DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the communication filed on May 6, 2025. Claims 1-12 are currently pending in this application. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Priority
Applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d) based on application filed in Japan on June 5, 2024 has been acknowledged and considered by Examiner. Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) that are placed on record in the application file.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 4-12010 dz are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over International Patent Publication WO 2025186755 A1 by Kintzinger et al. (“Kintzinger”) in view of U.S. Patent Publication 2018/0246588 A1 by Bostick et al. (“Bostick”)
Regarding claim 1, Kintzinger teaches an electronic device (Fig. 1), comprising:
a display panel configured to display a displayed object; a pen sensor provided to overlap a display area of the display panel and configured to detect a position and a posture of the electronic pen (Page 2, second paragraph, U.S. Patent Publication No. US 2017/0318226 A1 incorporated by reference discloses a mobile terminal (such as a smartphone) including a display and a controller configured to facilitate adjustment by the user of a depth for captured images. Optical pen or stylus devices are known as such in the art, for instance from U.S. Patent Publication No. US 2010/0085471 A1. A dedicated processing system PU processed images acquired by the optical sensor C and provide an estimation of the pose (i.e. the position and orientation in space) of the optical stylus device);
a calculation processor configured to calculate a rotation angle of the displayed object displayed on the display panel on a basis of detection information indicating a state related to the posture of the electronic pen detected by the pen sensor and on a basis of reference information indicating a reference state related to the posture of the electronic pen (Page 6, first and second paragraphs, One solution is therefore to use an optical sensing system with a lower sampling rate to provide absolute measurement samples of the estimation of the pose of the optical stylus device and add e.g. an inertial measurement unit to provide a relative estimation of the change in the pose of the optical stylus device OD, with respect to the most recent absolute estimation thereof, until a subsequent absolute estimation of the pose of the optical stylus device OD can be delivered. The inertial measurement unit IMU in effect measures 3D acceleration and 3D rotation rate of the optical stylus device at a higher sampling rate, typically of the order of few kHz, and a sensor fusion algorithm can be used to combine the pose estimated by means of the optical sensing system OS and the inertial measurements coming from the inertial measurement unit IMU.),
However, a display controller configured to control display of the display panel to rotate the displayed object by the rotation angle calculated by the calculation processor.
In the analogous art of stylus’ with rotation control of user device, Bostick teaches user computer device was able to have received user profile data including access rules of each user preset by an administrator (Bostick Fig. 2; [0041]-[0042]) The user computer device may recognize that the login information entered by the user is associated with user profile data of a particular user stored in a rules database 65.(Bostick Fig. 2; [0043] and [0032]) The user rotates the stylus 56, an overlay of the content type (e.g., search) and content level (e.g., minimum level of detail, medium level of detail or high level of detail) is displayed on the display 24 of the user computer device 55 for the user to visualize based on preset access rules processed by one or more processors connected to display as in Bostick Fig. 1 (Bostick [0048] and [0023]). An active user of the stylus 56 (a user actively utilizing the stylus 56) can utilize the stylus 56 to tighten or restrict content viewed on the user computer device 55 by rotating the stylus 56 clockwise 304 a or counterclockwise 304. In embodiments, the stylus 56 may be utilized to control the level of content displayed for confidentiality or security, complexity, and age appropriateness through clockwise rotation to tighten or restrict the content level viewed, or counterclockwise rotation to loosen or broaden of the content level viewed (rotated out/in) (Bostick [0035] and [0050]). It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the invention to have had preset operation restrictions based on a user profile in the stylus of Kintzinger. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have age appropriate content or example, an administrator may be the guardian of a user, and allow a guardian to manually set access rules for the user such that the user cannot access any movie (content type category) having a rating (subcategory) that is not G, or PG (Bostick [0040]).
Regarding claim 4, Kintzinger does not teach the electronic device according to claim 1, wherein when the detection information satisfies a predetermined condition with respect to the reference information, the calculation processor calculates, as the rotation angle, an angle in a direction associated with the predetermined condition relative to a reference direction set in advance on the display panel.
