DETAILED ACTION
The following is a non final office action in response to applicant’s amendment filed on 10/10/2025 for response of the office action mailed on 08/13/2025. Independent claims 37, 44 and 51-52 are amended. Claims 1-36 were cancelled previously. No claims are cancelled currently. Therefore, claims 37-52 are pending and addressed below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/09/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Double Patenting
Claim 37 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 37 of copending Application No. 18/044,480, in view of Zhu et al. (2023/0027425), Zhu425 , further in view of Zhu et al. (2021/0185566), Zhu566.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Application No. 19/200,237 (Instant)
Co-pending Application No 18/044,480
37. A method of a user equipment (UE) for continuing receiving one or more multicast broadcast services (MBS) services in case of cell reselection by the UE in at least one of a Radio Resource Control (RRC) inactive state or an RRC idle state, comprising: receiving system information including measurement configuration parameters for measuring one or more neighboring cells in the RRC inactive state or the RRC idle state; measuring the one or more neighboring cells based on the measurement configuration parameters and performing cell reselection; receiving configuration information for determining whether the one or more MBS services are provided in the one or more neighboring cells at a time of the cell reselection; acquiring information regarding a frequency for receiving the one or more MBS services in the one or more neighboring cells; and receiving data associated with the one or more MBS services based on the information regarding the frequency via a reselected cell while remaining in the RRC inactive state or the RRC idle state, wherein the RRC inactive state or the RRC idle state is transitioned to an RRC connected state based on a comparison between a threshold and Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) or Reference Signal Received Quality (RSRQ) of a serving cell, and the threshold for at least one of the RSRP or the RSRQ is configured per MBS session.
37. A method of a user equipment (UE) for continuing receiving one or more multicast broadcast services (MBS) services, comprising: receiving, by the UE in a radio resource control (RRC) state, a configuration message associated with the one or more MBS services, wherein the RRC state corresponds to at least one of an RRC inactive state or an RRC idle state; determining, based on the configuration message, trigger related to continuing receiving the one or more MBS services; and receiving data associated with the one or more MBS services via a target cell based on the trigger, wherein determining the trigger includes determining the trigger based on a comparison between a threshold and Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) or Reference Signal Received Quality (RSRQ) of a serving cell, and the threshold is configured per MBS session.
Yet, Copending Application No 18/044,480 does not claim measuring the one or more neighboring cells based on the measurement configuration parameters and performing cell reselection; acquiring information regarding a frequency for receiving the one or more MBS services in the one or more neighboring cells and the threshold for at least one of the RSRP or the RSRQ is configured per MBS session;
However, in the analogous art, Zhu425 explicitly discloses measuring the one or more neighboring cells based on the measurement configuration parameters (Fig.2/Fig. 4 & ¶0058 - events/triggers defined for cell reselection may include a periodicity for measuring cells or other events/triggers indicated in a measurement configuration to cause performing measurements of signals from other cells for possible reselection, determining a signal strength or quality of signals from the current cell does not achieve a threshold. Fig.2/Fig. 4 & ¶0066 - cell evaluating component 254 can use an indication of whether the one or more cells support the UE interested MBS as a criteria in determining a target cell for reselection. …. cell evaluating component 254 can determine the target cell as a cell with a highest signal strength/quality measurement that also supports the UE interested MBS. Fig.2/Fig. 4 & ¶0104 - wherein ranking the one or more cells is further based at least in part on, for each of the one or more cells, a measurement value for signals received from the one or more cells and a hysteresis value for cell reselection) and performing cell reselection (Fig.2/Fig. 4 & ¶0072 - In method 400, at Block 420, the UE can perform cell reselection to the target cell. In an aspect, communicating component 242, e.g., in conjunction with processor(s) 212, memory 216, transceiver 202, etc., can perform cell reselection to the target cell, which can be based on identifying the target cell, based on one or more other triggers/events (e.g., regarding signal strength or quality at the current cell or the target cell), etc. For example, the cell reselection may include a cell selection or reselection, and/or may be performed in idle or inactive mode); acquiring information regarding a frequency for receiving the one or more MBS services in the one or more neighboring cells (Fig.2/Fig. 4 & ¶0069 - In evaluating the one or more cells at Block 414, optionally at Block 418, the UE can determine a serving frequency over which the UE interested MBS is provided in the one or more cells. … cell evaluating component 254, … can determine the serving frequency over which the UE interested MBS is provided in the one or more cells. …. cell evaluating component 254 can determine the serving frequency over which the UE interested MBS is provided in the one or more cells based on the MBS information received for the one or more cells Fig.2/Fig. 4 & ¶0070 - As part of cell reselection (or cell selection), cell evaluating component 254 can determine which frequency(ies) provide(s) UE interested MBS(s) based on the one or more of the frequency, TMGI/MBMS SAI/MBS-Session ID/QoS Flow ID, etc. Cell evaluating component 254 may prioritize the frequency(ies) providing the UE interested MBS(s) in evaluating cells for reselection. Fig.2/Fig. 4 & ¶0071 - where the UE 104 operates in an idle mode on a cell in Frequency F1, the UE 104 can receive the frequency, TMGI/MBMS SAI/MBS Session ID/QoS Flow ID List combinations from SIBx (e.g., Frequency F1, MBS SAI/Flow ID/TMGI/MBS Session ID List: 1, 2, and 3, Frequency F2, MBS SAI/Flow ID/TMGI/MBS Session ID List: 4 and 5). In this example, the UE 104 can select MBS 4 from USD as the UE interested MBS. The UE 104 can read SIBx from gNB 1 on Frequency F1. From SIBx, the UE 104 can determine that gNB 2, F2 provides MBS 4. Accordingly, during idle cell reselection, the UE 104 can move (e.g., perform idle mode cell reselection) from gNB1 F1 to gNB2 F2 to receive the UE interested MBS 4.);
The applicant and Zhu425 work in the same field of technology. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine applicant’s (Copending Application No 18/044,480) invention of systems and methods for maintaining multicast broadcast continuity in idle and inactive states to include Zhu425’s invention of techniques for maintaining multicast and/or broadcast service wireless communications in a wireless communication network, because it provides an efficient mechanism in supporting high throughput broadcast communications to various devices with optimum power consumption operating in the wireless communication system. (¶0002-¶0006, Zhu425)
Yet, Copending Application No 18/044,480 does not claim the claimed feature, such as, “the threshold for at least one of the RSRP or the RSRQ is configured per MBS session”, nor does Zhu425 discloses the claimed limitation.
