DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 1-20 of U.S. Application 19/199803 filed on May 6, 2025 are presented for examination.
Priority
3. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
4. The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on May 6, 2025 and August 8, 2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
6. Claims 1, 3, 13 and 15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 3 and 17 respectively of copending Application No. 19/034408 (‘408) (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Regarding instant claim 1, claim 3 of reference application ‘408 recites an integrated electric drive system, comprising a motor, a speed reducer, a controller, and a single-piece enclosure, wherein (claim 1, lines 1-2, claim 3 depends from claim 1 and therefore includes all the limitations of claim 1):
a first enclosure space having a first opening and configured for the controller to be mounted is recessed on the single-piece enclosure; a second enclosure space configured for the motor to be mounted and a third enclosure space configured for the speed reducer to be mounted are disposed in a direction of the single-piece enclosure facing away from the first opening; the controller is connected with the motor; and an output shaft of the motor is connected with the speed reducer (claim 1, lines 3-7);
a mounting width value and a width value of the first enclosure space are about the same in a direction parallel to the output shaft of the motor; and the mounting width value is a sum of a width value of the second enclosure space and a width value of the third enclosure space (claim 3, lines 1-4).
Regarding instant claim 3, claim 3 of reference application ‘408 recites the speed reducer comprises a main shaft, an intermediate shaft, an output shaft, a driving gear, an output gear, an intermediate driving gear, and an intermediate driven gear; the main shaft is connected with the output shaft of the motor; the driving gear is mounted to the main shaft; the intermediate driving gear and the intermediate driven gear are mounted to the intermediate shaft; the output gear is mounted to the output shaft of the speed reducer; the intermediate driving gear is meshed with the driving gear; and the intermediate driven gear is meshed with the output gear (claim 1, lines 8-14, claim 3 depends from claim 1 and therefore includes all the limitations of claim 1);
and an axis of the intermediate shaft is higher than axes of the main shaft and the output shaft of the speed reducer; and an angle between a line connecting a center point of the main shaft to a center point of the output shaft of the speed reducer and a horizontal plane is less than or equal to a preset angle on a plane perpendicular to the axis of the main shaft (claim 1, lines 15-18).
Regarding instant claim 1, claim 17 of reference application ‘408 recites an integrated electric drive system, comprising a motor, a speed reducer, a controller, and a single-piece enclosure, wherein (claim 15, lines 1-3, claim 17 depends from claim 15 and therefore includes all the limitations of claim 15):
a first enclosure space having a first opening and configured for the controller to be mounted is recessed on the single-piece enclosure; a second enclosure space configured for the motor to be mounted and a third enclosure space configured for the speed reducer to be mounted are disposed in a direction of the single-piece enclosure facing away from the first opening; the controller is connected with the motor; and an output shaft of the motor is connected with the speed reducer (claim 15, lines 3-8);
a mounting width value and a width value of the first enclosure space are about the same in a direction parallel to the output shaft of the motor; and the mounting width value is a sum of a width value of the second enclosure space and a width value of the third enclosure space (claim 17, lines 1-4).
Regarding instant claim 3, claim 17 of reference application ‘408 recites the speed reducer comprises a main shaft, an intermediate shaft, an output shaft, a driving gear, an output gear, an intermediate driving gear, and an intermediate driven gear; the main shaft is connected with the output shaft of the motor; the driving gear is mounted to the main shaft; the intermediate driving gear and the intermediate driven gear are mounted to the intermediate shaft; the output gear is mounted to the output shaft of the speed reducer; the intermediate driving gear is meshed with the driving gear; and the intermediate driven gear is meshed with the output gear (claim 15, lines 9-14, claim 17 depends from claim 15 and therefore includes all the limitations of claim 15);
and an axis of the intermediate shaft is higher than axes of the main shaft and the output shaft of the speed reducer; and an angle between a line connecting a center point of the main shaft to a center point of the output shaft of the speed reducer and a horizontal plane is less than or equal to a preset angle on a plane perpendicular to the axis of the main shaft (claim 15, lines 15-19).
