DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 10 and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (CN 115441212 A), hereinafter Yang.
Regarding claim 1, Yang teaches (note: what Yang does not teach is struck through),
A radar apparatus (p. 7, para. 5, “The application claims an antenna module comprising an antenna array, the antenna module can use such as MIMO radar,”), comprising:
transmission circuitry (fig. 3a, signal generating module 120), which, in operation, transmits a transmission signal using either one of a first antenna group and a second antenna group (fig. 3a, antenna array 110 contains at least two antenna groups and is connected to signal generating module 120. See p. 9, para. 3, “For example, the antenna array 110 and the signal generating module 120 are connected through the first channel, the antenna array 110 is connected with the signal processing module 130 through the second channel. Optionally, the first channel is a transmitting channel, the second channel is a receiving channel…wherein the antenna array 110 according to the function can be divided into two types of array element group, wherein a group of array element is used for transmitting array element the other array element group is used as receiving array element”); and
reception circuitry (fig. 3a, signal processing module 130), which, in operation, receives a reflected wave signal using another of the first antenna group and the second antenna group, the reflected wave signal being the transmission signal reflected by an object (fig. 3a, antenna array 110 contains at least two antenna groups and is connected to signal processing module 130. See p. 9, para. 3, “For example, the antenna array 110 and the signal generating module 120 are connected through the first channel, the antenna array 110 is connected with the signal processing module 130 through the second channel. Optionally, the first channel is a transmitting channel, the second channel is a receiving channel…wherein the antenna array 110 according to the function can be divided into two types of array element group, wherein a group of array element is used for transmitting array element the other array element group is used as receiving array element”), wherein
an r1th antenna and an r2th antenna of the first antenna group are arranged adjacent to each other in a third direction different from both a first direction and a second direction orthogonal to the first direction (fig. 6a, reproduced below as fig. 1 with annotations added by the Examiner for clarity. The third direction is marked by the large arrow, while the first and second directions are unmarked but are the standard horizontal and vertical directions. The Examiner has labeled each antenna with its corresponding name used by the Applicant in the Applicant’s claims. The Examiner notes that the separate antenna groups are represented by dots and arrows, justified by the caption of the machine translation included in Figure 2 below. Hereinafter, the Examiner’s references to fig. 6a will refer to the labels used in the reproduction below captioned Figure 1 – Labeled reproduction of fig. 6a),
Figure 1 - Labeled reproduction of fig. 6a
Figure 2 - Machine translation of fig. 6a
a t1th antenna and a t2th antenna of the second antenna group are arranged adjacent to each other in the third direction (fig. 6a),
an r3th antenna of the first antenna group is arranged at a position shifted beyond a defined value in each of the first direction and the second direction from the third direction (fig. 6a, noting that r3th antenna is offset by d2 in both the horizontal and vertical directions. See also p. 12, para. 9, “any one structure of FIG. 6a to FIG. 6d is an example, the first distance d1 is the distance between the first emitting array element and the second emitting array element the second distance d2 is the row spacing or column spacing between any two adjacent receiving array element in the first receiving array element group, namely the side length of the square composed of 4 receiving array element.” See also p. 12, para. 10, “d2> λ /2, λ represents the wavelength of the transmitted signal.” The Examiner notes that as long as the defined value is less than λ /2 (e.g., when the defined value is λ/4, etc.), d2 being greater than λ/2 indicates that r3 is shifted beyond the defined value in both the down and right directions), the defined value being based on a wavelength of the transmission signal (p. 12, para. 10, “d2 > λ/2, λ represents the wavelength of the transmitted signal.”), and
Although Yang does not explicitly teach the struck through limitation above, Yang renders obvious, “an absolute value of a difference between a spacing between the r1th antenna and the r2th antenna and a spacing between the t1th antenna and the t2th antenna is the defined value.” This limitation would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art because it is no more than a design choice that uses the specification of Yang for a particular purpose. Specifically, Yang teaches that d2 must be greater than λ/2, and teaches that
d
1
=
0.5
2
d
2
, where d1 is the distance between the t1th and t2th antennas and d2 is the distance between the r1th/r2th and r3th antennas. For consistency, the Examiner will refer to the distance between the r1th and r2th antennas as d3. Thus, when d1 = λ/2, d2 =
2
λ
2
, which is greater than λ/2. When β = 45o, as shown in fig. 6a above, d3 = λ. Thus, the difference between the spacing between the r1th and r2th and the spacing between the t1th and t2th antennas is λ/2, i.e., the defined value. Since this arrangement meets all of the design specifications of Yang, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to choose this particular arrangement so as to adapt the antenna arrangement of Yang for a particular purpose.
