DETAILED ACTION
The following is a non final office action in response to applicant’s filing of IDS along with an RCE on 06/16/2026 along with remarks submitted on 12/18/2025. Independent claims 37, 44 and 51-52 are submitted as filed on 10/10/2025. Claims 1-36 were cancelled previously. Therefore, claims 37-52 are pending and addressed below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/13/2026 and 06/16/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Double Patenting
Claim 37 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 37 of copending Application No. 18/044,480, Pham Van et al. (2023/0239661, provisional application 63/045,441 is filed on Jun 29th, 2020 before the EFD of the instant application; See PTO-892 as mailed on 12/19/2025, the instant office action relies on the provisional application), Pham Van441 hereinafter.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Application No. 19/200,237 (Instant)
Co-pending Application No 18/044,480
37. A method of a user equipment (UE) for continuing receiving one or more multicast broadcast services (MBS) services in case of cell reselection by the UE in at least one of a Radio Resource Control (RRC) inactive state or an RRC idle state, comprising: receiving system information including measurement configuration parameters for measuring one or more neighboring cells in the RRC inactive state or the RRC idle state; measuring the one or more neighboring cells based on the measurement configuration parameters and performing cell reselection; receiving configuration information for determining whether the one or more MBS services are provided in the one or more neighboring cells at a time of the cell reselection; acquiring information regarding a frequency for receiving the one or more MBS services in the one or more neighboring cells; and receiving data associated with the one or more MBS services based on the information regarding the frequency via a reselected cell while remaining in the RRC inactive state or the RRC idle state, wherein the RRC inactive state or the RRC idle state is transitioned to an RRC connected state based on a comparison between a threshold and Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) or Reference Signal Received Quality (RSRQ) of a serving cell, and the threshold for at least one of the RSRP or the RSRQ is configured per MBS session.
37. A method of a user equipment (UE) for continuing receiving one or more multicast broadcast services (MBS) services, comprising: receiving, a configuration message associated with the one or more MBS services for the UE in a radio resource control (RRC) inactive state or an RRC idle state; determining, based on the configuration message, a trigger for transitioning from the RRC inactive state or the RRC idle state to an RRC connected state to continue receiving the one or more MBS services; and receiving data associated with the one or more MBS services via a target cell based on the trigger for transitioning from the RRC inactive state or the RRC idle state to the RRC connected state, wherein determining the trigger for transitioning from the RRC inactive state or the RRC idle state to the RRC connected state includes determining the trigger for transitioning from the RRC inactive state or the RRC idle state to the RRC connected state based on a comparison between a threshold and Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) or Reference Signal Received Quality (RSRQ) of a serving cell, and the threshold for at least one of RSRP or RSRQ is configured per MBS session.
Yet, Copending Application No 18/044,480 does not claim measuring the one or more neighboring cells based on the measurement configuration parameters and performing cell reselection; acquiring information regarding a frequency for receiving the one or more MBS services in the one or more neighboring cells;
However, in the analogous art, Pham Van441 explicitly discloses measuring the one or more neighboring cells based on the measurement configuration parameters (Fig.1-8 & ¶0004 - UE reads system information block 20 ("SIB20") to know how/where/when single cell multicast control channel ("SC-MCCH") is sent. For example, scheduling information of SC-MCCH can include, for example: first subframe, offset; interval or repetition period; modification period; Fig.1-8 & ¶0005 – The SC-MCCH can be periodically sent with configurable repetition period (e.g., every 20ms). One SC-MCCH (e.g., a RRC SCPTMConfiguration message) can include information usable to decode single cell multicast traffic channel ("SC-MTCH") service data units ("SDUs") on down link shared channel ("DLSCH")/physical downlink shared channel ("PDSCH") (e.g., information indicating all ongoing sessions and their resource configuration as well as neighboring cells). A sc-mtchinfolist message can provide configuration information associated with each SCMTCH in current cell, including: group RNTI ("G-RNTI"); MBMSsessionlnfo; scmtch-schedulinginfo; sc-mtch-neighborcell; and scptm-neighboucellinfolist. …. The sc-mtch-neighborcell can include a bitmap to indicate which neighboring cell is providing ongoing session. The scptm-neighboucellinfolist can include a celllD and frequency. Fig.1-8 & ¶0045 - first process can specify that configuration information of all ongoing MBS sessions is sent via PTM on a common control channel in a periodic fashion with a configurable repetition period and a modification period irrespective of RRC state…. any UE who is interested in receiving MBS services can first acquire configuration information on the common control channel and then configure/setup PTM bearer(s) for reception of corresponding sessions. This applies irrespective of whether the UE is in a RRC_CONNECTED, a RRC_IDLE, or a RRC_INACTIVE state. ¶0046 - the common control channel can be periodically broadcast in a system information block ("SIB"). ….the SIB can be signaled to UE on-demand (e.g., upon request from UEs in a RRC_IDLE/RRC_INACTIVE state), which perform a Random Access ("RA") procedure, without entering a RRC Connected state, to get the configuration information. ¶0047 - common control channel can be a new PTM downlink control channel ("DCCH") (e.g., a newly defined multicast broadcast common control channel ("MBCCH")), which may be carried on the physical downlink shared channel ("POSCH") used for PTM. The scheduling information of this common control channel (e.g., repetition period, modification period, first subframe, offset, and DRX parameters that allows UEs to know when to monitor for acquisition) can be provided in another SIB whose scheduling information is known by UEs in the cell (e.g., provided in SIB1); acquiring information regarding a frequency for receiving the one or more MBS services in the one or more neighboring cells (Fig.1-8 & ¶0003- The control information signaling mechanism allows a communication device (also referred to as a user equipment ("UE")) to have a point-to-multipoint ("PTM") configuration and to configure radio bearers for reception of MBMS traffic in all radio resource control ("RRC") states. Fig.1-8 & ¶0005 – The SC-MCCH can be periodically sent with configurable repetition period (e.g., every 20ms). One SC-MCCH (e.g., a RRC SCPTMConfiguration message) can include information usable to decode single cell multicast traffic channel ("SC-MTCH") service data units ("SDUs") on down link shared channel ("DLSCH")/physical downlink shared channel ("PDSCH") (e.g., information indicating all ongoing sessions and their resource configuration as well as neighboring cells). A sc-mtchinfolist message can provide configuration information associated with each SCMTCH in current cell, including: group RNTI ("G-RNTI"); MBMSsessionlnfo; scmtch-schedulinginfo; sc-mtch-neighborcell; and scptm-neighboucellinfolist. …. The sc-mtch-neighborcell can include a bitmap to indicate which neighboring cell is providing ongoing session. The scptm-neighboucellinfolist can include a celllD and frequency. Also see ¶0045-¶0046.)
The applicant and Pham Van441 work in the same field of technology. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine applicant’s (Copending Application No 18/044,480) invention of systems and methods for maintaining multicast broadcast continuity in idle and inactive states to include Pham Van441’s invention of radio multicast/broadcast reception by a communication device in idle/inactive state in a wireless communication network, because it provides an efficient mechanism in supporting for receiving paging messages for MBS (multicast/broadcast service) service reception while the communication device remains in idle/inactive state operating in the wireless communication network. (¶0008/¶0038, Pham Van441)
Similarly, all other independent/dependent claims of the instant application (Application No. 19/200,237) are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over combinations of independent/dependent claims of Co-pending Application No 18/044,480, in view of Pham Van441.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
In event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claims 37-40, 43-47 and 50-52 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pham Van441, in view of Sugawara et al. (2010/0309836, as submitted in IDS as of 06/16/2026), Sugawara hereinafter.
