DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 3-7, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jackson et al. (US Pub. 2022/0038190 A1)(hereinafter Jackson) in view of Johnson (US Pub. 2011/0102177 A1)(hereinafter Johnson) in view of Erikson (US Pub. 2017/0144737 A1)(hereinafter Erikson).
Regarding claim 1, Jackson discloses a topside buoy system (Jackson, Figs. 7-8 and 10-11 and ¶0048; ... a buoy that includes a floating apparatus that causes the edge device 69 to float at the surface of the water.)
for communicating with a plurality of divers each having a wearable device, (Jackson, Figs. 4, 8 and 10 and ¶0039; ... a wearable electronic device 10C representing another embodiment of the electronic device 10; ¶0048; ... The edge device 69, located at the edge of the underwater environment 65, may communicate with devices, e.g., the electronic device 10 ...;)
the topside buoy system comprising: a communication element configured to wirelessly communicate (Jackson, Fig. 7 and ¶0050; ... the edge device 69 may include out-of-water transceiver(s) (OWT) 71 that enable the edge device 69 to communicate with the electronic device 68 using through-the-air wireless signals, ....)
with a topside monitoring station to receive message data for the plurality of divers; (Jackson, Figs 11 and ¶0062 ... an edge device 69 may extend the range of detection of the antenna(s) 96 by acting as an intermediary and/or signal repeater. ... the edge device 69 may communicate with the antenna(s) 96 using through-the-air and/or through-the-water communication mechanisms discussed herein.) While Jackson discloses communication with a topside, sea vessel 98, Jackson does not specifically state that the sea vessel 98 is a monitoring station. Johnson, in the same field of endeavor, however, teaches the communicated to topside vessel providing a monitoring system. (Johnson, Fig. 1 and Abstract; ... a topside monitoring system 13 on a vessel comprising a receiver for receiving data from at least one diver 12,) Consequently, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed subject matter, to implement Jackson with the known technique of the topside vessel providing a monitoring station, as taught by Johnson, in order to allow a diver to be monitored by a surface supervisor.
a processing element coupled with the communication element, the processing element adapted to process the received message data and generate a corresponding electrical signal; (Jackson, ¶¶0048-0049; ...the edge device 69 may be relatively larger than the electronic device 10 with additional processing, transmitting power,... the edge device 69 may also use more processing to received signals that may be indistinguishable from noise for the electronic device 10)
While Jackson discloses employing underwater communication devices, i.e. auditory transceiver 30 and underwater transceiver(s) (UWT) 70, Jackson does not specifically disclose the underwater communication devices include transducers and therefore does not discloses “a transducer element coupled with the processing element and adapted to generate a sonar signal corresponding to the received message data for reception by the wearable devices of the plurality of divers.” Erikson, in the same field of endeavor, however, teaches the functionality. (Erikson, Fig.5 and ¶0028; ...the communication unit 25 can include a portable sonar system having one or more transmitters 25a, transducers 25b, and receivers 25c. ... a transmitter, transducer and/or receiver can be located within a waterproof housing ...; ¶0029; ... the transmitter 25a can emit a signal, such as sound waves 2 through the water W for detection by the diver unit 30 (See FIG. 5). Likewise, the receiver 25c can receive an emergency distress signal, such as sound waves 3, ... from the diver unit 30.) Consequently, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed subject matter, to implement Jackson with the known technique of providing a transducer, as taught by Erikson, in order to implement Jackson’s teaching of employing an underwater transceiver devices. (Erikson, Abstract)
and a buoyant housing retaining the communication element, the processing element, and the transducer element. (Jackson, Figs. 7-8 and 10-11 and ¶0048; ... a buoy that includes a floating apparatus that causes the edge device 69 to float at the surface of the water. The edge device 69 may communicate with devices in the underwater environment 65 using underwater transceiver(s) (UWT) 70 that may correspond to a transceiver type of the transceiver(s) 30 that is conducive to underwater communication.)