However, in the analogous art, Zhu566 explicitly discloses the threshold for at least one of the RSRP or the RSRQ is configured per MBS session (Fig. 9A-9C & ¶0101 - the UE may transmit the measurement report to the base station if an MBS-specific RSRP, RSRQ, RSSI, SINR, and/or the like satisfies a threshold and/or fails to satisfy a threshold. Fig. 9A-9C & ¶0103 - as shown in FIG. 9C, and by reference number 930, the UE may determine and apply one or more communication parameters to ensure continuity of the MBS service based at least in part on the unicast and MBS-specific measurements while the UE is in an RRC idle or inactive mode……. the UE may determine whether to perform a cell reselection, determine whether to switch from communicating via an MRB to communicating via a unicast DRB, determine whether to switch from communicating via a unicast DRB to communicating via an MRB, and/or the like based on the unicast and MBS-specific measurements to ensure continuity for the MBS while operating in an RRC idle or inactive mode.).
The applicant, Zhu425 and Zhu566 work in the same field of technology. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine applicant’s (Copending Application No 18/044,480) invention of systems and methods for maintaining multicast broadcast continuity in idle and inactive states and Zhu425’s invention of techniques for maintaining multicast and/or broadcast service wireless communications in a wireless communication network to include Zhu566’s invention of techniques for multicast/broadcast service continuity in a wireless communication system, because it provides a UE (user equipment) with a capability to obtain MBS (multicast/broadcast service) measurements based at least in part on one or more MBS-specific reference signals in order to inform RAN-based and UE-based service continuity decisions, in turns, improves better reliability, shorter interruption, and reduced latency relative with RAN-based service continuity, also, enables the UE managing MBS continuity (e.g., by triggering a cell reselection, switching between communicating using an MRB <multicast/broadcast radio bearer> and a DRB <dedicated radio bearer> ) based at least in part on one or more unicast measurements and one or more MBS measurements, in turns, providing the UE experiencing less MBS disruption, improved performance for making service continuity decisions that consider both unicast and MBS measurements in the wireless communication system. (¶0085, Zhu566)
Similarly, all other independent/dependent claims of the instant application (Application No. 19/200,237) are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over combinations of independent/dependent claims of Co-pending Application No 18/044,480, in view of Zhu425, further in view of Zhu566.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
In event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claims 37-52 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu425, in view of Zhu et al. (2021/0289471), Zhu471 hereinafter, further in view of Zhu566.
Re. Claims 37 and 51, Zhu425 teaches a method of a user equipment (UE) for continuing receiving one or more multicast broadcast services (MBS) services in case of cell reselection by the UE in at least one of a Radio Resource Control (RRC) inactive state or an RRC idle state (Fig. 4 & ¶0065 - whether at least the portion of the one or more cells support the UE interested MBS based on information received in a connection release message (e.g., RRCConnectionRelease) from the current cell. For example, when releasing the connection so the UE 104 can move to RRC_IDLE or RRC_INACTIVE state, the base station 102 of the current cell can indicate the MBS information for neighboring cells or frequencies. For example, the connection release message may include one or more parameters identifying MBS offered by neighboring cells and/or on corresponding frequencies, and MBS component 252 may use this information in determining a cell for possible reselection), and a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 2) comprising: receiving circuitry (Fig. 2, 206) configured to receive one or more multicast broadcast services (MBS) services in at least one of a Radio Resource Control (RRC) inactive state or an RRC idle state (Fig. 4 & ¶0065 - In determining whether at least the portion of the one or more cells support the UE interested MBS at Block 404, optionally at Block 412, the UE can determine this based on information received in a connection release message from the current cell. In an aspect, MBS component 252, e.g., in conjunction with processor(s) 212, memory 216, transceiver 202, communicating component 242, etc., can determine whether at least the portion of the one or more cells support the UE interested MBS based on information received in a connection release message (e.g., RRCConnectionRelease) from the current cell. For example, when releasing the connection so the UE 104 can move to RRC_IDLE or RRC_INACTIVE state, the base station 102 of the current cell can indicate the MBS information for neighboring cells or frequencies. For example, the connection release message may include one or more parameters identifying MBS offered by neighboring cells and/or on corresponding frequencies, and MBS component 252 may use this information in determining a cell for possible reselection.), the receiving circuitry (Fig. 2, 206) being configured to receive system information including measurement configuration parameters for measuring one or more neighboring cells in the RRC inactive state or the RRC idle state (Fig.2/Fig. 4 & ¶0023 - a UE can perform MBS-aware cell reselection (e.g., where the UE operates in RRC_IDLE or RRC_INACTIVE mode). Fig.2/Fig. 4 & ¶0058 - cell evaluating component 254 can detect the one or more cells while in idle or inactive mode with the current cell… cell evaluating component 254 may determine to detect the one or more cells based on one or more events or triggers, which may correspond to cell reselection. … events/triggers defined for cell reselection may include a periodicity for measuring cells or other events/triggers indicated in a measurement configuration to cause performing measurements of signals from other cells for possible reselection. Fig.2/Fig. 4 & ¶0060 - In determining whether at least the portion of the one or more cells support the UE interested MBS at Block 404, optionally at Block 