Re. Claims 37 and 51, Pham Van441 teaches a method of a user equipment (UE) (Fig.3) for continuing receiving one or more multicast broadcast services (MBS) services in case of cell reselection by the UE in at least one of a Radio Resource Control (RRC) inactive state or an RRC idle state (Fig.1-8 & ¶0003-¶0005/¶0038-¶0039/¶0041/¶0044-¶0046/¶0061), and a user equipment (UE) (Fig.3) comprising: receiving circuitry (Fig. 3, 301) configured to receive one or more multicast broadcast services (MBS) services in at least one of a Radio Resource Control (RRC) inactive state or an RRC idle state (Fig. 1-8 & ¶0038 - when one or multiple UEs in a RRC_IDLE/RRC_INACTIVE state are paged for MBS service (multicast/broadcast service) reception, they are informed about service(s)/session(s) that initiate the paging. The network can inform UEs by including a service ID/session ID (e.g., a temporary mobile group identity ("TMGI")) and/or group radio network temporary identifier ("G-RNTI") of the corresponding session in the paging message. This helps indicate UEs who are already a member in the session group to early prepare themselves for reception of MBS service. This can be particularly useful in case of reception of MBS service by UEs in a RRC IDLE/RRC INACTIVE state without the need of a RRC state transition. Fig. 1-8 & ¶0044 - a UE in a RRC_IDLE/RRC_INACTIVE state acquires PTM (point-to-multipoint) configuration information ….. The PTM configuration to be acquired can include configuration of only session(s) the UE is interested in (e.g., the session(s) initiating the paging) or of all ongoing sessions in the cell. The UE in a RRC_IDLE/RRC_INACTIVE state may need to perform radio bearer configuration based on the received PTM (point-to-multipoint) configuration before reception of MBS data. Fig. 1-8 & ¶0046 - SIB can be signaled to UE on-demand (e.g., upon request from UEsin a RRC_IDLE/RRC_INACTIVE state), which perform a Random Access ("RA") procedure, without entering a RRC Connected state, to get the configuration information. An existing SIB in current NR standard (e.g., SIBs 2-14) can be extended to include PTM (point-to-multipoint) configuration information or a new SIB can be defined. Also, see ¶0052-¶0053), the receiving circuitry being configured to receive system information including measurement configuration parameters for measuring one or more neighboring cells in the RRC inactive state or the RRC idle state (Fig.1-8 & ¶0004 - UE reads system information block 20 ("SIB20") to know how/where/when single cell multicast control channel ("SC-MCCH") is sent. For example, scheduling information of SC-MCCH can include, for example: first subframe, offset; interval or repetition period; modification period; Fig.1-8 & ¶0005 – The SC-MCCH can be periodically sent with configurable repetition period (e.g., every 20ms). One SC-MCCH (e.g., a RRC SCPTMConfiguration message) can include information usable to decode single cell multicast traffic channel ("SC-MTCH") service data units ("SDUs") on down link shared channel ("DLSCH")/physical downlink shared channel ("PDSCH") (e.g., information indicating all ongoing sessions and their resource configuration as well as neighboring cells). A sc-mtchinfolist message can provide configuration information associated with each SCMTCH in current cell, including: group RNTI ("G-RNTI"); MBMSsessionlnfo; scmtch-schedulinginfo; sc-mtch-neighborcell; and scptm-neighboucellinfolist. …. The sc-mtch-neighborcell can include a bitmap to indicate which neighboring cell is providing ongoing session. The scptm-neighboucellinfolist can include a celllD and frequency. Fig.1-8 & ¶0045 - first process can specify that configuration information of all ongoing MBS sessions is sent via PTM on a common control channel in a periodic fashion with a configurable repetition period and a modification period irrespective of RRC state…. any UE who is interested in receiving MBS services can first acquire configuration information on the common control channel and then configure/setup PTM bearer(s) for reception of corresponding sessions. This applies irrespective of whether the UE is in a RRC_CONNECTED, a RRC_IDLE, or a RRC_INACTIVE state. ¶0046 - the common control channel can be periodically broadcast in a system information block ("SIB"). ….the SIB can be signaled to UE on-demand (e.g., upon request from UEs in a RRC_IDLE/RRC_INACTIVE state), which perform a Random Access ("RA") procedure, without entering a RRC Connected state, to get the configuration information. Fig.1-8 & ¶0047 - common control channel can be a new PTM downlink control channel ("DCCH") (e.g., a newly defined multicast broadcast common control channel ("MBCCH")), which may be carried on the physical downlink shared channel ("POSCH") used for PTM. The scheduling information of this common control channel (e.g., repetition period, modification period, first subframe, offset, and DRX parameters that allows UEs to know when to monitor for acquisition) can be provided in another SIB whose scheduling information is known by UEs in the cell (e.g., provided in SIB1 )); measuring circuitry configured to measure the one or more neighboring cells based on the measurement configuration parameters (Fig.1-8 & ¶0004 - UE reads system information block 20 ("SIB20") to know how/where/when single cell multicast control channel ("SC-MCCH") is sent. For example, scheduling information of SC-MCCH can include, for example: first subframe, offset; interval or repetition period; modification period; Fig.1-8 & ¶0005 – The SC-MCCH can be periodically sent with configurable repetition period (e.g., every 20ms). One SC-MCCH (e.g., a RRC SCPTMConfiguration message) can include information usable to decode single cell multicast traffic channel ("SC-MTCH") service data units ("SDUs") on down link shared channel ("DLSCH")/physical downlink shared channel ("PDSCH") (e.g., information indicating all ongoing sessions and their resource configuration as well as neighboring cells). A sc-mtchinfolist message can provide configuration information associated with each SCMTCH in current cell, including: group RNTI ("G-RNTI"); MBMSsessionlnfo; scmtch-schedulinginfo; sc-mtch-neighborcell; and scptm-neighboucellinfolist. …. The sc-mtch-neighborcell can include a bitmap to indicate which neighboring cell is providing ongoing session. The scptm-neighboucellinfolist can include a celllD and frequency. Fig.1-8 & ¶0045 - first process can specify that configuration information of all ongoing MBS sessions is sent via PTM on a common control channel in a periodic fashion with a configurable repetition period and a modification period irrespective of RRC state…. any UE who is interested in receiving MBS services can first acquire configuration information on the common control channel and then configure/setup PTM bearer(s) for reception of corresponding sessions. This applies irrespective of whether the UE is in a RRC_CONNECTED, a RRC_IDLE, or a RRC_INACTIVE state. ¶0046 - the common control channel can be periodically broadcast in a system information block ("SIB"). ….the SIB can be signaled to UE on-demand (e.g., upon request from UEs in a RRC_IDLE/RRC_INACTIVE state), which perform a Random Access ("RA") procedure, without entering a RRC Connected state, to get the configuration information. ¶0047 - common control channel can be a new PTM downlink control channel ("DCCH") (e.g., a newly defined multicast broadcast common control channel ("MBCCH")), which may be carried on the physical downlink shared channel ("POSCH") used for PTM. The scheduling information of this common control channel (e.g., repetition period, modification period, first subframe, offset, and DRX parameters that allows UEs to know when to monitor for acquisition) can be provided in another SIB whose scheduling information is known by UEs in the cell (e.g., provided in SIB1); acquiring circuitry configured to acquire information