DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Examiner acknowledges claims to priority under 35 U.S.C. 120 or 121 for U.S. application 19199899 is a CON of 17/206,060 filed on 03/18/2021, which is a CIP of 16/873,334 filed on 03/20/2020.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 1/13/2026 and 6/16/2026 filed after the filing date of the application on 5/06/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Holder (US 5577150).
Regarding claim 20, Holder teaches a skiver comprising:
a body (18) comprising a longitudinal recess (24), a blade recess (38) and an opening (see Figure 5) between the longitudinal recess and the blade recess (see Figure 5);
a blade (22) oriented in the blade recess, the blade comprising a cutting edge (edge of 22), a portion of the cutting edge positioned in the opening (See Figure 5);
a cover (42) attached to the body (attached via 40), the cover arranged to secure the blade (secure via 40, see Figure 2); and
a guide member (20) moveable with respect to the body (movable via pin 45, see Figure 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Faust (US 5140751) in view of Ishizuka (US 5226224).
Regarding claim 1, Faust teaches a skiver (see Figures 1-3) comprising:
a body (12a and 14a) having front (left side in Figure 4) and back ends right side in Figure 4) and top (bottom of 10 in Figure 1) and bottom surfaces (top of 10 in Figure 1); a longitudinal recess (30a) of a predetermined cross section in the body (see Figure 2); an opening (44, see Figure 5) in the body extending from the bottom surface to the recess (see Figured 4-5); a blade (16) comprising a linear cutting edge, the linear cutting edge disposed in the opening (see Figure 5).
Faust fails to teach a first pair of motorized rollers, wherein the rollers are configured to move an object through the recess.
Ishizuka teaches a sheath removing device comprising a blade (103), a first pair of motorized rollers (pair of 53 driven by motor, col. 4 lines 27-47, see Figure 7A-7C), wherein the rollers are configured to move an object through the recess (col. 4 lines 27-47, see Figure 7A-7C).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Faust to add a first pair of motorized rollers for the cutter, as taught by Ishizuka, in order assist the removable of the sheath and configured to move an work piece through the cutter (col. 4 lines 27-47 of Ishizuka). The resulting device of modified Faust teaches the rollers are configured to move an object through the recess (as the cutter and the recess are fix relative to each other and the motor/roller would only move the work piece).
Regarding claim 2, modified Faust further teaches a removable cover (head of 48) for securing the blade in the opening of the recess and wherein the recess is positioned in the top surface of the body (same as the orientation set forth in claim 1, see Figure 4 of Faust).
Regarding claim 4, modified Faust further teaches the first pair of rollers are configured to feed an object through the recess (col. 4 lines 27-47 of Ishizuka).
modified Faust fails to teach a second pair of rollers, and the second pair of rollers are configured to pull an object out of the recess.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Faust to add a second pair of motorized rollers (same as the first pair added in claim 1 by Ishizuka). Since the courts have been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Harza (MPEP 2144.04 VI. B.)
Regarding claim 5, modified Faust further teaches the predetermined cross section of the recess is a semicircle, with a diameter (see Figure 2 of Faust).
Claims 3 and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Faust (US 5140751) in view of Ishizuka (US 5226224) and in further view of Holder (US 5577150).
Regarding claim 3, modified Faust further teaches a guide (14b) positioned on top of the body (Figure 4 upside down) and having a top (bottom of 14b) and bottom (top surface of 14b in Figure 5) surface.
Modified Faust fails to teach a portion of the bottom surface is slanted to aid in the feeding of an object into the recess.
Holder teaches a wire cutter with a portion of the bottom surface is slanted to aid in the feeding of an object into the recess (see Figure 5, col. 3 line 56 – col. 4 line 27).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Faust to make the slanted surface, as taught by Holder, in order to reduce jamming (col. 3 line 56 – col. 4 line 27 of Holder).
Regarding claims 6-8, modified Faust further teaches all elements of the current invention as set forth in claim 5 above.
Modified Faust fails to teach the diameter of the recess is varying along its length (as required in claim 6), the diameter of the recess at the location of the opening is smaller than the diameter of the recess before and after the location of the opening (as required in claim 7) and the longitudinal recess is taper on each side of the opening (as required in claim 8).
Holder teaches a wire cutting including the diameter of the recess is varying along its length (see Figure 5 of Holder), the diameter of the recess at the location of the opening is smaller than the diameter of the recess before and after the location of the opening (see Figure 5 of Holder) and the longitudinal recess is taper on each side of the opening (see Figure 5 of Holder).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Faust to make the taper arrangement, as taught by Holder, in order to reduce jamming (col. 3 line 56 – col. 4 line 27 of Holder).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Faust (US 5140751) in view of Ishizuka (5226224) and in further view of Best (US 1052881).
