UNITED STATES PATENT AND TRADEMARK OFFICE
UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE
United States Patent and Trademark Office
Address: COMMISSIONER FOR PATENTS
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, Virginia 22313-1450
www.uspto.gov
APPLICATION NO.
FILING DATE
FIRST NAMED INVENTOR
ATTORNEY DOCKET NO.
CONFIRMATION NO.
19/200,462
05/06/2025
ATSUSHI SUGAWARA
11023929US01
5817
34904
7590
05/13/2026
EXAMINER
CANON U.S.A. INC. INTELLECTUAL PROPERTY DIVISION
19500 JAMBOREE ROAD
SUITE 300
IRVINE, CA 92612
HERMANN, KIRK W
ART UNIT
PAPER NUMBER
2623
NOTIFICATION DATE
DELIVERY MODE
05/13/2026
ELECTRONIC
Please find below and/or attached an Office communication concerning this application or proceeding.
The time period for reply, if any, is set in the attached communication.
Notice of the Office communication was sent electronically on above-indicated "Notification Date" to the
following e-mail address(es):
cusaipdocketing@cusa.canon.com
mkavetsky@cusa.canon.com
skalminov@cusa.canon.com
PTOL-90A (Rev. 04/07)
Office Action Summary
Application No.
19/200,462
Applicant(s)
SUGAWARA, ATSUSHI
Examiner
KIRK W HERMANN
Art Unit
2623
AIA (First Inventor to
File) Status
Yes
- The MAILING DATE of this communication appears on the cover sheet with the correspondence address -
Period for Reply
A SHORTENED STATUTORY PERIOD FOR REPLY IS SET TO EXPIRE 3 MONTHS FROM THE MAILING
DATE OF THIS COMMUNICATION.
Extensions of time may be available under the provisions of 37 CFR 1.136(a). In no event, however, may a reply be timely filed after SIX (6) MONTHS from the mailing
date of this communication.
If NO period for reply is specified above, the maximum statutory period will apply and will expire SIX (6) MONTHS from the mailing date of this communication.
Failure to reply within the set or extended period for reply will, by statute, cause the application to become ABANDONED (35 U.S.C. § 133).
Any reply received by the Office later than three months after the mailing date of this communication, even if timely filed, may reduce any earned patent term
adjustment. See 37 CFR 1.704(b).
Status
1) Responsive to communication(s) filed on 26 March 2026.
2a) A declaration(s)/affidavit(s) under 37 CFR 1.130(b) was/were filed on
3) An election was made by the applicant in response to a restriction requirement set forth during the interview
on; the restriction requirement and election have been incorporated into this action.
4) Since this application is in condition for allowance except for formal matters, prosecution as to the merits is
closed in accordance with the practice under Ex parte Quayle, 1935 C.D. 11, 453 O.G. 213.
2b) This action is non-final.
This action is FINAL.
Disposition of Claims*
5) Claim(s) 1-17 is/are pending in the application.
6) 5a) Of the above claim(s) Claim(s) is/are withdrawn from consideration.
7) Claim(s) 1-17 is/are rejected.
8) Claim(s) is/are objected to.
9) Claim(s) are subject to restriction and/or election requirement
* If any claims have been determined allowable, you may be eligible to benefit from the Patent Prosecution Highway program at a
participating intellectual property office for the corresponding application. For more information, please see
http://www.uspto.gov/patents/init_events/pph/index.jsp or send an inquiry to PPHfeedback@uspto.gov.
Application Papers
10) The specification is objected to by the Examiner.
11) The drawing(s) filed on 06 May 2025 is/are: a)☑ accepted or b)☐ objected to by the Examiner.
Applicant may not request that any objection to the drawing(s) be held in abeyance. See 37 CFR 1.85(a).
Replacement drawing sheet(s) including the correction is required if the drawing(s) is objected to. See 37 CFR 1.121(d).
Priority under 35 U.S.C. § 119
12) Acknowledgment is made of a claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. § 119(a)-(d) or (f).
Certified copies:
a) All b) Some** c) None of the:
Certified copies of the priority documents have been received.
1.
2. Certified copies of the priority documents have been received in Application No.
3. Copies of the certified copies of the priority documents have been received in this National Stage
application from the International Bureau (PCT Rule 17.2(a)).
** See the attached detailed Office action for a list of the certified copies not received.
Attachment(s)
1) Notice of References Cited (PTO-892)
2) Information Disclosure Statement(s) (PTO/SB/08a and/or PTO/SB/08b)
Paper No(s)/Mail Date
U.S. Patent and Trademark Office
PTOL-326 (Rev. 11-13)
Office Action Summary
3) Interview Summary (PTO-413)
Paper No(s)/Mail Date
Other:
Part of Paper No./Mail Date 20260507
Continuation Sheet (PTOL-326)
Application No. 19/200,462
/KIRK W HERMANN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623
Application/Control Number: 19/200,462
Page 2
Art Unit: 2623
DETAILED ACTION
under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA.
2. Summary of Response
The 03/26/2026 response includes: (a) the specification is currently amended; (b)
claim 17 is new; (c) claims 1-2, 7, 9-10, 13 and 15-16 are currently amended; (d)
claims 3-6, 8, 11-12 and 14 are original; and (e) the grounds for rejection set forth in
the 01/09/2026 office action are traversed. Claims 1-17 are currently pending and an
office action follows:
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant's arguments file 03/26/2026 with respect to the prior art grounds of
rejection of claims 1-16 has been fully considered and is persuasive. Therefore, the
previously-stated prior art grounds of rejection is withdrawn. However, upon further
consideration, new grounds of rejection of claims 1-17 is made in view of newly-cited
U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2015/0341901 to Ryu et al. combined with previously-cited prior
art. Applicant's remarks appear to be moot in view of this new grounds of rejection.
Also, claims 1-14 and 17 are rejected based on 35 U.S.C. 112(b) due to a lack
antecedent basis issue found in claim 1.
4. Claim Rejections – 35 USC §112
pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor
regards as the invention.
Application/Control Number: 19/200,462
Page 3
Art Unit: 2623
claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention.
5. Claims 1-14 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-
AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and
distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for
applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 at line 9 includes "the head-mounted display” that lacks antecedent
basis. This grounds of rejection may be overcome, for example, by amending it to "the
head-mounted display device". Compare claim 1 at line 2 includes “a head-mounted
display device". Correction is required. This grounds of rejection applies to claims 2-14
and 17 that depend upon claim 1. For purposes of applying prior art, examiner is
interpreting this limitation as "the head-mounted display device".
6. Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action:
section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior
art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was
made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall
not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
7. Claims 1-2, 8-9 and 12-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being
unpatentable over Japan Patent Pub. No. 2009171505 A to Takano in view of U.S.
Patent Pub. No. 2015/0341901 to Ryu et al. (“Ryu”).
Application/Control Number: 19/200,462
Page 4
Art Unit: 2623
【図1】
(2)
えどマウントディスプレイ
セン
センサ
【一】
20
サラ部
【8】
ハンドスタンドディスプレイ
?
【12】
0
【図1】
As to claim 1, Takano discloses an information processing device (7, 3)(FIGs.
