DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 8, 11, and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Underkofler US9920525.
Claim 1. Underkofler discloses an acoustic baffle system comprising: an acoustic baffle coupler comprising: a body (11) comprising an upper end (at 33) and a lower end (at 38); a slot (36) defined in the upper end and extending from a first end to a second end of the body; and a channel (18) defined in the lower end and extending from the first end to the second end of the body (Fig.2); an acoustic baffle (12) secured into the channel of the acoustic baffle coupler; and one or more fasteners (46) disposed within the slot of the acoustic baffle coupler to secure the acoustic baffle system to a ceiling (Fig.1 and 9).
Claim 8. Underkofler discloses lateral sides of the channel comprises sufficient strength to prevent bowing of the lateral sides when the acoustic baffle is inserted into the channel (Fig.2).
Claim 11. Underkofler discloses the body of the acoustic baffle coupler is aluminum (Col.3:14).
Claim 14. Underkofler discloses a clip (41) that is configured to couple adjacent acoustic baffle couplers.
Claim 15. Underkofler discloses an acoustic baffle coupler comprising: a body (11) comprising an upper end and a lower end; a slot (between 32) defined in the upper end and extending from a first end to a second end of the body; and a channel (18) defined in the lower end and extending from the first end to the second end of the body, wherein the channel is configured to receive and secure an acoustic baffle (12, Fig.1 and 9).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bailey US12173502.
Claim 1. Bailey discloses an acoustic baffle coupler comprising: a body (560) comprising an upper end and a lower end; a slot (occupied 520) defined in the upper end and extending from a first end to a second end of the body; and a channel (between 540) defined in the lower end and extending from the first end to the second end of the body, wherein the channel is configured to and capable of receiving and secure an acoustic baffle (Fig.5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Underkofler US9920525 as applied to claim 1 above.
Claim 9 and 10. Underkofler fail to disclose the channel has a width around one inch or around half inch, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to provide the width around one inch or around half inch to accommodate a standard acoustic baffle since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art.
Claims 5, 6, 7, 16, 17, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Underkofler US9920525 as applied to claim 1 and 15 above, in view of Bailey US12173502.
Claim 5, 6, 16, and 17. Underkofler discloses a retention clip (16) for holding an acoustical panel (12) but fail to disclose the channel further comprises a plurality of teeth that extend inward from lateral sides of the channel. Bailey before the filing date of the instant invention discloses a channel for holding acoustic baffle with a plurality of teeth that extend inward from lateral sides such that the plurality of teeth allow movement of the acoustic baffle into the channel but prevent movement of the acoustic baffle out of the channel (Fig.4-5 at 468 and 568). Both Underkofler and Bailey disclose a means for securing an acoustical panel, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to substitute one for the other with the motivation of reducing manufacturing cost associated with producing an extra component, as a person with ordinary skill has good reason to pursue known options within his or her technical grasp.
.
Claim 7 and 18. Underkofler as modified discloses each lateral side of the channel comprise three teeth that are vertically spaced apart from each other and have a height that corresponds to a tooth from the other lateral side (as shown in Fig.5 of Bailey).
Claim 19. Underkofler as modified discloses the plurality of teeth each comprise a triangular cross-section (as shown in Fig.5 of Bailey).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 20 is allowed.
Claims 2-4, 12, and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the closest prior art of record fails to teach or adequately suggest the combination of characteristics specified in the independent claim, especially the requirement of a substance concerning a recess defined in a lower surface of the slot that extends from the first end to the second end of the body, hence there is no cogent reasoning that is unequivocally independent of hindsight that would have led one of ordinary skill in the art at the time.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Refer to attached NOTICE OF REFERENCE CITED.
BABAJIDE A. DEMUREN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3633
/BABAJIDE A DEMUREN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3633