regarding a frequency for receiving the one or more MBS services in the one or more neighboring cells (Fig.1-8 & ¶0003- The control information signaling mechanism allows a communication device (also referred to as a user equipment ("UE")) to have a point-to-multipoint ("PTM") configuration and to configure radio bearers for reception of MBMS traffic in all radio resource control ("RRC") states. Fig.1-8 & ¶0005 – The SC-MCCH can be periodically sent with configurable repetition period (e.g., every 20ms). One SC-MCCH (e.g., a RRC SCPTMConfiguration message) can include information usable to decode single cell multicast traffic channel ("SC-MTCH") service data units ("SDUs") on down link shared channel ("DLSCH")/physical downlink shared channel ("PDSCH") (e.g., information indicating all ongoing sessions and their resource configuration as well as neighboring cells). A sc-mtchinfolist message can provide configuration information associated with each SCMTCH in current cell, including: group RNTI ("G-RNTI"); MBMSsessionlnfo; scmtch-schedulinginfo; sc-mtch-neighborcell; and scptm-neighboucellinfolist. …. The sc-mtch-neighborcell can include a bitmap to indicate which neighboring cell is providing ongoing session. The scptm-neighboucellinfolist can include a celllD and frequency. Also see ¶0045-¶0046),
Yet, Pham Van441 does not expressly teach performing circuitry configured to perform cell reselection; wherein the receiving circuitry is further configured to: receive configuration information for determining whether the one or more MBS services are provided in the one or more neighboring cells at a time of the cell reselection ; and receive data associated with the one or more MBS services based on the information regarding the frequency via a reselected cell while remaining in the RRC inactive state or the RRC idle state, and wherein the RRC inactive state or the RRC idle state is transitioned to an RRC connected state based on a comparison between a threshold and Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) or Reference Signal Received Quality (RSRQ) of a serving cell, and the threshold for at least one of the RSRP or the RSRQ is configured per MBS session.
However, in the field of endeavor, Sugawara explicitly discloses performing circuitry configured to perform cell reselection; wherein the receiving circuitry is further configured to: receive configuration information for determining whether the one or more MBS services are provided in the one or more neighboring cells at a time of the cell reselection ; and receive data associated with the one or more MBS services based on the information regarding the frequency via a reselected cell while remaining in the RRC inactive state or the RRC idle state (Fig. 7-9 & ¶0104 - As a result of the Cell Reselection (Procedure 2) of FIG. 7), the mobile station 20a in the idle mode receives, demodulates and/or decodes the Physical Downlink Synchronization Channel (PSCH) and the Physical Broadcast Channel (PBCH) for the base station 10b. Moreover, the mobile station 20a knows that the provision of the MBMS service via the SCPTM transmission is being performed in the base station 10b. This knowledge is obtained from the MBMS-related information broadcasted by the base station 10b (Procedure 1 of FIG. 8, FIG. 7--Procedure 3)). The MBMS-related information is included in the BCCH (Broadcast Control Channel) or the MCCH (Multicast Control Channel), which is the logical channel, and is mapped to the Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH). It should be noted that the MBMS-related information includes advertising information indicating that the provision of the MBMS service via the SCPTM transmission is being performed in the base station 10b, and in addition, an MBMS request trigger criterion. Fig. 7-9 & ¶0106 - mobile station 20a confirms whether or not the transmission of the MBMS service is actually being performed in this cell, and judges whether or not to perform the MBMS request (FIG. 8--Procedure 2). This judgment is performed by the MBMS request unit 208. This MBMS request signaling is transmitted by using the contention based random access. Fig. 7-9 & ¶0108 - if the transmission of the MBMS service desired to be received is not being performed, in order to transmit the MBMS request (an MBMS service transmission request message), the mobile station 20a transmits a Message 1 (Msg. 1), to the base station 10b (FIG. 8--Procedure 3). Moreover, if, while the transmission of the MBMS service desired to be received is being performed, the following condition (an MBMS request transmission condition) is satisfied, in order to transmit the MRMS request MBMS service feedback request message), the Message 1 is transmitted to the base station 10b (FIG. 8--Procedure 3). Fig. 7-9 & ¶0111 - Condition 3) a case where the downlink channel condition (or quality) of the mobile station itself is equal to or less than (or less than) a threshold broadcasted by the base station 10b. Fig. 7-9 & ¶0113 - The mobile station 20a measures the Physical Downlink Synchronization Channel (PSCH) and the Downlink Pilot Channel (DPiCH) for the base station 10b, through the cell selection/reselection (Procedure 2) of FIG. 7). Fig. 7-9 & ¶0115 - b) a received power value of the Physical Downlink Synchronization Channel (PSCH), and a received power value of the Downlink Pilot Channel (DPiCH) (RSRP: Reference Signal Received Power), which have been calculated from the correlation values (for example, a dBm value, an mW value). Fig. 7-9 & ¶0118 - The mobile station 20a uses one or more of these measurement results to perform comparison with the threshold broadcasted by the base station 10b, and judges the downlink channel condition (or quality) Then, if the measurement result is equal to or less than (or less than) a predetermined threshold, the mobile station 20a transmits the Message 1 to the base station 10b, in order to transmit the MBMS request (the MBMS service feedback request message). Fig. 7-9 & ¶0120 - since the base station 10b broadcasts information (the MBMS request trigger criterion: MBMS Trigger Criteria; Criterion (3) as disclosed in ¶0123/¶0129 & Criterion (4) as disclosed in ¶0124/¶0130) for controlling a frequency of occurrence of the MBMS request, … the mobile station can control the frequency of occurrence of the MBMS request. Fig. 7-9 & ¶0129 - only the mobile station which is larger than (or equal to or larger than) the threshold transmits the MBMS request (the MBMS service feedback request). It should be noted that this threshold may be a common value for all the cells which provide the MBMS service via the SCPTM transmission. Fig. 7-9 & ¶0130 - only the mobile station which is larger than (or equal to or larger than) the threshold transmits the MBMS request (the MBMS service feedback request). It should be noted that this threshold may also be a common value for all the cells which provide the MBMS service via the SCPTM transmission. Also, see steps S1-S6 in Fig. 9, see snapshots reproduced next), and wherein the RRC inactive state or the RRC idle state is transitioned to an RRC connected state based on a comparison between a threshold and Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) or Reference Signal Received Quality (RSRQ) of a serving cell (Fig. 7-9 & ¶0104 - As a result of the Cell Reselection (Procedure 2) of FIG. 7), the mobile station 20a in the idle mode receives, demodulates and/or decodes the Physical Downlink Synchronization Channel (PSCH) and the Physical Broadcast Channel (PBCH) for the base station 10b. Moreover, the mobile station 20a knows that the provision of the MBMS service via the SCPTM transmission is being performed in the base station 10b. This knowledge is obtained from the MBMS-related information broadcasted by the base station 10b (Procedure 1 of FIG. 8, FIG. 7--Procedure 3)). The MBMS-related information is included in the BCCH (Broadcast