Regarding claim 9, modified Faust teaches all elements of the current invention as set forth in claim 1 stated above.
Modified Faust fails to teach a spacer element positioned between the blade and the body to adjust a depth that the blade extends into the recess.
Best teaches a cutting device including a body (a), a blade (c), a spacer (see Figure 3), wherein the spacer positioned between the blade and the body to adjust a depth that the blade extends into the recess (see Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of modified Faust to add a spacer, as taught by Best, in order to adjust the blade in the recess (page 1 lines 27-49 of Best).
Claims 10-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Best (US 1052881) in view of Lin (US 20040068878 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Best teaches a skiver (see Figure 1) comprising:
a body (assembly of a and p) comprising a top surface (top of a), a bottom surface (bottom of p, see Figure 1), the bottom surface comprising a longitudinal recess (r, see Figure 2), the top surface defining a blade recess (recess for c and e), the body comprising an opening between the longitudinal recess and the blade recess (s, see Figure 6);
a blade (c, see figure 4) oriented in the blade recess (see Figure 1), the blade comprising a cutting edge (d, see Figure 4), a portion of the cutting edge positioned in the opening (see Figure 1); and
a cover (e, see Figure 5) attached to the body (attached via g, see Figure 1), the cover comprising a lower surface (the bottom side of e in Figure 1);
wherein the top surface of the body and the lower surface of the cover secure the blade directly adjacent to the cutting edge (see Figure 1).
Holder fails to teach a magnet, the magnet adjacent to the blade recess and the blade comprising a linear cutting edge.
Lin teaches a planer type of tool with a blade in a recess for cutting (see Figure 1A-B), a magnet (174).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Best to add a magnet adjacent to the blade recess, as taught by Lin, in order to better hold the blade assembly together (paragraph 0029 of Lin).
Regarding claim 11, modified Best further teaches a shim (h of Best) adjacent to the blade, the magnet attracting the shim to the body (as modified, see Figures 1A-1B of Lin).
Regarding claim 12, modified Best further teaches the shim comprising a notch positioned in the opening (center notch of h, see Figure 3 of Best).
Regarding claim 13, modified Best further teaches the body comprising an alignment pin (n of Best), the shim engaging the alignment pin (n in o, see Figure 1 of Best).
Regarding claim 14, modified Best further teaches the blade comprising a notch, the alignment pin oriented in the notch (center notch of h, see Figure 3 of Best).
Regarding claim 15, modified Best further teaches the body comprising a second alignment pin, the cover positioned between the alignment pin and the second alignment pin (see Figures 1-3 of Best).
Regarding claim 16, modified Best further teaches the top surface of the body and the lower surface of the cover securing the blade at a first location to a first side of the opening and at a second location to a second side of the opening (left and right side of the opening, see Figure 1 and 2 of Best).
Regarding claim 17, modified Best further teaches the blade recess comprising a first portion (near the opening) and a second portion (near n) offset from the first portion (see Figure 1), the blade comprising a back portion opposite the cutting edge, the back portion oriented in the second portion of the blade recess (See Figure 1 of Best).
Regarding claim 18, modified Best further teaches the lower surface of the cover comprising a first portion (near the opening s) and a second portion (near n) offset from the first portion (see Figure 1), the first portion contacting the blade, the second portion positioned over the blade and spaced apart from the blade (spaced apart via k, see Figure 1 of Best).
Claims 10 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holder (US 5577150) in view of Lin (US 20040068878 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Holder teaches a skiver (see Figure 1) comprising:
a body (18) comprising a top surface, a bottom surface (see Figure 5), the bottom surface comprising a longitudinal recess (see Figure 5), the top surface defining a blade recess (see Figure 5), the body comprising an opening between the longitudinal recess and the blade recess (see Figure 5);
a blade (22) oriented in the blade recess (see Figure 5), the blade comprising a cutting edge (see Figure 5), a portion of the cutting edge positioned in the opening (see Figure 5); and
a cover (42, see Figure 5) attached to the body (see Figure 5), the cover comprising a lower surface (see Figure 5);
wherein the top surface of the body and the lower surface of the cover secure the blade directly adjacent to the cutting edge (see Figure 5).
Holder fails to teach a magnet, the magnet adjacent to the blade recess and the blade comprising a linear cutting edge.
Lin teaches a planer type of tool with a blade in a recess for cutting (see Figure 1A-B), a magnet (174).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Holder to add a magnet adjacent to the blade recess, as taught by Lin, in order to better hold the blade assembly together (paragraph 0029 of Lin).
Regarding claim 19, modified Holder further teaches the body comprises a central axis and wherein the longitudinal recess is laterally offset from the central axis (see Figure 2 of Holder).
Conclusion
/LIANG DONG/Examiner, Art Unit 3724 9/30/2026