1-2, 14: 15; p 4, beginning - "A sub-display unit"; p 4, beginning - "The head
mounted display 1"; p 5, beginning - "Since each sensor"; p 11, 17, especially - "the
sub display unit may be connected wirelessly or by wire") connected to or integrated
with a head-mounted display device(4, 6)(FIGs. 1-2, 14; p 4, beginning – “The
support arm 5"), comprising:
a processor(15)(FIGs. 1-2, 14; p 5, beginning - "Further, as shown in FIG. 2");
the information processing device(7, 3)(FIGs. 1-2, 14: 15; p 4, beginning - "A sub-
display unit"; p 4, beginning – “The head mounted display 1"; p 5, beginning – “Since
each sensor") to:
Application/Control Number: 19/200,462
Page 5
Art Unit: 2623
【図1】
execute notification processing (FIG. 8; p, 8; beginning - "on the other hand")
of notifying a user of a state(battery level) (FIG. 8; p 3, beginning – “Preferably, the
power supply battery"; p, 8; beginning - "On the other hand"; p 8, beginning - "In the
use situation (C)") of a controller(7)(FIGs. 1-2, 12, 14: 8; p 5, beginning - 'The head
mounted display 1 includes a plurality of operation modes"; p 6, beginning - "That is,
the CPU 20"; p 9, 1st ; p 10, beginning - "When the area of the touch panel unit 8");
and
execute control processing (FIG. 2: 15, 20; p 6, beginning - "In step S <b>
21"; p 6, beginning - "In step S22"; p, 8; beginning – “on the other hand") of
controlling a display(7)(FIG. 8; p 6, beginning - "In step S <b> 21"; p 6, beginning
"In step S22"; p, 8; beginning - "on the other hand") of the controller(7)(FIG. 8; p 6,
beginning - "In step S <b> 21"; p 6, beginning - "In step S22"; p, 8; beginning - "on
the other hand") to have a first brightness (FIG. 8: 7's brightness; p 6, beginning
"In step S <b> 21"; p 6, beginning - "In step S22"; p, 8; beginning - "on the other
hand") when the controller(7) notifies the state(battery level)(FIG. 8; p 3, beginning
- "Preferably, the power supply battery"; p, 8; beginning - "On the other hand"; p 8,
beginning - "In the use situation (C)") of the controller(7)(FIGs. 1-2, 12, 14: 8; p 5,
beginning - 'The head mounted display 1 includes a plurality of operation modes"; p 6,
beginning - "That is, the CPU 20"; p 9, 1st ; p 10, beginning - "When the area of the
touch panel unit 8"); and of controlling the display(7) of the controller(7)(FIGs. 1-2,
14; p 7, beginning - "In the use situation (B) described above") to have a second
brightness(lower brightness or OFF/black)(FIG. 8: 7's brightness; p7, beginning - “In
the use situation (A) described above", especially - "when the head mounted display 1 is
Application/Control Number: 19/200,462
Page 6
Art Unit: 2623
in the wearing state, the user cannot observe the sub display unit 7. Therefore, the
CPU 20 suppresses or stops power to the sub display unit 7"; p 7, beginning - "In the
use situation (B) above"; p 7, last 11, especially - "when the remaining battery level of the
power source battery falls below a threshold value, the CPU 20 suppresses or stops
power supply to the sub display unit 7 in order to save power... the brightness of the sub
display 7 can be changed in stages, the brightness may be gradually reduced according
to the remaining battery level.") darker than the first brightness (FIG. 8: 7's
brightness; p 6, beginning - "In step S <b> 21"; p 6, beginning – “In step S22"; p, 8;
beginning - "on the other hand") when the head-mounted display device(4, 6)(FIGs.
1-2, 14; p 4, beginning – “The support arm 5") is being viewed by the user (FIGs. 1-2,
14; p 7, beginning "In the use situation (B) described above") is worn (p 7,
beginning - "In the use situation (A)”; p 7, beginning - "In the use situation (B)"; p 7,
last).
Takano does not expressly disclose and a memory storing a program which,
when executed by the processor, causes the information processing device to:
execute notification processing of selectively notifying a user of a state of a
controller either by the controller or by the head-mounted display device based
on a determination of whether the head-mounted display is to perform the
notification; and of controlling the display of the controller to have a second
brightness darker than the first brightness when the head-mounted display
device performs the notification instead of the controller.
Application/Control Number: 19/200,462
Page 7
Art Unit: 2623
FIG. 10
FIG. 7
START
OSTAN INFORMATION INDICATING WHETHER
WEARABLE DEVICE IS WORN BY A USER
$702-
$704
IS THERE
WEARABLE DEVICE IN WEARING
STATE
YES
NO
110
$706
REQUEST WEARABLE DEVICE IN WEARING
STATE TO PROVIDE NOTIFICATION
ELECTRONIC DEPACE PROVIDE
NOTIFICATION
END
110
FIG. 13
120-2
120
120-1
Ryu discloses and a memory(6920)(FIG. 69; 0449, 0451-0454) storing a
program (FIG. 69: 6920; 0457) which, when executed by the processor(6973)(FIG.
69: 6920; 0457), causes the information processing device(110c)(FIG. 69; [0449)
to: execute notification processing of selectively notifying a user of a state of a
controller(110)(FIGs. 7, 10, 13; 0139, 0146-0147, 0153-0155, 0174, especially - "the
notification... a low battery capacity", 0186-0188) either by the controller(110)(FIGs. 7,
10, 13; 0139, 0146-0147, 0153-0155, 0174, especially - "the notification...a low
battery capacity", 0186-0188) or by the head-mounted display device(120)(FIGs. 7,
10; 0140, 0146-0147, 0153-0155, 0174, especially - "the notification... a low
battery capacity", 0186-0188) based on a determination of whether the head-mounted
display(120)(FIGs. 7, 10; 0140, 0146-0147, 0153-0155, 0174, especially - "the
notification... a low battery capacity", 0186-0188) is to perform the notification (FIGs.
7, 10: 120; 0140, 0146-0147, 0153-0155, 0174, especially - "the notification... a low
battery capacity", 0186-0188); when the head-mounted display device(120)(FIGs. 7,
10;0140, 0146-0147, 0153-0155, 0174, especially - "the notification... a low battery
Application/Control Number: 19/200,462
Page 8
Art Unit: 2623
capacity", 0186-0188) performs the notification instead of the controller(110)(FIGs.
7, 10, 13; 0139, 0146-0147, 0153-0155, 0174, especially - “the notification...a low
battery capacity", 0186-0188).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been
obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Takano with Ryu to provide an
information processing device connected to or integrated with a head-mounted display
device that saves power and aids a user to view the notification (i.e., by displaying the
notification on the device the user is most likely to view it).
Takano and Ryu teach and of controlling the display of the controller to have
a second brightness darker than the first brightness when the head-mounted
display device performs the notification instead of the controller (Takano: FIGs. 1-
2, 8, 14: 4, 6, 7's brightness becomes lower or OFF/black; p 4, beginning - "The
support arm 5"; p 6, beginning – “In step S <b> 21"; p 6, beginning - "In step S22"; p
7, beginning - "In the use situation (A) described above", especially - "when the head
mounted display 1 is in the wearing state, the user cannot observe the sub display unit
7. Therefore, the CPU 20 suppresses or stops power to the sub display unit 7"; p 7,
beginning - "In the use situation (B) above"; p 7, last ¶¶, especially - "when the
remaining battery level of the power source battery falls below a threshold value, the
CPU 20 suppresses or stops power supply to the sub display unit 7 in order to save
power... the brightness of the sub display 7 can be changed in stages, the brightness
may be gradually reduced according to the remaining battery level.”; p, 8; beginning
"on the other hand"; Ryu: FIGs. 7, 10, 13: 110, 120; 0139, 0146-0147, 0153-0155,
0174, especially - "the notification... a low battery capacity”, 0186-0188).
Application/Control Number: 19/200,462
Page 9
Art Unit: 2623
As to claim 2, Takano and Ryu teach the information processing device
according to claim 1, as applied above.
Takano and Ryu further teach wherein the program, when executed by the
processor, further causes the information processing device to execute detection
processing of detecting that the user is looking at a display of the head-mounted
display device (Takano: FIGs. 1-2, 14: 15; p 4, beginning - "A sub-display unit"; p 4,
beginning - "The head mounted display 1"; p 5, 1-2; p 5, beginning - "Since each
sensor"; p 5, beginning - "Further, as shown in FIG. 2"; p 7, beginning - "In the use
situation (B) described above, when the main display unit 6"; Ryu: FIG. 69: 110c, 6920,
6973; 0146, 0149-0151, 0449, 0451-0454, 0457), and wherein, in the notification
processing, in a case where it is detected that the user is looking at the display of
the head-mounted display device, the state of the controller is notified by the
head-mounted display device (Takano: FIGs. 1-2, 8, 14: 7, battery level; p 3,
beginning - "Preferably, the power supply battery"; p 5, beginning - 'The head
mounted display 1 includes a plurality of operation modes"; p 6, beginning - "That is,
the CPU 20"; p 7, beginning – “In the use situation (B) described above, when the
main display unit 6"; p, 8; beginning - "On the other hand"; p 8, beginning - "In the
use situation (C)"; p 9, 1st ; p 10, beginning - "When the area of the touch panel unit
8"; Ryu: FIGs. 7, 10, 13: 110, 120; 0139-0140, 0146-0147, 0153-0155, 0174,
especially - "the notification... a low battery capacity", 0186-0188), and in a case where
it is not detected that the user is looking at the display of the head-mounted
display device, the state of the controller is notified by the controller (Takano:
Application/Control Number: 19/200,462
Page 10
Art Unit: 2623
FIGs. 1-2, 8, 12, 14: 7, battery level; p 3, beginning - "Preferably, the power supply
battery"; p 3, last ; p 5, beginning - 'The head mounted display 1 includes a plurality
of operation modes"; p 6, beginning - "That is, the CPU 20"; p, 8; beginning - "On the
other hand"; p 8, beginning - "In the use situation (C)"; p 9, 1st ; p 10, beginning
"When the area of the touch panel unit 8"; Ryu: FIGs. 7, 10, 13: 110, 120;0139-0140,
0146-0147, 0153-0155, 0174, especially - "the notification... a low battery capacity",
0186-0188).