Control Channel) or the MCCH (Multicast Control Channel), which is the logical channel, and is mapped to the Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH). It should be noted that the MBMS-related information includes advertising information indicating that the provision of the MBMS service via the SCPTM transmission is being performed in the base station 10b, and in addition, an MBMS request trigger criterion. Fig. 7-9 & ¶0106 - mobile station 20a confirms whether or not the transmission of the MBMS service is actually being performed in this cell, and judges whether or not to perform the MBMS request (FIG. 8--Procedure 2). This judgment is performed by the MBMS request unit 208. This MBMS request signaling is transmitted by using the contention based random access. Fig. 7-9 & ¶0108 - if the transmission of the MBMS service desired to be received is not being performed, in order to transmit the MBMS request (an MBMS service transmission request message), the mobile station 20a transmits a Message 1 (Msg. 1), to the base station 10b (FIG. 8--Procedure 3). Moreover, if, while the transmission of the MBMS service desired to be received is being performed, the following condition (an MBMS request transmission condition) is satisfied, in order to transmit the MRMS request MBMS service feedback request message), the Message 1 is transmitted to the base station 10b (FIG. 8--Procedure 3). Fig. 7-9 & ¶0111 - Condition 3) a case where the downlink channel condition (or quality) of the mobile station itself is equal to or less than (or less than) a threshold broadcasted by the base station 10b. Fig. 7-9 & ¶0113 - The mobile station 20a measures the Physical Downlink Synchronization Channel (PSCH) and the Downlink Pilot Channel (DPiCH) for the base station 10b, through the cell selection/reselection (Procedure 2) of FIG. 7). Fig. 7-9 & ¶0115 - b) a received power value of the Physical Downlink Synchronization Channel (PSCH), and a received power value of the Downlink Pilot Channel (DPiCH) (RSRP: Reference Signal Received Power), which have been calculated from the correlation values (for example, a dBm value, an mW value). Fig. 7-9 & ¶0118 - The mobile station 20a uses one or more of these measurement results to perform comparison with the threshold broadcasted by the base station 10b, and judges the downlink channel condition (or quality) Then, if the measurement result is equal to or less than (or less than) a predetermined threshold, the mobile station 20a transmits the Message 1 to the base station 10b, in order to transmit the MBMS request (the MBMS service feedback request message). Fig. 7-9 & ¶0120 - since the base station 10b broadcasts information (the MBMS request trigger criterion: MBMS Trigger Criteria; Criterion (3) as disclosed in ¶0123/¶0129 & Criterion (4) as disclosed in ¶0124/¶0130) for controlling a frequency of occurrence of the MBMS request, … the mobile station can control the frequency of occurrence of the MBMS request. Fig. 7-9 & ¶0129 - only the mobile station which is larger than (or equal to or larger than) the threshold transmits the MBMS request (the MBMS service feedback request). It should be noted that this threshold may be a common value for all the cells which provide the MBMS service via the SCPTM transmission. Fig. 7-9 & ¶0130 - only the mobile station which is larger than (or equal to or larger than) the threshold transmits the MBMS request (the MBMS service feedback request). It should be noted that this threshold may also be a common value for all the cells which provide the MBMS service via the SCPTM transmission. Also, see steps S1-S6 in Fig. 9, see snapshots reproduced next), and the threshold for at least one of the RSRP or the RSRQ is configured per MBS session (Fig. 7-9 & ¶0129 - only the mobile station which is larger than (or equal to or larger than) the threshold <See ¶0115/¶0118> transmits the MBMS request (the MBMS service feedback request). It should be noted that this threshold may be a common value for all the cells which provide the MBMS service via the SCPTM transmission. Fig. 7-9 & ¶0130 - only the mobile station which is larger than (or equal to or larger than) the threshold <See ¶0115/¶0118> transmits the MBMS request (the MBMS service feedback request). It should be noted that this threshold may also be a common value for all the cells which provide the MBMS service via the SCPTM transmission).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Pham Van441’s invention of radio multicast/broadcast reception by a communication device in idle/inactive state in a wireless communication network to include Sugawara’s invention of a system and a method for supporting MBMS (Multimedia Broadcast Multicast Service) services for cells supporting both unicast transmission and MBMS transmission in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient and a flexible mechanism for supporting simultaneous services of both unicast transmission and MBMS transmission by using either SCPTM <Single-Cell Point-to-Multipoint) transmission> or MBSFN <Multimedia Broadcast multicast service Single Frequency Network> transmission for a plurality of users as served by a plurality of cells operating in the wireless communication system. (¶0007 & Fig. 7, Sugawara)
Re. Claims 44 and 52, Pham Van441 teaches a method of a network device (Fig. 4) that allows a user equipment (UE) to continue receiving one or more multicast broadcast services (MBS) services in case of cell reselection by the UE in at least one of a Radio Resource Control (RRC) inactive state or an RRC idle state (Fig.1-8 & ¶0003-¶0005/¶0038-¶0039/¶0041/¶0044-¶0046/¶0061),and a network device (Fig. 4) comprising: transmitting circuitry (Fig. 4, 401) configured to transmit one or more multicast broadcast services (MBS) services to a user equipment (UE) in at least one of a Radio Resource Control (RRC) inactive state or an RRC idle state (Fig. 1-8 & ¶0038 - when one or multiple UEs in a RRC_IDLE/RRC_INACTIVE state are paged for MBS service (multicast/broadcast service) reception, they are informed about service(s)/session(s) that initiate the paging. The network can inform UEs by including a service ID/session ID (e.g., a temporary mobile group identity ("TMGI")) and/or group radio network temporary identifier ("G-RNTI") of the corresponding session in the paging message. This helps indicate UEs who are already a member in the session group to early prepare themselves for reception of MBS service. This can be particularly useful in case of reception of MBS service by UEs in a RRC IDLE/RRC INACTIVE state without the need of a RRC state transition. Fig. 1-8 & ¶0044 - a UE in a RRC_IDLE/RRC_INACTIVE state acquires PTM (point-to-multipoint) configuration information ….. The PTM configuration to be acquired can include configuration of only session(s) the UE is interested in (e.g., the session(s) initiating the paging) or of all ongoing sessions in the cell. The UE in a RRC_IDLE/RRC_INACTIVE state may need to perform radio bearer configuration based on the received PTM (point-to-multipoint) configuration before reception of MBS data. Fig. 1-8 & ¶0046 - SIB can be signaled to UE on-demand (e.g., upon request from UEsin a RRC_IDLE/RRC_INACTIVE state), which perform a Random Access ("RA") procedure, without entering a RRC Connected state, to get the configuration information. An existing SIB in current NR standard (e.g., SIBs 2-14) can be extended to include PTM (point-to-multipoint) configuration information or a new SIB can be defined. Also, see ¶0052-¶0053), wherein the transmitting circuitry (Fig. 4, 401) is configured to: transmit system information including measurement configuration parameters to be used for the UE in the RRC inactive state or the RRC idle state to measure one or more neighboring cells (Fig.1-8 & ¶0004 - UE reads system information block 20 ("SIB20") to know how/where/when single cell multicast control channel ("SC-MCCH") is