406, the UE can determine this based on received system information. ….. can determine whether at least the portion of the one or more cells support the UE interested MBS based on received system information… each cell of the one or more cells can broadcast system information indicating whether MBS is supported by the cell. Fig.2/Fig. 4 & ¶0061 - MBS component 252 may receive, system information indicating MBS information for each neighbor cell. Fig.2/Fig. 4 & ¶0097 - wherein the system information indicates one or more MBSs and associated frequencies over which the one or more MBSs are provided at the one or more cells.); measuring circuitry configured to measure the one or more neighboring cells based on the measurement configuration parameters (Fig.2/Fig. 4 & ¶0058 - events/triggers defined for cell reselection may include a periodicity for measuring cells or other events/triggers indicated in a measurement configuration to cause performing measurements of signals from other cells for possible reselection, determining a signal strength or quality of signals from the current cell does not achieve a threshold. Fig.2/Fig. 4 & ¶0066 - cell evaluating component 254 can use an indication of whether the one or more cells support the UE interested MBS as a criteria in determining a target cell for reselection. …. cell evaluating component 254 can determine the target cell as a cell with a highest signal strength/quality measurement that also supports the UE interested MBS. Fig.2/Fig. 4 & ¶0104 - wherein ranking the one or more cells is further based at least in part on, for each of the one or more cells, a measurement value for signals received from the one or more cells and a hysteresis value for cell reselection.); performing circuitry configured to perform cell reselection (Fig.2/Fig. 4 & ¶0072 - In method 400, at Block 420, the UE can perform cell reselection to the target cell. In an aspect, communicating component 242, e.g., in conjunction with processor(s) 212, memory 216, transceiver 202, etc., can perform cell reselection to the target cell, which can be based on identifying the target cell, based on one or more other triggers/events (e.g., regarding signal strength or quality at the current cell or the target cell), etc. For example, the cell reselection may include a cell selection or reselection, and/or may be performed in idle or inactive mode.); acquiring circuitry configured to acquire information regarding a frequency for receiving the one or more MBS services in the one or more neighboring cells (Fig.2/Fig. 4 & ¶0069 - In evaluating the one or more cells at Block 414, optionally at Block 418, the UE can determine a serving frequency over which the UE interested MBS is provided in the one or more cells. … cell evaluating component 254, … can determine the serving frequency over which the UE interested MBS is provided in the one or more cells. …. cell evaluating component 254 can determine the serving frequency over which the UE interested MBS is provided in the one or more cells based on the MBS information received for the one or more cells Fig.2/Fig. 4 & ¶0070 - As part of cell reselection (or cell selection), cell evaluating component 254 can determine which frequency(ies) provide(s) UE interested MBS(s) based on the one or more of the frequency, TMGI/MBMS SAI/MBS-Session ID/QoS Flow ID, etc. Cell evaluating component 254 may prioritize the frequency(ies) providing the UE interested MBS(s) in evaluating cells for reselection. Fig.2/Fig. 4 & ¶0071 - where the UE 104 operates in an idle mode on a cell in Frequency F1, the UE 104 can receive the frequency, TMGI/MBMS SAI/MBS Session ID/QoS Flow ID List combinations from SIBx (e.g., Frequency F1, MBS SAI/Flow ID/TMGI/MBS Session ID List: 1, 2, and 3, Frequency F2, MBS SAI/Flow ID/TMGI/MBS Session ID List: 4 and 5). In this example, the UE 104 can select MBS 4 from USD as the UE interested MBS. The UE 104 can read SIBx from gNB 1 on Frequency F1. From SIBx, the UE 104 can determine that gNB 2, F2 provides MBS 4. Accordingly, during idle cell reselection, the UE 104 can move (e.g., perform idle mode cell reselection) from gNB1 F1 to gNB2 F2 to receive the UE interested MBS 4.); wherein the receiving circuitry is further configured to: receive configuration information for determining whether the one or more MBS services are provided in the one or more neighboring cells at a time of the cell reselection; (Fig.2/Fig. 4 & ¶0058 - events/triggers defined for cell reselection may include a periodicity for measuring cells or other events/triggers indicated in a measurement configuration to cause performing measurements of signals from other cells for possible reselection, determining a signal strength or quality of signals from the current cell does not achieve a threshold, etc. Fig.2/Fig. 4 & ¶0060 - In determining whether at least the portion of the one or more cells support the UE interested MBS at Block 404, optionally at Block 406, the UE can determine this based on received system information. …...determine whether at least the portion of the one or more cells support the UE interested MBS based on received system information….. each cell of the one or more cells can broadcast system information indicating whether MBS is supported by the cell. Fig.2/Fig. 4 &¶0066 - In method 400, at Block 414, the UE can evaluate the one or more cells for reselection based at least in part on whether the one or more cells support the UE interested MBS to determine a target cell for reselection….. cell evaluating component 254 can use an indication of whether the one or more cells support the UE interested MBS as a criteria in determining a target cell for reselection. …. cell evaluating component 254 can determine the target cell as a cell with a highest signal strength/quality measurement that also supports the UE interested MBS.);
Yet, Zhu425 does not expressly teach receive data associated with the one or more MBS services based on the information regarding the frequency via a reselected cell while remaining in the RRC inactive state or the RRC idle state, wherein the RRC inactive state or the RRC idle state is transitioned to an RRC connected state based on a comparison between a threshold and Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) or Reference Signal Received Quality (RSRQ) of a serving cell, and the threshold for at least one of the RSRP or the RSRQ is configured per MBS session.