The motivation to combine the additional teachings of Ryu is for the same
reasoning set forth above for claim 1.
As to claim 8, Takano and Ryu teach the information processing device
according to claim 1, as applied above.
Takano further discloses wherein the second brightness(OFF/black) is
brightness in an off state of the controller(7)(FIG. 8: 7's brightness; p 6, beginning
"That is, the CPU 20"; p 7, beginning - "In the use situation (A) described above",
especially - "when the head mounted display 1 is in the wearing state, the user cannot
observe the sub display unit 7. Therefore, the CPU 20 suppresses or stops power to
the sub display unit 7"; p 7, beginning - "In the use situation (B) above"; p 7, last 1,
especially - "when the remaining battery level of the power source battery falls below a
threshold value, the CPU 20 suppresses or stops power supply to the sub display unit 7
in order to save power).
Application/Control Number: 19/200,462
Page 11
Art Unit: 2623
As to claim 9, Takano and Ryu teach the information processing device
according to claim 1, as applied above.
Takano and Ryu further teach wherein, in the notification processing, in a
case where the state of the controller is notified by the head-mounted display
device in the notification processing, an icon or a message notifying the state of
the controller is displayed on a display of the head-mounted display device
(Takano: FIGs. 1-2, 8, 14: 7, battery level; p 3, beginning - "Preferably, the power
supply battery”; p 5, beginning – 'The head mounted display 1 includes a plurality of
operation modes"; p 6, beginning - "That is, the CPU 20"; p 7, beginning - "In the use
situation (B) described above, when the main display unit 6"; p, 8; beginning - "On the
other hand"; p 8, beginning - "In the use situation (C)"; p 9, 1st 1]; p 10, beginning
"When the area of the touch panel unit 8"; Ryu: FIGs. 7, 69: 6920, 6973; 0146-0147,
0156, especially - "the contents of the notification may include an icon...text"0188,
0457-0458).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been
obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Takano and Ryu with Ryu's
further teachings to provide an information processing device connected to or integrated
with a head-mounted display device that saves power and aids a user to view the
notification (i.e., by displaying the notification on the device the user is most likely to
view it and in a readily understandable format).
As to claim 12, Takano and Ryu teach the information processing device
according to claim 1, as applied above.
Application/Control Number: 19/200,462
Page 12
Art Unit: 2623
Ryu further discloses further comprising: a speaker(420)(FIGs. 2, 4: 210;
0145, 0163), wherein, in the notification processing (FIGs. 7, 10, 13: 110; 0139,
0146-0147, 0153-0155, 0174, especially - "the notification... a low battery capacity”,
0186-0188), in a case where the state(low battery capacity) (0174, 0309) of the
controller(110)(FIGs. 7, 10, 13; 0174, 0309) is notified by the head-mounted
display device(120)(FIGs. 7, 10, 13; 0174, 0188, 0201, 0309), the speaker outputs
a sound for notifying the state(low battery capacity) (990153, especially - "sound",
0156, especially - "sound", 0165, 0174, 0179, 0309) of the controller(110)(FIGs. 7, 10,
13; 0174, 0309).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been
obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Takano and Ryu teach with
Ryu's further teachings to provide an information processing device connected to or
integrated with a head-mounted display device that provides a user with improved
feedback that the controller's brightness has been adjusted by the head-mounted
display device (i.e., a user can perceive an audio notification when she/he is not looking
at the controller) so that the user knows the controller is operating properly to conserve
power.
As to claim 13, Takano and Ryu teach the information processing device
according to claim 1, as applied above.
Ryu further discloses further comprising: a vibration generator(410)(FIG. 4;
0163-0164), wherein, in the notification processing (FIGs. 7, 10, 13: 110; 0139,
0146-0147, 0153-0155, 0163-0164, 0174, especially - "the notification... a low battery
Application/Control Number: 19/200,462
Page 13
Art Unit: 2623
capacity", 0186-0188), in a case where the state(low battery capacity) (0174, 0309)
of the controller(110)(FIGs. 7, 10, 13; 0174, 0309) is notified by the head-
mounted display device(120)(FIGs. 6, 7, 10, 13: 620; 0179, especially - "vibration”,
0174, 0188, 0201, 0309), the vibration generator(410)(FIG. 4; 0163-0164)
generates a specific vibration for notifying the state of the controller(110)(FIGs. 7,
10, 13; 0163, 0164, especially - "vibration having a predetermined pattern", 0174,
0179, 0309).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been
obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Takano and Ryu teach with
Ryu's further teachings to provide an information processing device connected to or
integrated with a head-mounted display device that provides a user with improved
feedback that the controller's brightness has been adjusted by the head-mounted
display device (i.e., a user can perceive an vibration notification when she/he is not
looking at the controller) so that the user knows the controller is operating properly to
conserve power.
As to claim 14, Takano and Ryu teach the information processing device
according to claim 1, as applied above.
Takano and Ryu further teach wherein the state of the controller includes at
least one of remaining power capacity of the controller and¹ a communication
status between the controller and the head-mounted display device (Takano:
1 Note: the plain meaning of "at least one of remaining power capacity of the controller and a
communication status" includes both "remaining power of the controller" and "a communication status"
since "and" is used. Ex parte Jung, 2016-008290 (PTAB Mar. 22, 2017) citing SuperGuide Corp. v.
DirecTV Enters., Inc. 358 F.3d 870 (Fed. Cir. 2004).
Application/Control Number: 19/200,462
Page 14
Art Unit: 2623
FIGs. 1-2, 8, 12, 14: 4, 6, 7, 8, 20, battery level, when 7 is being worn, CPU/20 stops or
suppresses power to 7; p 3, beginning - "Preferably, the power supply battery"; p 5,
beginning - 'The head mounted display 1 includes a plurality of operation modes"; p 6,
beginning - "That is, the CPU 20"; p 6, last 1]; p, 8; beginning - "On the other hand"; p
7,12-15; p 8, beginning - "In the use situation (C)"; p 9, 1st ; p 10, beginning
"When the area of the touch panel unit 8"; Ryu: FIGs. 7, 10, 13, 110; 0139-0140,
0146-0147, 0153-0155, 0174, especially - "the notification... a low battery capacity",
0186-0188).
The motivation to combine the additional teachings of Ryu is for the same
reasoning set forth above for claim 1.
As to claim 15, Takano discloses a control method (p 12, 12-15) for an
information processing device (7, 3)(FIGs. 1-2, 14: 15; p 4, beginning - "A sub-
display unit"; p 4, beginning – “The head mounted display 1"; p 5, beginning – “Since
each sensor"; p 11, 117, especially - "the sub display unit may be connected wirelessly
or by wire") connected to or integrated with a head-mounted display device(4,
6)(FIGs. 1-2, 14; p 4, beginning – “The support arm 5"), the control method (p 12,
12-15) comprising:
notifying a user of a state(battery level) (FIG. 8; p 3, beginning - "Preferably,
the power supply battery"; p, 8; beginning - "On the other hand"; p 8, beginning – “In
the use situation (C)") of a controller(7)(FIGs. 1-2, 12, 14: 8; p 5, beginning - 'The
head mounted display 1 includes a plurality of operation modes"; p 6, beginning
Application/Control Number: 19/200,462
Page 15
Art Unit: 2623
"That is, the CPU 20"; p 9, 1st ; p 10, beginning - "When the area of the touch panel
unit 8"); and
controlling a display(7) (FIG. 8; p 6, beginning "In step S <b> 21"; p 6,
beginning - "In step S22"; p, 8; beginning - "on the other hand") of the
controller(7)(FIG. 8; p 6, beginning - "In step S <b> 21"; p 6, beginning - "In step
S22"; p, 8; beginning - "on the other hand") to have a first brightness (FIG. 8: 7's
brightness; p 6, beginning - "In step S <b> 21"; p 6, beginning – “In step S22"; p, 8;
beginning - "on the other hand") when the controller(7) notifies the state(battery
level) (FIG. 8; p 3, beginning – “Preferably, the power supply battery"; p, 8; beginning
"On the other hand"; p 8, beginning - "In the use situation (C)") of the
controller(7)(FIGs. 1-2, 12, 14: 8; p 5, beginning - 'The head mounted display 1
includes a plurality of operation modes"; p 6, beginning - "That is, the CPU 20"; p 9, 1st
; p 10, beginning - "When the area of the touch panel unit 8"), and controlling the
display(7) of the controller(7)(FIGs. 1-2, 14; p 7, beginning - "In the use situation (B)
described above") to have a second brightness(lower brightness or OFF/black)(FIG.
