DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the Continuation filed on 05/06/2025
This is a CON of 18/364,586 which is now a PAT 12,328,504 B2, which of 17/662,604 which is now a PAT 11,758,271 B2, which is CON of 16/194,966 which is now a PAT 11,356,609, which is a CON of 16/541,815 which is now a PAT 10,972,666, which is a CON of 15/959,951 which is a PAT 10,425585, which is a CON of 15/373,032 which is now a PAT 9,979,888 which is a CON of 14/643,414 which is now a PAT 9,547,216
Claims 1-20 are pending
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in ancestral Application No 15/959,951 or in application 15/373,032 or in application 14/643,414.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 05/22/2026 and 05/06/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and 37 CFR 1.98(a)(4). Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20(or 22) of U.S. Patent Number 12,328,504 B2, U.S. Patent Number 11,758,271 B2, of U.S. Patent Number 10,972,666 B2, U.S. Patent Number 11,356,609, U.S. Patent Number 9,547,216 B2, U.S. Patent Number 10,425,585 B2, and U.S. Patent Number 9,979,888 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other as shown in the following table.
1. Application: A camera module comprising: a base;
17. Patent 12,328,504 B2: A camera module comprising:
12. Patent 12,328,504 B2: a base;
a cover member disposed on the base and comprising a lateral wall;
12. Patent 12,328,504 B2: wherein the cover member is disposed on the base,
9. Patent 12,328,504 B2: wherein the cover member comprises first and second lateral wall opposite to each other,
a bobbin disposed in the cover member;
1. Patent 12,328,504 B2: a bobbin disposed in the cover member;
a coil disposed on the bobbin;
1. Patent 12,328,504 B2: a coil disposed on the bobbin;
a driving magnet disposed on the lateral wall of the cover member;
9. Patent 12,328,504 B2: wherein the driving magnet comprises a first magnet disposed on the first lateral wall of the cover member
a lower elastic member coupled with the base and the bobbin;
12. Patent 12,328,504 B2: a lower elastic member connected the bobbin and the base
a sensing magnet disposed on the bobbin;
1. Patent 12,328,504 B2: a sensing magnet disposed on the bobbin;
a sensor configured to detect the sensing magnet; and
1. Patent 12,328,504 B2: a sensor configured to detect the sensing magnet; and
a circuit board disposed with the sensor,
1. Patent 12,328,504 B2: a circuit substrate disposed with the sensor,
wherein the lower elastic member comprises first and second springs electrically connecting the coil and the circuit board.
12. Patent 12,328,504 B2: wherein the lower elastic member comprises first and second springs,
12. Patent 12,328,504 B2: wherein the first spring electrically connects one of two ends of the coil and the circuit substrate
2. Application: wherein the first spring electrically connects one end of the coil and the circuit board, and wherein the second spring electrically connects another end of the coil and the circuit board.
12. Patent 12,328,504 B2: wherein the first spring electrically connects one of two ends of the coil and the circuit substrate, and
Wherein the second spring electrically connects the other of the two ends of the coil and the circuit substrate.
3. Application: wherein the driving magnet is directly bonded to the lateral wall of the cover member.
9. Patent 12,328,504 B2: wherein the driving magnet comprises a first magnet disposed on the first lateral wall of the cover member, and the second magnet disposed on the second lateral wall of the cover member.
4. Application: wherein the sensing magnet is smaller than the driving magnet.
15. Patent 12,328,504 B2: wherein the sensing magnet is smaller than the driving magnet.
5. Application: wherein at least a portion of the circuit board is disposed on an outer surface of the lateral wall of the cover member
14. Patent 12,328,504 B2: wherein the circuit substrate is disposed on a lateral surface of the base
6. Application: wherein the lateral wall of the cover member comprises first and second lateral walls disposed opposite each other, and third and fourth lateral walls disposed opposite each other,
9. Patent 12,328,504 B2: wherein the cover member comprises first and second lateral walls opposite to each other, and third and fourth lateral walls opposite to each other
wherein the driving magnet comprises a first magnet disposed on the first lateral wall of the cover member and a second magnet disposed on the second lateral wall of the cover member, and
9. Patent 12,328,504 B2: wherein the driving magnet comprises a first magnet disposed on the first lateral wall of the cover member, and a second magnet disposed on the second lateral wall of the cover member;
wherein the circuit board is disposed on the third lateral wall of the cover member.
7. Patent 12,328,504 B2: wherein the circuit substrate is disposed on the lateral wall of the cover member,
7. Application: wherein a window is formed on the third lateral wall of the cover member, which is partially omitted compared to the fourth lateral wall.
11. Patent 12,328,504 B2: wherein the third lateral wall of the cover member comprises a window, and wherein the sensor is disposed on the window.
8. Application: wherein the driving magnet is not disposed on the third lateral wall and the fourth lateral wall of the cover member.