Regarding claim 3, which depends from claim 1, Erikson discloses wherein the transducer element is configured to: receive sonar signals generated by the wearable devices of the plurality of divers and process the received sonar signals to generate data for transmission by the communication element of the topside monitoring station. (Erikson, Fig.5 and ¶0028; ...the communication unit 25 can include a portable sonar system having one or more ...receivers 25c..; ¶0029; ... the receiver 25c can receive an emergency distress signal, such as sound waves 3, for example; that can be transmitted through the water W from the diver unit 30.)
Regarding claim 4, which depends from claim 1, Jackson discloses wherein the processing element is configured to generate position information for each of the plurality of divers (Jackson, ¶0051; the edge devices 69 may acquire locations of a number of edge devices 69 along with a direction, a time-of-flight, and/or a signal strength of signals received from the electronic device 10. Using the locations of the edge devices 69 and the direction/signal strength/time-of-flight of the signals, the location of the electronic device 10 may be more precisely ascertained)
based on sonar signals received by the transducer element and control the communication element to transmit the position information for each of the plurality of divers to the topside monitoring station. (Erikson, Fig.5 and ¶0028; ...the communication unit 25 can include a portable sonar system having one or more ...receivers 25c..; ¶0029; ... the receiver 25c can ...sound waves 3, for example; that can be transmitted through the water W from the diver unit 30.)
Regarding claim 5, which depends from claim 1, Jackson discloses wherein the communication element is selected from the group consisting of a Wi-Fi transceiver, a Bluetooth transceiver, and a satellite transceiver. (Jackson, Fig. 7 and ¶0050; ... the edge device 69 may include out-of-water transceiver(s) (OWT) 71 that enable the edge device 69 to communicate with the electronic device 68 using through-the-air wireless signals, such as cellular signals, Wi-Fi signals, 802.15 signals, and the like...the edge device 69 may communicate with a satellite 72;)
Regarding claim 6, which depends from claim 1, Erickson discloses wherein the transducer element includes a plurality of transducers. (Erikson, Fig.5 and ¶0028; ...the communication unit 25 can include a portable sonar system having one or more transmitters 25a, transducers 25b, and receivers 25c. )
Regarding claim 7, which depends form claim 1, Johnson discloses wherein the topside monitoring station is one of a smartphone, a tablet, a chartplotter, and a desktop computer. (Johnson, ¶0184; The micro controller 120 is also connected via an data connection to a computer 101, such as a laptop.)
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jackson in view of Johnson in view of Erikson in view of Paul et al. (US Pub. 2010/0246331 A1)(hereinafter Paul)
Regarding claim 2, claim 2 depends from claim 1. As already discussed the limitations of claim 1 are obvious over Jackson in view of Johnson in view of Erikson. Concerning claim 2, Jackson does not discloses wherein the buoyant housing includes a roll cage to surround the transducer element. Paul, also in the area of employing a buoy for detection and communication however teaches the limitation. (Paul, ¶0006; In buoy moorings the underwater listening devices (hydrophones) are installed inside of an open cage, with the cage being part of the buoy's mooring connection to its anchor on the sea floor.) Consequently, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed subject matter, to implement Jackson with the known technique of providing a cage, as taught by Paul, in order to reduce receiver noise due to waves. (Paul, Abstract)
Claim(s) 8 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jackson in view of Johnson in view of Erikson in view of Cahalan et al. (USP 9,503,202 B2)
Regarding claim 8, claim 8 depends from claim 1. As already discussed the limitations of claim 1 are obvious over Jackson in view of Johnson in view of Erikson. Concerning claim 8, Jackson does not disclose wherein the message data includes text information directed to the plurality of divers. Cahalan in the same field of endeavor, however, teaches the limitation. (Cahalan, Col. 4, Lines 41-61; ... each of the signal devices such as the acoustic transducer array ... are adapted to both generate and receive an acoustic signal ... information, such as text messages and diver status, can be passed among divers and the boat.) Consequently, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed subject matter, to implement Jackson with the known technique of message data that includes text information directed to the plurality of divers, as taught by Cahalan, in order to meet the recognized need within the art to be able to communicate text-based messages with under water communication systems. (Cahalan, Col. 2, Lines 23-33)
Regarding claim 14, which depends from claim 1, Cahalan discloses wherein the sonar signals transmitted by the transducer element correspond to text message data for one or more of the plurality of divers. (Cahalan, Col. 4, Lines 41-61; ... each of the signal devices such as the acoustic transducer array described above, are adapted to both generate and receive an acoustic signal ... information, such as text messages and diver status, can be passed among divers and the boat.)
