DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the on-bias stress” should be changed to --an on-bias stress—or the dependency should be changed to claim 14. Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3-9 and 16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5, 7 and 8 of U.S. Patent No. 10854139. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims correspond as follows:
Application No. 19/200,516
U.S. Patent No. 10854139
Claim 1
Claim 1
Claim 3
Claim 7
Claim 4
Claim 7
Claim 5
Claim 8
Claim 6
Claim 5
Claim 7
Claim 1
Claim 8
Claim 1
Claim 9
Claim 1
Claim 16
Claim 1
Claims 1, 3, 5-8, 10 and 16-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, 4, 7 and 10 of U.S. Patent No. 11257426. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims correspond as follows:
Application No. 19/200,516
U.S. Patent No. 11257426
Claim 1
Claim 4
Claim 3
Claim 7
Claim 5
Claim 1 initialization transistor
Claim 6
Claim 1
Claim 7
Claim 1 and Claim 3
Claim 8
Claim 1
Claim 10
Claim 10
Claim 16
Claims 1 and 3
Claim 17
Claim 7
Claim 18
Claim 3
Claims 16-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 12 of U.S. Patent No. 11823621. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims correspond as follows:
Application No. 19/200,516
U.S. Patent No. 11823621
Claim 16
Claim 1
Claim 17
Claim 12
Claim 18
Claim 1
Claim 19
Claim 1
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 11 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tsai et al. (US 2016/0063921).
In regard to claim 1, Tsai et al. teach a display pixel comprising: a light-emitting diode (fig. 5 element 504); a drive transistor coupled to the light-emitting diode (T2); and a capacitor coupled between the drive transistor and the light-emitting diode (C1).
In regard to claim 2, Tsai et al. teach wherein the capacitor has a first terminal coupled to a gate terminal of the drive transistor (C1 connected to gate of T2) and a second terminal coupled to an anode of the light-emitting diode (C1 connected to anode of 504 at drain of T6).
In regard to claim 3, Tsai et al. teach a first emission transistor coupled between the drive transistor and the light-emitting diode (T5).
In regard to claim 4, Tsai et al. teach a second emission transistor coupled between the drive transistor and a power supply line (T4).
In regard to claim 5, Tsai et al. teach an initialization transistor coupled between an initialization line and a node disposed between the capacitor and the light-emitting diode (T6).
In regard to claim 6, Tsai et al. teach a switching transistor coupled between a data line and a node disposed between the drive transistor and the first emission transistor (T1).
In regard to claim 11, Tsai et al. teach a method of operating a display pixel having a drive transistor, a light-emitting diode, and a switching transistor, the method comprising: during an emission period, using the drive transistor to pass a drive current through the light-emitting diode (paragraph 49, T2, T4 and T5 are all on during emission state); and during a blanking period, performing a reset operation by using the switching transistor to load a reset voltage into the display pixel (paragraph 45, maximum reference voltages applied to data lines during reset period).
In regard to claim 12, Tsai et al. teach during a refresh operation, using the switching transistor to load a data signal into the display pixel (paragraph 47, data signals loaded through T1).
Claim(s) 7-10 and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai et al. in view of Lin et al. (WO 2017052727).
In regard to claim 7, Tsai et al. teach wherein the drive transistor comprises a silicon transistor (paragraph 25), but does not teach further comprising: a first semiconducting-oxide transistor directly coupled to the light-emitting diode.
Lin et al. teach further comprising: a first semiconducting-oxide transistor directly coupled to the light-emitting diode (paragraph 46, Lin et al. show using a silicon transistor as the drive transistor and semiconducting-oxide for SW1 and SW2).
The two are analogous art because they both deal with the same field of invention of displays.
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the apparatus of Tsai et al. with the two types of transistors as shown in Lin et al. The rationale is as follows: Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to provide the apparatus of Tsai et al. with the two types of transistors as shown in Lin et al. because using two types of transistors would allow for sufficient switching speed while reducing current leakage.
In regard to claim 8, Lin et al. teach a second semiconducting-oxide transistor directly coupled to the drive transistor (fig. 4, both SW1 and SW2 are directly connected to the drive transistor).
In regard to claim 9, Tsai et al. teach the first transistor has a gate terminal configured to receive a scan signal; and the second transistor has a gate terminal configured to receive the scan signal (fig. 5 T1, T3 and T6 all receive the scan signal).
Lin et al. teach a first and second semiconducting-oxide transistor (paragraph 46).
In regard to claim 10, Lin et al. teach wherein: the first semiconducting-oxide transistor is coupled to a first terminal of the capacitor; and the second semiconducting-oxide transistor is coupled to a second terminal of the capacitor (fig. 4, SW1 and SW2 are connected to different terminals of the capacitor).
In regard to claim 16, Tsai et al. teach a display pixel comprising: a light-emitting diode (element 5040); a silicon drive transistor coupled in series with the light-emitting diode (T2 and paragraph 54).
Lin et al. teach a first semiconducting-oxide transistor coupled to an anode of the light-emitting diode (paragraph 46, Lin et al. show using a silicon transistor as the drive transistor and semiconducting-oxide for SW1 and SW2).
In regard to claim 17, Tsai et al. teach one or more silicon emission transistors coupled in series with the silicon drive transistor (T4, T5 and paragraph 25).
In regard to claim 18, Tsai et al. teach a transistor coupled across two terminals of the silicon drive transistor (T3).
Lin et al. teach a second semiconducting-oxide transistor (paragraph 46).
In regard to claim 19, Tsai et al. teach a switching transistor (T1) configured to load a data signal onto the display pixel during a first time period and to load a reset voltage onto the display pixel during a second time period (Fig. 4, paragraphs 45 and 47. Lin et al. show the transistor T1 loading a max voltage (reset) onto the pixel during the reset period and a data signal during the second time period).
In regard to claim 20, Tsai et al. teach wherein the switching transistor comprises a silicon transistor (paragraph 25).
Claim(s) 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai et al. in view of Qian (US 2015/0356916).
In regard to claim 13, Tsai et al. teach during the reset operation, activating an emission transistor (fig. 4, in the reset period EM1 is active which activates the emission transistor T4) but does not teach activating the emission transistor coupled between the drive transistor and the light-emitting diode.
Qian teaches activating the emission transistor coupled between the drive transistor and the light-emitting diode (figs. 2, 3 and paragraph 33).
The two are analogous art because they both deal with the same field of invention of displays.
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the apparatus of Tsai et al. with the circuit reset of Qian. The rationale is as follows: Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to provide the apparatus of Tsai et al. with the circuit reset of Qian because it would prevent the data of the previous frames from influencing the current frame.
In regard to claim 14, Qian teaches before the reset operation, performing an on-bias stress operation by using the switching transistor to load a data voltage into the display pixel (paragraph 34, signal load phase. The signal load phase of Qian comes after the reset phase in one frame but it comes before the reset phase of the next frame).
In regard to claim 15, Qian teaches during the on-bias stress operation, deactivating the emission transistor (paragraph 34).
Conclusion
/JOSEPH R HALEY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621