DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
In response to communications filed on 08 November 2023, claims 1-20 are presently pending in the application, of which, claims 1, 10, and 20 are presented in independent form.
Priority
The Examiner acknowledges the instant application is a continuation of U.S. 17/590,378 (now issued as U.S. Patent 12,300,109), filed 01 February 2022 and has been accorded the earliest effective file date.
Drawings
The drawings, filed 08 November 2023, have been reviewed and accepted by the Examiner.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,380,128 (known hereinafter as ‘128). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all the claims in ‘128 are directed to a specific embodiment of the limitations in the instant claims and therefore the claims in ‘128 would anticipate the broader claims of the instant application.
Instant 19/199,508
U.S. 12,380,128
Claim 1:
A system for data synchronization and replication in distributed networks, the system comprising:
Claim 1:
A system for data synchronization and replication in distributed networks, the system comprising:
a processing device;
at least one non-transitory storage device;
a non-transitory storage device containing instructions when executed by the processing device, causes the processing device to perform the following operations:
at least one processor coupled to the at least one non-transitory storage device, wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
monitor performance of one or more operations executed on a source computing cluster by one or more computing devices forming the source computing cluster, wherein the one or more operations are associated with one or more applications including at least a first application whose operations are executed on the source computing cluster and a second application linked to performance of the first application on the source computing cluster;
monitor performance of one or more operations executed on a source computing cluster by one or more computing devices forming the source computing cluster, wherein the one or more operations are associated with one or more applications including at least a first application whose operations are executed on the source computing cluster and a second application linked to performance of the first application on the source computing cluster;
replicate one or more data entries associated with the one or more operations on a data recovery computing cluster communicably coupled with the source computing cluster;
replicate one or more data entries associated with the one or more operations on a data recovery computing cluster communicably coupled with the source computing cluster;
determine an outage condition associated with the source computing cluster;
determine an outage condition associated with the source computing cluster;
determine at least a first operation of the first application, the execution of which is pending on the source computing cluster, wherein the first operation comprises one or more first execution characteristics defining instructions for performance of the first operation of the first application;
determine at least a first operation of the first application the execution of which is pending on the source computing cluster, wherein the first operation comprises one or more first execution characteristics defining instructions for performance of the first operation of the first application;
execute the first operation on the data recovery computing cluster; and
execute the first operation on the data recovery computing cluster based on the one or more first execution characteristics; and
modify one or more connections associated with the second application based on the execution of the first operation on the data recover computing cluster.
modify one or more connections associated with the second application based on the execution of the first operation on the data recover computing cluster.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being unpatentable by Chipman, Ryan, et al (U.S. 12023/0393958 and known hereinafter as Chipman).
As per claim 1, Chipman teaches a system for data synchronization and replication in distributed networks, the system comprising:
at least one non-transitory storage device (e.g. Chipman, see Figure 2, which discloses a processor coupled to memory and non-volatile storage.); and
at least one processor coupled to the at least one non-transitory storage device (e.g. Chipman, see Figure 2, which discloses a processor coupled to memory and non-volatile storage.), wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
monitor performance of one or more operations on a source computing cluster by one or more computing devices forming the source computing cluster (e.g. Chipman, see paragraphs [0050-0052], which discloses independently monitoring a change of data on the source cluster and translating the change of data to one or more database operations to be performed on the destination cluster.), wherein the one or more operations are associated with one or more applications (e.g. Chipman, see paragraphs [0050-0052], which discloses one or more database operations to be performed on the destination cluster, where application quiesces writes on source clusters, as described in paragraph [0043], indicating one or more application.) including at least a first application whose operations are executed on the source computing cluster and a second application linked to performance of the first application on the source computing cluster (e.g. Chipman, see paragraph [0041], which discloses in another scenario, cluster to cluster synchronization between the source cluster and the destination cluster may be needed to synchronize any new changes to the data on the source cluster to the destination cluster on a continuous basis. See further paragraph [0042], which discloses the parallel replication for different subsets of data in the source cluster may improve the performance of data synchronization by expediting the replication of data from the source to the destination.);
replicate one or more data entries associated with the one or more operations on a data recovery computing cluster communicably coupled with the source computing cluster (e.g. Chipman, see paragraphs [0050-0052], which discloses in performing the replication operation, where the change of data may contain a respective change stream associated with each replicator. See further paragraphs [0063-0071], which discloses a plurality of replicators, and where synchronization occurs between the source cluster and destination cluster.);
determine an outage condition associated with the source computing cluster (e.g. Chipman, see paragraphs [0085, 0137, 0141], which discloses monitoring whether the primary node is unavailable based on predetermined conditions.);
determine at least a first operation of the first application, the execution of which is pending on the source computing cluster (e.g. Chipman, see paragraphs [0075-0077], which discloses executing one or more database operations, based on the source cluster.), wherein the first operation comprises one or more first execution characteristics defining instructions for performance of the first operation of the first application (e.g. Chipman, see paragraphs [0075-0078], which discloses executing database operations for storing, retrieving, managing, removing and/or updating data, where the performance of the communication can improve synchronization between the source cluster and the destination cluster.);
execute the first operation on the data recovery computing cluster (e.g. Chipman, see paragraphs [0039-0041], which discloses initiating replication for cluster to cluster synchronization for disaster recovery, where if the source cluster breaks down, the data can be recovered from the destination cluster.); and
modify one or more connections associated with the second application based on the execution of the first operation on the data recover computing cluster (e.g. Chipman, see paragraph [0043], which discloses if the application quiesces writes on the source cluster (by taking the application to a quiesce mode, for a switchover or any other reason), the source and destination clusters will eventually have identical data.).