sent. For example, scheduling information of SC-MCCH can include, for example: first subframe, offset; interval or repetition period; modification period; Fig.1-8 & ¶0005 – The SC-MCCH can be periodically sent with configurable repetition period (e.g., every 20ms). One SC-MCCH (e.g., a RRC SCPTMConfiguration message) can include information usable to decode single cell multicast traffic channel ("SC-MTCH") service data units ("SDUs") on down link shared channel ("DLSCH")/physical downlink shared channel ("PDSCH") (e.g., information indicating all ongoing sessions and their resource configuration as well as neighboring cells). A sc-mtchinfolist message can provide configuration information associated with each SCMTCH in current cell, including: group RNTI ("G-RNTI"); MBMSsessionlnfo; scmtch-schedulinginfo; sc-mtch-neighborcell; and scptm-neighboucellinfolist. …. The sc-mtch-neighborcell can include a bitmap to indicate which neighboring cell is providing ongoing session. The scptm-neighboucellinfolist can include a celllD and frequency. Fig.1-8 & ¶0045 - first process can specify that configuration information of all ongoing MBS sessions is sent via PTM on a common control channel in a periodic fashion with a configurable repetition period and a modification period irrespective of RRC state…. any UE who is interested in receiving MBS services can first acquire configuration information on the common control channel and then configure/setup PTM bearer(s) for reception of corresponding sessions. This applies irrespective of whether the UE is in a RRC_CONNECTED, a RRC_IDLE, or a RRC_INACTIVE state. ¶0046 - the common control channel can be periodically broadcast in a system information block ("SIB"). ….the SIB can be signaled to UE on-demand (e.g., upon request from UEs in a RRC_IDLE/RRC_INACTIVE state), which perform a Random Access ("RA") procedure, without entering a RRC Connected state, to get the configuration information. Fig.1-8 & ¶0047 - common control channel can be a new PTM downlink control channel ("DCCH") (e.g., a newly defined multicast broadcast common control channel ("MBCCH")), which may be carried on the physical downlink shared channel ("POSCH") used for PTM. The scheduling information of this common control channel (e.g., repetition period, modification period, first subframe, offset, and DRX parameters that allows UEs to know when to monitor for acquisition) can be provided in another SIB whose scheduling information is known by UEs in the cell (e.g., provided in SIB1)); transmit information regarding a frequency to be used for the UE to receive the one or more MBS services in the one or more neighboring cells (Fig.1-8 & ¶0003- The control information signaling mechanism allows a communication device (also referred to as a user equipment ("UE")) to have a point-to-multipoint ("PTM") configuration and to configure radio bearers for reception of MBMS traffic in all radio resource control ("RRC") states. Fig.1-8 & ¶0005 – The SC-MCCH can be periodically sent with configurable repetition period (e.g., every 20ms). One SC-MCCH (e.g., a RRC SCPTMConfiguration message) can include information usable to decode single cell multicast traffic channel ("SC-MTCH") service data units ("SDUs") on down link shared channel ("DLSCH")/physical downlink shared channel ("PDSCH") (e.g., information indicating all ongoing sessions and their resource configuration as well as neighboring cells). A sc-mtchinfolist message can provide configuration information associated with each SCMTCH in current cell, including: group RNTI ("G-RNTI"); MBMSsessionlnfo; scmtch-schedulinginfo; sc-mtch-neighborcell; and scptm-neighboucellinfolist. …. The sc-mtch-neighborcell can include a bitmap to indicate which neighboring cell is providing ongoing session. The scptm-neighboucellinfolist can include a celllD and frequency. Also see ¶0045-¶0046);
Yet, Pham Van441 does not expressly teach transmit configuration information to be used for the UE to determine whether the one or more MBS services are provided in the one or more neighboring cells at a time of cell reselection; transmit data associated with the one or more MBS services based on the information regarding the frequency via a cell reselected by the UE in the RRC inactive state or the RRC idle state, and wherein the RRC inactive state or the RRC idle state is transitioned to an RRC connected state based on a comparison between a threshold and Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) or Reference Signal Received Quality (RSRQ) of a serving cell, and the threshold for at least one of the RSRP or the RSRQ is configured per MBS session.
However, in the field of endeavor, Sugawara explicitly discloses transmit configuration information to be used for the UE to determine whether the one or more MBS services are provided in the one or more neighboring cells at a time of cell reselection; transmit data associated with the one or more MBS services based on the information regarding the frequency via a cell reselected by the UE in the RRC inactive state or the RRC idle state (Fig. 7-9 & ¶0104 - As a result of the Cell Reselection (Procedure 2) of FIG. 7), the mobile station 20a in the idle mode receives, demodulates and/or decodes the Physical Downlink Synchronization Channel (PSCH) and the Physical Broadcast Channel (PBCH) for the base station 10b. Moreover, the mobile station 20a knows that the provision of the MBMS service via the SCPTM transmission is being performed in the base station 10b. This knowledge is obtained from the MBMS-related information broadcasted by the base station 10b (Procedure 1 of FIG. 8, FIG. 7--Procedure 3)). The MBMS-related information is included in the BCCH (Broadcast Control Channel) or the MCCH (Multicast Control Channel), which is the logical channel, and is mapped to the Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH). It should be noted that the MBMS-related information includes advertising information indicating that the provision of the MBMS service via the SCPTM transmission is being performed in the base station 10b, and in addition, an MBMS request trigger criterion. Fig. 7-9 & ¶0106 - mobile station 20a confirms whether or not the transmission of the MBMS service is actually being performed in this cell, and judges whether or not to perform the MBMS request (FIG. 8--Procedure 2). This judgment is performed by the MBMS request unit 208. This MBMS request signaling is transmitted by using the contention based random access. Fig. 7-9 & ¶0108 - if the transmission of the MBMS service desired to be received is not being performed, in order to transmit the MBMS request (an MBMS service transmission request message), the mobile station 20a transmits a Message 1 (Msg. 1), to the base station 10b (FIG. 8--Procedure 3). Moreover, if, while the transmission of the MBMS service desired to be received is being performed, the following condition (an MBMS request transmission condition) is satisfied, in order to transmit the MRMS request MBMS service feedback request message), the Message 1 is transmitted to the base station 10b (FIG. 8--Procedure 3). Fig. 7-9 & ¶0111 - Condition 3) a case where the downlink channel condition (or quality) of the mobile station itself is equal to or less than (or less than) a threshold broadcasted by the base station 10b. Fig. 7-9 & ¶0113 - The mobile station 20a measures the Physical Downlink Synchronization Channel (PSCH) and the Downlink Pilot Channel (DPiCH) for the base station 10b, through the cell selection/reselection (Procedure 2) of FIG. 7). Fig. 7-9 & ¶0115 - b) a received power value of the Physical Downlink Synchronization Channel (PSCH), and a received power value of the Downlink Pilot Channel (DPiCH) (RSRP: Reference Signal Received Power), which have been calculated from the correlation values (for example, a dBm value, an mW value). Fig. 7-9 & ¶0118 - The mobile station 20a uses one or more of these