DETAILED ACTION
Claim(s) 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hopkins et al (US Pat No 8,602,669) in view of Hirabayashi (US Pub No 2015/0014474).
Regarding claim 1, Hopkins discloses a feed tray configured to be detachably inserted to a housing of an image forming apparatus, the feed tray comprising:
a first accommodation portion (121) configured to accommodate a roll body in which a sheet- shaped medium is rolled;
a side guide (65) configured to be movable to be contactable with the sheet-shaped medium located within the introduction path.
It is noted that Hopkins fails to disclose the bottom wall and member. However, Hirabayashi discloses a bottom wall (25) as an introduction path for guiding the sheet shaped medium unrolled from the roll body in a guiding direction; and a member (141) opposed to it, defining an upper surface of the introduction path. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the device of Hopkins with the teachings of Hirabayashi to achieve the predictable result of guiding the sheet while the sheet is transported by a guide surface to the side guide correcting device.
Regarding claim 2, Hopkins discloses the side guide is contactable with: at least one end of the roll body accommodated in the first accommodation portion in an axial direction of the roll body; or at least one end of the sheet-shaped medium unrolled from the roll body in the axial direction.
Regarding claim 3, both Hopkins and Hirabayashi disclose a first and second side wall (24 of Hirabayshi, and the frame shown in figures 3 and 4 of Hopkins).
Regarding claim 4, both Hopkins and Hirabayashi disclose wherein the first side wall and the second side wall are arranged to face each other and configured to extend in the guiding direction.
Regarding claim 5, Hopkins discloses wherein the side guide is located at a position between the first side wall and the second side wall, and wherein the side guide is configured to be movable in a direction from the first side wall towards the second side wall to be contactable with the sheet-shaped medium located within the introduction path (via 66).
Regarding claim 6, Hopkins discloses wherein the side guide is movable in an axial direction of the roll body independently from movement of the first side wall and the second side wall (via 66).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Cited art generally discloses features believed to be pertinent to the applicant’s claimed invention.
/Patrick Cicchino/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619