However, in the analogous art, Zhu471 explicitly discloses receive data associated with the one or more MBS services based on the information regarding the frequency via a reselected cell while remaining in the RRC inactive state or the RRC idle state, (Fig. 3-4 & ¶0029 - performing a cell reselection procedure from a first base station to a second base station, where the base station may be the first base station, determining that the second base station transmits the multicast traffic in accordance with the MRB configuration based on a same area identifier being associated with a first MCCH message and a second MCCH message associated with the second base station, where the MCCH message may be the first MCCH message. Also, see Fig. 8, 825/835 & ¶0159. Fig. 3-4 & ¶0127 - At 425, the base station 105-c may transmit the multicast traffic (e.g., the multicast/broadcast traffic) to the UE 115-f in accordance with the MRB configuration. Also, as the UE is receiving system information broadcast (SIB) message, and, then, initiating Random access procedure (410 & 415 in Fig. 4), a person of ordinary skill in the field of endeavor, would readily understand that the UE is either in RRC idle or RRC inactive state. Also, see ¶0117, which confirms that UE is NOT in RRC connected state for two-step random access procedure as shown in Fig. 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Zhu425’s invention of techniques for maintaining multicast and/or broadcast service wireless communications in a wireless communication network to include Zhu471’s invention of a system and a method for on-demand multicast control channel (MCCH) messages in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for supporting on-demand multicast control channel (MCCH) messages in transmitting the MCCH messages to a group of user equipments (UEs) associated with a service group based on a MRB (multicast service radio bearer) context, in turns, decreased latency associated with receiving the MCCH messages along with increased communication speeds associated with the group of UEs in the wireless communication system. (¶0075, Zhu471)
Yet, Zhu425 and Zhu471 do not expressly teach wherein the RRC inactive state or the RRC idle state is transitioned to an RRC connected state based on a comparison between a threshold and Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) or Reference Signal Received Quality (RSRQ) of a serving cell, and the threshold for at least one of the RSRP or the RSRQ is configured per MBS session.
However, in the field of endeavor, Zhu566 explicitly discloses wherein the RRC inactive state or the RRC idle state is transitioned to an RRC connected state based on a comparison between a threshold and Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) or Reference Signal Received Quality (RSRQ) of a serving cell, and the threshold for at least one of the RSRP or the RSRQ is configured per MBS session (Fig. 9A-9C & ¶0101 - the UE may transmit the measurement report to the base station if an MBS-specific RSRP, RSRQ, RSSI, SINR, and/or the like satisfies a threshold and/or fails to satisfy a threshold. Fig. 9A-9C & ¶0103 - the UE may determine whether to perform a cell reselection, determine whether to switch from communicating via an MRB <multicast/broadcast radio bearer> to communicating via a unicast DRB < dedicated radio bearer >, determine whether to switch from communicating via a unicast DRB to communicating via an MRB, and/or the like based on the unicast and MBS-specific measurements to ensure continuity for the MBS <multicast/broadcast services> while operating in an RRC idle or inactive mode.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Zhu425’s invention of techniques for maintaining multicast and/or broadcast service wireless communications in a wireless communication network and Zhu471’s invention of a system and a method for on-demand multicast control channel (MCCH) messages in a wireless communication system to include Zhu566’s invention of measurements for multicast/broadcast service continuity in a wireless communication system, because it provides a UE (user equipment) with a capability to obtain MBS (multicast/broadcast service) measurements based at least in part on one or more MBS-specific reference signals in order to inform RAN-based and UE-based service continuity decisions, in turns, improves better reliability, shorter interruption, and reduced latency relative with RAN-based service continuity, also, enables the UE managing MBS continuity (e.g., by triggering a cell reselection, switching between communicating using an MRB <multicast/broadcast radio bearer> and a DRB <dedicated radio bearer> ) based at least in part on one or more unicast measurements and one or more MBS measurements, in turns, providing the UE experiencing less MBS disruption, improved performance for making service continuity decisions that consider both unicast and MBS measurements in the wireless communication system. (¶0085, Zhu566)
Re. Claims 44 and 52, Zhu425 teaches a method of a network device that allows a user equipment (UE) to continue receiving one or more multicast broadcast services (MBS) services in case of cell reselection by the UE in at least one of Radio Resource Control (RRC) inactive state or an RRC idle state (Fig. 3 & ¶0055 - scheduling component 342 can optionally include a MBS continuity component 354 for facilitating MBS continuity in mobility scenarios for the one or more UEs. Fig. 4 & ¶0065 - whether at least the portion of the one or more cells support the UE interested MBS based on information received in a connection release message (e.g., RRCConnectionRelease) from the current cell. For example, when releasing the connection so the UE 104 can move to RRC_IDLE or RRC_INACTIVE state, the base station 102 of the current cell can indicate the MBS information for neighboring cells or frequencies. For example, the connection release message may include one or more parameters identifying MBS offered by neighboring cells and/or on corresponding frequencies, and MBS component 252 may use this information in determining a cell for possible reselection. Fig. 3/Fig.6 & ¶0085 - MBS continuity component 354 can transmit the indication in SIB signaling, in RRC signaling, such as connection release based on the UE transitioning to idle or inactive mode. Fig. 3/Fig.6 & ¶0086 - at Block 608, the base station can associate the indication of the one or more neighboring cells with a group RNTI (G-RNTI) for UE interested MBS. .. MBS continuity component 354…can associate the indication of the one or more neighboring cells with the G-RNTI .., the UE 104 can monitor the MCCH for the G-RNTI, and can obtain the MBS configuration information based on the G-RNTI. .. the UE 104 can use the indication (e.g., MBS configuration information) in determining cells for reselection in an attempt to continue using the MBS.), and a network device (Fig. 3) comprising: transmitting circuitry (Fig.3, 308) configured to transmit