DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 21, 34, 40 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 14, 20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,293,619. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent claims include all of the limitations of the instant application claims, respectively. The patent claims also include additional limitations. Hence, the instant application claims are generic to the species of invention covered by the respective patent claims. As such, the instant application claims are anticipated by the patent claims and are therefore not patentably distinct therefrom. (See Eli Lilly and Co. v. Barr Laboratories Inc., 58 USPQ2D 1869, "a later genus claim limitation is anticipated by, and therefore not patentably distinct from, an earlier species claim", In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010, "Thus, the generic invention is 'anticipated' by the species of the patented invention" and the instant “application claims are generic to species of invention covered by the patent claim, and since without terminal disclaimer, extant species claims preclude issuance of generic application claims”).
Claim Objections
Claim 35 objected to because of the following informalities: a period is missing at the end of the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21-23, 28, 31, 34-37, 40-41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boate (US 20060290519), and further in view of Weaver (US 20050131578 A1).
Regarding claim 21, 34, 40, Boate discloses a system and method for asset monitoring (wireless monitoring system 100 for tracking the location of objects including equipment within a facility covered by the monitoring system, Abstract, Para. 3, 8-9, 70 and 153), the system comprising:
a base station comprising a processor, a memory, and at least one antenna (via base station 50, Para. 103, 153);
a tag secured to a mobile asset (via RF tag attached to an object, Para. 43-45, 153, 70);
wherein the at least one antenna is structured to communicate with the tag via wireless communication signals (Each tag periodically transmits a `ping` containing the tag ID, over tag RF channels (centered at 303, 433 and 902-928 MHz) in a channel-friendly way. The base-station 50 is provided with at least one frequency-adjustable tag reader coupled to a separate tag antenna for listening to the tag IDs, Para. 70, 153); and
wherein the memory includes a plurality of instructions stored thereon that, in response to execution by the processor, cause the base station to receive communications from the tag via the at least one antenna (Para. 70, 153);
and transmit the determined location of the tag to an interface device (via central unit 70, Para. 74).
Boate fails to disclose wherein a plurality of installation locations are stored in the memory, wherein the plurality of installation locations includes a correct installation location correlated with the mobile asset; and determine whether the mobile asset is positioned at the correct installation location based on the communications received from the tag.
Weaver teaches a monitoring and tracking system including a plurality of installation locations stored in a memory, wherein the plurality of installation locations includes a correct installation location correlated with a mobile asset; and determine whether the mobile asset is positioned at the correct installation location based on the communications received from the tag (the communication unit 24 to receive item specific identification data via wireless or other means directly from a transmitter, such as an RFID tag, associated with each item 14 or container (e.g., pallet or box) of items 14, (v) of two-dimensional surface space to be divided during training by a narrow strip of material attached by an adhesive or other retention means including but not limited to living hinges on each strip that are affixed to the surface space helping maintain an orderly row and column arrangement, (vi) of the central host to support an item inventory map referenced to hanger and surface space so as to correlate and display inventory location to count update and alarm events, (vii) of the central host to associate alarm events to coverage surveillance cameras or other equipment 54 in support of quickly identifying potential shrink/theft and incorrect restocking events, and (viii) of the microcontroller 23 having as input a wireless RF/ID communications unit such that the microcontroller of a hanger and/or shelf could uniquely identify each item on its sensor surface for purposes of an individual stock item tracking and monitoring use, Para. 105-106, 109).
From the teachings of Weaver, it would have been obvious to try to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Boate to include a plurality of installation locations are stored in the memory, wherein the plurality of installation locations includes a correct installation location correlated with the mobile asset; and determine whether the mobile asset is positioned at the correct installation location based on the communications received from the tag in order to detect misplaced items and move the misplaced items to their correct location, thereby prevent loss of misplaced items.
Regarding claim 22, 35, 36, 41, Boate discloses wherein the wireless communication signals have a nominal frequency of 433 MHz (Para. 153).
Regarding claim 23, Boate discloses wherein the wireless communication signals have a nominal frequency of at least one of 433 MHz, 900 MHz or 2.4 GHz (Para. 153).
Regarding claim 37, 28, Boate discloses wherein the wireless communication signal includes an alert message; wherein the plurality of instructions further cause the base station to transmit the alert message to the interface device; and wherein the alert message is indicative that the mobile asset has moved (via motion sensor, Para. 46, 100, 164; via ping to indicate location upon sensing motion, Para. 164, 153).
Regarding claim 31, Boate discloses the plurality of installation locations are associated with a single worksite (objects within a facility, Abstract).
Claim(s) 24, 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boate in view of Weaver, and further in view of Chow (US 20130018438 A1).
Regarding claim 24, Boate fails to disclose wherein the at least one antenna comprises a first antenna and a second antenna; wherein the first antenna is structured to wirelessly and directly communicate with the tag via the wireless communication signals having the nominal frequency of 433 MHz; and wherein the second antenna is structured to wirelessly and directly communicate with the tag via the wireless communication signals having the nominal frequency of 900 MHz.
Chow teaches a communication device can be configured to include more than one antenna and each antenna tuned to operate at a particular frequency or frequency band to improve communications of the communication device (the first antenna 610 and/or the first matching network 612 may be configured or tuned to receive far field radiative signals in a first frequency band that includes a frequency of the first far field radiative signals 604. The second antenna 611 and/or the second matching network 613 may be configured or tuned to receive far field radiative signals in a second frequency band that includes a frequency of the second far field radiative signals 605. For example, the first and second frequency bands may be centered at one of approximately 433 MHz and 900 MHz, respectively, Para. 63).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Boate and Weaver to include wherein the at least one antenna comprises a first antenna and a second antenna; wherein the first antenna is structured to wirelessly and directly communicate with the tag via the wireless communication signals having the nominal frequency of 433 MHz; and wherein the second antenna is structured to wirelessly and directly communicate with the tag via the wireless communication signals having the nominal frequency of 900 MHz in order to improve range of communications via multiple antennas each tuned to a particular frequency.
