DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: “calculating a of the reconstructed sample value” has a typo error. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “determining a reference block of a current block, wherein the reference block is an adjacent block of the current block”, while claim 10 recites “the determining the reference block of the current block further comprises: determining a first color component region co-located with the current block; determining, from at least one block obtained by dividing the first color component region, at least one second target block at a preset position; and determining the reference block of the current block based on the at least one second target block”. The reference block recited in claim 10 is a co-located block but not an adjacent block, according to the specification publication [0234].
Claims 4, 6 and 8 recite “first parameter”, however, the term in claim 4 and the same term in claims 6 and 8 do not represent the same concept.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 9-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chang et al. (US 20230336716 A1).
Regarding claim 1. Chang discloses A decoding method, applied to a decoder (abstract, A method of encoding or decoding video data), wherein the method comprises:
determining a reference block of a current block, wherein the reference block is an adjacent block of the current block ([0138] the chroma modes are set to be the intra prediction modes of the neighboring chroma blocks adjacent to current chroma CU);
when a prediction mode of a second color component of the reference block satisfies a first condition, determining a reference intra prediction mode parameter based on the reference block ([0138] if the intra prediction mode of a neighboring chroma block is CCLM mode, then the chroma mode is set to be Planar mode); and
determining a predicted value of a second color component of the current block based on the reference intra prediction mode parameter ([0138] if the intra prediction mode of a neighboring chroma block is CCLM mode, then the chroma mode is set to be Planar mode).
Regarding claim 2. Chang discloses The method according to claim 1, wherein the first condition comprises: the prediction mode of the second color component of the reference block is a first preset mode ([0138] if the intra prediction mode of a neighboring chroma block is CCLM mode);
wherein the first preset mode comprises at least one of the following: an inter-component prediction mode, an IBC mode, a MIP mode, or a palette mode ([0138] if the intra prediction mode of a neighboring chroma block is CCLM mode; [0005] cross-component linear model (CCLM) modes).
Regarding claim 3. Chang discloses The method according to claim 1, wherein the first condition comprises: the prediction mode of the second color component of the reference block is not a second preset mode;
wherein the second preset mode is an angular prediction mode;
wherein the second preset mode is a DC mode or a planar mode ([0138] if the intra prediction mode of a neighboring chroma block is CCLM mode).
Regarding claim 4. Chang discloses The method according to claim 1, wherein the first condition comprises: a bitstream is decoded, and a first parameter is determined, wherein the first parameter indicates to determine the reference intra prediction mode parameter based on the reference block ([0052] The encoded video bitstream may include signaling information defined by video encoder 200, which is also used by video decoder 300, such as syntax elements having values that describe characteristics and/or processing of video blocks or other coded units (e.g., slices, pictures, groups of pictures, sequences, or the like); [0063] An encoded video bitstream generally includes a series of values for syntax elements representative of coding decisions (e.g., coding modes) and partitioning of pictures into blocks; [0086]; [0138] if the intra prediction mode of a neighboring chroma block is CCLM mode; [0005] cross-component linear model (CCLM) modes).
Regarding claim 5. Chang discloses The method according to claim 1, wherein the determining the predicted value of the second color component of the current block based on the reference intra prediction mode parameter comprises:
constructing a candidate mode list for the second color component of the current block based on the reference intra prediction mode parameter (abstract, constructing a list of chroma intra-prediction modes for a chroma block of a current block of the video data); and
determining the predicted value of the second color component of the current block based on the candidate mode list (abstract, determining an intra-prediction mode for the chroma block from the list of chroma intra-prediction modes).
Regarding claim 6. Chang discloses The method according to claim 1, wherein the determining the reference intra prediction mode parameter based on the reference block comprises:
determining a reference sample based on the reference block (figure 7, [0093] The following describes decoder side intra mode derivation (DIMD). When DIMD is applied, two intra modes are derived based on Histogram of Gradient (HoG) computation from the reconstructed neighbor samples, and those two predictors are combined with the planar mode predictor with the weights derived from the gradients);
determining a first parameter based on a reconstructed sample value of the reference sample (figure 7, [0093] The following describes decoder side intra mode derivation (DIMD). When DIMD is applied, two intra modes are derived based on Histogram of Gradient (HoG) computation from the reconstructed neighbor samples, and those two predictors are combined with the planar mode predictor with the weights derived from the gradients, the current CU 700 is predicted based on the fusion of M1, M2 and Planar); and
determining the reference intra prediction mode parameter based on the first parameter (figure 7, [0093] The following describes decoder side intra mode derivation (DIMD). When DIMD is applied, two intra modes are derived based on Histogram of Gradient (HoG) computation from the reconstructed neighbor samples, and those two predictors are combined with the planar mode predictor with the weights derived from the gradients, the current CU 700 is predicted based on the fusion of M1, M2 and Planar).