one or more multicast broadcast services (MBS) services to a user equipment (UE) in at least one of a Radio Resource Control (RRC) inactive state or an RRC idle state (Fig. 3 & ¶0055 - scheduling component 342 can optionally include a MBS continuity component 354 for facilitating MBS continuity in mobility scenarios for the one or more UEs. Fig. 4 & ¶0065 - whether at least the portion of the one or more cells support the UE interested MBS based on information received in a connection release message (e.g., RRCConnectionRelease) from the current cell. For example, when releasing the connection so the UE 104 can move to RRC_IDLE or RRC_INACTIVE state, the base station 102 of the current cell can indicate the MBS information for neighboring cells or frequencies. For example, the connection release message may include one or more parameters identifying MBS offered by neighboring cells and/or on corresponding frequencies, and MBS component 252 may use this information in determining a cell for possible reselection. Fig. 3/Fig.6 & ¶0085 - MBS continuity component 354 can transmit the indication in SIB signaling, in RRC signaling, such as connection release based on the UE transitioning to idle or inactive mode. Fig. 3/Fig.6 & ¶0086 - at Block 608, the base station can associate the indication of the one or more neighboring cells with a group RNTI (G-RNTI) for UE interested MBS. .. MBS continuity component 354…can associate the indication of the one or more neighboring cells with the G-RNTI .., the UE 104 can monitor the MCCH for the G-RNTI, and can obtain the MBS configuration information based on the G-RNTI. .. the UE 104 can use the indication (e.g., MBS configuration information) in determining cells for reselection in an attempt to continue using the MBS.); wherein the transmitting circuitry is configured to transmit system information including measurement configuration parameters to be used for the UE in the RRC inactive state or the RRC idle state to measure one or more neighboring cells (Fig.2/Fig. 4 & ¶0023 - a UE can perform MBS-aware cell reselection (e.g., where the UE operates in RRC_IDLE or RRC_INACTIVE mode). Fig.2/Fig. 4 & ¶0058 - cell evaluating component 254 can detect the one or more cells while in idle or inactive mode with the current cell… cell evaluating component 254 may determine to detect the one or more cells based on one or more events or triggers, which may correspond to cell reselection. … events/triggers defined for cell reselection may include a periodicity for measuring cells or other events/triggers indicated in a measurement configuration to cause performing measurements of signals from other cells for possible reselection. Fig.2/Fig. 4 & ¶0060 - In determining whether at least the portion of the one or more cells support the UE interested MBS at Block 404, optionally at Block 406, the UE can determine this based on received system information. ….. can determine whether at least the portion of the one or more cells support the UE interested MBS based on received system information… each cell of the one or more cells can broadcast system information indicating whether MBS is supported by the cell. Fig.2/Fig.4&¶0061- MBS component 252 may receive, system information indicating MBS information for each neighbor cell. Fig.2/Fig. 4 & ¶0097 - wherein the system information indicates one or more MBSs and associated frequencies over which the one or more MBSs are provided at the one or more cells); transmit configuration information to be used for the UE to determine whether the one or more MBS services are provided in the one or more neighboring cells at a time of cell reselection (Fig.2/Fig. 4 & ¶0058 - events/triggers defined for cell reselection may include a periodicity for measuring cells or other events/triggers indicated in a measurement configuration to cause performing measurements of signals from other cells for possible reselection, determining a signal strength or quality of signals from the current cell does not achieve a threshold. Fig.2/Fig. 4 & ¶0066 - cell evaluating component 254 can use an indication of whether the one or more cells support the UE interested MBS as a criteria in determining a target cell for reselection. …. cell evaluating component 254 can determine the target cell as a cell with a highest signal strength/quality measurement that also supports the UE interested MBS. Fig.2/Fig. 4 & ¶0104 - wherein ranking the one or more cells is further based at least in part on, for each of the one or more cells, a measurement value for signals received from the one or more cells and a hysteresis value for cell reselection.); transmit information regarding a frequency to be used for the UE to receive the one or more MBS services in the one or more neighboring cells (Fig.2/Fig. 4 & ¶0069 - In evaluating the one or more cells at Block 414, optionally at Block 418, the UE can determine a serving frequency over which the UE interested MBS is provided in the one or more cells. … cell evaluating component 254, … can determine the serving frequency over which the UE interested MBS is provided in the one or more cells. …. cell evaluating component 254 can determine the serving frequency over which the UE interested MBS is provided in the one or more cells based on the MBS information received for the one or more cells Fig.2/Fig. 4 & ¶0070 - As part of cell reselection (or cell selection), cell evaluating component 254 can determine which frequency(ies) provide(s) UE interested MBS(s) based on the one or more of the frequency, TMGI/MBMS SAI/MBS-Session ID/QoS Flow ID, etc. Cell evaluating component 254 may prioritize the frequency(ies) providing the UE interested MBS(s) in evaluating cells for reselection. Fig.2/Fig. 4 & ¶0071 - where the UE 104 operates in an idle mode on a cell in Frequency F1, the UE 104 can receive the frequency, TMGI/MBMS SAI/MBS Session ID/QoS Flow ID List combinations from SIBx (e.g., Frequency F1, MBS SAI/Flow ID/TMGI/MBS Session ID List: 1, 2, and 3, Frequency F2, MBS SAI/Flow ID/TMGI/MBS Session ID List: 4 and 5). In this example, the UE 104 can select MBS 4 from USD as the UE interested MBS. The UE 104 can read SIBx from gNB 1 on Frequency F1. From SIBx, the UE 104 can determine that gNB 2, F2 provides MBS 4. Accordingly, during idle cell reselection, the UE 104 can move (e.g., perform idle mode cell reselection) from gNB1 F1 to gNB2 F2 to receive the UE interested MBS 4.); and
Yet, Zhu425 does not expressly teach transmit data associated with the one or more MBS services based on the information regarding the frequency via a cell reselected by the UE in the RRC inactive state or the RRC idle state, wherein the RRC inactive state or the RRC idle state is transitioned to an RRC connected state based on a comparison between a threshold and Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) or Reference Signal Received Quality (RSRQ) of a serving cell, and the threshold for at least one of the RSRP or the RSRQ is configured per MBS session.