8: 7's brightness; p7, beginning - "In the use situation (A) described above", especially
- "when the head mounted display 1 is in the wearing state, the user cannot observe the
sub display unit 7. Therefore, the CPU 20 suppresses or stops power to the sub display
unit 7"; p 7, beginning - "In the use situation (B) above"; p 7, last 1, especially - "when
the remaining battery level of the power source battery falls below a threshold value, the
CPU 20 suppresses or stops power supply to the sub display unit 7 in order to save
power... the brightness of the sub display 7 can be changed in stages, the brightness
may be gradually reduced according to the remaining battery level.") darker than the
Application/Control Number: 19/200,462
Page 16
Art Unit: 2623
first brightness (FIG. 8: 7's brightness; p 6, beginning - "In step S <b> 21"; p 6,
beginning - "In step S22"; p, 8; beginning - "on the other hand") when the head-
mounted display device(4, 6)(FIGs. 1-2, 14; p 4, beginning - "The support arm 5") is
being viewed by the user (FIGs. 1-2, 14; p 7, beginning - "In the use situation (B)
described above") is worn (p 7, beginning - "In the use situation (A)”; p 7, beginning
"In the use situation (B)"; p 7, last 1) is worn (p 7, beginning - "In the use situation (A)”;
p 7, beginning - "In the use situation (B)"; p 7, last 1).
Takano does not expressly disclose notifying a user of a state of a controller
selectively either by the controller or by the head-mounted display device based
on a determination of whether the head-mounted display device is to perform the
notification; and controlling the display of the controller to have a second
brightness darker than the first brightness when the head-mounted display
device notifies performs the notification instead of the controller.
Ryu discloses notifying a user of a state of a controller(110)(FIGs. 7, 10, 13;
0139, 0146-0147, 0153-0155, 0174, especially - "the notification... a low battery
capacity", 0186-0188) selectively either by the controller(110)(FIGs. 7, 10, 13;
0139, 0146-0147, 0153-0155, 0174, especially - "the notification... a low battery
capacity", 0186-0188) or by the head-mounted display device(120)(FIGs. 7, 10;
0140, 0146-0147, 0153-0155, 0174, especially - "the notification... a low battery
capacity", 0186-0188) based on a determination of whether the head-mounted
display device(120)(FIGs. 7, 10; 0140, 0146-0147, 0153-0155, 0174, especially
"the notification... a low battery capacity", 0186-0188) is to perform the notification
(FIGs. 7, 10: 120;0140, 0146-0147, 0153-0155, 0174, especially - "the
Application/Control Number: 19/200,462
Page 17
Art Unit: 2623
notification... a low battery capacity", 0186-0188); when the head-mounted display
device(120)(FIGs. 7, 10; 0140, 0146-0147, 0153-0155, 0174, especially - "the
notification... a low battery capacity", 0186-0188) notifies performs the notification
instead of the controller(110)(FIGs. 7, 10, 13; 0139, 0146-0147, 0153-0155, 0174,
especially - "the notification... a low battery capacity", 0186-0188).
Takano and Ryu teach and controlling the display of the controller to have a
second brightness darker than the first brightness when the head-mounted
display device performs the notification instead of the controller (Takano: FIGs. 1-
2, 8, 14: 4, 6, 7's brightness becomes lower or OFF/black; p 4, beginning - "The
support arm 5"; p 6, beginning – “In step S <b> 21"; p 6, beginning – “In step S22"; p
7, beginning - "In the use situation (A) described above”, especially - "when the head
mounted display 1 is in the wearing state, the user cannot observe the sub display unit
7. Therefore, the CPU 20 suppresses or stops power to the sub display unit 7"; p 7,
beginning - "In the use situation (B) above"; p 7, last 1], especially - "when the
remaining battery level of the power source battery falls below a threshold value, the
CPU 20 suppresses or stops power supply to the sub display unit 7 in order to save
power... the brightness of the sub display 7 can be changed in stages, the brightness
may be gradually reduced according to the remaining battery level."; p, 8; beginning
"on the other hand"; Ryu: FIGs. 7, 10, 13: 110, 120; 0139, 0146-0147, 0153-0155,
0174, especially - "the notification... a low battery capacity”, 0186-0188).
Takano and Ryu teach and controlling the display of the controller to have a
second brightness darker than the first brightness when the head-mounted
display device performs the notification instead of the controller (Takano: FIGs. 1-
2, 8, 14: 4, 6, 7's brightness becomes lower or OFF/black; p 4, beginning - "The
Application/Control Number: 19/200,462
Page 18
Art Unit: 2623
support arm 5"; p 6, beginning - "In step S <b> 21"; p 6, beginning - "In step S22"; p
7, beginning - "In the use situation (A) described above", especially - "when the head
mounted display 1 is in the wearing state, the user cannot observe the sub display unit
7. Therefore, the CPU 20 suppresses or stops power to the sub display unit 7"; p 7,
beginning - "In the use situation (B) above"; p 7, last 1) is worn (p 7, beginning - "In the
use situation (A)”; p 7, beginning - "In the use situation (B)"; p 7, last 1).
Takano does not expressly disclose notifying a user of a state of a controller
selectively either by the controller or by the head-mounted display device based
on a determination of whether the head-mounted display device is to perform the
notification; and controlling the display of the controller to have a second
brightness darker than the first brightness when the head-mounted display
device notifies performs the notification instead of the controller.
Ryu discloses notifying a user of a state of a controller(110)(FIGs. 7, 10, 13;
0139, 0146-0147, 0153-0155, 0174, especially - "the notification... a low battery
capacity", 0186-0188) selectively either by the controller(110)(FIGs. 7, 10, 13;
0139, 0146-0147, 0153-0155, 0174, especially - "the notification... a low battery
capacity", 0186-0188) or by the head-mounted display device(120)(FIGs. 7, 10;
0140, 0146-0147, 0153-0155, 0174, especially - "the notification... a low battery
capacity", 0186-0188) based on a determination of whether the head-mounted
display device(120)(FIGs. 7, 10; 0140, 0146-0147, 0153-0155, 0174, especially
"the notification... a low battery capacity", 0186-0188) is to perform the notification
(FIGs. 7, 10: 120;0140, 0146-0147, 0153-0155, 0174, especially - "the
Application/Control Number: 19/200,462
Page 19
Art Unit: 2623
notification... a low battery capacity", 0186-0188); when the head-mounted display
device(120)(FIGs. 7, 10; 0140, 0146-0147, 0153-0155, 0174, especially - "the
notification... a low battery capacity", 0186-0188) notifies performs the notification
instead of the controller(110)(FIGs. 7, 10, 13; 0139, 0146-0147, 0153-0155, 0174,
especially - "the notification... a low battery capacity", 0186-0188).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been
obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Takano with Ryu to provide a
control method for an information processing device connected to or integrated with a
head-mounted display device that saves power and aids a user to view the notification
(i.e., by displaying the notification on the device the user is most likely to view it).
