DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 5/27/2025 was in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-9, 11-12, 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bondy (US 20110062888 A1) in view of Butcher (US 20240360965 A1).
With regards to claim 1. Bondy disclose(s):
A landscape lighting system (figs 1-45) comprising:
a plurality of low-voltage RGB
a transformer (100; [0625-0627]) for providing an initial power level (24VAC), the transformer for connection to a GFCI outlet (101);
a plurality of drivers (113) electrically connected to the transformer (100) and for modifying the initial power level provided by the transformer (12-24V; figs 2 and 10) to a power level (12V; fig 2) for the plurality of low-voltage RGBdrivers to be installed at a landscape element, the plurality of drivers modifying the initial power level from 11-15V AC (12V; fig 2) to
and a plurality of connectors for connecting the plurality of drivers to the transformer and for connecting the plurality of drivers to the plurality of low-voltage RGB
Bondy does not disclose(s):
the low-voltage RGB
the driver being a booster for stepping up the initial power level to 30-50V DC
Butcher teaches
the low-voltage RGB
the driver (350; fig 12) being a booster for stepping up the initial power level to 30-50V DC ([0091])
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the device/method/system of Bondy by implementing the low-voltage RGBdriver being a booster for stepping up the initial power level to 30-50V DC as disclosed by Butcher in order to power a decorative LED light projecting a desired selected color as taught/suggested by Butcher ([0091, 0067]).
Further, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to implement a driver being a booster for stepping up the initial power level to 30-50V DC, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art.
With regards to claim 4. Bondy as modified disclose(s):
The landscape lighting system of claim 1,
Bondy further disclose(s):
wherein the initial power level of the transformer is about 12V AC (see 12-24V; fig 2).
With regards to claim 5. Bondy as modified disclose(s):
The landscape lighting system of claim 1,
Bondy further disclose(s):
wherein the plurality of low-voltage RGBdriver of the plurality of driver (see 104 lights and driver 103; fig 1b; see fig 7).
Butcher further discloses:
the low-voltage RGB
the driver (350; fig 12) being a booster ([0091])
With regards to claim 6. Bondy as modified disclose(s):
The landscape lighting system of claim 1,
Butcher further discloses:
wherein the power level for the plurality of low-voltage RGBW lights is about 30V DC [0091].
With regards to claim 7. Bondy as modified disclose(s):
The landscape lighting system of claim 1,
Bondy further disclose(s):
wherein each of the plurality of drivers comprises a driver (fig 2) for modifying the initial power level of the transformer to the power level for the plurality of low-voltage RGBW lights (see 12V for lamps in fig 2) and
a controller (U1; fig 2) for controlling a color of the plurality of low-voltage RGBW lights (lamps 104; see LED module in fig 10).
Butcher further disclose(s):
the low-voltage RGB
the driver (350; fig 12) being a booster for stepping up the initial power level ([0091])
With regards to claim 8. Bondy as modified disclose(s):
The landscape lighting system of claim 7,
Bondy further disclose(s):
further comprising a remote device [0209] for sending instructions to the controller of each of the plurality of boosters, the instructions comprising a color for the plurality of low-voltage RGB lights [0209].
Butcher further disclose(s):
the low-voltage RGB
With regards to claim 9. Bondy as modified disclose(s):
The landscape lighting system of claim 1,
Bondy further disclose(s):
further comprising a remote device [0209] for sending instructions to the plurality of boosters [0209].
With regards to claim 11. Bondy disclose(s):
A landscape lighting system (figs 1-45) comprising:
a plurality of light strands (105-107; fig 1b), each light strand having a plurality of low-voltage RGB lights ([0174-0175]);
a transformer (100; [0625-0627]) for providing an initial power level (24VAC), the transformer for connection to an exterior outlet or power source (101);
a plurality of drivers (113) electrically connected to the transformer and for modifying the initial power level of the transformer (12-24V; figs 2 and 10) to a power level (12V; fig 2) for the plurality of light strands, each of the plurality of boosters to be installed at a landscape element (fig 7);
and a controller (U1; fig 2; [0633]) for providing color instructions to the plurality of boosters for each of the plurality of light strands (lamps 104; see LED module in fig 10).
Bondy does not disclose(s):
the low-voltage RGB
the driver being a booster for stepping up the initial power
Butcher teaches
the low-voltage RGB
the driver (350; fig 12) being a booster for stepping up the initial power ([0091])
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the device/method/system of Bondy by implementing the low-voltage RGBdriver being a booster for stepping up the initial power level as disclosed by Butcher in order to power a decorative LED light projecting a desired selected color as taught/suggested by Butcher ([0091, 0067]).
Further, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to implement a driver being a booster for stepping up the initial power level to 30-50V DC, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art.
With regards to claim 12. Bondy as modified disclose(s):
The system of claim 11,
Bondy further disclose(s):
further comprising a plurality of connectors for connecting the plurality of driver to the transformer and for connecting the plurality of driver to the plurality of low-voltage RGB lights (see J3/J4 for connectors drivers-transformer and J1/J2 for connectors drivers to lights; [0641]).
Butcher further discloses:
the low-voltage RGB
the driver (350; fig 12) being a booster
With regards to claim 17. Bondy disclose(s):
A method of powering a landscape lighting system (figs 1-45), comprising:
connecting a transformer (100; [0625-0627]) to a power source (101), the transformer for providing an initial power level ranging from about 12V AC to 15V AC (see 12-24V; fig 2);
connecting a plurality of drivers (113; fig 1b) to the transformer (100);
modifying the initial power level (12-24V; figs 2 and 10) to an different,
powering one or more low-voltage lights (104, 105-107; fig 1b) with the
and individually controlling a color for each of the one or more of low-voltage lights [0109].