However, in the analogous art, Zhu471 explicitly discloses the transmitting circuitry (Fig. 13, 1320) being configured to transmit data associated with the one or more MBS services based on the information regarding the frequency via the cell reselected by the UE in the RRC inactive state or the RRC idle state (Fig. 3-4 & ¶0029 - performing a cell reselection procedure from a first base station to a second base station, where the base station may be the first base station, determining that the second base station transmits the multicast traffic in accordance with the MRB configuration based on a same area identifier being associated with a first MCCH message and a second MCCH message associated with the second base station, where the MCCH message may be the first MCCH message. Also, see Fig. 8, 825/835 & ¶0159. Fig. 3-4 & ¶0127 - At 425, the base station 105-c may transmit the multicast traffic (e.g., the multicast/broadcast traffic) to the UE 115-f in accordance with the MRB configuration. Also, as the UE is receiving system information broadcast (SIB) message, and, then, initiating Random access procedure (410 & 415 in Fig. 4), a person of ordinary skill in the field of endeavor, would readily understand that the UE is either in RRC idle or RRC inactive state. Also, see ¶0117, which confirms that UE is NOT in RRC connected state for two-step random access procedure as shown in Fig. 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Zhu425’s invention of techniques for maintaining multicast and/or broadcast service wireless communications in a wireless communication network to include Zhu471’s invention of a system and a method for on-demand multicast control channel (MCCH) messages in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for supporting on-demand multicast control channel (MCCH) messages in transmitting the MCCH messages to a group of user equipments (UEs) associated with a service group based on a MRB (multicast service radio bearer) context, in turns, decreased latency associated with receiving the MCCH messages along with increased communication speeds associated with the group of UEs in the wireless communication system. (¶0075, Zhu471)
Yet, Zhu425 and Zhu471 do not expressly teach wherein the RRC inactive state or the RRC idle state is transitioned to an RRC connected state based on a comparison between a threshold and Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) or Reference Signal Received Quality (RSRQ) of a serving cell, and the threshold for at least one of the RSRP or the RSRQ is configured per MBS session.
However, in the field of endeavor, Zhu566 explicitly discloses wherein the RRC inactive state or the RRC idle state is transitioned to an RRC connected state based on a comparison between a threshold and Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) or Reference Signal Received Quality (RSRQ) of a serving cell, and the threshold for at least one of the RSRP or the RSRQ is configured per MBS session (Fig. 9A-9C & ¶0101 - the UE may transmit the measurement report to the base station if an MBS-specific RSRP, RSRQ, RSSI, SINR, and/or the like satisfies a threshold and/or fails to satisfy a threshold. Fig. 9A-9C & ¶0103 - the UE may determine whether to perform a cell reselection, determine whether to switch from communicating via an MRB <multicast/broadcast radio bearer> to communicating via a unicast DRB < dedicated radio bearer >, determine whether to switch from communicating via a unicast DRB to communicating via an MRB, and/or the like based on the unicast and MBS-specific measurements to ensure continuity for the MBS <multicast/broadcast services> while operating in an RRC idle or inactive mode.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Zhu425’s invention of techniques for maintaining multicast and/or broadcast service wireless communications in a wireless communication network and Zhu471’s invention of a system and a method for on-demand multicast control channel (MCCH) messages in a wireless communication system to include Zhu566’s invention of measurements for multicast/broadcast service continuity in a wireless communication system, because it provides a UE (user equipment) with a capability to obtain MBS (multicast/broadcast service) measurements based at least in part on one or more MBS-specific reference signals in order to inform RAN-based and UE-based service continuity decisions, in turns, improves better reliability, shorter interruption, and reduced latency relative with RAN-based service continuity, also, enables the UE managing MBS continuity (e.g., by triggering a cell reselection, switching between communicating using an MRB <multicast/broadcast radio bearer> and a DRB <dedicated radio bearer> ) based at least in part on one or more unicast measurements and one or more MBS measurements, in turns, providing the UE experiencing less MBS disruption, improved performance for making service continuity decisions that consider both unicast and MBS measurements in the wireless communication system. (¶0085, Zhu566)
Re. Claims 38 and 45, Zhu425, Zhu471 and Zhu566 teach claims 37 and 44.
Yet, Zhu425 and Zhu471 do not expressly teach wherein level of mobility support for continuing receiving the one or more MBS services when performing the cell reselection is configurable per MBS service, and/or per UE, or both per the MBS service and per the UE.