Regarding instant claim 13, claim 17 of reference application ‘408 recites an electric vehicle, comprising an integrated electric drive system, and the integrated electric drive system comprising a motor, a speed reducer, a controller, and a single-piece enclosure, wherein (claim 15, lines 1-3, claim 17 depends from claim 15 and therefore includes all the limitations of claim 15):
a first enclosure space having a first opening and configured for the controller to be mounted is recessed on the single-piece enclosure; a second enclosure space configured for the motor to be mounted and a third enclosure space configured for the speed reducer to be mounted are disposed in a direction of the single-piece enclosure facing away from the first opening; the controller is connected with the motor; and an output shaft of the motor is connected with the speed reducer (claim 15, lines 4-8);
a mounting width value and a width value of the first enclosure space are about the same in a direction parallel to the output shaft of the motor; and the mounting width value is a sum of a width value of the second enclosure space and a width value of the third enclosure space (claim 17, lines 1-4).
Regarding instant claim 15, claim 17 of reference application ‘408 recites the speed reducer comprises a main shaft, an intermediate shaft, an output shaft, a driving gear, an output gear, an intermediate driving gear, and an intermediate driven gear; the main shaft is connected with the output shaft of the motor; the driving gear is mounted to the main shaft; the intermediate driving gear and the intermediate driven gear are mounted to the intermediate shaft; the output gear is mounted to the output shaft of the speed reducer; the intermediate driving gear is meshed with the driving gear; and the intermediate driven gear is meshed with the output gear (claim 15, lines 9-14, claim 17 depends from claim 15 and therefore includes all the limitations of claim 15);
and an axis of the intermediate shaft is higher than axes of the main shaft and the output shaft of the speed reducer; and an angle between a line connecting a center point of the main shaft to a center point of the output shaft of the speed reducer and a horizontal plane is less than or equal to a preset angle on a plane perpendicular to the axis of the main shaft (claim 15, lines 15-19).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
8. Claims 3 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 3, lines 10-12, “an angle between a line connecting a center point of the main shaft to a center point of the output shaft of the speed reducer and a horizontal plane is less than or equal to a preset angle on a plane perpendicular to the axis of the main shaft.” The claim does not specify what the value of the preset angle is and is therefore indefinite because the preset angle could potentially be any value. The examiner will interpret as -- the preset angle is any angle greater that zero --.
Regarding claim 15, lines 10-12, “an angle between a line connecting a center point of the main shaft to a center point of the output shaft of the speed reducer and a horizontal plane is less than or equal to a preset angle on a plane perpendicular to the axis of the main shaft.” The claim does not specify what the value of the preset angle is and is therefore indefinite because the preset angle could potentially be any value. The examiner will interpret as -- the preset angle is any angle greater that zero --.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
10. Claims 1, 7, 12, 13 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yamamoto (WO 2013069774, see English Machine Translation attached).
Regarding claim 1, Yamamoto teaches (see figs. 6 and 7 below) an integrated electric drive system (title, Abstract), comprising
a motor (11), a speed reducer (13), a controller (12), and a single-piece enclosure (15-17) (figs. 6 and 7; Abstract; page 3), wherein:
a first enclosure space (see annotated fig. 7 below) having a first opening and configured for the controller (12) to be mounted is recessed on the single-piece enclosure (15-17) (Abstract; page 3);
a second enclosure space (see annotated fig. 7 below) configured for the motor (33) to be mounted and a third enclosure space (see annotated fig. 7 below) configured for the speed reducer (13) to be mounted are disposed in a direction of the single-piece enclosure (15-17) facing away from the first opening (Abstract; page 3);
the controller (12) is connected with the motor (11) (Abstract); and
an output shaft (22) of the motor (11) is connected with the speed reducer (13) (Abstract; pages 2-3);
a mounting width value and a width value of the first enclosure space (see annotated fig. 7 below) are about the same in a direction parallel to the output shaft (22) of the motor (11); and the mounting width value is a sum of a width value of the second enclosure space (see annotated fig. 7 below) and a width value of the third enclosure space (see annotated fig. 7 below) (figs. 6 and 7; Abstract; pages 2-3).
Regarding claim 7/1, Yamamoto teaches (see figs. 6 and 7 above) an absolute value of a difference between the mounting width value and the width value of the first enclosure space (see annotated fig. 7 above) is greater than 0 (figs. 6 and 7; Abstract; pages 2-3).