As per claim 10, Chipman teaches a computer program product for data synchronization and replication in distributed networks, the computer program product comprising a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising code that, when executed, causes an apparatus to:
monitor performance of one or more operations on a source computing cluster by one or more computing devices forming the source computing cluster (e.g. Chipman, see paragraphs [0050-0052], which discloses independently monitoring a change of data on the source cluster and translating the change of data to one or more database operations to be performed on the destination cluster.), wherein the one or more operations are associated with one or more applications (e.g. Chipman, see paragraphs [0050-0052], which discloses one or more database operations to be performed on the destination cluster, where application quiesces writes on source clusters, as described in paragraph [0043], indicating one or more application.) including at least a first application whose operations are executed on the source computing cluster and a second application linked to performance of the first application on the source computing cluster (e.g. Chipman, see paragraph [0041], which discloses in another scenario, cluster to cluster synchronization between the source cluster and the destination cluster may be needed to synchronize any new changes to the data on the source cluster to the destination cluster on a continuous basis. See further paragraph [0042], which discloses the parallel replication for different subsets of data in the source cluster may improve the performance of data synchronization by expediting the replication of data from the source to the destination.);
replicate one or more data entries associated with the one or more operations on a data recovery computing cluster communicably coupled with the source computing cluster (e.g. Chipman, see paragraphs [0050-0052], which discloses in performing the replication operation, where the change of data may contain a respective change stream associated with each replicator. See further paragraphs [0063-0071], which discloses a plurality of replicators, and where synchronization occurs between the source cluster and destination cluster.);
determine an outage condition associated with the source computing cluster (e.g. Chipman, see paragraphs [0085, 0137, 0141], which discloses monitoring whether the primary node is unavailable based on predetermined conditions.);
determine at least a first operation of the first application, the execution of which is pending on the source computing cluster (e.g. Chipman, see paragraphs [0075-0077], which discloses executing one or more database operations, based on the source cluster.), wherein the first operation comprises one or more first execution characteristics defining instructions for performance of the first operation of the first application (e.g. Chipman, see paragraphs [0075-0078], which discloses executing database operations for storing, retrieving, managing, removing and/or updating data, where the performance of the communication can improve synchronization between the source cluster and the destination cluster.);
execute the first operation on the data recovery computing cluster (e.g. Chipman, see paragraphs [0039-0041], which discloses initiating replication for cluster to cluster synchronization for disaster recovery, where if the source cluster breaks down, the data can be recovered from the destination cluster.); and
modify one or more connections associated with the second application based on the execution of the first operation on the data recover computing cluster (e.g. Chipman, see paragraph [0043], which discloses if the application quiesces writes on the source cluster (by taking the application to a quiesce mode, for a switchover or any other reason), the source and destination clusters will eventually have identical data.).
As per claim 16, Chipman teaches a method for data synchronization and replication in distributed networks, the method comprising:
monitor performance of one or more operations on a source computing cluster by one or more computing devices forming the source computing cluster (e.g. Chipman, see paragraphs [0050-0052], which discloses independently monitoring a change of data on the source cluster and translating the change of data to one or more database operations to be performed on the destination cluster.), wherein the one or more operations are associated with one or more applications (e.g. Chipman, see paragraphs [0050-0052], which discloses one or more database operations to be performed on the destination cluster, where application quiesces writes on source clusters, as described in paragraph [0043], indicating one or more application.) including at least a first application whose operations are executed on the source computing cluster and a second application linked to performance of the first application on the source computing cluster (e.g. Chipman, see paragraph [0041], which discloses in another scenario, cluster to cluster synchronization between the source cluster and the destination cluster may be needed to synchronize any new changes to the data on the source cluster to the destination cluster on a continuous basis. See further paragraph [0042], which discloses the parallel replication for different subsets of data in the source cluster may improve the performance of data synchronization by expediting the replication of data from the source to the destination.);
replicate one or more data entries associated with the one or more operations on a data recovery computing cluster communicably coupled with the source computing cluster (e.g. Chipman, see paragraphs [0050-0052], which discloses in performing the replication operation, where the change of data may contain a respective change stream associated with each replicator. See further paragraphs [0063-0071], which discloses a plurality of replicators, and where synchronization occurs between the source cluster and destination cluster.);
determine an outage condition associated with the source computing cluster (e.g. Chipman, see paragraphs [0085, 0137, 0141], which discloses monitoring whether the primary node is unavailable based on predetermined conditions.);
determine at least a first operation of the first application, the execution of which is pending on the source computing cluster (e.g. Chipman, see paragraphs [0075-0077], which discloses executing one or more database operations, based on the source cluster.), wherein the first operation comprises one or more first execution characteristics defining instructions for performance of the first operation of the first application (e.g. Chipman, see paragraphs [0075-0078], which discloses executing database operations for storing, retrieving, managing, removing and/or updating data, where the performance of the communication can improve synchronization between the source cluster and the destination cluster.);
execute the first operation on the data recovery computing cluster (e.g. Chipman, see paragraphs [0039-0041], which discloses initiating replication for cluster to cluster synchronization for disaster recovery, where if the source cluster breaks down, the data can be recovered from the destination cluster.); and
modify one or more connections associated with the second application based on the execution of the first operation on the data recover computing cluster (e.g. Chipman, see paragraph [0043], which discloses if the application quiesces writes on the source cluster (by taking the application to a quiesce mode, for a switchover or any other reason), the source and destination clusters will eventually have identical data.).