Claim(s) 9-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jackson in view of Johnson in view of Erikson in view of Cahalan in view of Paul.
Regarding claim 9, Jackson discloses a topside buoy system (Jackson, Figs. 7-8 and 10-11 and ¶0048; ... a buoy that includes a floating apparatus that causes the edge device 69 ... may communicate with devices, e.g., the electronic device 10 or the electronic device 66)
for communicating with a plurality of divers each having a wearable device, (Jackson, Figs. 4, 8 and 10 and ¶0039; ... a wearable electronic device 10C representing another embodiment of the electronic device 10; ¶0048; ... The edge device 69, located at the edge of the underwater environment 65, may communicate with devices, e.g., the electronic device 10 or the electronic device 66; )
While Jackson discloses employing underwater communication devices, i.e. auditory transceiver 30 and underwater transceiver(s) (UWT) 70, Jackson does not specifically disclose the underwater communication devices include transducers and therefore does not discloses the topside buoy system comprising: a transducer element adapted to transmit sonar signals to, and receive sonar signals from, the wearable devices of the plurality of divers. Erikson, in the same field of endeavor, however, teaches employing the technique. (Erikson, Fig.5 and ¶0028; ...the communication unit 25 can include a portable sonar system having one or more transmitters 25a, transducers 25b, and receivers 25c...; ¶0029; ... the transmitter 25a can emit a signal, such as sound waves 2 through the water W for detection by the diver unit 30. Likewise, the receiver 25c can receive... sound waves 3, for example; that can be transmitted through the water W from the diver unit 30.) Consequently, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed subject matter, to implement Jackson with the known technique of providing a transducer, as taught by Erikson, in order to implement Jackson’s teaching of employing an underwater transceiver devices. (Erikson, Abstract)
a communication element configured to wirelessly communicate (Jackson, Fig. 7 and ¶0050; ... out-of-water transceiver(s) (OWT) 71 that enable the edge device 69 to communicate with the electronic device 68 using through-the-air wireless signals, such as cellular signals, Wi-Fi signals, 802.15 signals, and the like.)
with a topside(Jackson, Figs 11; ¶0062; ... an edge device 69 may extend the range of detection of the antenna(s) 96 by acting as an intermediary and/or signal repeater. For instance, the edge device 69 may communicate with the antenna(s) 96 using through-the-air and/or through-the-water communication mechanisms discussed herein. The edge device 69 may forward communications to the electronic device 10 via underwater communication techniques.)
monitoring station to send and receive data for the plurality of divers; While Jackson discloses communication with a topside, sea vessel 98, Jackson does not specifically state that the sea vessel 98 provides a monitoring station. Johnson, in the same field of endeavor, however, teaches the topside vessel provides a monitoring system. (Johnson, Fig. 1 and Abstract; ... a topside monitoring system 13 on a vessel comprising a receiver for receiving data from at least one diver 12, the data being transmitted using an acoustic modem 207 and specifying information relating to the diver 12... a computer for processing the data 101) Consequently, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed subject matter, to implement Jackson with the known technique of the topside including a monitoring station, as taught by Johnson, in order to allow a diver to be monitored by a surface supervisor.
