Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 - 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by McDevitt (US 2010/0036498 A1).
Regarding claim 1, McDevitt discloses a method of implanting an intervertebral implant within an intervertebral space between a superior vertebral body and an inferior vertebral body (Abstract, Fig. 3), the method comprising:
placing a distal end of a shaft of the intervertebral implant (paragraph [0054], ref. 10, Fig. 1) adjacent the intervertebral space (paragraph [0065]);
engaging a concave undercut surface of a helical thread disposed about the shaft with the superior vertebral body and the inferior vertebral body (paragraph [0057] discloses that threads ref. 35 of the implant have an undercut profile in leading and trailing surfaces ref. 50, 55, see Fig. 2); and
rotating the intervertebral implant in a first rotational direction to insert the intervertebral implant within the intervertebral space (paragraph [0065]);
wherein, when the intervertebral implant is implanted within the intervertebral space, the concave undercut surface is shaped to resist at least one force transmitted between the superior vertebral body and the inferior vertebral body to stabilize the intervertebral space (paragraph [0015] discloses that the undercut threading holds the adjacent vertebral bodies in position when subjected to forces, thus resisting the forces to hold the position).
Regarding claim 2, McDevitt discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
preparing the intervertebral space to receive the intervertebral implant, wherein preparing the intervertebral space comprises at least one of:
removing at least a portion of an intervertebral disc intermediate the superior vertebral body and the inferior vertebral body (paragraph [0064] discloses partially or completely removing diseased or degenerative disc material);
distracting the superior vertebral body and the inferior vertebral body away from each other; and
compressing the superior vertebral body and the inferior vertebral body toward each other.
Regarding claim 3, McDevitt discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
forming at least one tapped bone thread in at least one of:
a superior vertebral endplate of the superior vertebral body; and
an inferior vertebral endplate of the inferior vertebral body (paragraph [0064] discloses forming, via tapping, dovetail thread seats ref. 90 into the vertebral bodies, see Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 4, McDevitt discloses the method of claim 1, wherein:
the intervertebral implant comprises a first intervertebral implant; and
the method further comprises implanting a second intervertebral implant within the intervertebral space adjacent the first intervertebral implant (Figs. 3 – 4 show two implants within the disc space).
Regarding claim 5, McDevitt discloses the method of claim 1, wherein at least one of a minor diameter of the shaft and a major diameter of the helical thread is constant along at least a portion of the shaft (Fig. 2 shows the dimeter to be constant along the viewed cross-section between the two tapered ends).
Regarding claim 6, McDevitt discloses the method of claim 1, wherein at least one of a minor diameter of the shaft and a major diameter of the helical thread varies along at least a portion of the shaft (Fig. 2 shows the minor diameter of the shaft different at the proximal and distal ends due to the tapered profile).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
/TESSA M MATTHEWS/Examiner, Art Unit 3773