DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites that the pressing force in the central nip portion is larger than a sum of pressing forces in all of the plurality of nip portions other than the central nip portion. It is not clear what structure is added by this claim. Nor did the disclosure provide any guidance how one could calculate and/or verify this assertion.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-8, and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anami et al. US 11,130,645 (“Anami”) in view of Gomoll et al. US 4,889,270 (“Gomoll”).
Regarding claims 1, 3-5, 12, and 13, Anami disclosed an image reading apparatus comprising a reading unit (Figure 2) configured to read an image from a sheet conveyed by a sheet conveyance apparatus (and an image forming apparatus configured to form the image on the recording material, see at least the top of column 20), the sheet conveyance apparatus comprising:
a conveyance member (26) configured to convey a sheet;
a separation member (28) configured to form a separating portion together with the conveyance member and separate sheets one by one in the separating portion;
a drive roller (46) disposed downstream of the separating portion in a sheet conveyance direction, the drive roller including a plurality of first rotating members arranged in a sheet width direction orthogonal to the sheet conveyance direction;
a motor configured to drive the drive roller (col. 17, lines 17-18);
a follower roller (48) configured to rotate following the drive roller, the follower roller including a plurality of second rotating members that come into contact with the plurality of first rotating members respectively and a shaft member (54) supporting the plurality of second rotating members;
a holder member (50) configured to regulate a position of a central second rotating member disposed at a center in the sheet width direction among the plurality of second rotating members; and
an urging spring (52) configured to urge the holder member such that the plurality of second rotating members is brought into pressure contact with the plurality of first rotating members,
wherein the holder member includes (i) a first side surface portion (50a) facing an end face on one side of the central second rotating member in the sheet width direction and provided with a first shaft-receiving portion (50f) that receives the shaft member and (ii) a second side surface portion (50b) facing an end face on another side of the central second rotating member in the sheet width direction and provided with a second shaft-receiving portion (50f) that receives the shaft member, and
wherein the holder member is configured to regulate the position of the central second rotating member in the sheet width direction by the first side surface portion and the second side surface portion (including through frictional contact) and apply an urging force of the urging spring to the shaft member via the first shaft-receiving portion and the second shaft-receiving portion (Figures 3, 8, and 9).
It is not clear whether the holding member could be considered disposed at a center in the sheet width direction. Nevertheless, Gomoll teaches a similar holder (26) disposed at a center in the sheet width direction (see Figure 3 and the last full paragraph of column 4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the teachings of Gomoll to regulate a central second rotating member for precise alignment control of a centrally situated sheet. Thereby the central second rotating member, the holder member, and the urging spring would be disposed at a center, in the sheet width direction, of a conveyance path where the sheet passes through for the previously mentioned alignment control. When arranged in this way, a pressing force in a central nip portion among a plurality of nip portions formed by the plurality of first rotating members and the plurality of second rotating members would be larger than a pressing force in any one of the plurality of nip portions other than the central nip portion. That is to say, the pressing force in the central nip portion would be larger than a sum of pressing forces in all of the plurality of nip portions other than the central nip portion.
Regarding claim 6, Anami disclosed a first frame (including 12) including a first guide portion Figure 2) that is configured to form a conveyance path of the sheet, the first frame supporting the drive roller; and a second frame (including 14) including a second guide portion that is configured to form the conveyance path together with the first guide portion, the second frame being movable with respect to the first frame such that the conveyance path is opened (see the paragraph bridging columns 6 and 7),
wherein the holder member is supported by the second frame and is movable with respect to the second frame such that a rotation axis of the follower roller approaches to and moves away from a rotation axis of the drive roller (see at least the paragraph bridging columns 6 and 7, Figures 2 and 3).
Regarding claim 7, Anami disclosed the second frame is provided with a guide shape (vertical structure as seen in Figure 2) extending in a direction intersecting with both the sheet conveyance direction and the sheet width direction, wherein the holder member includes a guided portion to engage with the guide shape (see Figures 5-7), and
wherein a position of the holder member in the sheet width direction is regulated by engagement between the guide shape and the guided portion (see at least Figures 5-7).