Takano and Ryu teach and controlling the display of the controller to have a
second brightness darker than the first brightness when the head-mounted
display device performs the notification instead of the controller (Takano: FIGs. 1-
2, 8, 14: 4, 6, 7's brightness becomes lower or OFF/black; p 4, beginning - "The
support arm 5"; p 6, beginning – “In step S <b> 21"; p 6, beginning – “In step S22"; p
7, beginning - "In the use situation (A) described above”, especially - "when the head
mounted display 1 is in the wearing state, the user cannot observe the sub display unit
7. Therefore, the CPU 20 suppresses or stops power to the sub display unit 7"; p 7,
beginning - "In the use situation (B) above"; p 7, last 1], especially - "when the
remaining battery level of the power source battery falls below a threshold value, the
CPU 20 suppresses or stops power supply to the sub display unit 7 in order to save
power... the brightness of the sub display 7 can be changed in stages, the brightness
may be gradually reduced according to the remaining battery level."; p, 8; beginning
"on the other hand"; Ryu: FIGs. 7, 10, 13: 110, 120; 0139, 0146-0147, 0153-0155,
0174, especially - "the notification... a low battery capacity”, 0186-0188).
Application/Control Number: 19/200,462
Page 20
Art Unit: 2623
Takano does not expressly disclose a non-transitory computer readable
medium that stores a program, wherein the program causes a computer to
execute a control method for an information processing device; notifying a user
of a state of a controller selectively either by the controller or by the head-
mounted display device based on a determination of whether the head-mounted
display device is to perform the notification; and controlling the display of the
controller to have a second brightness darker than the first brightness when the
head-mounted display device performs the notification instead of the controller.
Ryu discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium(6920)(FIG. 69;
0449, 0451-0454) that stores a program (FIG. 69: 6920; 0457), wherein the
program (FIG. 69: 6920; 0457) causes a computer(210)(FIG. 2; 0139, 0146; claim
22) to execute a control method for an information processing device(110a)(FIG.
2: 210; 0146; claim 11); notifying a user of a state of a controller(110)(FIGs. 7, 10,
13; 0139, 0146-0147, 0153-0155, 0174, especially - "the notification... a low battery
capacity", 0186-0188) selectively either by the controller(110)(FIGs. 7, 10, 13;
0139, 0146-0147, 0153-0155, 0174, especially - "the notification... a low battery
capacity", 0186-0188) or by the head-mounted display device(110)(FIGs. 7, 10, 13;
0139, 0146-0147, 0153-0155, 0174, especially - "the notification... a low battery
capacity", 0186-0188) based on a determination of whether the head-mounted
display device(120)(FIGs. 7, 10; 0140, 0146-0147, 0153-0155, 0174, especially
"the notification... a low battery capacity", 0186-0188) is to perform the notification
(FIGs. 7, 10: 120;0140, 0146-0147, 0153-0155, 0174, especially - "the
notification... a low battery capacity", 0186-0188); when the head-mounted display
Application/Control Number: 19/200,462
Page 21
Art Unit: 2623
device(120)(FIGs. 7, 10; 0140, 0146-0147, 0153-0155, 0174, especially - "the
notification... a low battery capacity", 0186-0188) notifies performs the notification
instead of the controller(110)(FIGs. 7, 10, 13; 0139, 0146-0147, 0153-0155, 0174,
especially - "the notification... a low battery capacity", 0186-0188).
Takano and Ryu teach and controlling the display of the controller to have a
second brightness darker than the first brightness when the head-mounted
display device performs the notification instead of the controller (Takano: FIGs. 1-
2, 8, 14: 4, 6, 7's brightness becomes lower or OFF/black; p 4, beginning - "The
support arm 5"; p 6, beginning – “In step S <b> 21"; p 6, beginning – “In step S22"; p
7, beginning - "In the use situation (A) described above”, especially - "when the head
mounted display 1 is in the wearing state, the user cannot observe the sub display unit
7. Therefore, the CPU 20 suppresses or stops power to the sub display unit 7"; p 7,
beginning - "In the use situation (B) above"; p 7, last 1], especially - "when the
remaining battery level of the power source battery falls below a threshold value, the
CPU 20 suppresses or stops power supply to the sub display unit 7 in order to save
power... the brightness of the sub display 7 can be changed in stages, the brightness
may be gradually reduced according to the remaining battery level."; p, 8; beginning
"on the other hand"; Ryu: FIGs. 7, 10, 13: 110, 120; 0139, 0146-0147, 0153-0155,
0174, especially - "the notification... a low battery capacity”, 0186-0188).
Takano and Ryu teach and controlling the display of the controller to have a
second brightness darker than the first brightness when the head-mounted
display device performs the notification instead of the controller (Takano: FIGs. 1-
2, 8, 14: 4, 6, 7's brightness becomes lower or OFF/black; p 4, beginning - "The
Application/Control Number: 19/200,462
Page 22
Art Unit: 2623
support arm 5"; p 6, beginning - "In step S <b> 21"; p 6, beginning - "In step S22"; p
7, beginning - "In the use situation (A) described above", especially - "when the head
mounted display 1 is in the wearing state, the user cannot observe the sub display unit
7. Therefore, the CPU 20 suppresses or stops power to the sub display unit 7"; p 7,
beginning - "In the use situation (B) above"; p 7, last 1, especially - "when the
remaining battery level of the power source battery falls below a threshold value, the
CPU 20 suppresses or stops power supply to the sub display unit 7 in order to save
power... the brightness of the sub display 7 can be changed in stages, the brightness
may be gradually reduced according to the remaining battery level.”; p, 8; beginning
"on the other hand"; Ryu: FIGs. 7, 10, 13: 110, 120; 0139, 0146-0147, 0153-0155,
0174, especially - "the notification...a low battery capacity”, 0186-0188).
As to claim 17, Takano and Ryu teach the information processing device
according to claim 1, as applied above.
Takano and Ryu further teach wherein, in a case where remaining power
capacity of the controller become lower than a predetermined threshold, the state
of the controller is notified by the head-mounted display device (Takano: FIGs. 1-
2, 12, 14: 7, 8; p 5, beginning - 'The head mounted display 1 includes a plurality of
operation modes"; p 6, beginning - "That is, the CPU 20"; p 7, last 1, especially
"when the remaining battery level of the power source battery falls below a threshold
value, the CPU 20 suppresses or stops power supply to the sub display unit 7 in order
to save power"; p 8, beginning - "In the user situation (C)"; p 9, 11, 6; p 10,
beginning - "When the area of the touch panel unit 8"; Ryu: FIGs. 7, 10, 13: 110, 120;
Application/Control Number: 19/200,462
Page 23
Art Unit: 2623
0139-0140, 0146-0147, 0153-0155, 0174, especially - "the notification... a low battery
capacity", 0186-0188).
The motivation to combine the additional teachings of Ryu is for the same
reasoning set forth above for claim 1.
8. Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Japan
Patent Pub. No. 2009171505 A to Takano in view of U.S. Patent Pub. No.
2015/0341901 to Ryu et al. ("Ryu") as applied to claim 2 above, in view of German
Patent Pub. No. DE 102019130439 A1 to Kreplin et al. ("Kreplin”).
As to claim 3, Takano and Ryu teach the information processing device
according to claim 2, as applied above.
Takano and Ryu further teach wherein, in the detection processing (Takano:
FIGs. 1-2, 14: 15; p 4, beginning - "A sub-display unit"; p 4, beginning - "The head
mounted display 1"; p 5, beginning - "Since each sensor"; p5, beginning – “Further,
as shown in FIG. 2"; p 7, [beginning – “In the use situation (B) described above, when
the main display unit 6"; Ryu: FIG. 69: 110c, 6920, 6973; 0146, 0149-0151, 0449,
0451-0454, 0457), in a case where a contact state of a user's head with respect to
the head-mounted display device is detected (Takano: FIG. 2: 11, 4, 6, 11; p 4,
beginning - "The support arm 5"; p 5, [1, p 6, [3; p 6, beginning – “In stepS<b>11”; p
6, beginning - "In step S12"), it is detected that the user is looking at the
display(Takano: FIG. 2: 6; p 7, beginning - "In the use situation (B) described above,
when the main display unit 6") of the head-mounted display device(Takano: FIG. 2: 4,
6, 11; p 4, beginning - "The support arm 5"; p 5, 11, p 6, 13; p 6, beginning - "In
stepS<b>11"; p 6, beginning - "In step S12"; p 7, beginning - "In the use situation (B)
Application/Control Number: 19/200,462
Page 24
Art Unit: 2623
described above, when the main display unit 6"; Ryu: FIG. 10: 120; 0138, 0147, 0149,
0156, especially - "notification... displayed").
The motivation to combine the additional teachings of Ryu is for the same
reasoning set forth above for claim 1.