measurement results to perform comparison with the threshold broadcasted by the base station 10b, and judges the downlink channel condition (or quality) Then, if the measurement result is equal to or less than (or less than) a predetermined threshold, the mobile station 20a transmits the Message 1 to the base station 10b, in order to transmit the MBMS request (the MBMS service feedback request message). Fig. 7-9 & ¶0120 - since the base station 10b broadcasts information (the MBMS request trigger criterion: MBMS Trigger Criteria; Criterion (3) as disclosed in ¶0123/¶0129 & Criterion (4) as disclosed in ¶0124/¶0130) for controlling a frequency of occurrence of the MBMS request, … the mobile station can control the frequency of occurrence of the MBMS request. Fig. 7-9 & ¶0129 - only the mobile station which is larger than (or equal to or larger than) the threshold transmits the MBMS request (the MBMS service feedback request). It should be noted that this threshold may be a common value for all the cells which provide the MBMS service via the SCPTM transmission. Fig. 7-9 & ¶0130 - only the mobile station which is larger than (or equal to or larger than) the threshold transmits the MBMS request (the MBMS service feedback request). It should be noted that this threshold may also be a common value for all the cells which provide the MBMS service via the SCPTM transmission. Also, see steps S1-S6 in Fig. 9, see snapshots reproduced next), and wherein the RRC inactive state or the RRC idle state is transitioned to an RRC connected state based on a comparison between a threshold and Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) or Reference Signal Received Quality (RSRQ) of a serving cell (Fig. 7-9 & ¶0104 - As a result of the Cell Reselection (Procedure 2) of FIG. 7), the mobile station 20a in the idle mode receives, demodulates and/or decodes the Physical Downlink Synchronization Channel (PSCH) and the Physical Broadcast Channel (PBCH) for the base station 10b. Moreover, the mobile station 20a knows that the provision of the MBMS service via the SCPTM transmission is being performed in the base station 10b. This knowledge is obtained from the MBMS-related information broadcasted by the base station 10b (Procedure 1 of FIG. 8, FIG. 7--Procedure 3)). The MBMS-related information is included in the BCCH (Broadcast Control Channel) or the MCCH (Multicast Control Channel), which is the logical channel, and is mapped to the Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH). It should be noted that the MBMS-related information includes advertising information indicating that the provision of the MBMS service via the SCPTM transmission is being performed in the base station 10b, and in addition, an MBMS request trigger criterion. Fig. 7-9 & ¶0106 - mobile station 20a confirms whether or not the transmission of the MBMS service is actually being performed in this cell, and judges whether or not to perform the MBMS request (FIG. 8--Procedure 2). This judgment is performed by the MBMS request unit 208. This MBMS request signaling is transmitted by using the contention based random access. Fig. 7-9 & ¶0108 - if the transmission of the MBMS service desired to be received is not being performed, in order to transmit the MBMS request (an MBMS service transmission request message), the mobile station 20a transmits a Message 1 (Msg. 1), to the base station 10b (FIG. 8--Procedure 3). Moreover, if, while the transmission of the MBMS service desired to be received is being performed, the following condition (an MBMS request transmission condition) is satisfied, in order to transmit the MRMS request MBMS service feedback request message), the Message 1 is transmitted to the base station 10b (FIG. 8--Procedure 3). Fig. 7-9 & ¶0111 - Condition 3) a case where the downlink channel condition (or quality) of the mobile station itself is equal to or less than (or less than) a threshold broadcasted by the base station 10b. Fig. 7-9 & ¶0113 - The mobile station 20a measures the Physical Downlink Synchronization Channel (PSCH) and the Downlink Pilot Channel (DPiCH) for the base station 10b, through the cell selection/reselection (Procedure 2) of FIG. 7). Fig. 7-9 & ¶0115 - b) a received power value of the Physical Downlink Synchronization Channel (PSCH), and a received power value of the Downlink Pilot Channel (DPiCH) (RSRP: Reference Signal Received Power), which have been calculated from the correlation values (for example, a dBm value, an mW value). Fig. 7-9 & ¶0118 - The mobile station 20a uses one or more of these measurement results to perform comparison with the threshold broadcasted by the base station 10b, and judges the downlink channel condition (or quality) Then, if the measurement result is equal to or less than (or less than) a predetermined threshold, the mobile station 20a transmits the Message 1 to the base station 10b, in order to transmit the MBMS request (the MBMS service feedback request message). Fig. 7-9 & ¶0120 - since the base station 10b broadcasts information (the MBMS request trigger criterion: MBMS Trigger Criteria; Criterion (3) as disclosed in ¶0123/¶0129 & Criterion (4) as disclosed in ¶0124/¶0130) for controlling a frequency of occurrence of the MBMS request, … the mobile station can control the frequency of occurrence of the MBMS request. Fig. 7-9 & ¶0129 - only the mobile station which is larger than (or equal to or larger than) the threshold transmits the MBMS request (the MBMS service feedback request). It should be noted that this threshold may be a common value for all the cells which provide the MBMS service via the SCPTM transmission. Fig. 7-9 & ¶0130 - only the mobile station which is larger than (or equal to or larger than) the threshold transmits the MBMS request (the MBMS service feedback request). It should be noted that this threshold may also be a common value for all the cells which provide the MBMS service via the SCPTM transmission. Also, see steps S1-S6 in Fig. 9, see snapshots reproduced next), and the threshold for at least one of the RSRP or the RSRQ is configured per MBS session (Fig. 7-9 & ¶0129 - only the mobile station which is larger than (or equal to or larger than) the threshold <See ¶0115/¶0118> transmits the MBMS request (the MBMS service feedback request). It should be noted that this threshold may be a common value for all the cells which provide the MBMS service via the SCPTM transmission. Fig. 7-9 & ¶0130 - only the mobile station which is larger than (or equal to or larger than) the threshold <See ¶0115/¶0118> transmits the MBMS request (the MBMS service feedback request). It should be noted that this threshold may also be a common value for all the cells which provide the MBMS service via the SCPTM transmission).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Pham Van441’s invention of radio multicast/broadcast reception by a communication device in idle/inactive state in a wireless communication network to include Sugawara’s invention of a system and a method for supporting MBMS (Multimedia Broadcast Multicast Service) services for cells supporting both unicast transmission and MBMS transmission in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient and a flexible mechanism for supporting simultaneous services of both unicast transmission and MBMS transmission by using either SCPTM <Single-Cell Point-to-Multipoint) transmission> or MBSFN <Multimedia Broadcast multicast service Single Frequency Network> transmission for a plurality of users as served by a plurality of cells operating in the wireless communication system. (¶0007 & Fig. 7, Sugawara)
Re. Claims 38 and 45, Pham Van441 and Sugawara teach claims 37 and 44.
Yet, Pham Van441 do not expressly teach wherein level of mobility support for continuing receiving the one or more MBS services when performing the cell reselection is configurable per MBS service, and/or per UE, or both per the MBS service and per the UE.