However, in the field of endeavor, Zhu566 explicitly discloses wherein level of mobility support for continuing receiving the one or more MBS services when performing the cell reselection is configurable per MBS service, and/or per UE, or both per the MBS service and per the UE. (Fig. 8A-B/Fig. 9A-C & ¶0092 - when the MBS <multicast/broadcast service> channel is carried over an SFN, MBS signal quality may be different (e.g., possibly better or possibly worse) than unicast signal quality because an SFN area includes multiple cells that may have different channel properties. Furthermore, the MBS measurements that are obtained may differ depending on whether the transmitters in an SFN area are configured to transmit reference signals using the same time and frequency resources (e.g., as shown in FIG. 8A) or using one or more different QCL properties (e.g., as shown in FIG. 8B). In some aspects, the UE may therefore be configured to obtain separate measurements for the MBS channel and the unicast channel to enable continuity for an MBS service.. Fig. 8A-B/Fig. 9A-C & ¶0096 - the measurement configuration information received from the base station may include an MBS-specific measurement object (e.g., MeasObjectMBS) or a radio resource management (RRM) measurement object (e.g., MeasObjectNR) that can be configured for unicast and/or MBS measurements. In the latter case, to avoid conflicts with RRM measurements for a unicast channel, the measurement configuration information may include separate unicast and MBS measurement objects. For example, the measurement configuration information may include a first measurement object for unicast RRM that is based at least in part on a first type of reference signal transmission (e.g., SSBs) and a second measurement object for unicast RRM that is based at least in part on a second type of reference signal transmission (e.g., SSBs, CSI-RS, TRS, and/or the like). In either case, the measurement configuration information may include various parameters to enable the UE to obtain the measurements related to the MBS channel.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Zhu425’s invention of techniques for maintaining multicast and/or broadcast service wireless communications in a wireless communication network and Zhu471’s invention of a system and a method for on-demand multicast control channel (MCCH) messages in a wireless communication system to include Zhu566’s invention of measurements for multicast/broadcast service continuity in a wireless communication system, because it provides a UE (user equipment) with a capability to obtain MBS (multicast/broadcast service) measurements based at least in part on one or more MBS-specific reference signals in order to inform RAN-based and UE-based service continuity decisions, in turns, improves better reliability, shorter interruption, and reduced latency relative with RAN-based service continuity, also, enables the UE managing MBS continuity (e.g., by triggering a cell reselection, switching between communicating using an MRB <multicast/broadcast radio bearer> and a DRB <dedicated radio bearer> ) based at least in part on one or more unicast measurements and one or more MBS measurements, in turns, providing the UE experiencing less MBS disruption, improved performance for making service continuity decisions that consider both unicast and MBS measurements in the wireless communication system. (¶0085, Zhu566)
Re. Claims 39 and 46, Zhu425, Zhu471 and Zhu566 teach claims 37 and 44.
Zhu425 further teaches wherein the system information is a system information block (SIB). (Fig.2/Fig. 4 & ¶0060 - In determining whether at least the portion of the one or more cells support the UE interested MBS at Block 404, optionally at Block 406, the UE can determine this based on received system information. ….. can determine whether at least the portion of the one or more cells support the UE interested MBS based on received system information… each cell of the one or more cells can broadcast system information indicating whether MBS is supported by the cell. Fig.2/Fig. 4 & ¶0061 - MBS component 252 may receive, system information indicating MBS information for each neighbor cell. Fig.2/Fig. 4 & ¶0070 - cell evaluating component 254 can prioritize idle cell reselection for MBS continuity. For example, MBS component 252 can determine frequency, TMGI/MBMS SAI/MBS-Session ID/QoS Flow ID, etc. combinations from system information (e.g., in a new SIBx) received from one or more cells that provides the UE interested MBS service from user service description (USD). Fig. 2/Fig. 4 & ¶0097 - wherein the system information indicates one or more MBSs and associated frequencies over which the one or more MBSs are provided at the one or more cells).
Re. Claims 40 and 47, Zhu425, Zhu471 and Zhu566 teach claims 37 and 44.
Zhu425 further teaches wherein the measurement configuration parameters comprise at least one of one or more thresholds, carrier frequencies for measurement, frequency band lists, beam related measurement parameters, durations for measurement, lists of cells for measurement (Fig.2/Fig. 4 & ¶0058 - cell evaluating component 254 can detect the one or more cells while in idle or inactive mode with the current cell… cell evaluating component 254 may determine to detect the one or more cells based on one or more events or triggers, which may correspond to cell reselection. … events/triggers defined for cell reselection may include a periodicity for measuring cells or other events/triggers indicated in a measurement configuration to cause performing measurements of signals from other cells for possible reselection. Fig.2/Fig. 4 & ¶0060 - In determining whether at least the portion of the one or more cells support the UE interested MBS at Block 404, optionally at Block 406, the UE can determine this based on received system information. ….. can determine whether at least the portion of the one or more cells support the UE interested MBS based on received system information… each cell of the one or more cells can broadcast system information indicating whether MBS is supported by the cell. Fig.2/Fig.4&¶0061- MBS component 252 may receive, system information indicating MBS information for each neighbor cell. Fig.2/Fig. 4 & ¶0097 - wherein the system information indicates one or more MBSs and associated frequencies over which the one or more MBSs are provided at the one or more cells. Also, Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “at least one of” and “or” in the limitation), or a number of synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) for cell measurement derivation.
Re. Claims 41 and 48, Zhu425, Zhu471 and Zhu566 teach claims 37 and 44.
Yet, Zhu425 and Zhu471 do not expressly teach wherein measuring the one or more neighboring cells comprises measuring one or more synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) and comparing received signal strengths of the one or more SSBs with one or more thresholds.