Takano and Ryu do not expressly wherein, in the detection processing, in a
case where a contact state of a user's face with respect to the head-mounted
display device is detected, it is detected that the user is looking at the display of
the head-mounted display device.
Fig. 1
2-
36
31
38
22
23
35
22
32
37
41
-43
-33
Kreplin discloses in a case where a contact state of a user's face with
respect to the head-mounted display device(3)(Fig. 1; p 5, [2; p 6, 1) is detected
(Fig. 1: 3; p 6, 11 - approach of user's face (contact state of user's face) is detected in a
non-contact manner), it is detected that the user is wearing the head-mounted
display device(3)(Fig. 1; p 5, 12; p 6, 1).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been
obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Takano and Ryu with Kreplin to
provide an information processing device connected to or integrated with a head-
Application/Control Number: 19/200,462
Page 25
Art Unit: 2623
mounted display device that better detects that a user is wearing the head mounted
display device.
Takano, Ryu and Kreplin teach wherein, in the detection processing, in a
case where a contact state of a user's face with respect to the head-mounted
display device is detected, it is detected that the user is looking at the display of
the head-mounted display device (Takano: FIG. 2: 4, 6, 11; p 4, beginning - "The
support arm 5"; p 5, 11, p 6, 13; p 6, beginning - "In stepS<b>11"; p 6, beginning
"In step S12"; p 7, beginning - "In the use situation (B) described above, when the
main display unit 6"; Ryu: FIGs. 10, 69: 110c, 120,6920, 6973; 0138, 0146-0147,
0149-0151, 0156, 0449, 0451-0454, 0457; Kreplin: Fig. 1: 3; p 5, 12; p 6, 1).
As to claim 4, Takano and Ryu teach the information processing device
according to claim 2, as applied above.
Takano and Ryu further teach wherein, in the detection processing (Takano:
FIGs. 1-2, 14: 15; p 4, beginning - "A sub-display unit"; p 4, beginning - "The head
mounted display 1"; p 5, beginning - "Since each sensor"; p 5, beginning - "Further,
as shown in FIG. 2"; p 7, [beginning – “In the use situation (B) described above, when
the main display unit 6"; Ryu: FIG. 69: 110c, 6920, 6973; 0146, 0149-0151, 0449,
0451-0454, 0457), in a case where a contact state of a user's head with respect to
the head-mounted display device is detected (Takano: FIG. 2: 11, 4, 6, 11; p 4,
beginning - "The support arm 5"; p 5, [1, p 6, [3; p 6, beginning - "In stepS<b>11”; p
6, beginning - "In step S12"), it is detected that the user is looking at the
display(Takano: FIG. 2: 6; p 7, beginning - "In the use situation (B) described above,
Application/Control Number: 19/200,462
Page 26
Art Unit: 2623
when the main display unit 6") of the head-mounted display device(Takano: FIG. 2: 4,
6, 11; p 4, beginning - "The support arm 5"; p 5, 11, p 6, 13; p 6, beginning - "In
stepS<b>11"; p 6, beginning - "In step S12"; p 7, beginning - "In the user situation
(B) described above"; Ryu: FIG. 10: 120; 0138, 0147, 0149, 0156, especially
"notification... displayed").
The motivation to combine the additional teachings of Ryu is for the same
reasoning set forth above for claim 1.
Takano and Ryu do not expressly disclose in a case where a contact state of a
user's eyes with respect to the head-mounted display device is detected, it is
detected that the user is looking at the display of the head-mounted display
device.
Kreplin discloses in a case where a contact state of a user's eyes with
respect to the head-mounted display device(3)(Fig. 1; p 5, [2; p 6, [1) is detected
(Fig. 1: 3; p 6, 1), it is detected that the user is wearing the head-mounted display
device(3)(Fig. 1; p 5, 12; p 6, 1).
The motivation to combine Kreplin is set forth above for claim 3.
Takano, Ryu and Kreplin teach in a case where a contact state of a user's
eyes with respect to the head-mounted display device is detected, it is detected
that the user is looking at the display of the head-mounted display device
(Takano: FIG. 2: 4, 6, 11; p 4, beginning - "The support arm 5"; p 5, 11, p 6, 13; p 6,
beginning - "In stepS<b>11"; p 6, beginning - "In step S12"; p 7, beginning - "In the
user situation (B) described above"; Kreplin: Fig. 1: 3; p 5, [2; p 6, [1; Ryu: FIG. 10:
120; 0138, 0147, 0149, 0156, especially - "notification... displayed").
Application/Control Number: 19/200,462
Page 27
Art Unit: 2623
As to claim 5, Takano and Ryu teach the information processing device
according to claim 2, as applied above.
Takano and Ryu further teach wherein, in the detection processing (Takano:
FIGs. 1-2, 14: 15; p 4, beginning - "A sub-display unit"; p 4, beginning - "The head
mounted display 1"; p 5, beginning - "Since each sensor"; p 5, beginning - "Further,
as shown in FIG. 2"; p 7, beginning - "In the use situation (B) described above, when
the main display unit 6"; Ryu: FIG. 69: 110c, 6920, 6973; 0146, 0149-0151, 0449,
0451-0454, 0457), in a case where a contact state of a user's head with respect to the
head-mounted display device is detected (Takano: FIG. 2: 11, 4, 6, 11; p 4, beginning
"The support arm 5"; p 5, 91, p 6, 13; p 6, beginning - "In stepS<b>11"; p 6,
beginning - “In step S12”), it is detected that the user is looking at the
display(Takano: FIG. 2: 6; p 7, beginning - "In the use situation (B) described above,
when the main display unit 6") of the head-mounted display device(Takano: FIG. 2: 4,
6, 11; p 4, beginning - "The support arm 5"; p 5, 11, p 6, 13; p 6, beginning - "In
stepS<b>11"; p 6, beginning - "In step S12"; p 7, beginning – “In the use situation (B)
described above, when the main display unit 6"; Ryu: FIG. 69: 110c, 6920, 6973;
0146, 0149-0151, 0449, 0451-0454, 0457).
The motivation to combine the additional teachings of Ryu is for the same
reasoning set forth above for claim 1.
Takano and Ryu do not expressly wherein, in the detection processing, in a
case where a line of sight of the user is detected, it is detected that the user is
looking at the display of the head-mounted display device.
Application/Control Number: 19/200,462
Page 28
Art Unit: 2623
Kreplin discloses wherein, in the detection processing, in a case where a line
of sight of the user is detected (Fig. 1: 3; p 6, 1), it is detected that the user is
wearing the head-mounted display device(3)(Fig. 1; p 5, [2; p 6, 11).
The motivation to combine Kreplin is set forth above for claim 3.
Takano, Ryu and Kreplin teach wherein, in the detection processing, in a
case where a line of sight of the user is detected, it is detected that the user is
looking at the display of the head-mounted display device (Takano: FIG. 2: 4, 6, 11;
p 4, beginning – “The support arm 5"; p 5, 11, p 6, 13; p 6, beginning – "In
stepS<b>11"; p 6, beginning - "In step S12"; p 7, beginning - "In the user situation
(B) described above"; Kreplin: Fig. 1: 3; p 5, [2; p 6, [1; Ryu: FIG. 10: 120; 0138,
0147, 0149, 0156, especially - "notification... displayed").
9.
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Japan
Patent Pub. No. 2009171505 A to Takano in view of U.S. Patent Pub. No.
2015/0341901 to Ryu et al. (“Ryu”) as applied to claim 1 above, in view of U.S. Patent
Pub. No. 2020/0225474 A1 to Shim et al. (“Shim”).
As to claim 6, Takano and Ryu teach the information processing device
according to claim 1, as applied above.
