DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3-9 and 16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5, 7 and 8 of U.S. Patent No. 10854139. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims correspond as follows:
Application No. 19/200,516
U.S. Patent No. 10854139
Claim 1
Claim 1
Claim 3
Claim 7
Claim 4
Claim 7
Claim 5
Claim 8
Claim 6
Claim 5
Claim 7
Claim 1
Claim 8
Claim 1
Claim 9
Claim 1
Claim 16
Claim 1
Claims 1, 3, 5-8, 10 and 16-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, 4, 7 and 10 of U.S. Patent No. 11257426. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims correspond as follows:
Application No. 19/200,516
U.S. Patent No. 11257426
Claim 1
Claim 4
Claim 3
Claim 7
Claim 5
Claim 1 initialization transistor
Claim 6
Claim 1
Claim 7
Claim 1 and Claim 3
Claim 8
Claim 1
Claim 10
Claim 10
Claim 16
Claims 1 and 3
Claim 17
Claim 7
Claim 18
Claim 3
Claims 16-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 12 of U.S. Patent No. 11823621. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims correspond as follows:
Application No. 19/200,516
U.S. Patent No. 11823621
Claim 16
Claim 1
Claim 17
Claim 12
Claim 18
Claim 1
Claim 19
Claim 1
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 9, 10 and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai et al. (US 2016/0063921) in view of Osawa et al. (US 2015/0055051).
In regard to claim 1, Tsai et al. teach a display pixel comprising: a light-emitting diode (fig. 3 element 304); a silicon drive transistor coupled to the light-emitting diode (paragraph 25 and element T2); a capacitor coupled between the silicon drive transistor and the light-emitting diode (C1); and a first transistor coupled across two terminals of the silicon drive transistor (T3) but does not teach using both a silicon transistor and semiconducting-oxide transistor in the same pixel.
Osawa et al. teach using both a silicon transistor and semiconducting-oxide transistor in the same pixel (paragraph 45).
The two are analogous art because they both deal with the same field of invention of displays.
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the apparatus of Tsai et al. with the hybrid pixel of Osawa et al. The rationale is as follows: Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to provide the apparatus of Tsai et al. with the hybrid pixel of Osawa et al. because different types of transistors have different characteristics (i.e. size, parasitic capacitance, leakage current). One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the use of two types of transistors in a pixel would allow for the optimization of parameters by the selective use of the two types of transistors in different areas of the pixel.
In regard to claim 2, Tsai et al. teach wherein the capacitor has a first terminal coupled to a gate terminal of the drive transistor (C1 connected to gate of T2) and a second terminal coupled to an anode of the light-emitting diode (C1 connected to anode of 504 at drain of T6).
In regard to claim 3, Tsai et al. teach a first emission transistor coupled between the silicon drive transistor and the light-emitting diode (T5).
In regard to claim 4, Tsai et al. teach a second emission transistor coupled between the silicon drive transistor and a power supply line (T4).
In regard to claim 5, Tsai et al. teach an initialization transistor coupled between an initialization line and a node disposed between the capacitor and the light-emitting diode (T6).
In regard to claim 6, Tsai et al. teach a switching transistor coupled between a data line and a node disposed between the silicon drive transistor and the first emission transistor (T1).
In regard to claim 7, Tsai et al. teach a transistor directly coupled to the light-emitting diode (T6).
Osawa et al. teach a second semiconducting-oxide transistor (paragraph 51, Osawa et al. teach using multiple semiconducting-oxide transistors).
In regard to claim 9, Tsai et al. teach the first transistor has a gate terminal configured to receive a scan signal; and the second transistor has a gate terminal configured to receive the scan signal (T3 and T6 both receive SCAN2).
Osawa et al. teach a first and second semiconducting-oxide transistors (paragraph 51).
In regard to claim 10, Tsai et al. teach wherein: the first transistor is coupled to a first terminal of the capacitor; and the second transistor is coupled to a second terminal of the capacitor (T3 and T6 coupled to both electrodes of the capacitor).
Osawa et al. teach a first and second semiconducting-oxide transistors (paragraph 51).
In regard to claim 16, Tsai et al. teach a display pixel comprising: a light-emitting diode (fig. 3 elemetn 304); a silicon drive transistor coupled in series with the light-emitting diode (Paragraph 25 and element T2); and a transistor coupled to an anode of the light-emitting diode (T6).
Osawa et al. teach using both a silicon transistor and semiconducting-oxide transistor in the same pixel (paragraph 45).
In regard to claim 17, Tsai et al. teach one or more silicon emission transistors coupled in series with the silicon drive transistor (T4 and T5).
In regard to claim 18, Tsai et al. teach a second transistor coupled across two terminals of the silicon drive transistor (T3).
Osawa et al. teach a first and second semiconducting-oxide transistors (paragraph 51).
In regard to claim 19, Tsai et al. teach a switching transistor (T1) configured to load a data signal onto the display pixel during a first time period and to load a reset voltage onto the display pixel during a second time period (Fig. 4, paragraphs 45 and 47. Lin et al. show the transistor T1 loading a max voltage (reset) onto the pixel during the reset period and a data signal during the second time period).
In regard to claim 20, Tsai et al. teach wherein the switching transistor comprises a silicon transistor (paragraph 25).
Claim(s) 11 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai et al. (US 2016/0063921) in view of Kim (US 2015/0109278).
In regard to claim 11, Tsai et al. teach a method of operating a display pixel having a drive transistor, a light-emitting diode, and a switching transistor, the method comprising: during an emission period, using the drive transistor to pass a drive current through the light-emitting diode (paragraph 49, T2, T4 and T5 are all on during emission state); and during a blanking period, performing a reset operation by using the switching transistor to load a reset voltage into the display pixel (paragraph 45, maximum reference voltages applied to data lines during reset period) but does not specifically teach a vertical blanking period.
Kim teaches performing a reset operation during a vertical blanking period (paragraph 62).
The two are analogous art because they both deal with the same field of invention of displays.
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the apparatus of Tsai et al. with the vertical blanking period of Kim. The rationale is as follows: Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to provide the apparatus of Tsai et al. with the vertical blanking period of Kim because performing operations in the vertical blanking time, as shown in Kim, would allow the device to more accurately control the display current during an inactive time when display operations are not conducted.
In regard to claim 12, Tsai et al. teach during a refresh operation, using the switching transistor to load a data signal into the display pixel (paragraph 47, data signals loaded through T1).
Claim(s) 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai et al. in view of Kim further considered with Qian (US 2015/0356916).
In regard to claim 13, Tsai et al. and Kim teach during the reset operation, activating an emission transistor (fig. 4, in the reset period EM1 is active which activates the emission transistor T4) but does not teach activating the emission transistor coupled between the drive transistor and the light-emitting diode.
Qian teaches activating the emission transistor coupled between the drive transistor and the light-emitting diode (figs. 2, 3 and paragraph 33).
The three are analogous art because they all deal with the same field of invention of displays.
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the apparatus of Tsai et al. and Kim with the circuit reset of Qian. The rationale is as follows: Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to provide the apparatus of Tsai et al. and Kim with the circuit reset of Qian because it would prevent the data of the previous frames from influencing the current frame.
In regard to claim 14, Qian teaches before the reset operation, performing an on-bias stress operation by using the switching transistor to load a data voltage into the display pixel (paragraph 34, signal load phase. The signal load phase of Qian comes after the reset phase in one frame but it comes before the reset phase of the next frame).
In regard to claim 15, Qian teaches during the on-bias stress operation, deactivating the emission transistor (paragraph 34).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/JOSEPH R HALEY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621