In the analogous art of stylus’ with rotation control of user device, Bostick teaches user computer device was able to have received user profile data including access rules of each user preset by an administrator (Bostick Fig. 2; [0041]-[0042]) The user computer device may recognize that the login information entered by the user is associated with user profile data of a particular user stored in a rules database 65.(Bostick Fig. 2; [0043] and [0032]) The user rotates the stylus 56, an overlay of the content type (e.g., search) and content level (e.g., minimum level of detail, medium level of detail or high level of detail) is displayed on the display 24 of the user computer device 55 for the user to visualize based on preset access rules (Bostick [0048]). An active user of the stylus 56 (a user actively utilizing the stylus 56) can utilize the stylus 56 to tighten or restrict content viewed on the user computer device 55 by rotating the stylus 56 clockwise 304 a or counterclockwise 304 b. In embodiments, the stylus 56 may be utilized to control the level of content displayed for confidentiality or security, complexity, and age appropriateness through clockwise rotation to tighten or restrict the content level viewed, or counterclockwise rotation to loosen or broaden of the content level viewed (rotated out/in as preset reference direction options) (Bostick [0035]). It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the invention to have had preset operation restrictions based on a user profile in the stylus of Kintzinger. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have age appropriate content or example, an administrator may be the guardian of a user, and allow a guardian to manually set access rules for the user such that the user cannot access any movie (content type category) having a rating (subcategory) that is not G, or PG (Bostick [0040]).
Regarding claim 5, Kintzinger does not teach the electronic device according to claim 4, wherein the electronic pen is an active pen capable of storing user information that is information related to a user and that includes the predetermined condition, the pen sensor receives the user information transmitted from the electronic pen, and the calculation processor calculates the rotation angle according to the predetermined condition indicated in the user information received by the pen sensor.
In the analogous art of stylus’ with rotation control of user device, Bostick teaches user computer device was able to have received user profile data including access rules of each user preset by an administrator (Bostick Fig. 2; [0041]-[0042]) The user computer device may recognize that the login information entered by the user is associated with user profile data of a particular user stored in a rules database 65.(Bostick Fig. 2; [0043] and [0032]) The user rotates the stylus 56, an overlay of the content type (e.g., search) and content level (e.g., minimum level of detail, medium level of detail or high level of detail) is displayed on the display 24 of the user computer device 55 for the user to visualize based on preset access rules (Bostick [0048]). An active user of the stylus 56 (a user actively utilizing the stylus 56) can utilize the stylus 56 to tighten or restrict content viewed on the user computer device 55 by rotating the stylus 56 clockwise 304 a or counterclockwise 304 b. In embodiments, the stylus 56 may be utilized to control the level of content displayed for confidentiality or security, complexity, and age appropriateness through clockwise rotation to tighten or restrict the content level viewed, or counterclockwise rotation to loosen or broaden of the content level viewed (rotated out/in) (Bostick [0035]). It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the invention to have had preset operation restrictions based on a user profile in the stylus of Kintzinger. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have age appropriate content or example, an administrator may be the guardian of a user, and allow a guardian to manually set access rules for the user such that the user cannot access any movie (content type category) having a rating (subcategory) that is not G, or PG (Bostick [0040]).
Regarding claim 6, Kintzinger does not teach the electronic device according to claim 4, comprising: a storage unit that stores, for each user, user information including a log-in status of a user and the predetermined condition associated with the user, wherein the calculation processor calculates the rotation angle according to the predetermined condition indicated in the user information associated with the currently logged-in user.
In the analogous art of stylus’ with rotation control of user device, Bostick teaches user computer device was able to have received user profile data including access rules of each user preset by an administrator (Bostick Fig. 2; [0041]-[0042]) The user computer device may recognize that the login information entered by the user is associated with user profile data of a particular user stored in a rules database 65.(Bostick Fig. 2; [0043] and [0032]) The user rotates the stylus 56, an overlay of the content type (e.g., search) and content level (e.g., minimum level of detail, medium level of detail or high level of detail) is displayed on the display 24 of the user computer device 55 for the user to visualize based on preset access rules (Bostick [0048]). An active user of the stylus 56 (a user actively utilizing the stylus 56) can utilize the stylus 56 to tighten or restrict content viewed on the user computer device 55 by rotating the stylus 56 clockwise 304 a or counterclockwise 304 b. In embodiments, the stylus 56 may be utilized to control the level of content displayed for confidentiality or security, complexity, and age appropriateness through clockwise rotation to tighten or restrict the content level viewed, or counterclockwise rotation to loosen or broaden the content level viewed (Bostick [0035]). It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the invention to have had preset operation restrictions based on a user profile in the stylus of Kintzinger. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have age appropriate content or example, an administrator may be the guardian of a user, and allow a guardian to manually set access rules for the user such that the user cannot access any movie (content type category) having a rating (subcategory) that is not G, or PG. In another example, predetermined parameters stored in the rules database 65 (e.g., <13 years of age has access to only G or PG rated movies, 13+ years has access to G, PG or PG-13 rated movies, etc.) may cause the user computer device 55 to automatically establish an access rule for a user that limits the content type accessible by the user based on user profile data (e.g., age of user).