Takano and Ryu teach further teach wherein the program, when executed by
the processor, further causes the information processing device (Takano: FIGs. 1-
2, 8, 14: 3, 7, 15; p 4, beginning "A sub-display unit"; p 4, beginning - "The head
mounted display 1"; p 5, beginning – “Since each sensor"; p 5, beginning - "Further,
as shown in FIG. 2"; p, 8; [beginning - "on the other hand"; Ryu: FIG. 69: 6920, 6973;
0146, 0457-0458) to execute switching processing of switching an operation
Application/Control Number: 19/200,462
Page 29
Art Unit: 2623
mode between a first mode (Takano: FIGs. 1-2, 8, 12, 14: 7, battery level; p 3,
beginning - "Preferably, the power supply battery"; p 3, last ; p 5, beginning - 'The
head mounted display 1 includes a plurality of operation modes"; p 6, beginning
"That is, the CPU 20"; p, 8; beginning - "On the other hand"; p 8, beginning - "In the
use situation (C)"; p 9, 1st ; p 10, beginning - "When the area of the touch panel unit
8"; Ryu: FIGs. 7, 69: 6920, 6973; 0146-0147, 0188, 0457-0458) and a second mode
(Takano: FIGs. 1-2, 8, 14: 7, battery level; p 3, beginning - "Preferably, the power
supply battery”; p 5, beginning – 'The head mounted display 1 includes a plurality of
operation modes"; p 6, beginning - "That is, the CPU 20"; p 7, beginning – “In the use
situation (B) described above, when the main display unit 6"; p, 8; beginning - "On the
other hand"; p 8, beginning - "In the use situation (C)"; p 9, 1st ; p 10, beginning
"When the area of the touch panel unit 8"; Ryu: FIGs. 7, 69: 6920, 6973; 0146-0147,
0188, 0457-0458), and
wherein, in the notification processing, in the first mode, the state of the
controller is notified by the controller (Takano: FIGs. 1-2, 8, 12, 14: 7, battery level;
p 3, beginning - "Preferably, the power supply battery"; p 3, last 1]; p 5, beginning
'The head mounted display 1 includes a plurality of operation modes"; p 6, beginning
"That is, the CPU 20"; p, 8; beginning - "On the other hand"; p 8, beginning - "In the
use situation (C)"; p 9, 1st ; p 10, beginning - "When the area of the touch panel unit
8"; Ryu: FIGs. 7, 69: 6920, 6973; 0146-0147, 0188, 0457-0458), and in the second
mode, the state of the controller is notified by the head-mounted display device
(Takano: FIGs. 1-2, 8, 14: 7, battery level; p 3, beginning - "Preferably, the power
supply battery"; p 5, beginning
'The head mounted display 1 includes a plurality of
Application/Control Number: 19/200,462
Page 30
Art Unit: 2623
operation modes"; p 6, beginning - "That is, the CPU 20"; p 7, beginning - "In the use
situation (B) described above, when the main display unit 6"; p, 8; beginning - "On the
other hand"; p 8, beginning - "In the use situation (C)"; p 9, 1st ; p 10, beginning
"When the area of the touch panel unit 8"; Ryu: FIGs. 7, 69: 6920, 6973; 0146-0147,
0188, 0457-0458).
Takano and Ryu do not expressly the information processing device to
execute switching processing of switching an operation mode of the head-
mounted display device between a first mode in which a virtual object is fused
with a real space and displayed and a second mode in which a virtual reality
image is displayed.
Fig. 1A
!
140
STASI T
CSS-SHER
CANERS
-16
۱۴ ۱
-120
120
[Fig. 2
131
12
231
-354
Fix. 901
000
221
Shim discloses the information processing device(100)(Figs. 1-2; 0034,
0044-0045, 0055) to execute switching processing of switching an operation mode
of the head-mounted display device(100)(Figs. 1-2; 0042, 0058) between a first
mode in which a virtual object(503a)(Fig. 9C; 0118) is fused with a real
space(O)(Fig 9C; 0111, 0118) and displayed (Fig. 9C's top images: 503a, O;
Application/Control Number: 19/200,462
Page 31
Art Unit: 2623
0118) and a second mode in which a virtual reality image is displayed (Fig. 9C's
middle images: 151; 0118).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been
obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Takano and Ryu with Shim to
provide an information processing device connected to or integrated with a head-
mounted display device that provides different forms of viewing experiences.
Takano and Ryu and Shim teach the information processing device to
execute switching processing of switching an operation mode of the head-
mounted display device between a first mode in which a virtual object is fused
with a real space and displayed and a second mode in which a virtual reality
image is displayed (Takano: FIGs. 1-2, 8, 12, 14: 7, battery level; p 3, beginning
"Preferably, the power supply battery"; p 3, last ; p 5, beginning 'The head mounted
display 1 includes a plurality of operation modes"; p 6, beginning – “That is, the CPU
20"; p, 8; beginning – “On the other hand”; p 8, beginning - "In the use situation (C)”;
p 9, 1st ; p 10, beginning - "When the area of the touch panel unit 8"; Ryu: FIGs. 7,
69: 6920, 6973; 0146-0147, 0188, 0457-0458; Shim: Figs. 1-2, 9C: 100, 151, 503a,
Ο; 0034, 0042, 0044-0045, 0055, 0058, 0111, 0118).
As to claim 7, Takano and Ryu teach the information processing device
according to claim 1, as applied above.
Takano and Ryu teach further teach wherein the program, when executed by
the processor, further causes the information processing device (Takano: FIGs. 1-
2, 8, 14: 3, 7, 15; p 4, beginning "A sub-display unit"; p 4, beginning - "The head
Application/Control Number: 19/200,462
Page 32
Art Unit: 2623
mounted display 1"; p 5, beginning - "Since each sensor"; p 5, beginning - "Further,
as shown in FIG. 2"; p, 8; beginning - "on the other hand"; Ryu: FIG. 69: 6920, 6973;
0146, 0457-0458) to:
execute detection processing of detecting that the user is looking at a
display of the head-mounted display device (Takano: FIGs. 1-2, 14: 15; p 4,
beginning - "A sub-display unit"; p 4, beginning – “The head mounted display 1"; p 5,
beginning - "Since each sensor"; p 5, beginning - "Further, as shown in FIG. 2"; p 7,
beginning - "In the use situation (B) described above, when the main display unit 6";
Ryu: FIGs. 7, 69: 6920, 6973; 0146-0147, 0188, 0457-0458), and
wherein, in the notification processing, in a case where it is not detected
that the user is looking at the display of the head-mounted display device, the
state of the controller is notified by the controller (Takano: FIGs. 1-2, 8, 12, 14: 7,
battery level; p 3, beginning - "Preferably, the power supply battery"; p 3, last ; p 5,
beginning - 'The head mounted display 1 includes a plurality of operation modes"; p 6,
beginning - "That is, the CPU 20"; p, 8; beginning - "On the other hand"; p 8,
beginning - "In the use situation (C)"; p 9, 1st ; p 10, beginning - "When the area of
the touch panel unit 8"; Ryu: FIGs. 7, 69: 6920, 6973; 0146-0147, 0188, 0457-0458),
and
in a case where it is detected that the user is looking at the display of the
head-mounted display device, the state of the controller is notified by the head-
mounted display device (Takano: FIGs. 1-2, 8, 14: 7, battery level; p 3, beginning
"Preferably, the power supply battery"; p 5, beginning - 'The head mounted display 1
includes a plurality of operation modes"; p 6, beginning - "That is, the CPU 20"; p 7,
Application/Control Number: 19/200,462
Page 33
Art Unit: 2623
beginning - "In the use situation (B) described above, when the main display unit 6"; p,
8; beginning - "On the other hand"; p 8, beginning – “In the use situation (C)”; p 9, 1st
; p 10, beginning - "When the area of the touch panel unit 8"; Ryu: FIGs. 7, 69: 6920,
6973; 0146-0147, 0188, 0457-0458).
The motivation to combine the additional teachings of Ryu is for the same
reasoning set forth above for claim 1.
Takano and Ryu do not expressly disclose the information processing device
to: execute switching processing of switching an operation mode of the head-
mounted display device between a first mode in which a virtual object is fused
with a real space and displayed and a second mode in which a virtual reality
image is displayed; wherein, in the notification processing, in a case where it is
not detected that the user is looking at the display of the head-mounted display
device in the first mode, the state of the controller is notified by the controller,
and in a case where the operation mode is the second mode, or in a case where it
is detected that the user is looking at the display of the head-mounted display
device in the first mode, the state of the controller is notified by the head-
mounted display device.
Shim discloses the information processing device(100)(Figs. 1-2; 0034,
0044-0045, 0055) to: execute switching processing of switching an operation
mode of the head-mounted display device(100)(Figs. 1-2; 0042, 0058) between a
first mode in which a virtual object(503a)(Fig. 9C; 0118) is fused with a real
space(O)(Fig. 9C; 0111, 0118) and displayed (Fig. 9C's top images: 503a, 0;
0118) and a second mode in which a virtual reality image is displayed (Fig. 9C's
middle images: 151; 0118).