Regarding claim 2, Yang teaches,
The radar apparatus according to claim 1, wherein: when the first direction is a horizontal direction, the second direction is a vertical direction, and when the first direction is the vertical direction, the second direction is the horizontal direction (fig. 6a).
Regarding claim 3, Yang teaches,
The radar apparatus according to claim 1, wherein a number of antennas in the first antenna group is three or four, and a number of antennas in the second antenna group is two or three (fig. 6a, first antenna group contains four elements and second antenna group contains two elements).
Regarding claim 4, Yang teaches,
The radar apparatus according to claim 1, wherein: the r1th antenna and the r3th antenna are arranged in the second direction, and a spacing between the r1th antenna and the r3th antenna is wider than the defined value in the second direction (fig. 6a, noting that r3th antenna is offset by d2 in both the horizontal and vertical directions. See also, p. 12, para. 9, “any one structure of FIG. 6a to FIG. 6d is an example, the first distance d1 is the distance between the first emitting array element and the second emitting array element the second distance d2 is the row spacing or column spacing between any two adjacent receiving array element in the first receiving array element group, namely the side length of the square composed of 4 receiving array element.” See also p. 4, para. 5, “in addition, combined with any one possible implementation of the first aspect, the distance between the first array element and the second emitting array element the first distance, the first distance is d1; in the second array element group, the row spacing or column spacing between any two adjacent receiving array element is the second distance, the second distance is d2.” The Examiner notes that d1 is the defined value, and is based on a multiple of d2, which is based on a multiple of the wavelength.).
Regarding claim 5, Yang teaches,
The radar apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the r1th antenna and the r3th antenna are arranged in a fourth direction different from the first direction, the second direction, and the third direction (fig. 6a, noting that “direction” is broad enough to encompass a definition in which up, down, left, and right constitute four directions. In a scenario where right is the first direction, up or down is the second direction, and the diagonal line between r1 and r2 is the third direction, the leftward placement of r1 relative to r3 constitutes a fourth direction.).
Regarding claim 6, Yang teaches,
The radar apparatus according to claim 1, wherein:
a plurality of virtual reception antennas formed by the first antenna group and the second antenna group (fig. 13, a machine translation of which is included below. The Examiner notes that the arrows on the reproduction below have been added for clarity. Hereinafter, references to fig. 13 will include elements of the annotated figure below) include:
Figure 3 - Machine translation of fig. 13 with arrows added by Examiner
a first virtual reception antenna group arranged in the third direction (fig. 13, solid arrow), and
a second virtual reception antenna group different from the first virtual reception antenna group and arranged in a fifth direction parallel to the third direction (fig. 13, dashed arrow),
at least one spacing between two adjacent virtual reception antennas included in the first virtual reception antenna group is the defined value based on the wavelength of the transmission signal (fig. 6a, fig. 13, p. 12, para. 10, “d2 > λ/2, λ represents the wavelength of the transmitted signal.” The Examiner notes that the spacing of a virtual array is based on the spacing of the physical array. Ergo, if the spacing of the physical array is based on the wavelength of the transmission signal, then the spacing of the virtual array will also be based on the wavelength of the transmission signal), and
a spacing in the first direction between one virtual antenna included in the first virtual reception antenna group and one virtual reception antenna included in the second virtual reception antenna group is wider than the defined value (fig. 13, noting that the bottommost antenna in the first virtual antenna group is aligned with the leftmost column of real antennas, while the topmost antenna in the second virtual antenna group is aligned with the sixth column of real antennas. Since this width is wider than d2, the distance between two adjacent antennas, which is itself wider than the defined value, the width here must be greater than the defined value).
Regarding claim 7, Yang teaches,
The radar apparatus according to claim 6, wherein a difference between an aperture length of the first virtual reception antenna group and an aperture length of the second virtual reception antenna group is equal to a predetermined multiple of the defined value (fig. 13, noting that the length of the aperture of the first virtual antenna group and second virtual antenna group are the same. Thus, the difference between the length of their respective apertures is 0*λ/2, i.e., 0 multiplied by the defined value).
Regarding claim 8, Yang teaches,
The radar apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the defined value is 0.5 wavelengths (p. 12, para. 10, “d2> λ /2, λ represents the wavelength of the transmitted signal.” The Examiner notes that λ /2 is the defined value, and d2 being greater than λ/2 indicates that r3 is shifted beyond the defined value in both the down and right directions).
Regarding claim 10, Yang teaches,
The radar apparatus according to claim 4, wherein with respect to an angle ψ formed by the first direction and the third direction, the spacing between the r1th antenna and the r3th antenna is equal to or less than the wavelength/(2 x cos ψ) (fig. 6a, noting that when d1 = λ/2, α = 0.5, and β = 45o, an obvious design choice in view of the specification of Yang as discussed above with respect to claim 1, the spacing between the r1th and r3th antennas is equal to wavelength/(2 x cosβ)).