Bondy does not disclose(s):
the driver being a booster for stepping up the initial power level to 30-50V DC
Butcher teaches
the driver (350; fig 12) being a booster for stepping up the initial power level to 30-50V DC ([0091])
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the device/method/system of Bondy by implementing the driver being a booster for stepping up the initial power level to 30-50V DC as disclosed by Butcher in order to power a decorative LED light projecting a desired selected color as taught/suggested by Butcher ([0091, 0067]).
Further, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to implement a driver being a booster for stepping up the initial power level to 30-50V DC, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art.
With regards to claim 18. Bondy as modified disclose(s):
The method of claim 17,
Bondy further disclose(s):
further comprising installing the one or more low-voltage lights in a plurality of landscape elements (fig 7).
With regards to claim 19. Bondy as modified disclose(s):
The method of claim 17,
Bondy further disclose(s):
further comprising installing the plurality of boosters in a plurality of landscape elements (fig 7).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed (installing the boosters in landscape elements) does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations
With regards to claim 20. Bondy as modified disclose(s):
The method of claim 17,
Bondy further disclose(s):
wherein stepping up the initial power level to an elevated, low-voltage power level comprises:
receiving an initial power level of 12V AC (see 12-24V; fig 2);
Butcher further discloses:
stepping up the 12V AC to 30V DC (350; fig 12; [0091]);
and providing 30V DC power one or more low-voltage lights [0091].
Claim(s) 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bondy (US 20110062888 A1) in view of Butcher (US 20240360965 A1) as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Flaherty (US 20150159844 A1).
With regards to claim 13. Bondy as modified disclose(s):
The system of claim 11,
Bondy further disclose(s):
wherein each booster of the plurality of boosters comprises:
a box (fig 8b);
a light controller (U1; fig 2) housed within the box, the light controller for controlling a color of individual light strands or individual bulbs of the plurality of light strands based on instructions received from the controller [0633];
the booster housed within the box (fig 2), the booster for modifying the initial power level (12V; fig 2) of the transformer to a power level for the plurality of light strands (12V lamp);
a connector (J1/J2) at a first end of the box (right side in fig 8b), the connector for connecting the booster to the transformer ([0642]);
Butcher further disclose(s):
the low-voltage RGB
the driver (350; fig 12) being a booster for stepping up the initial power ([0091])
Bondy as modified does not disclose(s):
a splitter at a second end of the box opposite the first end, the splitter for connecting the booster to one or more light strands of the plurality of light strands.
Flaherty teaches
a splitter (30; fig 6) at a second end of the box opposite the first end, the splitter for connecting the booster to one or more light strands of the plurality of light strands (see multiple 20s).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the device/method/system of Bondy by implementing the splitter at a second end of the box opposite the first end, the splitter for connecting the booster to one or more light strands of the plurality of light strands as disclosed by Flaherty in order to couple multiple light strands in parallel as taught/suggested by Flaherty ([0029]).
With regards to claim 14. Bondy as modified disclose(s):
The system of claim 13,
Flaherty further disclose(s):
wherein the splitter comprises a 4-way splitter (see 30; fig 6), with each leg of the 4-way splitter capable of connection to six individual light strands of the plurality of light strands (see strand with 6 or more 14 in fig 4).
With regards to claim 15. Bondy as modified disclose(s):
The system of claim 13,
Bondy further disclose(s):
wherein each booster of the plurality of boosters further comprises a sensor for detecting weather conditions about the landscape lighting system [0291].
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bondy (US 20110062888 A1) in view of Butcher (US 20240360965 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Larsen (US 12281784 B1).
With regards to claim 10. Bondy as modified disclose(s):
The landscape lighting system of claim 1,
wherein the plurality of connectors comprise
(i) a plurality of drivers (113) and
(ii) a plurality of drivers (113) to the plurality of low-voltage RGB lights (146).
Butcher further disclose(s):
the low-voltage RGB
Bondy as modified does not disclose(s):
the plurality of
the plurality of
Larsen teaches
a landscape wires being coaxial wires ([lines 49-55 in col 3]);
the plurality of connectors being plurality of coaxial connectors [lines 47-53 in col 4]
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the device/method/system of Bondy by implementing the low the plurality of .
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bondy (US 20110062888 A1) in view of Butcher (US 20240360965 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Veloskey (US 20170198887 A1).
With regards to claim 16. Bondy as modified disclose(s):
The system of claim 11,
Bondy as modified does not disclose(s):
wherein the controller comprises a locking mechanism preventing unauthorized adjustments to the landscape lighting system.
Veloskey teaches
wherein the controller comprises a locking mechanism preventing unauthorized adjustments to the landscape lighting system (last 4 lines in [0053]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the device/method/system of modified Bondy by implementing the controller comprises a locking mechanism preventing unauthorized adjustments to the landscape lighting system as disclosed by Veloskey in order to preventing unauthorized users to change a radial position of a light as taught/suggested by Veloskey [0053].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 2-3 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Christmas Designers (Benefits of Using Coaxial Connect Christmas Lights).
There are clearly many benefits to using coaxial lights. However, some people avoid them because they tend to have a slightly higher price point than traditional light sets with Edison plugs.
While it’s true that coaxial lights do tend to cost a little more than traditional Christmas lights, the price increase is not that steep--only about 15%. Additionally, the multitude of benefits that come along with coaxial lights far outweigh the slight price increase. When you pay a little more for coaxial Christmas lights, you pay for a sense of confidence and security.
When it comes to a professional-looking Christmas light display, there is truly no question that you should utilize coaxial connect. In fact, this is all we use in our own professionally installed programs at Christmas Designers.
/RENAN LUQUE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845