DETAILED ACTION
2. Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1, 17 and 20 are independent.
3. Two IDS’es submitted on 5/6/2025 and 1/28/2026 have been considered.
Claim Objections
4. Claims 6-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claims but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
7. Claim 1-5 and 9-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Jain (US PG. Pub 2021/0092036).
As regarding claims 1, 17 and 20, Jain discloses A system, comprising:
a processor [para. 41 and 43]; and
a memory operatively coupled with the processor, wherein the memory comprises processor-executable instructions which, when executed by the processor, cause the processor [para. 41 and 43] to:
obtain information corresponding to each of a plurality of encrypted transport protocol packets transferred between a client endpoint and a server endpoint via a transport protocol connection in a network, wherein the plurality of encrypted transport protocol packets comprises requests transferred from the client endpoint to the server endpoint and responses transferred from the server endpoint to the client endpoint [para. 4, 8 and 51; monitoring network even encrypted traffic involves obtaining requests from client and responses from server using HTTPS or QUIC];
determine, based on the obtained information, a set of features from each of the plurality of encrypted transport protocol packets within the transport protocol connection [para. 51 and 53; determining object-level data from the encrypted network traffic];
analyze the determined set of features and associated network traffic [para. 51-58; analyzing data, e.g. request/response size or time, from network traffic];
generate a set of attributes based on the analyzed set of features and the associated network traffic [para. 51-58; analyzing data, e.g. request/response size or time, from network traffic]; and
transmit the generated set of attributes to a match engine to generate request-response pairs [para. 53 and 58; generating request-response pair based on matching time metric data].
As regarding claims 2 and 18, Jain further discloses The system of claim 1, wherein the processor is to analyze the determined set of features by associating the requests with corresponding responses [para. 51-58; analyzing data, e.g. request/response size or time, from network traffic].
As regarding claims 3 and 19, Jain further discloses The system of claim 2, wherein the processor is to associate the requests with the corresponding responses by:
identifying the requests transferred from the client endpoint to the server endpoint in the transport protocol connection; estimating the responses transferred from the server endpoint to the client endpoint in the transport protocol connection; and matching, via the match engine, each request with a corresponding response to generate request-response pairs [para. 51-58; analyzing data, e.g. request/response size or time, from network traffic to generate request-response pair based on matching time metric data].
As regarding claim 4, Jain further discloses The system of claim 3, wherein the processor is to match each request with the corresponding response based on network-dependent constraints of at least one feature in the set of features [para. 52-53 and 58; generating request-response pair based on matching time metric data].
As regarding claim 5, Jain further discloses The system of claim 2, wherein the processor is to detect multiplexing of the requests by the client endpoint and the responses by the server endpoint, and wherein the processor is to associate the requests with the corresponding responses by matching, via the match engine, a number of the requests and a number of the responses as a group to generate a super request-response pair [para. 52-53; grouping number of objects].
As regarding claim 9, Jain further discloses The system of claim 1, wherein the set of attributes comprises attributes associated with individual messages in the transport protocol connection [para. 51-58; time data associated with requests and responses].
As regarding claim 10, Jain further discloses The system of claim 1, wherein the set of attributes comprises attributes associated with the transport protocol connection [para. 51-58; time data associated with requests and responses].
As regarding claim 11, Jain further discloses The system of claim 1, wherein the set of attributes comprises attributes associated with an application utilizing the transport protocol connection [para. 63; attributes associated with video streaming application].
As regarding claim 12, Jain further discloses The system of claim 5, wherein in case of multiplexing of the requests and the responses, the set of attributes for each grouped request-response pair comprises attributes associated with the plurality of requests and responses in the grouped request-response pair [para. 52-53; grouping number of objects].
As regarding claim 13, Jain further discloses The system of claim 1, wherein the transport protocol connection is a Quick User Datagram Protocol (UDP) Internet Connection (QUIC) between the client endpoint and the server endpoint, and wherein the plurality of encrypted transport protocol packets comprises hypertext transfer protocol (HTTP) packets [para. 51].
As regarding claim 14, Jain further discloses The system of claim 1, wherein the processor is to generate the request-response pairs for each of online estimation and offline estimation [para. 52-53].
As regarding claim 15, Jain further discloses The system of claim 1, wherein the processor is to automatically determine maximum transfer size and round-trip time for the associated network traffic to generate the set of attributes [para. 70].
As regarding claim 16, Jain further discloses The system of claim 1, wherein the processor is to generate the set of attributes for one or more applications comprising at least one of video traffic, interactive web traffic, and bulk file upload and downlink traffic [para. 63; attributes associated with video streaming application].
Conclusion
/THONG TRUONG/
Examiner, Art Unit 2433
/JEFFREY C PWU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2433