Regarding claim 14, Yang teaches,
The radar apparatus according to claim 1, wherein an angle formed by the first direction and the third direction is any angle within a range of 300 to 600, inclusive (fig. 6a, angle formed by the first and third direction is 450, when the first direction is to the right).
Claim 15 is rejected for the same reasons and using the same citations as claim 1.
Claim 16 is rejected for the same reasons and using the same citations as claim 2.
Claim 17 is rejected for the same reasons and using the same citations as claim 3.
Claim 18 is rejected for the same reasons and using the same citations as claim 4.
Claim 19 is rejected for the same reasons and using the same citations as claim 5.
Claim 20 is rejected for the same reasons and using the same citations as claim 6.
Claims 9 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang in view of Kishigami et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2016/0282450 A1), hereinafter Kishigami.
Regarding claim 9, Yang teaches the radar apparatus according to claim 1. Yang does not teach,
wherein with respect to an angle ψ formed by the first direction and the third direction, the spacing between the r1th antenna and the r2th antenna is equal to or less than the wavelength/(2 x sin ψ).
Kishigami teaches,
wherein with respect to an angle ψ formed by the first direction and the third direction, the spacing between the r1th antenna and the r2th antenna is equal to or less than the wavelength/(2 x sin ψ) (fig. 1B, paras. 0082-0084. The examiner notes that when d = 0.5λ, the spacing between Rx#2 and Rx#3 is
λ
/
2
, which is equal to
λ
2
s
i
n
ψ
f
o
r
ψ
=
45
d
e
g
r
e
e
s
).
Yang and Kishigami are analogous to the claimed invention because they teach antenna arrangements for MIMO radar. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Yang with the spacing of Kishigami because modifying the spacing between antennas is an obvious modification when adapting antenna arrangements for particular uses, such as narrowing or widening the main beam, while ensuring the arrangement can still be used to determine azimuth and elevation angle of arrival.
Regarding claim 13, Yang teaches the radar apparatus according to claim 1. Yang does not teach,
wherein: the spacing between the r1th antenna and the r2th antenna is a predetermined multiple of the defined value that is no less than twice the defined value, and the spacing between the t1th antenna and the t2th antenna is a predetermined multiple of the defined value that is no less than twice the defined value.
Kishigami teaches,
wherein: the spacing between the r1th antenna and the r2th antenna is a predetermined multiple of the defined value that is no less than twice the defined value, and the spacing between the t1th antenna and the t2th antenna is a predetermined multiple of the defined value that is no less than twice the defined value (figs. 9A and 9B. The distance between Tx#1 and Tx#5 and the distance between Rx#3 and Rx#4 are both greater than 2d, where d is the defined value).
Yang and Kishigami are analogous to the claimed invention because they teach antenna arrangements for MIMO radar. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Yang with the spacing of Kishigami because modifying the spacing between antennas is an obvious modification when adapting antenna arrangements for particular uses, such as narrowing or widening the main beam, while ensuring the arrangement can still be used to determine azimuth and elevation angle of arrival.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 11, the prior art made of record alone or in any combination fails to teach, render obvious, or fairly suggest the combination of features comprising claim 11. Specifically, the prior art made of record fails to teach, in combination with the other claimed features comprising claim 11 in view of the claims upon which it is dependent,
…the reception circuitry calculates a phase change for each spacing of the defined value using a reception signal of a virtual reception antenna of the plurality of virtual reception antennas which is arranged in the third direction,
calculates a phase difference in the first direction using reception signals of at least two virtual reception antennas of the plurality of virtual reception antennas, the at least two virtual reception antennas being arranged in the first direction ,
calculates a phase difference in the second direction using reception signals of at least two virtual reception antennas of the plurality of virtual reception antennas, the at least two virtual reception antennas being arranged in the second direction, and
extracts an angle of arrival in the first direction and an angle of arrival in the second direction based on a combination from among combinations of the phase difference in the first direction and the phase difference in the second direction, the combination corresponding to the phase change for each spacing of the defined value.
Kishigami (US 2019/0137616 A1) teaches the phase difference calculation steps and the angle of arrival extractions, but does not do so using the defined value process of the claimed invention. Therefore, it would not be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Kishigami with the teachings of Yang to arrive at the claimed invention.
Claim 12 is allowable due to its dependency on allowable claim 11.
Conclusion
/Anna K. Benjamin Gosling/Examiner, Art Unit 3648
/NAZRA NUR WAHEED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3648