Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: Internal Surface Inspection with Adjustable Light Disc.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 7, 11, and 16 are objected to because of the following informalities: they contain numerous typos and wording errors. As example only, claim 1 includes “into and of out of the field of view” which should read “into and out of the field of view”, claim 1 recites “a light source spaced apart from the end of optical probe” but should read “from the end of the optical probe”, claim 1 recites “a conical mirror secured to light source” but should read “a conical mirror secured to the light source”, and so forth. The applicant should proofread all claims for grammatical corrections and typos.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With respect to claim 1, the limitation “focus the light disc radially relative to the conical mirror” is unclear. A light disc is focused at a radial distance from the conical mirror; it is not clear what it means to focus the disc “radially relative to” the mirror, or whether this differs from focusing the light disc “radially inward and radially outward from the conical mirror” recited earlier in the claim. For examination purposes, the limitation is interpreted as focusing the light disc at a radial distance from the conical mirror corresponding to the internal surface (see P.0053-54). Claims 2-6 are likewise rejected for failing to correct the deficiencies of the claims upon which they depend.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 12,326,406. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claims cover more subject matter, encompassing all the limitations of the claims in the current application. Patent claim 1 recites the optical probe, light source, conical mirror, and imaging sensor; a first actuator rotating them (claims 2-3, 8, 13, 18); a second actuator extending and retracting (claims 4-5, 9, 14, 19); a third actuator adjusting the mirror to probe distance (claims 1, 7, 11, 17); a fourth actuator adjusting the mirror-to-source distance to focus the light (claims 1, 7, 12, and 16); a controller and conveyance system (claims 1, 3, 5, 6) and the imaging sensor (claims 10, 15, 20).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dobell U.S. Publication 2019/0145759.
With respect to claim 11, Dobell discloses an inspection system configured to scan internal surfaces of manufactured components (P.0002, P.0020, internal surfaces – interior surface of a pipe) comprising:
An optical probe having a field of view (P.0021, P.0036, optical probe = camera 18 with fisheye lens 20)
A light source positioned within the field of view (P.0021, P.0036, light source = laser 28)
A conical mirror transforming the light into a light disc projected onto the internal surfaces (P.0037, P.0041, light disc = laser ring 38)
An actuator adjusting a distance between the conical mirror and the optical probe to move the intersection into and out of the field of view (P.0024, P.0026-27, P.0039, actuator = outer ring 48, inner core 46)
With respect to claim 15, Dobell discloses all of the limitations applied to claim 11 above. In addition, Dobell discloses: the imaging sensor configured to receive reflections of the light disc from the internal surfaces via the optical probe while scanning the internal surfaces (P.0021, P.0026, imaging sensor = camera 18).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dobell in view of Keightley et al. U.S. Patent 8,035,823.
With respect to claims 16 and 20, Dobell discloses the optical probe, light source, conical mirror, light disc and imaging sensor as described above with respect to claims 11 and 15. Dobell further discloses an actuator adjusting a distance between the conical mirror and the light source (P.0009, P.0039, actuator = outer ring 48 and inner core 46; light source = laser 28 + ring projector 150) for pipes of differing diameters (P.0009, P.0024, P.0039).
However, Dobell fails to disclose that the adjustment focuses the light disc radially inward and radially outward onto the internal surfaces.
Keightley teaches a conical mirror forming a light disc (Col.5, l 43-54, light disc = laser disc 42) with optics adjusted to focus at the surface (Col.5, l 53-55).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to apply Keightley’s desire to focus the light disc on the internal surface in the adjustment mechanism of Dobell to keep the light focused over the entire measured range (Keightley, Col.5, l 53-55, Col.6, l 5-12).
Claim(s) 13, 14, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dobell in view of Keightley et al. U.S. Patent 8,035,823 and further in view of Khoravani U.S. 2020/0371332.
With respect to claims 13, 14, 18, and 19, Dobell discloses the limitations as applied to claim 11 and 16 above. However, Dobell fails to disclose a second actuator rotating the probe, light source, and conical mirror about an axis, or extending and retracting them along the axis into and out of the cavities while scanning.
Khosravani teaches a motorized rotation stage (P.0063) and a Z-axis stage motor extending and retracting the probe during scanning (P.0047, P.0058, P.0066, P.0071).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to mount Dobell’s probe on rotation and insertion stages as taught by Khosravani to automatically scan the full bore (Khosravani, P.0005, P.0008).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and if the nonstatutory double patenting rejection is overcome.
Claims 1-10 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the nonstatutory double patenting rejection and for claims 1-6, if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection under 35 USC 112(b) and the objections set forth in this office action and for claims 7-10 if rewritten to correct the objection to claim 7.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art alone or in combination fails to disclose or suggest, in combination with the other recited elements, a first actuator adjusting the mirror-to-probe distance to move the light disc intersection into and out of the field of view and a second actuator adjusting the mirror-source distance to focus the light disc.
The nearest prior art: Dobell moves a single conical mirror on one support (p.0024, P.0039) without independent adjustment of both distances. Keightley fixes the mirror and laser and has no actuators (Col.3, l 63-67, Col.4, 1-2, Col.5, l 56-63).
Citation
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Keightley et al. U.S. Patent #10,267,725 discloses surface profile measurement inside pipes with a camera between a light source and a conical mirror.
Fraignier et al. U.S. Patent #4,967,092 discloses optical inspection of the internal profile of a tube.
Baba et al. U.S. Patent #9,612,109 discloses an inner diameter measuring apparatus that uses a cone mirror to project a light ring into the bore.
U.S. Patent #10,775,315 discloses a system for inserting and positioning an inspection probe within a component.
Conclusion
REBECCA CAROLE. BRYANT
Examiner
Art Unit 2877
/REBECCA C BRYANT/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2877