Regarding claim 7. Chang discloses The method according to claim 6, wherein the determining the reference sample based on the reference block comprises:
determining the reference sample based on a sample in the reference block (figure 7, [0093] In FIG. 7, block 700 is a current block, and the reference pixels include reference pixels 702A and 702B).
Regarding claim 9. Chang discloses The method according to claim 5, wherein the determining the reference block of the current block comprises:
determining at least one target sample adjacent to the current block (figure 11B, samples 0-4);
determining at least one first target block based on a block in which the at least one target sample is located (figure 11B, [0137] FIG. 11B illustrates chroma CU 1100B having neighboring chroma CUs 1102A-1102E); and
determining the reference block of the current block based on the at least one first target block ([0138] the chroma modes are set to be the intra prediction modes of the neighboring chroma blocks adjacent to current chroma CU. As shown in FIG. 11B, block 0 1102A, block 1 1102B, ..., and block 4 1120E are the neighboring chroma blocks of chroma CU 1100B);
wherein the method further comprises:
determining a reference intra prediction mode parameter of at least one the first target block by sequentially using the at least one first target block as the reference block in a first preset order ([0138] the chroma modes are set to be the intra prediction modes of the neighboring chroma blocks adjacent to current chroma CU. As shown in FIG. 11B, block 0 1102A, block 1 1102B, ..., and block 4 1120E are the neighboring chroma blocks of chroma CU 1100B; [0144] The order of the positions for neighboring chroma modes in (F) is block 0 1102A to block 4 1102E as shown in FIG. 11B); and
constructing the candidate mode list for the second color component of the current block based on the reference intra prediction mode parameter of the at least one first target block ([0138] (F) - Neighboring chroma modes: the chroma modes are set to be the intra prediction modes of the neighboring chroma blocks adjacent to current chroma CU. As shown in FIG. 11B, block 0 1102A, block 1 1102B, ..., and block 4 1120E are the neighboring chroma blocks of chroma CU 1100B; [0104] construct a non-CCLM mode list with list size denoted as M that is composed of N1 groups of chroma intra modes. The group could be one of the following non-CCLM chroma mode groups (but not limited to the following groups): (1) the chroma modes derived from the intra-prediction modes of co-located luma CUs, (2) the chroma modes derived from the intra-prediction modes of neighboring chroma CUs, (3) the chroma modes derived from the intra-prediction modes of neighboring co-located luma CUs, and (4) the secondary chroma modes derived from the chroma modes currently in the non-CCLM mode list; [0005] For determining an intra chroma mode, a video encoder and a video decoder may construct a list that excludes cross-component linear model (CCLM) modes, referred to as non-CCLM mode list).
Regarding claim 10. Chang discloses The method according to claim 9, wherein the determining the reference block of the current block further comprises:
determining a first color component region co-located with the current block (figure 10A, [0123] FIG. 10A illustrates luma CU 1000A, and FIG. 10B illustrates chroma CU 1000B);
determining, from at least one block obtained by dividing the first color component region, at least one second target block at a preset position (figure 10A, [0123] FIG. 10A also illustrates different positions 1002A-1002I of luma CU 1000A); and
determining the reference block of the current block based on the at least one second target block (figure 10A, [0123] FIGS. 10A and 10B illustrate chroma modes derived from the co-located luma CUs corresponding to different positions in current chroma CU; [0124] As illustrated in FIG. 10A, the first group includes two or more intra-prediction modes derived from intra-prediction modes of two or more co-located luma blocks (e.g., the different positions in FIG. 10A are from two or more co-located luma blocks) of the current block that are co-located with the chroma block 1000B);
wherein the method further comprises:
sequentially determining a first color component prediction mode parameter of the at least one second target block in a preset order of the at least one second target block (figure 10A, [0125] as illustrated in FIG. 10A, there may be a plurality of positions corresponding to two or more co-located luma blocks. Video encoder 200 and video decoder 300 may evaluate the various co-located luma blocks, and the respective example positions illustrated in FIG. 10A, to determine intra-prediction modes; [0133] The order of the positions of luma CUs is block 0 1002A to block 8 1002I as shown in FIG. 10A); and
constructing the candidate mode list for the second color component of the current block based on the reference intra prediction mode parameter of the at least one first target block and the first color component prediction mode parameter of the at least one second target block ([0125] Video encoder 200 and video decoder 300 may add these intra-prediction modes to the list of chroma intra-prediction modes; [0104] construct a non-CCLM mode list with list size denoted as M that is composed of N1 groups of chroma intra modes. The group could be one of the following non-CCLM chroma mode groups (but not limited to the following groups): (1) the chroma modes derived from the intra-prediction modes of co-located luma CUs, (2) the chroma modes derived from the intra-prediction modes of neighboring chroma CUs, (3) the chroma modes derived from the intra-prediction modes of neighboring co-located luma CUs, and (4) the secondary chroma modes derived from the chroma modes currently in the non-CCLM mode list; [0005] For determining an intra chroma mode, a video encoder and a video decoder may construct a list that excludes cross-component linear model (CCLM) modes, referred to as non-CCLM mode list).