Regarding claim 25, Chow teaches a communication device can be configured to include more than one antenna and each antenna tuned to operate at a particular frequency or frequency band to improve communications of the communication device (the first antenna 610 and/or the first matching network 612 may be configured or tuned to receive far field radiative signals in a first frequency band that includes a frequency of the first far field radiative signals 604. The second antenna 611 and/or the second matching network 613 may be configured or tuned to receive far field radiative signals in a second frequency band that includes a frequency of the second far field radiative signals 605. For example, the first and second frequency bands may be centered at one of approximately 433 MHz and 900 MHz, respectively, approximately 433 MHz and 2.4 GHz, respectively, Para. 63).
And MPEP 2144.04 section VI states that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Boate and Weaver to include a third antenna is structured to communicate with the tag via the wireless communication signals having the nominal frequency of 2.4 GHz in order to improve range of communications via multiple antennas each tuned to a particular frequency.
Claim(s) 26-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boate in view of Weaver, and further in view of Proska (US 20070200664 A1).
Regarding claim 26, Boate and Weaver fail to disclose wherein the mobile asset is an access control hardware component; and wherein the plurality of instructions further causes the base station to monitor the location of the access control hardware component from a shipping location to a worksite and receive verification of installation of the access control hardware component at the correct installation location on a particular door at the worksite.
Proska teaches a system to track a location of components from a shipping location to a construction site to improve security (via tracking of containers 18 including trucks with GPS to construction sites, Para. 14, 16).
And Weaver teaches a monitoring and tracking system configured to determine if an object is installed at the correct location (the communication unit 24 to receive item specific identification data via wireless or other means directly from a transmitter, such as an RFID tag, associated with each item 14 or container (e.g., pallet or box) of items 14, (v) of two-dimensional surface space to be divided during training by a narrow strip of material attached by an adhesive or other retention means including but not limited to living hinges on each strip that are affixed to the surface space helping maintain an orderly row and column arrangement, (vi) of the central host to support an item inventory map referenced to hanger and surface space so as to correlate and display inventory location to count update and alarm events, (vii) of the central host to associate alarm events to coverage surveillance cameras or other equipment 54 in support of quickly identifying potential shrink/theft and incorrect restocking events, and (viii) of the microcontroller 23 having as input a wireless RF/ID communications unit such that the microcontroller of a hanger and/or shelf could uniquely identify each item on its sensor surface for purposes of an individual stock item tracking and monitoring use, Para. 109).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Boate and Weaver to include wherein the mobile asset is an access control hardware component; and wherein the plurality of instructions further causes the base station to monitor the location of the access control hardware component from a shipping location to a worksite and receive verification of installation of the access control hardware component at the correct installation location on a particular door at the worksite in order to improve object tracking and ensure proper location of objects installed.
Regarding 27, Boate discloses wherein the access control hardware component comprises an electronic lock (via door lock, Para. 136).
Claim(s) 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boate in view of Weaver, and further in view of Donlan (US 2018/0113897).
Regarding claim 29, Boate discloses a server configured to (i) receive the alert message from the base station (central unit 70, Para. 153, 164), but fails to disclose transmit the alert message to an interface device for visualization by a user of the interface device via an application programming interface (API).
Donlan teaches a management system including sending an alert message to an interface device for visualization by a user of the interface device via an application programming interface (Para. 229, 262, 286).
From the teachings of Donlan, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Boate and Weaver to include transmit the alert message to an interface device for visualization by a user of the interface device via an application programming interface (API) in order to make viewing of alerts easier for an operator.
Claim(s) 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boate in view of Weaver, and further in view of Teicher (US 2017/0069153 A1).
Regarding claim 30, Boate fails to disclose wherein the plurality of instructions further causes the base station to generate an alert message in response to determining that the location of the tag is not consistent with an access attempt at a secure location.
Teicher teaches generating an alert message in response to determining that the location of a tag is not consistent with an access attempt at a secure location (Para. 13, 153-154).
From the teachings of Teicher, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Boate and Weaver to include wherein the plurality of instructions further causes the base station to generate an alert message in response to determining that the location of the long-range tag is not consistent with an access attempt at a secure location in order to prevent access to restricted areas, thereby improve security.
Claim(s) 32, 38, 42 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boate in view of Weaver, and further in view of Wu (2015/0052029).
Regarding claim 32, 38, 42, Boate and Weaver fail to disclose wherein the correct installation location for the mobile asset is identified from image processing of the plurality of installation locations.
Wu teaches image processing of installation location to identify correct installation location (Para. 48).
From the teachings of Wu, it would have been obvious to try to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Boate and Weaver to include wherein the correct installation location for the mobile asset is identified from image processing of the plurality of installation locations in order to identify misplaced items, thereby allow correction of placement of the items.
Claim(s) 33, 39, 43 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boate in view of Weaver, and further in view of Clem (US 20180365634 A1).
Regarding claim 33, 39, 43, Boate and Weaver fail to disclose wherein the mobile asset is selected from a plurality of mobile assets based on a predictive machine learning model that identifies the mobile asset to be used at the correct installation location.
Clem teaches using a predictive machine learning model to identify an asset to be at a location (Para. 24).
From the teachings of Clem, it would have been obvious to try to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Boate and Weaver to include wherein the mobile asset is selected from a plurality of mobile assets based on a predictive machine learning model that identifies the mobile asset to be used at the correct installation location in order to improve efficiency of placing the asset at the correct location.
Conclusion
/YONG HANG JIANG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2689