphs 0095, 0097).
Regarding claim 4, Kiyohara and Mizutani disclose all the limitations of claim 1, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Furthermore, Kiyohara discloses wherein the spectroscopic element is a filter array including a plurality of filters with different transmission spectra from each other (e.g., see paraphs 0003, 0006, 0019: a spectroscopic element; Fig. 3: filter array 10, paragraphs 0028, 0062-0065), and the multispectral image data is generated based on the image data and a restoration table determined based on a spatial distribution of the transmission spectra of the plurality of filters (e.g., see paragraphs 0009, 0025, 0028: restoration table and a filter array including a plurality of types of filters having transmission spectra; paragraphs 0006, 0023, 0054: the spatial distribution of the transmission spectra of the plurality of types of filters; also see paragraphs 0066, 0068, 0069).
Regarding claim 5, Kiyohara and Mizutani disclose all the limitations of claim 1, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Furthermore, Kiyohara discloses further comprising a display that displays a plurality of images indicated by the pieces of image information, respectively (e.g., see paragraphs 0009, 0046, 0048: display; Fig. 3, paragraphs 0062, 0067, 0068: display device 50).
Regarding claim 6, Kiyohara and Mizutani disclose all the limitations of claim 5, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Furthermore, Kiyohara discloses wherein, by receiving a user operation of selecting one or a plurality of images from the images displayed on the display, the input interface receives the first selection information indicating the first wavelength band selected by the user (e.g., see Figs. 8A-8B; paragraph 0009, 0046, 0105, 0108: band selection can be made by user via GUI).
Regarding claim 7, Kiyohara and Mizutani disclose all the limitations of claim 1, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Furthermore, Kiyohara discloses wherein the light is incident on the spectroscopic element via an optical system (e.g., see Figs. 3, 9A, 9B), the input interface receives second selection information indicating a second wavelength band selected by the user from the plurality of wavelength bands, and the controller controls a focus position of the optical system based on the piece of image information that is included in the multispectral image data and corresponds to the second wavelength band (e.g., see paragraphs 0017, 0024, 0025: optical system and properties; Fig. 3, paragraphs 0062, 0065, 0069: optical system 30).
Regarding claim 8, this claim is a method claim of a device version as applied to claim 1 above, wherein the device performs the same limitations cited in claim 1, the rejections of which are incorporated herein.
Regarding claim 9, this claim is a system claim of a device version as applied to claim 1 above, wherein the system performs the same limitations cited in claim 1, the rejections of which are incorporated herein.
Conclusion
/ON S MUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2486