DETAILED ACTION
The pending claims are claims 1-13.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(s)(1) as being anticipated by Liu et al., WO 2022053881 (Liu et al., US 20240014446).
Regarding claim 1, Liu et al., teaches a non-aqueous electrolyte (abstract; 0006) comprising: a lithium salt (alkali-metal salt) (abstract; 0006-0007; 0027; claims 14, 15, 16); and an organic solvent (abstract; 0016-0017) comprising a cyclic carbonate compound (fluoroethylene carbonate) (0030; 0095); and a
compound represented by Chemical Formula: F-
wherein R2 and R3 each are hydrogen (Example 11 of Liu et al.; 0006), an alkyl group having 1 to 10 carbon atoms (0006), or an aryl group having up to 6 carbon atoms (0006); and wherein the organic solvent comprises the compound represented by Example 11 (Structure 4 of Liu) in an amount from about 10 vol% to about 30 vol% (“from 0% to 25%) (0023); (“5% to about 50%) (0025-0026) (Table 1).
Liu disclose an example of traditional carbonate-based electrolyte which includes FEC (fluoroethylene carbonate) (cyclic carbonate) (0030; 0095) and EMC (ethylmethyl carbonate) (linear carbonate). The use of FEC as a cyclic carbonate compound would have thus been obvious for the carbonate compound.
Regarding claim 2, Liu et al., teaches wherein at least one of R2 and R3 is methyl (0006; 0016).
Regarding claim 3, Liu et al., teaches wherein the compound represented by Chemical Formula 1-1 is represented by Chemical Formula 1 of FSO2N(CH3)2 0006; 0016; 0024;Table 1).
Regarding claim 4, Liu et al., teaches comprising the compound represented by Chemical Formula 1-1 in an amount of about 20 vol% (“from 0% to 25%) (0023); (“5% to about 50%) (0025-0026)).
Regarding claim 5, Liu et al., teaches wherein the cyclic carbonate compound (0019); (fluoroethylene carbonate; FEC).
Regarding claim 6, Liu et al., teaches fluoroethylene carbonate (0019).
Liu disclose an example of traditional carbonate-based electrolyte which includes FEC (fluoroethylene carbonate) (cyclic carbonate) (0019) and EMC (ethylmethyl carbonate) (linear carbonate). The use of FEC as a cyclic carbonate compound or EC (ethylene carbonate) would have thus been obvious for the carbonate compound.
Liu disclose an example of traditional carbonate-based electrolyte which includes FEC (fluoroethylene carbonate) (cyclic carbonate) (0019) and EMC (ethylmethyl carbonate) (linear carbonate). The use of FEC as a cyclic carbonate compound or EC (ethylene carbonate) would have thus been obvious for the carbonate compound.
Regarding claim 7, Liu et al., teaches wherein the organic solvent further comprises at least one linear carbonate compounds selected from the group consisting of ethyl methyl carbonate (0019).
Regarding claim 8, Liu et al., teaches further comprising an additional compound selected from the group consisting of an ether-based organic compound (0008), a nitrile-based organic compound (0026), and mixtures thereof.
Regarding claim 9, Liu et al., teaches further comprising an additive selected from the group consisting of LiBOB (0027).
Regarding claim 10, Liu et al., teaches wherein the lithium salt comprising Li+ (0024) and an anion selected from the group consisting of (0006; 0019; 0027): F-, Cl-, Br-, I-, NO3 -, N(CN)2 -, BF4 -,C104 -, A1O4 -, AlCl4 -, PF6 -, SbF6 -, AsF6 -, BlOC110-, BF2C204 -, BC408 -,PF4C204 -, PF2C408 -, (CF3)2PF4 -, (CF3)3PF3 -, (CF3)4PF2 -, (CF3)5PF-, (CF3)6P -, CF3SO3 -, C4F9SO3 -, CF3CF2SO3 -, (FSO2)2N -, CF3CF2(CF3)2C0-,(CF3SO2)2CH-, CH3SO3 -, CF3(CF2)7SO3 -, CF3CO2 -, CH3CO2 -, SCN- and (CF3CF2SO2)2N -, and mixtures of (0006; 0019; 0027).
Regarding claim 11, Liu et al., teaches wherein the non-aqueous electrolyte comprises the lithium salt at a molar concentration of 0.25 M (0019; 0023; 0027).
Regarding claim 12, Liu et al., teaches lithium secondary battery (0009-0012) comprising: an anode (0006-0007); a cathode facing the anode (0015; 0017 ); a separator interposed between the anode (0004; 0029) and the cathode (0004); and the non-aqueous electrolyte of claim 1 (abstract).
Regarding claim 13, Liu et al., teaches wherein the anode includes an anode active material (0006; 0019), and the anode active material includes at least one selected from carbon-based active materials (0016).
Thus, the claims are anticipated.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/18/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant argues that “Liu fails to disclose or suggest an organic solvent comprising a cyclic carbonate compound and a compound represented by Chemical Formula 1-1 as required by the present claims.”
However, Liu teaches an organic solvent (abstract; 0016-0017) comprising a cyclic carbonate compound (fluoroethylene carbonate) (0030; 0095). Additionally, Liu teaches that “a sulfonyl-bases solvent system and an electrolyte of the present disclosure may also contain one or more types of solvents other than a sulfonyl-based solvent, or “non-sulfonyl-based solvent”, mixed with the sulfonyl-based solvent(s). Examples of non-sulfonyl-based solvents that can be used in a sulfonyl-based solvent system and sulfonyl-based electrolyte of the present disclosure include, but are not limited to, carbonates, ethers, nitriles, phosphates, sulfonates, sultones, and sulfates, either cyclic or linear, non-fluorinated or fluorinated.” (0095).
The Applicant argues that “Liu does not disclose or suggest a solvent system that comprises both a sulfonyl-based compound and a cyclic carbonate.”
However, Liu teaches a solvent system of both sulfonyl compound and cyclic carbonate:
an organic solvent (abstract; 0016-0017) comprising a cyclic carbonate compound (fluoroethylene carbonate) (0030; 0095); and a
compound represented by Chemical Formula: F-
wherein R2 and R3 each are hydrogen (Example 11 of Liu et al.; 0006), an alkyl group having 1 to 10 carbon atoms (0006), or an aryl group having up to 6 carbon atoms (0006); and wherein the organic solvent comprises the compound represented by Example 11 (Structure 4 of Liu).
Applicant argues that “Liu teaches away from including traditional carbonate-based electrolyte.”
However, Liu does not teach away from traditional carbonate-based electrolyte as can be seen in paragraphs (0030) and (0095):
“a sulfonyl-bases solvent system and an electrolyte of the present disclosure may also contain one or more types of solvents other than a sulfonyl-based solvent, or “non-sulfonyl-based solvent”, mixed with the sulfonyl-based solvent(s). Examples of non-sulfonyl-based solvents that can be used in a sulfonyl-based solvent system and sulfonyl-based electrolyte of the present disclosure include, but are not limited to, carbonates.” (0095).
Conclusion
ANGELA J. MARTIN
Examiner
Art Unit 1727
/ANGELA J MARTIN/Examiner, Art Unit 1727
/BARBARA L GILLIAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1727