As per claim 2, 11, and 17, Chipman teaches the system of Claim 1, the computer program product of claim 10, and the method of claim 16, respectively, wherein executing of the first operation on the data recovery computing cluster is based on one or more first execution characteristics (e.g. Chipman, see paragraphs [0050-0052], which discloses in performing the replication operation, where the change of data may contain a respective change stream associated with each replicator. See further paragraphs [0063-0071], which discloses a plurality of replicators, and where synchronization occurs between the source cluster and destination cluster.).
As per claims 3, 12, and 18, Chipman teaches the system of Claim 1, the computer program product of claim 10, and the method of claim 16, respectively, wherein, in executing the first operation on the data recovery computing cluster, the processor is further configured to terminate execution of the first operation on the source computing cluster (e.g. Chipman, see paragraphs [0075-0078], which discloses executing database operations for storing, retrieving, managing, removing and/or updating data, where the performance of the communication can improve synchronization between the source cluster and the destination cluster.).
As per claim 4, Chipman teaches the system of Claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to generate a user notification comprising the outage condition (e.g. Chipman, see paragraphs [0085, 0137, 0141], which discloses monitoring whether the primary node is unavailable based on predetermined conditions.).
As per claim 5, Chipman teaches the system of Claim 1, wherein the outage condition is indicative of an operational failure of one or more computing components forming the source computing cluster (e.g. Chipman, see paragraphs [0085, 0137, 0141], which discloses monitoring whether the primary node is unavailable based on predetermined conditions.).
As per claim 6, Chipman teaches the system of Claim 1, wherein the outage condition is indicative of a scheduled service operation associated with the source computing cluster (e.g. Chipman, see paragraphs [0050-0052], which discloses in performing the replication operation, where the change of data may contain a respective change stream associated with each replicator. See further paragraphs [0063-0071], which discloses a plurality of replicators, and where synchronization occurs between the source cluster and destination cluster.).
As per claims 7, 13, and 19, Chipman teaches the system of Claim 1, the computer program product of claim 10, and the method of claim 16, respectively, wherein the second application is an upstream application of the first application that is configured to supply data to the first application, the processor further configured to:
redirect one or more connections between the second application and the source computing cluster to the data recovery computing cluster such that inputs from the second application are directed to the data recovery computing cluster (e.g. Chipman, see paragraphs [0039-0041], which discloses initiating replication for cluster to cluster synchronization for disaster recovery, where if the source cluster breaks down, the data can be recovered from the destination cluster.).
As per claims 8, 14, and 20, Chipman teaches the system of Claim 6, the computer program product of claim 10, and the method of claim 16, respectively, wherein the second application is a downstream application of the first application that is configured to receive data from the first application, the processor further configured to:
redirect one or more connections between the source computing cluster and the second application to the data recovery computing cluster such that outputs from the data recovery computing cluster are directed to the second application (e.g. Chipman, see paragraphs [0039-0041], which discloses initiating replication for cluster to cluster synchronization for disaster recovery, where if the source cluster breaks down, the data can be recovered from the destination cluster.).
As per claims 9 and 15, Chipman teaches the system of Claim 1 and the computer program product of claim 10, respectively, wherein the one or more first execution characteristics further comprise one or more data entries indicative of a priority associated with the first operation, the processor further configured to:
determine an execution order queue for the data recovery computing cluster (e.g. Chipman, see paragraphs [0040-0043], which discloses applying all operations from the source based on order to bring a consistent copy of the data to the destination.); and
execute the first operation on the data recovery computing cluster based on the priority of the first operation (e.g. Chipman, see paragraphs [0039-0041], which discloses initiating replication for cluster to cluster synchronization for disaster recovery, where if the source cluster breaks down, the data can be recovered from the destination cluster.).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. See attached PTO-892 that includes additional prior art of record describing the general state of the art in which the invention is directed to.
Contact Information
/FARHAN M SYED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2161 February 6, 2026