10. Patent 12,328,504 B2: wherein the driving magnet is not disposed on the third fourth lateral walls of the cover member
9. Application: wherein the sensing magnet is not overlapped with the third lateral wall of the cover member in a direction perpendicular to the third lateral wall
16. Patent 12,328,504 B2: wherein the sensing magnet is disposed on the sensing magnet mounting unit so that at least three surfaces of the sensing magnet are surrounded by the sensing magnet mounting unit
10. Application: wherein at least a portion of the circuit board is disposed on a lateral surface of the base.
14. Patent 12,328,504 B2: wherein at least a portion of the circuit substrate is disposed on a lateral surface of the base
11. Application: wherein the circuit board comprises a plurality of terminals disposed on a lower end portion of the circuit board
13. Patent 12,328,504 B2: wherein the circuit substrate comprises a plurality of terminals disposed on a lower portion of the circuit substrate
12. Application: wherein the bobbin comprises a sensing magnet mounting unit formed on an outer surface of the bobbin, wherein the sensing magnet is disposed in the sensing magnet mounting unit so that at least three surfaces of the sensing magnet are wrapped by the sensing magnet mounting unit, and wherein the sensing magnet does not protrude beyond the outer surface of the bobbin.
16. Patent 12,328,504 B2: wherein the bobbin comprises a sensing magnet mounting unit formed on an outer peripheral surface of the bobbin,
Wherein the sensing magnet is disposed on the sensing magnet mounting unit so that at least three surfaces of the sensing magnet are surrounded by the sensing magnet mounting unit, and
13. Application: wherein the sensing magnet is fixed to the sensing magnet mounting unit of the bobbin by an adhesive.
16. Patent 12,328,504 B2: wherein the sensing magnet is fixed to the sensing magnet mounting unit by adhesive
14. Application: comprising an upper elastic member coupled with an upper portion of the bobbin, wherein the lower elastic member is coupled with a lower portion of the bobbin.
12. Patent 12,328,504 B2: a lower elastic member connecting the bobbin and the base, wherein the lower elastic member comprises first and second springs
15. Application: wherein the cover member comprises an inner yoke, wherein the bobbin comprises a groove disposed at a position corresponding with the inner yoke, wherein at least a portion of the inner yoke is disposed in the groove of the bobbin, and wherein an outer surface of the inner yoke directly faces the coil.
1. Patent 12,328,504 B2: wherein the cover member comprises an inner yoke, wherein the bobbin comprises a groove disposed at a position corresponding with the inner yoke, wherein at least a portion of the inner yoke is disposed in he groove of the bobbin, and wherein an outer surface of the inner yoke directly faces the coil.
16. Application: wherein an inner surface of the inner yoke opposite to the outer surface of the inner yoke directly faces the bobbin
2. Patent 12,328,504 B2: wherein an inner surface of the inner yoke opposite to the outer surface of the inner yoke directly faces the bobbin
17. Application: wherein the inner yoke comprises four inner yokes, wherein the four inner yokes are disposed at positions corresponding to four corners of the cover member, respectively
3. Patent 12,328,504 B2: wherein the inner yoke comprises four inner yokes, wherein the four inner yokes are disposed at positions corresponding to four corners of the cover member, respectively
18. Application: a printed circuit board; an image sensor disposed on the printed circuit board; and a lens coupled with the bobbin, wherein the base is disposed on the printed circuit board.
17. Patent 12,328,504 B2: a printed circuit board; an image sensor disposed on the printed circuit board; and a lens coupled to the bobbin of the lens moving unit
Claims 19-20 are similarly rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting on the same grounds as over claims 1-20(or 22) of U.S. Patent Number 12,328,504 B2, U.S. Patent Number 10,972,666 B2, U.S. Patent Number 11,356,609, U.S. Patent Number 9,547,216 B2, U.S. Patent Number 10,425,585 B2, and U.S. Patent Number 9,979,888 B2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (U.S. Patent Publication Number 2012/0200176 A1) in view of Park et al. (U. S. Patent Publication Number 2011/0121666 A1 – cited as Park_2011).
Regarding Claim 20, Park discloses a camera module (Fig 1 – exploded view of an imaging device) comprising:
a cover member (Fig 1 – cover member 500; housing 200) comprising an upper plate and a lateral wall (The exploded view of Fig 1 clearly discloses the upper plate and the lateral wall of both the cover 500 and the housing 200);
a base (Fig 1 – base 300) coupled to the cover member (In ¶0099 park discloses that the base is coupled to the housing 200);
a bobbin (Fig 1 – bobbin 110) disposed in the cover member (The exploded view of Fig 1 clearly discloses that the bobbin is disposed in the housing 200);
a coil (Fig 1 – coil block 220) disposed on the bobbin (Fig 1 discloses that the coil block is disposed on the housing 200 which is coupled to the bobbin 110);
and
a lower elastic member (Fig 1 – Elastic member 400 – comprising elastic member 410 and 420) coupled with the base and the bobbin (See ¶0105).
Park discloses a driving magnet (Fig 1 – magnet 120 disposed on the rotor 100). However, Park fails to clearly disclose a driving magnet directly disposed on the lateral wall of the cover member;
Instead in a similar endeavor, Park_2011 discloses a driving magnet directly disposed on the lateral wall of the cover member (In Fig 1 and in corresponding disclosure, Park_2011 teaches the use of Yoke on the lateral walls of the Yoke housing 200).
Park and Park_2011 are combinable because both are related to voice coil motors.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to house the magnets on the lateral walls as taught by Park_2011 in the imaging module disclosed by Park.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to “prevent the magnetic field generated from being leaked and to protect various parts of the VCM” as disclosed by Park_2011 in ¶0039.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Park and Park_2011 to obtain the invention as specified in claim 20.
Conclusion
/PADMA HALIYUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2639 August 28, 2026