a processing element coupled with the transducer element and communication element, (Jackson, ¶¶0048-0049; ...the edge device 69 may be relatively larger than the electronic device 10 with additional processing, transmitting power,... the edge device 69 may also use more processing to received signals that may be indistinguishable from noise for the electronic device 10)
the processing element adapted to: process sonar signals received from the plurality of divers (Erikson, Fig.5 and ¶0029; ... the transmitter 25a can emit a signal, such as sound waves 2 through the water W for detection by the diver unit 30 (See FIG. 5). Likewise, the receiver 25c can receive an emergency distress signal, such as sound waves 3, for example; that can be transmitted through the water W from the diver unit 30. And Jackson, ¶¶0048-0049;... the edge device 69 may also use more processing to received signals that may be indistinguishable from noise for the electronic device 10)
Jackson does not disclose “to generate text message data for transmission to the topside monitoring station using the communication element.” Cahalan in the same field of endeavor, however, teaches the limitation. (Cahalan, Col. 4, Lines 41-61; ... each of the signal devices such as the acoustic transducer array ... are adapted to both generate and receive an acoustic signal ... information, such as text messages and diver status, can be passed among divers and the boat.) Consequently, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed subject matter, to implement Jackson with the known technique of the message data includes text information directed to the plurality of divers, as taught by Cahalan, in order to meet the recognized need within the art to be able to communicate text-based messages with under water communication systems. (Cahalan, Col. 2, Lines 23-33)
and process data received from the topside (Jackson, Figs 11; ¶0061; ... an edge device 69 may extend the range of detection of the antenna(s) 96 by acting as an intermediary and/or signal repeater. ... The edge device 69 may forward communications to the electronic device 10 via underwater communication techniques.)
monitoring station (Johnson, Fig. 1 and Abstract; ... a topside monitoring system 13 on a vessel comprising a receiver for receiving data from at least one diver 12, the data being transmitted using an acoustic modem 207 and specifying information relating to the diver 12... a computer for processing the data 101)
through the communication element to generate sonar signals for transmission by the transducer element to one or more of the plurality of divers; ( Erikson, Fig.5 and ¶0029; ... the transmitter 25a can emit a signal, such as sound waves 2 through the water W for detection by the diver unit 30 (See FIG. 5).)
and a buoyant housing retaining the transducer element, the processing element, and the communication element, (Jackson, Figs. 7-8 and 10-11 and ¶0048; ... a buoy that includes a floating apparatus that causes the edge device 69 to float at the surface of the water. The edge device 69 may communicate with devices in the underwater environment 65 using underwater transceiver(s) (UWT) 70 that may correspond to a transceiver type of the transceiver(s) 30 that is conducive to underwater communication.)
Jackson does not discloses the buoyant housing including a roll cage to surround the transducer element. Paul, also in the area of employing a buoy for detection and communication, however, teaches the limitation. (Paul, ¶0006; In buoy moorings the underwater listening devices (hydrophones) are installed inside of an open cage, with the cage being part of the buoy's mooring connection to its anchor on the sea floor.) Consequently, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed subject matter, to implement Jackson with the known technique of providing a cage, as taught by Paul, in order to reduce receiver noise due to waves. (Paul, Abstract)
Regarding claim 10, which depends from claim 9, Jackson discloses wherein the processing element is configured to generate position information for each of the plurality of divers (Jackson, ¶0051; the edge devices 69 may acquire locations of a number (e.g., 3) of edge devices 69 along with a direction, a time-of-flight, and/or a signal strength of signals received from the electronic device 10. Using the locations of the edge devices 69 and the direction/signal strength/time-of-flight of the signals, the location of the electronic device 10 may be more precisely ascertained)
based on sonar signals received by the transducer element (Erikson, Fig.5 and ¶0028; ...the communication unit 25 can include a portable sonar system having one or more transmitters 25a, transducers 25b, and receivers 25c. In one embodiment, a transmitter, transducer and/or receiver can be located within a waterproof housing 25d ...)
and control the communication element to transmit the position information for each of the plurality of divers to the topside monitoring station. (Johnson, Fig. 1 and Abstract; ... a topside monitoring system 13 on a vessel comprising a receiver for receiving data from at least one diver 12, the data being transmitted using an acoustic modem 207 and specifying information relating to the diver 12... a computer for processing the data 101)
Regarding claim 11, which depends from claim 9, Jackson discloses wherein the communication element is selected from the group consisting of a Wi-Fi transceiver, a Bluetooth transceiver, and a satellite transceiver. (Jackson, Fig. 7 and ¶0050; ... out-of-water transceiver(s) (OWT) 71 that enable the edge device 69 to communicate with the electronic device 68 using through-the-air wireless signals, such as cellular signals, Wi-Fi signals, 802.15 signals, and the like...the edge device 69 may communicate with a satellite 72;.)