Regarding claim 7, Kintzinger does not teach the electronic device according to claim 4, comprising: an acquisition unit that acquires, from an external server, user information including a log-in status of a user and the predetermined condition associated with the user, wherein the calculation processor calculates the rotation angle according to the user information associated with the currently logged-in user.
In the analogous art of stylus’ with rotation control of user device, Bostick teaches user computer device was able to have received user profile data including access rules of each user preset by an administrator (Bostick Fig. 2; [0041]-[0042]) The user computer device may recognize that the login information entered by the user is associated with user profile data of a particular user stored in a rules database 65.(Bostick Fig. 2; [0043] and [0032]) The user rotates the stylus 56, an overlay of the content type (e.g., search) and content level (e.g., minimum level of detail, medium level of detail or high level of detail) is displayed on the display 24 of the user computer device 55 for the user to visualize based on preset access rules (Bostick [0048]). An active user of the stylus 56 (a user actively utilizing the stylus 56) can utilize the stylus 56 to tighten or restrict content viewed on the user computer device 55 by rotating the stylus 56 clockwise 304 a or counterclockwise 304 b. In embodiments, the stylus 56 may be utilized to control the level of content displayed for confidentiality or security, complexity, and age appropriateness through clockwise rotation to tighten or restrict the content level viewed, or counterclockwise rotation to loosen or broaden the content level viewed (Bostick [0035]). It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the invention to have had preset operation restrictions based on a user profile in the stylus of Kintzinger. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have age appropriate content or example, an administrator may be the guardian of a user, and allow a guardian to manually set access rules for the user such that the user cannot access any movie (content type category) having a rating (subcategory) that is not G, or PG (Bostick [0040]).
Regarding claim 8, Kintzinger does not teach the electronic device according to claim 1, wherein the displayed object includes all objects displayed on the display panel.
In the analogous art of stylus’ with rotation control of user device, Bostick teaches user computer device was able to have received user profile data including access rules of each user preset by an administrator (Bostick Fig. 2; [0041]-[0042]) The user computer device may recognize that the login information entered by the user is associated with user profile data of a particular user stored in a rules database 65.(Bostick Fig. 2; [0043] and [0032]) The user rotates the stylus 56, an overlay of the content type (e.g., search) and content level (e.g., minimum level of detail, medium level of detail or high level of detail) is displayed on the display 24 of the user computer device 55 for the user to visualize based on preset access rules (Bostick [0048]). An active user of the stylus 56 (a user actively utilizing the stylus 56) can utilize the stylus 56 to tighten or restrict content viewed on the user computer device 55 by rotating the stylus 56 clockwise 304 a or counterclockwise 304 b. In embodiments, the stylus 56 may be utilized to control the level of content displayed for confidentiality or security, complexity, and age appropriateness through clockwise rotation to tighten or restrict the content level viewed, or counterclockwise rotation to loosen or broaden of all the content level viewed(Bostick [0035]). It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the invention to have had preset operation restrictions based on a user profile in the stylus of Kintzinger. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have age appropriate content or example, an administrator may be the guardian of a user, and allow a guardian to manually set access rules for the user such that the user cannot access any movie (content type category) having a rating (subcategory) that is not G, or PG (Bostick [0040]).
Regarding claim 9, Kintzinger does not teach the electronic device according to claim 1, comprising: a storage unit that stores content to be displayed on the display panel, wherein the calculation processor calculates the rotation angle of the content as the displayed object on the display panel.
In the analogous art of stylus’ with rotation control of user device, Bostick teaches user computer device was able to have received user profile data including access rules of each user preset by an administrator (Bostick Fig. 2; [0041]-[0042]) The user computer device may recognize that the login information entered by the user is associated with user profile data of a particular user stored in a rules database 65.(Bostick Fig. 2; [0043] and [0032]) The user rotates the stylus 56, an overlay of the content type (e.g., search) and content level (e.g., minimum level of detail, medium level of detail or high level of detail) is displayed on the display 24 of the user computer device 55 for the user to visualize based on preset access rules (Bostick [0048]). An active user of the stylus 56 (a user actively utilizing the stylus 56) can utilize the stylus 56 to tighten or restrict content viewed on the user computer device 55 by rotating the stylus 56 clockwise 304 a or counterclockwise 304 b. In embodiments, the stylus 56 may be utilized to control the level of content displayed for confidentiality or security, complexity, and age appropriateness through clockwise rotation to tighten or restrict the content level viewed, or counterclockwise rotation to loosen or broaden of the content level viewed (rotated out/in) (Bostick [0035]). It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the invention to have had preset operation restrictions based on a user profile in the stylus of Kintzinger. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have age appropriate content or example, an administrator may be the guardian of a user, and allow a guardian to manually set access rules for the user such that the user cannot access any movie (content type category) having a rating (subcategory) that is not G, or PG (Bostick [0040]).