However, in the analogous art, Zhu566 explicitly discloses wherein measuring the one or more neighboring cells comprises measuring one or more synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) and comparing received signal strengths of the one or more SSBs with one or more thresholds. (Fig. 9A-9C & ¶0099 - the measurements related to the unicast service channel may be obtained according to RRM configuration information, and may include an RSRQ, an RSRP, an RSSI, a SINR, and/or the like for one or more reference signals (e.g., SSBs) received by the UE. Furthermore, as shown, the measurements related to the MBS channel may be based at least in part on one or more MBS-specific reference signals transmitted by multiple transmitters in an SFN area. For example, in some aspects, the MBS-specific reference signals may include an SSB, …..the measurements related to the MBS channel may include an MBS-RSRQ, an MBS-RSRP, an MBS-RSSI, an MBS-SINR, and/or the like.Fig. 9A-9C & ¶0101 - the UE may transmit the measurement report to the base station if an MBS-specific RSRP, RSRQ, RSSI, SINR, and/or the like satisfies a threshold and/or fails to satisfy a threshold. Additionally, or alternatively, the measurement report may be transmitted to the base station if an MBS-specific measurement from a neighbor cell exceeds an MBS-specific measurement from a serving cell by a threshold amount, the MBS-specific measurement from the neighbor cell satisfies a threshold, and/or the MBS-specific measurement from the serving cell fails to satisfy a first threshold while the MBS-specific measurement from the neighbor cell satisfies a second threshold. Fig. 9A-9C & ¶0102 - based at least in part on the measurement report transmitted by the UE, the base station may determine that the UE is to be handed over from a serving cell to a neighbor cell, that the UE is to switch from communicating via an MRB to communicating via a unicast DRB, that the UE is to switch from communicating via a unicast DRB to communicating via an MRB, and/or the like.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Zhu425’s invention of techniques for maintaining multicast and/or broadcast service wireless communications in a wireless communication network and Zhu471’s invention of a system and a method for on-demand multicast control channel (MCCH) messages in a wireless communication system to include Zhu566’s invention of measurements for multicast/broadcast service continuity in a wireless communication system, because it provides a UE (user equipment) with a capability to obtain MBS (multicast/broadcast service) measurements based at least in part on one or more MBS-specific reference signals in order to inform RAN-based and UE-based service continuity decisions, in turns, improves better reliability, shorter interruption, and reduced latency relative with RAN-based service continuity, also, enables the UE managing MBS continuity (e.g., by triggering a cell reselection, switching between communicating using an MRB <multicast/broadcast radio bearer> and a DRB <dedicated radio bearer> ) based at least in part on one or more unicast measurements and one or more MBS measurements, in turns, providing the UE experiencing less MBS disruption, improved performance for making service continuity decisions that consider both unicast and MBS measurements in the wireless communication system. (¶0085, Zhu566)
Re. Claims 42 and 49, Zhu425, Zhu471 and Zhu566 teach claims 37 and 44.
Yet, Zhu425 does not expressly teach wherein the information regarding the frequency comprises at least one of a bandwidth part identifier, a control resource set, or a numerology associated with the one or more MBS services.
However, in the analogous art, Zhu471 explicitly discloses wherein the information regarding the frequency comprises at least one of a bandwidth part identifier, a control resource set, or a numerology associated with the one or more MBS services (Fig. 3-4 & ¶0119 - The UE 115-e may monitor resources (e.g., indicated by the MCCH message configuration) for the MCCH message 325. For example, the UE 115-e may monitor the control resource set and search space indicated by the MCCH message configuration to detect the MCCH message 325. That is, the UE 115-e may monitor within the MCCH monitoring time window, within the MCCH monitoring period, and according to the MCCH monitoring offset indicated by the MCCH message configuration. Also, Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “at least one of one or more” in the limitation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Zhu425’s invention of techniques for maintaining multicast and/or broadcast service wireless communications in a wireless communication network and Zhu566’s invention of measurements for multicast/broadcast service continuity in a wireless communication system to include Zhu471’s invention of a system and a method for on-demand multicast control channel (MCCH) messages in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for supporting on-demand multicast control channel (MCCH) messages in transmitting the MCCH messages to a group of user equipments (UEs) associated with a service group based on a MRB (multicast service radio bearer) context, in turns, decreased latency associated with receiving the MCCH messages along with increased communication speeds associated with the group of UEs in the wireless communication system. (¶0075, Zhu471)
Re. Claims 43 and 50, Zhu425, Zhu471 and Zhu566 teach claims 37 and 44.
Zhu425 further teaches wherein a quality of service (QoS) associated with an MBS bearer associated with an MBS service of the one or more MBS services indicates a level of service continuity requirement for the MBS bearer. (Fig.2/Fig. 4 & ¶0068 - cell evaluating component 254 can determine TMGI/MB-flow/MB SAI/MB-Session ID specific bias as configured as part of MBS bearer context or MRB configuration. Fig.2/Fig. 4 & ¶0070 - cell evaluating component 254 can prioritize idle cell reselection for MBS continuity. For example, MBS component 252 can determine frequency, TMGI/MBMS SAI/MBS-Session ID/QoS Flow ID, etc. combinations from system information (e.g., in a new SIBx) received from one or more cells that provides the UE interested MBS service from user service description (USD). Fig.2/Fig. 4 & ¶0078 - MBS component 252 can check whether MBS bearer context for the MB-flow or TMGI (temporary mobile group identity for the desired MBS, see ¶0023) is configured in the cell. For example, the MBS bearer context can be established by core network in RAN, including N3-tunnel, QoS profile etc. information.).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s argument in regards to Nonstatutory Double Patenting issue (provisional) as filed on 10/10/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant is requested to submit a terminal disclaimer (TD) to overcome the Nonstatutory Double Patenting rejection as mentioned supra. See MPEP 804.02.
Applicant's arguments for §103 as filed on 10/10/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding remarks in pages 11-15 for independent claim 37, applicant argues that both Tayeb[Wingdings font/0xF3]2022/0312354 and Chen [Wingdings font/0xF3] 2023/0040690, fail to teach, “wherein the RRC inactive state or the RRC idle state is transitioned to an RRC connected state based on a comparison between a threshold and Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) or Reference Signal Received Quality (RSRQ) of a serving cell, and the threshold for at least one of the RSRP or the RSRQ is configured per MBS session.”.
Examiner agrees, however, in the analogous art, Zhu566 [Wingdings font/0xF3]2021/0185566, discloses those amended claimed limitations as mapped in §103 rejection.
Similar, arguments are applicable to independent claims 44 and 51-52.
For these reasons, it is maintained that independent claim 37 is unpatentable over Zhu425, in view of Zhu471, further in view of Zhu566.
For similar reasons, it is maintained that independent claims 44 and 51-52 are unpatentable over Zhu425, in view of Zhu471, further in view of Zhu566 .
As all other dependent claims depend either directly or indirectly from the independent claims 37 and 44, similar rationale also applies to all respective dependent claims.
Conclusion
/MOHAMMED S CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467