Regarding claim 12, which depends from claim 9, Erikson discloses wherein the transducer element includes a plurality of transducers. (Erikson, Fig.5 and ¶0028; ...the communication unit 25 can include a portable sonar system having one or more transmitters 25a, transducers 25b, and receivers 25c...)
Regarding claim 13, which depends from claim 9. Johnson discloses wherein the topside monitoring station is one of a smartphone, a tablet, a chartplotter, and a desktop computer. (Johnson, ¶0184; The micro controller 120 is also connected via an data connection to a computer 101, such as a laptop.)
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3-8 and 14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 11 of U.S. Patent No. 12,312,053 B2 in view of Jackson. While the claims the ‘053 patent recite a wearable device of a diver, the claims do not specifically recite communicating with a plurality of divers with wearable devices. Jackson as discussed above, however, teaches the limitation. Consequently, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed subject matter, to implement the ‘053 patent with the known technique of communication with a plurality of divers via a plurality of wearable devices, as taught by Jackson, since it has been held that the mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669. (MPEP § 214404 VI B)
Claim Number of the Instant Application
Claim Number of USP 12,312, 053
A topside buoy system for
communicating with a plurality of divers each having a wearable device,
the topside buoy system comprising: a communication element configured to wirelessly communicate with a topside monitoring station to receive message data for the plurality of divers;
a processing element coupled with the communication element, the processing element adapted to process the received message data and generate a corresponding electrical signal;
a transducer element coupled with the processing element and adapted to generate a sonar signal corresponding to the received message data for reception by the wearable devices of the plurality of divers;
and a buoyant housing retaining the communication element, the processing element and the transducer element.
11. A topside buoy system for
the topside buoy system comprising: one or more transducers for receiving a first sonar signal from a wearable device of the diver... wherein the one or more transducers transmit a second sonar signal indicative of the instructions to the wearable device,
the topside buoy system comprising:... a transceiver configured to transmit to and receive from a topside monitoring station; wherein the transceiver receives instructions from the topside monitoring station, wherein the instructions are based at least in part on the relative location of the diver
when executed by a processor, perform steps comprising: receiving, from the topside monitoring station, data indicative of a geographic location of the diver relative to underwater objects, wherein the geographic location is based at least in part on the relative location of the diver; receiving the instructions from the topside monitoring station by text message, and transmitting the text message to the wearable device
wherein the computer-executable instructions are further executed to perform the step of transmitting, by the one or more transducers, the second sonar signal to the wearable device for display of the text message from the topside monitoring station
the topside buoy system comprising: one or more transducers for receiving a first sonar signal from a wearable device of the diver... wherein the one or more transducers transmit a second sonar signal indicative of the instructions to the wearable device... further comprising one or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing computer-executable instructions that, when executed by a processor, perform steps comprising: receiving... and transmitting the text message to the wearable device.
3
11
4
11
5
11
6
11
7
11
8
11
14
11
Claims 2 and 9-13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 11 of U.S. Patent No. 12,312,053 B2 in view of Jackson in view of Paul. While the claims of the ‘053 patent do not recite a roll cage. Paul, as discussed above teaches providing the limitation. Consequently, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed subject matter, to implement Jackson with the known technique of providing a cage, as taught by Paul, in order to reduce receiver noise due to waves. (Paul, Abstract)
Claim Number of the Instant Application
Claim Number of USP 12,312, 053
2
11
9
11
10
11
11
11
12
11
13
11
Conclusion
/JEROLD B MURPHY/Examiner, Art Unit 2688
/STEVEN LIM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2688