Regarding claim 10, Kintzinger does not teach the electronic device according to claim 1, comprising: a storage unit that stores content to be displayed on the display panel, wherein the calculation processor calculates the rotation angle of a predetermined area included in the content as the displayed object on the display panel.
In the analogous art of stylus’ with rotation control of user device, Bostick teaches user computer device was able to have received user profile data including access rules of each user preset by an administrator (Bostick Fig. 2; [0041]-[0042]) The user computer device may recognize that the login information entered by the user is associated with user profile data of a particular user stored in a rules database 65.(Bostick Fig. 2; [0043] and [0032]) The user rotates the stylus 56, an overlay of the content type (e.g., search) and content level (e.g., minimum level of detail, medium level of detail or high level of detail) is displayed on the display 24 of the user computer device 55 for the user to visualize based on preset access rules (Bostick [0048]). An active user of the stylus 56 (a user actively utilizing the stylus 56) can utilize the stylus 56 to tighten or restrict content viewed on the user computer device 55 by rotating the stylus 56 clockwise 304 a or counterclockwise 304 b. In embodiments, the stylus 56 may be utilized to control the level of content displayed for confidentiality or security, complexity, and age appropriateness through clockwise rotation to tighten or restrict the content level viewed, or counterclockwise rotation to loosen or broaden of the content level viewed (rotated out/in within visualization menu) (Bostick [0035]). It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the invention to have had preset operation restrictions based on a user profile in the stylus of Kintzinger. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have age appropriate content or example, an administrator may be the guardian of a user, and allow a guardian to manually set access rules for the user such that the user cannot access any movie (content type category) having a rating (subcategory) that is not G, or PG (Bostick [0040]).
Regarding claim 11, the above rejection of the electronic device in claim 1 stands for the corresponding electronic device claimed (Page 2, second paragarph, US 2017/0318226 incoporated by reference implementation using a machine-readable medium having instructions stored thereon for execution by a processor to perform various methods presented herein. Examples of possible machine-readable mediums include HDD (Hard Disk Drive), SSD (Solid State Disk), SDD (Silicon Disk Drive), ROM, RAM, CD-ROM, a magnetic tape, a floppy disk, an optical data storage device, the other types of storage mediums presented herein, and combinations thereof).
Regarding claim 12, the above rejection of the electronic device in claim 1 stands for the corresponding electronic device claimed (Page 4, first paragarph, the optical stylus device OD may be used to capture movements and strokes in space performed by a user by means of the optical stylus device OD and convert those in 2D or 3D positional data for e.g. further processing in a computer environment. The optical stylus device OD can in particular be used to perform conversion of the user’s handwriting or of any other shape or pattern drawn in space by the user by means of the optical stylus device OD).
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over International Patent Publication WO 2025186755 A1 by Kintzinger in view of U.S. Patent Publication 2018/0246588 A1 by Bostick, and further in view of International Patent Publication WO 2023241227 A1 by Luo et al. (“Luo.”)
Regarding claim 2, Kintzinger of the combination of references further teaches the electronic device according to claim 1, and each of the detection information and the reference information includes a pen coordinate value indicating a position of the electronic pen, a posture value indicating a posture of the electronic pen (Page 6, first and second paragraph, In theory, in order to properly convert user’s inputs into a representative stream of positional data, one would require an optical sensor C having a fast sampling rate and a processing system Pll with enough processing power to provide pose estimations of the optical stylus device OD at a sufficient rate for writing (i.e. of the order of 100 Hz to 200 Hz). One solution is therefore to use an optical sensing system with a lower sampling rate to provide absolute measurement samples of the estimation of the pose of the optical stylus device and add e.g. an inertial measurement unit to provide a relative estimation of the change in the pose of the optical stylus device OD, with respect to the most recent absolute estimation thereof, until a subsequent absolute estimation of the pose of the optical stylus device OD can be delivered. The inertial measurement unit IMU in effect measures 3D acceleration and 3D rotation rate of the optical stylus device and its pen tip at a higher sampling rate, typically of the order of few kHz, and a sensor fusion algorithm can be used to combine the pose estimated by means of the optical sensing system OS and the inertial measurements coming from the inertial measurement unit IMU.),
However, Kintzinger in view of Bostick does not teach wherein the pen sensor is a touch sensor that detects a position of a contact part of a user holding the electronic pen, and the reference information includes a contact part coordinate value indicating a position of the contact part.