Application/Control Number: 19/200,462
Page 34
Art Unit: 2623
middle images: 151; 0118); the head-mounted display device(100)(Figs. 1-2;
0042, 0058) in the first mode (Fig. 9C: 503a; 0118), and in a case where the
operation mode is the second mode (Fig. 9C's middle images: 151; 0118).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been
obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Takano and Ryu with Shim to
provide an information processing device connected to or integrated with a head-
mounted display device that provides different forms of viewing experiences.
Takano, Ryu and Shim teach wherein, in the notification processing, in a
case where it is not detected that the user is looking at the display of the head-
mounted display device in the first mode, the state of the controller is notified by
the controller (Takano: FIGs. 1-2, 8, 12, 14: 7, battery level; p 3, beginning
"Preferably, the power supply battery"; p 3, last ; p 5, beginning 'The head mounted
display 1 includes a plurality of operation modes"; p 6, beginning - "That is, the CPU
20"; p, 8; beginning – “On the other hand”; p 8, beginning - "In the use situation (C)”;
p 9, 1st ; p 10, beginning - "When the area of the touch panel unit 8"; Ryu: FIGs. 7,
69: 6920, 6973; 0146-0147, 0188, 0457-0458; Shim: Figs. 1-2, 9C: 100. 503a;
0042, 0058, 0118 – the combined teachings of the prior art includes after detecting a
user looking at the head-mounted display, displaying to the user content in a first mode
that includes displaying a virtual object fused with a real space and the controller's
battery status, however if during the time of this display mode the user removes her/his
head from the proximity of the head-mounted display, then the displaying of the battery
status is switched from being displayed on the head mounted display to being displayed
on the controller),
Application/Control Number: 19/200,462
Page 35
Art Unit: 2623
and in a case where the operation mode is the second mode, or in a case
where it is detected that the user is looking at the display of the head-mounted
display device in the first mode, the state of the controller is notified by the head-
mounted display device (Takano: FIGs. 1-2, 8, 14: 7, battery level; p 3, beginning
"Preferably, the power supply battery"; p 5, beginning - 'The head mounted display 1
includes a plurality of operation modes"; p 6, beginning - "That is, the CPU 20"; p 7,
beginning - "In the use situation (B) described above, when the main display unit 6"; p,
8; beginning - "On the other hand"; p 8, beginning - "In the use situation (C)"; p 9, 1st
; p 10, beginning – “When the area of the touch panel unit 8"; Ryu: FIGs. 7, 69: 6920,
6973; 0146-0147, 0188, 0457-0458; Shim: Fig. 9C's top and middle images: 151,
503a, O; 0118).
10.
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Japan Patent Pub. No. 2009171505 A to Takano in view of U.S. Patent Pub. No.
2015/0341901 to Ryu et al. (“Ryu”) as applied to claim 1 above, in view of U.S. Patent
Pub. No. 2019/0369714 A1 to Conesa et al. ("Conesa").
As to claim 10, Takano and Ryu teach the information processing device
according to claim 1, as applied above.
Takano and Ryu further teach wherein the program, when executed by the
processor, further causes the information processing device to execute
acquisition processing of acquiring information on a position of the controller
(Takano: FIGs. 1-2, 14: 3, 7, 15; p 4, beginning – “A sub-display unit"; p 4, beginning
"The head mounted display 1"; p 5, beginning - "Since each sensor”; p 5, beginning
- "Further, as shown in FIG. 2"; p 8, 1, especially - "when the amount of movement
Application/Control Number: 19/200,462
Page 36
Art Unit: 2623
exceeds a predetermined threshold value, the CPU 20 suppresses or stops the power
supply to the sub display unit 7 in order to prevent malfunction by the touch panel unit
8"; Ryu: FIGs. 2, 22, 69: 110c, 210, 2010, 2208, 6920, 6973; 0146, 0256, 0259, 0271,
0273, 0292, 0449, 0451-0454, 0457, 0459), and
wherein, in the notification processing, in a case where the state of the
controller is notified by the head-mounted display device, a virtual object
notifying the state of the controller is displayed on a display of the head-mounted
display device (Takano: FIGs. 1-2, 8, 14: 7, battery level; p 3, beginning
"Preferably, the power supply battery"; p 5, beginning – 'The head mounted display 1
includes a plurality of operation modes"; p 6, beginning - "That is, the CPU 20"; p 7,
beginning - "In the use situation (B) described above, when the main display unit 6"; p,
8; beginning - "On the other hand"; p 8, beginning - "In the use situation (C)"; p 9, 1st
; p 10, beginning - "When the area of the touch panel unit 8"; Ryu: FIGs. 7, 10, 13:
110, 120; 0139-0140, 0146-0147, 0153-0156, 0174, especially - "the notification...a
low battery capacity", 0186-0188).
The motivation to combine the additional teachings of Ryu is for the same
reasoning set forth above for claim 1.
Takano and Ryu do not expressly disclose a virtual object notifying the state
of the controller is superimposed on a position corresponding to the position of
the controller.
Application/Control Number: 19/200,462
Page 37
Art Unit: 2623
222
15%
5500
220
40%
CA
WHAT TIMET
FIG. 44
$250
0
Conesa discloses the information processing device(100a)(FIG. 4A; [0057) to
execute acquisition processing of acquiring information on a position of the
controller(410)(FIG. 4A: 212; 0092), and
wherein, in the notification processing (FIG. 4A: 421; 0037, 0092)
notifying the state of the controller(410)(FIG. 4A: 212, 421;0037, 0092) is
superimposed on a position corresponding to the position of the
controller(410)(FIG. 4A: 212, 421; 0037, 0092) and displayed on a
display(120)(FIG. 4A; 0041) of the display device(100a)(FIG. 4A; 0057).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been
obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Takano and Ryu with Conesa to
provide an information processing device connected to or integrated with a head-
mounted display device that assists the user to locate and control the controller within a
virtual scene while at the same time preventing the user from viewing other external
objects that are not part of the virtual scene (10037).
Application/Control Number: 19/200,462
Page 38
Art Unit: 2623
As to claim 11, Takano, Ryu and Conesa teach the information processing
device according to claim 10, as applied above.
Takano, Ryu and Conesa further teach wherein the virtual object notifying the
state of the controller is an object for making the controller appear to be turned
on at the first brightness to notify the state of the controller (Takano: FIG. 8: 7's
brightness is lower; p 7, beginning - "In the use situation (A) described above",
especially - "when the head mounted display 1 is in the wearing state, the user cannot
observe the sub display unit 7. Therefore, the CPU 20 suppresses or stops power to
the sub display unit 7”; p 7, beginning - “In the use situation (B) above"; p 7, last 1,
especially - "when the remaining battery level of the power source battery falls below a
threshold value, the CPU 20 suppresses or stops power supply to the sub display unit 7
in order to save power... the brightness of the sub display 7 can be changed in stages,
the brightness may be gradually reduced according to the remaining battery level." Ryu:
FIGs. 7, 10, 13: 110, 120; 0139-0140, 0146-0147, 0153-0155, 0174, especially - "the
notification... a low battery capacity", 0186-0188; Conesa: FIG. 4A: 212, 410, 421;
0037, 0092).
The motivation to combine the additional teachings of Ryu is for the same
reasoning set forth above for claim 1, and the motivation to combine the additional
teachings of Conesa is for the same reasoning set forth above for claim 10.
Other Relevant Prior Art
11.
Other relevant prior art includes:
Application/Control Number: 19/200,462
Page 39
Art Unit: 2623
U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2017/0337897 A1 to Jung et al. discloses providing a notification
regarding a battery amount or a battery shortage (1910120, 0148, 0184) on both a mobile
terminal(100)(FIG. 9A; 0132) and a HMD(200)(FIG. 9A; 0132) or just on the mobile
terminal(100)(FIG. 9A; 0132).
Conclusion
12. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time
policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within
TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not
mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the
shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any
extension fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of
the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later
than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action.
examiner should be directed to KIRK W HERMANN whose telephone number is (571)
270-3891. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday, 10am-7pm, EST.
supervisor, Chanh Nguyen can be reached on (571) 272-7772. The fax phone number
for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for
Application/Control Number: 19/200,462
Page 40
Art Unit: 2623
published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR.
Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only.
For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should
you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic
Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a
USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information
system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/KIRK W HERMANN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623