DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a communication module configured to” in claim 1. “a service server configured to” and “a traffic control server configured to” in claim 8.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure for “traffic control server” described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation: Fig. 2 and [0049]-[0050] of the Specification “FIG. 2 is a diagram illustrating a configuration of the traffic control server of FIG. 1 . Referring to FIG. 2, the traffic control server 100 may include a processor 110, a memory 120, and a communication module 130.”.
However, the specification fails to disclose the corresponding structures for “a communication module”. Applicant discloses in [0051] of the Specification “the communication module 130 may include at least one of a wired communication module or a wireless communication module.” which does not disclose a definite/particular structure for the “communication module”. In addition, [0039] of the Specification disclose “The service server 300 may include a WEB server 310, a WAS server 320, and a DB server 330.” which does not disclose a definite/particular structure for the “service server”.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites limitation “a communication module configured to” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The use of the term “communication module” does not describe a particular structure for performing the claimed functions. As would be recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art, the recited functions can be performed in any number of ways in hardware, software or a combination of the two. Same rationales apply to “a service server configured to” recited in independent claim 8. The dependent claims of claim 1 and claim 8 fail to cure the deficiency. Therefore, the claims are indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claims 1-14 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 112(a) because the specification is devoid of clear and adequate structure for the “a communication module” and “a service server” performing the claimed functions. The written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed functions and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the functions. See the 112(b) rejection, set forth above, for more details.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Freeman (US 20010049717 A1) in view of Cooke (US 20130212603 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Freeman teaches a server for controlling an entry allowed number based on influence calculation utilizing metric information, comprising:
a communication module configured to perform communication with user terminals attempting to enter a service server; ([0350]: The load management subsystem (LMS) provides a load management capability that selects which server 180 in the server farm 110 will service a client request, i.e., which server 180 will execute an application for a client 120.)
a memory configured to store at least one process related to a control of an entry allowed number based on an impact calculation using metric information; and ([0359]: the maximum number of client sessions allowed by the rule. [0350]-[0352]: the LMS manages overall server and network load to minimize response time to client requests. the LMS is rule-based. Rules use the output from one or more operational meters. Operational meters may measure any aspect of server performance and the result is used by rules to help determine which server is most appropriate to service a client request.)
a processor configured to perform an operation according to the process, wherein the processor is configured to:
calculate the influence on the metric information based on a number of connection requests by user terminals received from the service server through the communication module and the metric information, ([0359]: using operational meters the LMS can obtain information about the processor load on a particular server 180, the memory load on that server 180, and the network load of that server 180. The LMS combines these results to obtain an overall load number that indicates the total aggregate load on that server 180. the rule may disqualify a server 180 from servicing a client request. if a server 180 is currently servicing the maximum number of client sessions allowed by the rule, it will not be chosen by the LMS to service a new client request, even if the outputs of its operational meters indicate that it is the most favorable server 180 to which to route the client request.)
output change information of the metric information based on the number of connection requests by the user terminals and the influence, ([0361]-[0362]: the LMS receives an event message requesting a server ID to which a client request should be directed. The LMS queries load evaluator information associated with the requested application. some rules force a calculation of the load evaluator at the time of the request. The LMS sends an event to the administration tool subsystem each time a client connection is requested and another message indicating to which server 180 the client connection was directed.)
extract a preset target entry allowed number by the user terminals in connection with the change information of the metric information, and ([0359]: if a server 180 is currently servicing the maximum number of client sessions allowed by the rule, it will not be chosen by the LMS to service a new client request, even if the outputs of its operational meters indicate that it is the most favorable server 180 to which to route the client request.)
control the service server to perform a control of the user terminals based on the target entry allowed number by the user terminals. ([0359]: if a server 180 is currently servicing the maximum number of client sessions allowed by the rule, it will not be chosen by the LMS to service a new client request, even if the outputs of its operational meters indicate that it is the most favorable server 180 to which to route the client request.)
Freeman does not explicitly disclose the connection requests are by API group.
However, Cooke teaches the connection requests are by API group. ([0030]: the API usage is preferably accounted for based on API resource type (e,g., API group). In the variation where the method is applied to concurrency rate monitoring and regulating, the initiation and conclusion of API requests are accounted for such that a request limiter has access to information specifying the number of current/active API requests.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include above limitation into Freeman. One would have been motivated to do so because it is desirable to measure, track, and record the API usage so that the API values are maintained. As mentioned above, the API usage is preferably accounted for based on API resource type. As taught by Cooke, [0030].
Regarding claim 2, Freeman and Cooke teach the server according to claim 1.
Freeman teaches calculate the influence based on the number of connection requests, and CPU information, memory information, disk information, and network information included in the metric information. ([0359]: using operational meters the LMS can obtain information about the processor load on a particular server 180, the memory load on that server 180, and the network load of that server 180. The LMS combines these results to obtain an overall load number that indicates the total aggregate load on that server 180. If a server 180 is currently servicing the maximum number of client sessions allowed by the rule, it will not be chosen by the LMS to service a new client request, even if the outputs of its operational meters indicate that it is the most favorable server 180 to which to route the client request.)
Cooke teaches calculate the influence based on the number of connection requests of a first API group and the number of connection requests of a second API group among the number of connection requests by API group. ([0030]: the API usage is preferably accounted for based on API resource type (e,g., including different API groups). In the variation where the method is applied to concurrency rate monitoring and regulating, the initiation and conclusion of API requests are accounted for such that a request limiter has access to information specifying the number of current/active API requests.)
Similar rationales apply to rejection of claim 8 (system) because it is substantially similar to claim 1 (server).
Similar rationales apply to rejection of claim 9 (system) because it is substantially similar to claim 2 (server).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-7 and 10-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, and if applicant overcomes the 112(b) & 112(a) rejections.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of record fail to explicitly disclose each and every limitation recited in claims 3-7 and 10-14.
Conclusion
/ZI YE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2455