However, in the analogous art of stylus use and operation with an electronic device, Luo teaches touch data generated by the touch sensor in the active pen can be used to identify finger gestures such as double-click, slide, and long press. The touch sensor will also detect changes in touch data due to accidental touches by the human body, such as adjusting the pen holding posture. Place the pen on or off the screen, turn the pen, shake the pen, pick up the pen, put down the pen, etc. Therefore, this application uses the posture data (such as acceleration data, angular velocity data such as when user rotates the pen) output by the posture sensor to assist in judging gestures based on the touch data from the touch sensor, thereby avoiding mistaken recognition of human touches as gestures (Luo Page 11, second paragraph and Page 13, first and second paragraph. The electronic device 20 includes a second controller 201, a touch screen 202 and a second communication module 203. Among them, the touch screen 202 can be a capacitive touch screen, and by contacting the active pen 10, it outputs the position, inclination angle, activity duration and other information of the active pen 10 on the touch screen to the second controller 201. The touch screen 202 can also accept the input of the second controller 201 to control to display content (Luo Page 12, first paragraph). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to have used touch data by a pen as part of a posture data to detect gestures on the pen of Kinzinger. One having ordinary sill in the art would have been motivated to have avoiding mistaken recognition of human touches and accepting gestures as user intended including compatibility for screen 202 to implement convenient operations such as one-key switching of the eraser, one-key screenshot, slide page turning, laser pointer indication, etc (Luo Page 12, first paragraph and Page 13, first and second paragraphs).
Regarding claim 3, Kintzinger in view of Bostick does not teach the electronic device according to claim 1, comprising: a touch sensor provided to overlap the display area and the pen sensor and configured to detect a position of a contact part of a user holding the electronic pen, wherein each of the detection information and the reference information includes a pen coordinate value indicating a position of the electronic pen, a posture value indicating a posture of the electronic pen, and a contact part coordinate value indicating a position of the contact part.
However, in the analogous art of stylus use and operation with an electronic device, Luo teaches touch data generated by the touch sensor in the active pen can be used to identify finger gestures such as double-click, slide, and long press. The touch sensor will also detect changes in touch data due to accidental touches by the human body, such as adjusting the pen holding posture. Place the pen on or off the screen, turn the pen, shake the pen, pick up the pen, put down the pen, etc. Therefore, this application uses the posture data (such as acceleration data, angular velocity data such as when user rotates the pen) output by the posture sensor to assist in judging gestures based on the touch data from the touch sensor, thereby avoiding mistaken recognition of human touches as gestures (Luo Page 11, second paragraph and Page 13, first and second paragraph. The electronic device 20 includes a second controller 201, a touch screen 202 and a second communication module 203. Among them, the touch screen 202 can be a capacitive touch screen, and by contacting the active pen 10, it outputs the position, inclination angle, activity duration and other information of the active pen 10 on the touch screen to the second controller 201. The touch screen 202 can also accept the input of the second controller 201 to control to display content (Luo Page 12, first paragraph). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to have used touch data by a pen as part of a posture data to detect gestures on the pen of Kinzinger. One having ordinary sill in the art would have been motivated to have avoiding mistaken recognition of human touches and accepting gestures as user intended including compatibility for screen 202 to implement convenient operations such as one-key switching of the eraser, one-key screenshot, slide page turning, laser pointer indication, etc (Luo Page 12, first paragraph and Page 13, first and second paragraphs).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Patent 2015/0220168 A1 by Keating et al. teaches obtaining user input via stylus configured to serve as an interface for providing user input to a computing device such as by obtaining, at the computing device, rotation-related information indicative of at least a first rotational movement of the stylus in a first direction about a longitudinal axis. Analyzing the rotation-related information to distinguish intended-gesture rotational movement as the user input to the computing device.
U.S. Patent 11,853,509 B1 by Pundak et al. teaches receiving image data from the camera, and at 604, detecting a presence of a user via image data from the camera. Method 600 further includes, at 606, determining, based on the image data, information regarding one or more of a hand and a stylus captured in the image data. Determining such information may include, at 608, determining a right-handedness or a left-handedness of the user, and/or at 610, determining a hand size. In some examples, determining a hand size of the user may include, at 612, classifying the hand size into one of two or more classifications (e.g. small, medium, large). determining such information at 606 also may comprise, at 614, determining a stylus type of the stylus to provide better posture/pose information for stylus accuracy. 2
/MAHEEN I JAVED/Examiner, Art Unit 2621
/AMR A AWAD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2621