However, in the field of endeavor, Sugawara explicitly discloses wherein level of mobility support for continuing receiving the one or more MBS services when performing the cell reselection is configurable per MBS service (Fig. 7-9 & ¶0129 - only the mobile station which is larger than (or equal to or larger than) the threshold <See ¶0115/¶0118> transmits the MBMS request (the MBMS service feedback request). It should be noted that this threshold may be a common value for all the cells which provide the MBMS service via the SCPTM transmission. Fig. 7-9 & ¶0130 - only the mobile station which is larger than (or equal to or larger than) the threshold <See ¶0115/¶0118> transmits the MBMS request (the MBMS service feedback request). It should be noted that this threshold may also be a common value for all the cells which provide the MBMS service via the SCPTM transmission.), and/or per UE, or both per the MBS service and per the UE.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Pham Van441’s invention of radio multicast/broadcast reception by a communication device in idle/inactive state in a wireless communication network to include Sugawara’s invention of a system and a method for supporting MBMS (Multimedia Broadcast Multicast Service) services for cells supporting both unicast transmission and MBMS transmission in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient and a flexible mechanism for supporting simultaneous services of both unicast transmission and MBMS transmission by using either SCPTM <Single-Cell Point-to-Multipoint) transmission> or MBSFN <Multimedia Broadcast multicast service Single Frequency Network> transmission for a plurality of users as served by a plurality of cells operating in the wireless communication system. (¶0007 & Fig. 7, Sugawara)
Re. Claims 39 and 46, Pham Van441 and Sugawara teach claims 37 and 44.
Pham Van441 further teaches wherein the system information is a system information block (SIB). (Fig.1-8 & ¶0004 - UE reads system information block 20 ("SIB20") to know how/where/when single cell multicast control channel ("SC-MCCH") is sent. For example, scheduling information of SC-MCCH can include, for example: first subframe, offset; interval or repetition period; modification period; ¶0046 - the common control channel can be periodically broadcast in a system information block ("SIB"). ….the SIB can be signaled to UE on-demand (e.g., upon request from UEs in a RRC_IDLE/RRC_INACTIVE state), which perform a Random Access ("RA") procedure, without entering a RRC Connected state, to get the configuration information.).
Re. Claims 40 and 47, Pham Van441 and Sugawara teach claims 37 and 44.
Pham Van441 further teaches wherein the measurement configuration parameters comprise at least one of one or more thresholds, carrier frequencies for measurement, frequency band lists, beam related measurement parameters, durations for measurement, lists of cells for measurement (Fig.1-8 & ¶0005 – The SC-MCCH can be periodically sent with configurable repetition period (e.g., every 20ms). One SC-MCCH (e.g., a RRC SCPTMConfiguration message) can include information usable to decode single cell multicast traffic channel ("SC-MTCH") service data units ("SDUs") on down link shared channel ("DLSCH")/physical downlink shared channel ("PDSCH") (e.g., information indicating all ongoing sessions and their resource configuration as well as neighboring cells). A sc-mtchinfolist message can provide configuration information associated with each SCMTCH in current cell, including: group RNTI ("G-RNTI"); MBMSsessionlnfo; scmtch-schedulinginfo; sc-mtch-neighborcell; and scptm-neighboucellinfolist. …. The sc-mtch-neighborcell can include a bitmap to indicate which neighboring cell is providing ongoing session. The scptm-neighboucellinfolist can include a celllD and frequency. Also, Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “at least one of” and “or” in the limitation), or a number of synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) for cell measurement derivation.
Re. Claims 43 and 50, Pham Van441 and Sugawara teach claims 37 and 44.
Pham Van441 further teaches wherein a quality of service (QoS) associated with an MBS bearer associated with an MBS service of the one or more MBS services indicates a level of service continuity requirement for the MBS bearer (Fig. 1-8 & ¶0042 - the UE and the network/gNB store, maintain, and update part or all of PTM configuration information of all MBS services the UE is currently receiving in a context. This context can be maintained independently from the UE MBS context or as part of UE MBS context. To allow the UE to enter a RRC_INACTIVE state, this context can be maintained independently from the UE Inactive Access Stratum ("AS") context or as part of UE Inactive AS context. The PTM configuration of a session is stored in the context until the UE leaves that session. When there is an update in PTM configuration of a session (e.g., a new cell joining the service area, a cell leaving the service area, change in quality of service ("QoS") parameters, or another UE leaving the session), the network informs UEs of the updated configuration. The context is updated when the UE leaves a session or joins a new session or there is a configuration update of any interested sessions. The context can be reused for reception of the same session in RRC_IDLE/RRC_INACTIVE state. The context can also be used to support mobility and service continuity (e.g., allowing a UE to continue receiving the same service in a new cell with minimal interruption time). Fig. 1-8 & ¶0043 - in order for the UE to receive MBS services in a RRC_IDLE/RRC_INACTIVE state, the UE uses PTM configuration information of MBS session(s) it is interested in for performing radio bearer configuration. Fig. 1-8 & ¶0053 - the PTM configuration may only be sent when needed (e.g., when there is a change in session such as a new cell joining the service area, a cell moving out of the service area, a change in QoS parameters, or the last UE in a gNB leaves the session group)).
Claims 41 and 48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pham Van441, in view of Sugawara, further in view of Zhang et al. (2021/0219195), Zhang hereinafter.
Re. Claims 41 and 48, Pham Van441 and Sugawara teach claims 37 and 44.
Yet, Pham Van441 and Sugawara do not expressly teach wherein measuring the one or more neighboring cells comprises measuring one or more synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) and comparing received signal strengths of the one or more SSBs with one or more thresholds.
However, in the analogous art, Zhang explicitly discloses wherein measuring the one or more neighboring cells comprises measuring one or more synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) and comparing received signal strengths of the one or more SSBs with one or more thresholds. (Fig. 3 & ¶0045 - BS 110 may transmit information 310 indicating one or more thresholds for a cell quality metric to the UE 120. In some aspects, the information 310 may indicate thresholds for multiple cell quality metrics, and the UE 120 may use the multiple cell quality metrics to select candidate or selected cells. In some aspects, the cell quality metric may be used by the UE 120 to select a set of one or more candidate cells from a set of one or more neighbor cells. … the cell quality metric may be used by the UE 120 to select a set of one or more selected cells from the set of one or more candidate cells. In some aspects, the cell quality metric may be a reference signal received power (RSRP). In some aspects, the cell quality metric may be a reference signal received quality (RSRQ). In some aspects, the cell quality metric may be a signal-to-interference-and-noise ratio (SINR). In some aspects, the cell quality metric may be a combination of two or more of RSRP, RSRQ, and SINR. Fig. 3 & ¶0049 - in an operation 320, the UE 120 may determine the set of one or more candidate cells from the set of one or more neighbor cells. In some aspects, the UE 120 may determine the set of one or more candidate cells, for example, based at least in part on a threshold indicated by the information 310. For example, the UE 120 may determine the cell quality metric based at least in part on a cell quality metric of the top X strongest synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) of a cell, where X is an integer. The UE 120 may select, for the set of one or more candidate cells, one or more cells for which the cell quality metric satisfies the threshold indicated by the information 310.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Pham Van441’s invention of radio multicast/broadcast reception by a communication device in idle/inactive state in a wireless communication network and Sugawara’s invention of a system and a method for supporting MBMS (Multimedia Broadcast Multicast Service) services for cells supporting both unicast transmission and MBMS transmission in a wireless communication system to include Zhang’s invention of a system and a method for user equipment (UE) selection of candidate or selected cells in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for the UE in performing Layer 1 (physical layer) or a Layer 2 (medium access control (MAC) layer) inter-cell mobility operation, in turns, reduces latency and conserves higher-layer computing resources of the UE operating in the wireless communication system. (¶0002 - ¶0005, & Fig. 3, Zhang)
Claims 42 and 49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pham Van441, in view of Sugawara, further in view of Kim et al. (2023/0239660), Kim hereinafter.