Regarding claim 11. Chang discloses The method according to claim 10, wherein the method further comprises:
adjusting an order of prediction modes in the candidate mode list ([0059] evaluate intra-prediction modes of co-located luma blocks, proximate (e.g., neighboring) luma blocks, and/or proximate (e.g., neighboring) chroma blocks in an order, and add intra-prediction modes to the list of chroma intra-prediction modes until the list of chroma intra-prediction modes is full or based on some other constraint (e.g., based on number of intra-prediction modes for a group); [0114] After adding a chroma mode (e.g., intra-prediction mode) into non-CCLM mode list (e.g., list of chroma intra-prediction modes), video encoder 200 and video decoder 300 may check if the number of chroma modes (e.g., intra-prediction modes) of the i-th group (e.g., first, second, third, or fourth) is equal to the pre-assigned maximum number, i.e., n.sub.i or m.sub.i. If yes, video encoder 200 and video decoder 300 may stop to add the chroma modes from the i-th group, and move to add the chroma modes of the next group, i.e., (i+1)-th group).
Regarding claim 12, the same analysis has been stated in claim 1.
Regarding claim 13, the same analysis has been stated in claim 2.
Regarding claim 14, the same analysis has been stated in claim 3.
Regarding claim 15, the same analysis has been stated in claim 4.
Regarding claim 16, the same analysis has been stated in claim 5.
Regarding claim 17, the same analysis has been stated in claim 6.
Regarding claim 18, the same analysis has been stated in claim 7.
Regarding claim 19, the same analysis has been stated in claim 9.
Regarding claim 20, the same analysis has been stated in claim 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang et al. (US 20230336716 A1) in view of CHEN et al. (US 20260032265 A1).
Regarding claim 8. Chang in view of CHEN discloses The method according to claim 6, wherein the determining the first parameter based on the reconstructed sample value of the reference sample comprises:
calculating a of the reconstructed sample value of the reference sample to determine a horizontal gradient value and a vertical gradient value of the reference sample (CHEN figure 7, [0108] A horizontal gradient and a vertical gradient are calculated for each collocated reconstructed luma sample of the current chroma block, as well as the reconstructed Cb and Cr samples);
performing angle mapping according to the horizontal gradient value and the vertical gradient value of the reference sample to determine at least one intra prediction mode corresponding to the reference sample (CHEN [0108] to build a HoG; CHEN [0014] derives a HoG having bins that correspond to different intra prediction angles, where an entry is made to a bin when a gradient computed based on the fused reference line indicates a particular intra prediction angle that corresponds to the bin);
calculating gradient intensity based on the horizontal gradient value and the vertical gradient value of the reference sample to determine at least one gradient intensity value corresponding to the reference sample (CHEN [0108] to build a HoG; CHEN [0014] derives a HoG having bins that correspond to different intra prediction angles, where an entry is made to a bin when a gradient computed based on the fused reference line indicates a particular intra prediction angle that corresponds to the bin; Chang [0093] Histogram of Gradient (HoG) computation from the reconstructed neighbor samples); and
determining the first parameter based on the at least one intra prediction mode and the at least one gradient intensity value corresponding to the reference sample (CHEN [0108] Then the intra prediction mode with the largest histogram amplitude values is used for performing chroma intra prediction of the current chroma block; CHEN figure 3, [0070] Once the HoG is computed, the indices of the two tallest histogram bars (M.sub.1 and M.sub.2) are selected as the two implicitly derived intra prediction modes (IPMs) for the block. The prediction of the two IPMs are further combined with the planar mode as the prediction of DIMD mode; Chang [0093] The following describes decoder side intra mode derivation (DIMD). When DIMD is applied, two intra modes are derived based on Histogram of Gradient (HoG) computation from the reconstructed neighbor samples, and those two predictors are combined with the planar mode predictor with the weights derived from the gradients).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the inventions of Chang and CHEN, to implement DIMD.
Conclusion
/XIAOLAN XU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2488