Regarding claim 8, Anami disclosed the guide shape is disposed upstream of the holder member in the sheet conveyance direction (see Figures 5-7),
wherein the second frame is further provided with a second guide shape disposed downstream of the holder member in the sheet conveyance direction (see at least Figure 5), and
wherein the position of the holder member in the sheet conveyance direction is regulated by the guide shape and the second guide shape (see at least Figure 5).
Regarding claim 11, a length, in the sheet width direction, of a sheet having a shortest length in the sheet width direction among sheets conveyable by the sheet conveyance apparatus may be shorter than an interval, in the sheet width direction, from one of the plurality of second rotating members adjacent to one side of the central second rotating member to another of the plurality of second rotating members adjacent to another side of the central second rotating member. The Examiner notes, that per MPEP 2115, attempting to distinguish a claimed invention using the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims.
Claim(s) 2, 9, 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anami in view of Gomoll as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Morikawa US 11,220,407 (“Morikawa”).
With regard to claim 2, Anami in view of Gomoll taught the limitations of claim 1 as listed above, but did not teach using a single spring. Morikawa teaches a similar arrangement wherein the urging spring is the only urging spring by which the follower roller is urged (see Figures 18-22). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the teachings of Morikawa to use a single spring such that the plurality of first rotating members and the plurality of second rotating members are brought into pressure contact with each other by use of the single spring in order to simplify assembly and require fewer parts.
Regarding claims 9 and 10, Anami in view of Gomoll taught the limitations of claim 1 as listed above. Anami further disclosed the holder member includes a base portion (50c) extending in the sheet width direction,
wherein the first side surface portion and the second side surface portion extend respectively from one end and another end of the base portion in the sheet width direction, toward a direction intersecting both the sheet width direction and the sheet conveyance direction (Figure 8). Furthermore, the holder member further includes a rib portion protruding from the base portion and formed to extend in the sheet width direction between the first side surface portion and the second side surface portion (can be the base of 50d seen in Figure 8 and/or the structure seen below 50c in Figure 9).
Anami does not show the claimed pressed region as claimed. Morikawa teaches a base portion that is provided with a pressed region to receive the urging force of the urging spring (see Figures 18-22). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the teachings of Morikawa for a centered placement of the pressing spring for even and centered force distribution.
Claim(s) 14-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anami in view of Morikawa.
Regarding claims 14-17, Anami disclosed a sheet conveyance apparatus comprising:
a conveyance member (26) configured to convey a sheet;
a separation member (28) configured to form a separating portion together with the conveyance member and separate sheets one by one in the separating portion;
a drive roller (46) disposed downstream of the separating portion in a sheet conveyance direction, the drive roller including a plurality of first rotating members arranged in a sheet width direction orthogonal to the sheet conveyance direction;
a motor configured to drive the drive roller (col. 17, lines 17-18);
a follower roller (48) configured to rotate following the drive roller, the follower roller including a plurality of second rotating members that come into contact with the plurality of first rotating members respectively and a shaft member (54) supporting the plurality of second rotating members;
a holder member (50) configured to regulate positions of two second rotating members disposed at a central portion in the sheet width direction among the plurality of second rotating members (Figure 10); and
an urging spring (52A, 52B) configured to urge the holder member such that the plurality of second rotating members is brought into pressure contact with the plurality of first rotating members, wherein the holder member includes (i) a first side surface portion (50a) facing one of the two second rotating members in the sheet width direction and provided with a first shaft-receiving portion that receives the shaft member and (ii) a second side surface portion (50b) facing another of the two second rotating members in the sheet width direction and provided with a second shaft-receiving portion that receives the shaft member, and wherein the holder member is configured to regulate the positions of the two second rotating members in the sheet width direction by the first side surface portion and the second side surface portion and apply an urging force of the urging spring to the shaft member via the first shaft-receiving portion and the second shaft-receiving portion (see Figure 10). Anami further disclosed wherein the two second rotating members are positioned next to each other across a center, in the sheet width direction, of a conveyance path through which the sheet is conveyed
Anami did not teach using a single spring. Morikawa teaches a similar arrangement wherein the urging spring is the only urging spring to urge the holder member (see Figures 18-22). The urging spring is the only urging spring by which the follower roller is urged. The holder member and the urging spring are disposed at the center of the conveyance path in the sheet width direction.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the teachings of Morikawa to use a single spring such that the plurality of first rotating members and the plurality of second rotating members are brought into pressure contact with each other by use of the single spring in order to simplify assembly and require fewer parts.