Re. Claims 42 and 49, Pham Van441 and Sugawara teach claims 37 and 44.
Yet, Pham Van441 and Sugawara do not expressly teach wherein the information regarding the frequency comprises at least one of a bandwidth part identifier, a control resource set, or a numerology associated with the one or more MBS services.
However, in the analogous art, Kim explicitly discloses wherein the information regarding the frequency comprises at least one of a bandwidth part identifier, a control resource set, or a numerology associated with the one or more MBS services (Fig. 5-14 & ¶0139 - base station provides a service can serve a very wide frequency band like 1e-05. However, in order to provide a service to terminals having different capabilities, the wide frequency band may be divided into a plurality of partial bandwidths and managed as one cell. Fig. 5-14 & ¶0141 - When the synchronization is completed in the above, the terminal may check the master system information block (MIB) or minimum system information (MSI) to check the information of the control resource set (CORESEST), and may check initial access bandwidth part (BWP) information 1e-15 and 1e-20. …CORESET information refers to a location of a time/frequency transmission resource through which a control signal is transmitted from a base station, and for example, indicates a resource location through which a PDCCH channel is transmitted. That is, the CORESET information may be information indicating where the first system information (system information block 1 (SIB1)) is transmitted, and may indicate in which frequency/time resource the PDCCH is transmitted. In the above, when the terminal reads the first system information, the terminal may check information on the initial partial bandwidth (initial BWP). …when the terminal completes synchronization of the downlink signal with the base station and can receive the control signal, the terminal may perform a random access procedure in the initial partial bandwidth (initial BWP) of the cell on which the terminal camps, request RRC connection configuration, and receive an RRC message to perform RRC connection configuration. Fig. 5-14 & ¶0198 - when the base station or network supports the MBS service to the terminal, bearer configuration information for the MBS service or transmission resource information (e.g., time resource or frequency resource, bandwidth, frequency, partial bandwidth (or partial bandwidth identifier), subcarrier interval, transmission resource period, RNTI identifier for each MBS service, or logical channel identifier for each MBS service) for the MBS service may be configured to the terminal in system information… Fig. 5-14 & ¶0213 - (1-1)th MBS reception method 1h-10: In the (1-1)th MBS reception method (1h-10) of FIG. 8, a separate physical channel or transmission channel (e.g., MBCH, MBS channel) for the MBS service is configured, and a separate transmission resource (frequency or time resource, transmission period, partial bandwidth (orpartial bandwidth identifier), bandwidth,dedicated frequency (frequency information or SCell identifier)…. The first logical channel identifier space and the second logical channel identifier space may be distinguished as MBS channels or DL-SCH channels or transmission resources (frequency or time transmission resource, frequency information, partial bandwidth identifier, partial bandwidth configuration information, dedicated carrier or dedicated cell (SCell) identifier, or dedicated cell information) in the MAC layer device, or may be distinguished by using different RNTIs. Fig. 5-14 & ¶0214 - (1-2)th MBS reception method 1h-10: In the (1-2)th MBS reception method 1h-10 of FIG. 8, separate physical channel or transport channel (e.g., MBCH, MBS channel) for the MBS service is configured in the system information or RRC messages (e.g., RRCSetup, RRCResume, RRCReconfiguration, RRCRelease, or a newly defined new RRC message) or a control message for an MBS channel (e.g., transmitted in an MBS control data channel), and a separate transmission resource (frequency or time resource, transmission period, partial bandwidth (or partial bandwidth identifier), bandwidth, dedicated frequency (frequency information or SCell identifier)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Pham Van441’s invention of radio multicast/broadcast reception by a communication device in idle/inactive state in a wireless communication network and Sugawara’s invention of a system and a method for supporting MBMS (Multimedia Broadcast Multicast Service) services for cells supporting both unicast transmission and MBMS transmission in a wireless communication system to include Kim’s invention of a system and a method for supporting multicast or unicast in a next generation mobile communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for MBS services (multicast, broadcast service, multimedia broadcast and multicast service (MBMS) in order to support services such as a broadcast (broadcast/multicast) service, a mission critical service, a public safety service by using multicast bearer or a unicast bearer for user equipment (UEs) operating in the next generation mobile communication system. (¶0002-¶0007, Kim)
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s argument in regards to Nonstatutory Double Patenting issue (provisional) as filed on 12/18/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant is requested to submit a terminal disclaimer (TD) to overcome the Nonstatutory Double Patenting rejection as mentioned supra.
A rejection based on a nonstatutory type of double patenting can be avoided by filing a terminal disclaimer in the application or proceeding in which the rejection is made. In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Knohl, 386 F.2d 476, 155 USPQ 586 (CCPA 1967); and In re Griswold, 365 F.2d 834, 150 USPQ 804 (CCPA 1966). The use of a terminal disclaimer in overcoming a nonstatutory double patenting rejection is in the public interest because it encourages the disclosure of additional developments, the earlier filing of applications, and the earlier expiration of patents whereby the inventions covered become freely available to the public. In re Jentoft, 392 F.2d 633, 157 USPQ 363 (CCPA 1968); In re Eckel, 393 F.2d 848, 157 USPQ 415 (CCPA 1968); In re Braithwaite, 379 F.2d 594, 154 USPQ 29 (CCPA 1967). See MPEP 804.02.
Applicant's arguments for §103 as filed on 12/18/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding remarks in pages 3-7 for independent claim 37:
Earlier prior arts (Zhu425 [Wingdings font/0xF3]2023/0027425; Zhu566. [Wingdings font/0xF3] 2021/0185566; Zhu471 [Wingdings font/0xF3]2021/0289471) are NOT used in the instant application, hence, moot.
Similar, arguments are applicable to independent claims 44 and 51-52.
For these reasons, it is maintained that independent claim 37 is unpatentable over Pham Van441 <2023/0239661, provisional application 63/045,441 [Wingdings font/0xF3] new reference, see PTO-892>, in view of Sugawara (2010/0309836 [Wingdings font/0xF3] new reference, as submitted in IDS as of 06/16/2026).
For similar reasons, it is maintained that independent claims 44 and 51-52 are unpatentable over Pham Van441 <2023/0239661, provisional application 63/045,441 [Wingdings font/0xF3] new reference, see PTO-892>, in view of Sugawara (2010/0309836 [Wingdings font/0xF3] new reference, as submitted in IDS as of 06/16/2026).
As all other dependent claims depend either directly or indirectly from the independent claims 37 and 44, similar rationale also applies to all respective dependent claims.
Conclusion
/MOHAMMED S CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467