DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the at least one garter spring having two free ends, as set forth in claim 9, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.84(h) and 37 CFR 1.84(u) because Figure3 includes multiple views under a single label, and therefore the views are not “clearly separated from one another”. Further, “[t]he different views must be numbered in consecutive Arabic numerals”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 9, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 8,414,215 (Langendoen).
Regarding claim 1, Langendoen discloses a ball joint assembly (10; see Figures 1-3) comprising:
a ball joint (12, 14, 16) including a ball stud (12) with a shaft portion (16) and a ball head portion (14);
a housing (24), the ball head portion being rotatably retained within the housing (see column 2, lines 55-62);
a dust cover (32) adapted to cover the ball joint and including an upper-end portion (34) fixed to the housing and a lower-end portion (42) fixed to the shaft portion of the ball stud (see Figure 1); and
at least one garter spring (36, 48; see column 4, line 13) arranged at the upper-end portion of the dust cover and configured to fasten the dust cover to the housing and/or at the lower-end portion of the dust cover and configured to fasten the dust cover to the shaft portion (see Figure 1 and column 3, lines 7-35).
Regarding claim 2, Langendoen discloses the dust cover (32) is provided with an annular groove (shown accepting 36 in Figure 1, or 50) at the upper-end portion (34) and/or at the lower-end portion (42) for accommodating the at least one garter spring (36, 46; see Figure 1).
Regarding claim 3, Langendoen discloses the at least one garter spring (36, 46) has a cross-section diameter less than or equal to an inner diameter of the annular groove (shown accepting 36 in Figure 1) at the upper end portion (34) or less than or equal to an inner diameter of the annular groove (50) at the lower end portion (42; see Figure 1).
Regarding claim 4, Langendoen discloses the at least one garter spring (36, 46) provides a radial force of sufficient magnitude to fasten the dust cover (32) to the housing (24) or to the shaft portion (16; see Figure 1 and column 3, lines 20-35, and column 4, lines 8-18).
Regarding claim 5, Langendoen discloses the at least one garter spring (36) includes a first garter spring arranged at the upper-end portion (34) of the dust cover (32) to fasten the dust cover to the housing (24) and a second garter spring (46) arranged at the lower-end portion (42) of the dust cover to fasten the dust cover to the shaft portion (16; see Figure 1).
Regarding claim 6, Langendoen discloses the first garter spring (36) has a wire diameter different than a wire diameter of the second garter spring (46; see Figure 1) and/or the first garter spring provides a radial force different in magnitude than a radial force provided by the second garter spring.
Regarding claim 7, Langendoen discloses the first garter spring (36) has a wire diameter greater than a wire diameter of the second garter spring (46; see Figure 1, where the diameter of the first garter spring is greater than the diameter of the second garter spring).
Regarding claim 9, Langendoen discloses at least one garter spring (36, 46) has two free ends adapted to be connected to each other (see column 4, lines 8-18).
Regarding claim 10, Langendoen discloses the housing (24) has a recess (30) and the dust cover (32) has a rim-like structure (at 34) protruding from the upper-end portion (34) of the dust cover and configured to be fixed at the recess of the housing (see Figure 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Langendoen in view of US 4,786,272 (Baker).
Langendoen discloses the ball joint assembly according to claim 5, but does not expressly disclose the first garter spring (36) provides a radial force with a greater magnitude than a radial force provided by the second garter spring (46).
Baker teaches, in the art of dust covers (10), it is known to provide a first retaining member (20) which provides a radial force with a greater magnitude than a radial force provided by a second retaining member (21) in order to compensate for larger forces that are typically placed on the larger end of the dust cover (see column 1, lines 45-51). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ball joint assembly of Langendoen, such that the first garter spring provides a radial force with a greater magnitude than a radial force provided by the second garter spring, as taught in Baker, in order to compensate for larger forces that are typically placed on the larger end of the dust cover.
Conclusion
The prior art set forth in the attached Notice of References Cited (PTO-892) made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure in the field of ball joint assemblies.
/Josh Skroupa/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678
October 7, 2026