Both references may be consistent with the claimed length, in the sheet width direction, of a sheet having a shortest length in the sheet width direction among sheets conveyable by the sheet conveyance apparatus is shorter than an interval, in the sheet width direction, from one of the plurality of second rotating members to one side of the two second rotating members to another of the plurality of second rotating members adjacent to another side of the two second rotating members. See MPEP 2115 as mentioned above.
Claim(s) 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anami in view of Gomoll and Morikawa.
Anami disclosed a sheet conveyance apparatus comprising:
a conveyance member (26) configured to convey a sheet;
a separation member (28) configured to form a separating portion together with the conveyance member and separate sheets one by one in the separating portion;
a drive roller (46) disposed downstream of the separating portion in a sheet conveyance direction, the drive roller including a plurality of first rotating members arranged in a sheet width direction orthogonal to the sheet conveyance direction;
a motor (as mentioned above) configured to drive the drive roller;
a follower roller (48) configured to rotate following the drive roller, the follower roller including a plurality of second rotating members that come into contact with the plurality of first rotating members respectively and a shaft member supporting the plurality of second rotating members;
a holder member (50) configured to cover, from a side opposite to the drive roller; and an urging spring (52) configured to urge the holder member such that the plurality of second rotating members is brought into pressure contact with the plurality of first rotating members.
It is not clear whether the holding member could be considered disposed at a center in the sheet width direction. Nevertheless, Gomoll teaches a similar holder (26) disposed at a center in the sheet width direction (see Figure 3 and the last full paragraph of column 4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the teachings of Gomoll to regulate a central second rotating member for precise alignment control of a centrally situated sheet.
Anami did not teach using a single spring. Morikawa teaches a similar arrangement wherein the urging spring is the only urging spring by which the follower roller is urged (see Figures 18-22). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the teachings of Morikawa to use a single spring such that the plurality of first rotating members and the plurality of second rotating members are brought into pressure contact with each other by use of the single spring in order to simplify assembly and require fewer parts.
Regarding claim 19, Anami disclosed the holder member includes (i) a first side surface portion (50a) facing an end face on one side in the sheet width direction of the central second rotating member and provided with a first shaft-receiving portion that receives the shaft member and (ii) a second side surface portion (50b) facing an end face on another side in the sheet width direction of the central second rotating member and provided with a second shaft-receiving portion that receives the shaft member, and wherein the holder member is configured to apply an urging force of the urging spring to the shaft member via the first shaft-receiving portion and the second shaft-receiving portion (Figures 3, 8, and 9).
Regarding claim 20, Anami disclosed the holder member includes a base portion (50c) extending in the sheet width direction, wherein the first side surface portion and the second side surface portion extend respectively from one end and another end of the base portion in the sheet width direction, toward a direction intersecting both the sheet width direction and the sheet conveyance direction (Figure 8), and wherein the base portion receives the urging force of the urging spring. Anami does not show the claimed pressed region as claimed. Morikawa teaches a base portion that is provided with a pressed region to receive the urging force of the urging spring (see Figures 18-22). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the teachings of Morikawa for a centered placement of the pressing spring for even and centered force distribution.
Conclusion
/HOWARD J SANDERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3653