Regarding claim 12/1, Yamamoto teaches (see figs. 6 and 7 above) an enclosure cover (19) adaptively connected with the first opening (fig. 7; page 3).
Regarding claim 13, Yamamoto teaches (see figs. 6 and 7 above) an electric vehicle, comprising an integrated electric drive system (title, Abstract), and
the integrated electric drive system comprising a motor (11), a speed reducer (13), a controller (12), and a single-piece enclosure (15-17) (figs. 6 and 7; Abstract; page 3), wherein:
a first enclosure space (see annotated fig. 7 below) having a first opening and configured for the controller (12) to be mounted is recessed on the single-piece enclosure (15-17) (Abstract; page 3);
a second enclosure space (see annotated fig. 7 below) configured for the motor (33) to be mounted and a third enclosure space (see annotated fig. 7 below) configured for the speed reducer (13) to be mounted are disposed in a direction of the single-piece enclosure (15-17) facing away from the first opening (Abstract; page 3);
the controller (12) is connected with the motor (11) (Abstract); and
an output shaft (22) of the motor (11) is connected with the speed reducer (13) (Abstract; pages 2-3);
a mounting width value and a width value of the first enclosure space (see annotated fig. 7 below) are about the same in a direction parallel to the output shaft (22) of the motor (11); and the mounting width value is a sum of a width value of the second enclosure space (see annotated fig. 7 below) and a width value of the third enclosure space (see annotated fig. 7 below) (figs. 6 and 7; Abstract; pages 2-3).
Regarding claim 19/13, Yamamoto teaches (see figs. 6 and 7 above) an absolute value of a difference between the mounting width value and the width value of the first enclosure space (see annotated fig. 7 above) is greater than 0 (figs. 6 and 7; Abstract; pages 2-3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
12. Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamamoto in view of Wei (CN 210911983, see English Machine Translation attached).
Regarding claim 10, Yamamoto teaches (see figs. 6 and 7 above) a single-piece enclosure (figs. 6 and 7; Abstract; page 3).
Yamamoto does not explicitly teach the controller comprises a capacitor module, an insulated gate bipolar transistor (IGBT) module, a three-phase copper bar and a DC bus; the capacitor module, the IGBT module and the three-phase copper bar are mounted in the first enclosure space; the capacitor module is connected with a vehicle power battery through the DC bus mounted to the enclosure; and the three-phase copper bar is connected with a three-phase terminal of the motor; and the vehicle power battery drives the motor to rotate through the DC bus, the capacitor module, the IGBT module, and the three-phase copper bar connected in sequence.
However, Wei teaches (see figs. 4 and 5 below) the controller (4, fig. 1) comprises a capacitor module (42), an insulated gate bipolar transistor (IGBT) module (41), a three-phase copper bar (43) and a DC bus (3); the capacitor module (42), the IGBT module (41) and the three-phase copper bar (43) are mounted in the first enclosure space; the capacitor module (42) is connected with a vehicle power battery through the DC bus (3) mounted to the enclosure; and the three-phase copper bar (43) is connected with a three-phase terminal of the motor; and the vehicle power battery drives the motor to rotate through the DC bus (3), the capacitor module (42), the IGBT module, and the three-phase copper bar connected in sequence (Abstract, pages 5-6) in order to provide a lightweight control unit for integration into the device (Wei, page 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Yamamoto and provide the controller comprises a capacitor module, an insulated gate bipolar transistor (IGBT) module, a three-phase copper bar and a DC bus; the capacitor module, the IGBT module and the three-phase copper bar are mounted in the first enclosure space; the capacitor module is connected with a vehicle power battery through the DC bus mounted to the enclosure; and the three-phase copper bar is connected with a three-phase terminal of the motor; and the vehicle power battery drives the motor to rotate through the DC bus, the capacitor module, the IGBT module, and the three-phase copper bar connected in sequence as taught by Wei in order to provide a lightweight control unit for integration into the device (Wei, page 2).
Allowable Subject Matter
13. Claims 2, 4, 5, 6, 8, 9, 11, 14, 16-18 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
14. Claims 3 and 15 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ALEXANDER A SINGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834