DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-9 and 13-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the first float valve assembly" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is also unclear if this limitation was intended to refer to “A float valve assembly” (claim 1, line 1) or “a first float valve” (claim 1, line 5). For the purposes of examination, it will be assumed that this was intended to refer to “a first float valve”. Appropriate correction or clarification is required.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the first float valve assembly" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is also unclear if this limitation was intended to refer to “A float valve assembly” (claim 10, line 1) or “a first float valve” (claim 10, line 5). For the purposes of examination, it will be assumed that this was intended to refer to “a first float valve”. Appropriate correction or clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Santos et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0183247) in view of Frazier (US Patent Application Publication No. 2012/0279700).
In reference to claim 1, Santos discloses a float valve assembly 100 comprising:
a) a tubular sub member 55 configured to be conveyed into a wellbore in a tubular string 200, said tubular sub member 55 having a central through bore 57;
b) a first float valve 30 disposed within said central through bore 57 of said tubular sub member 55; and
c) a second float valve 10 disposed within said central through bore 57 of said tubular sub member 55, wherein said second float valve 10 comprises at least one seal member 12 disposed along an external surface of said second float valve 10 (Fig. 4), and wherein said at least one seal member 12 is configured to form a fluid pressure seal against an inner surface of said tubular sub member 55 (Fig. 5).
Santos fails to disclose the tubular sub member comprising internal connection threads disposed within said central through bore; wherein said first float valve comprises external threads configured to engage in mating relationship with said internal connection threads of said tubular sub member.
Frazier discloses a tubular sub member 608 comprising internal connection threads 625 disposed within a central bore 655; wherein a float valve 400 (Fig. 4A) comprises external threads 105 configured to engage in mating relationship with said internal connection threads 625 of said tubular sub member 608 (Fig. 6D). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to attach the first float valve to the tubular sub member with a threaded connection with a reasonable expectation of success as it amounts to a substitution of equivalents to perform the same function, which is in this case to attach a float valve to a tubular sub member.
In reference to claim 3, Santos discloses that said at least one seal member 12 comprises a plurality of seal members 17 and 18 oriented in perpendicular relationship to the longitudinal axis of said central through bore 57 of said tubular sub member 55 (Figs. 4 and 5).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Santos et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0183247) in view of Frazier (US Patent Application Publication No. 2012/0279700) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Galle, Sr. et al. (US Patent No. 6,494,499).
In reference to claim 2, Santos and Frazier fail to disclose that said internal threads of said tubular sub member and said external threads of said first float valve cooperate to form a fluid pressure seal.
Galle discloses a threaded connection (Fig. 1) that forms a metal-to-metal seal 25/45 (col. 2, lines 57-61). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to form a metal-to-metal seal with the threads with a reasonable expectation of success so that a more effective seal can be formed.
Claims 4-6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Santos et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0183247) in view of Frazier (US Patent Application Publication No. 2012/0279700) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of MacGregor et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0002993).
In reference to claim 4, Santos discloses that said first float valve 30 comprises:
a) a housing 31 defining an inner space 35, a flow port (Fig. 4, within seat 49) and a seat 49 disposed around said flow port;
b) a dart member 39 comprising a dart shaft 45 and a dart head 44; and
c) a spring 42 configured to bias said dart head 44 against said seat 49 and form a fluid pressure seal across said flow port, wherein said dart head 44 is configured to be at least partially displaced from said seat 49 when a predetermined fluid pressure acts on said dart head 44 and opposes said bias force applied by said spring 42 (Fig. 4).
Santos fails to disclose a metal-to-metal seal between the dart head and the seat.
MacGregor discloses a valve 10 comprising a head 20b and seat 16 (Figs. 1 and 2, par. 0057) that form a metal-to-metal seal (par. 0021). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to form a metal-to-metal seal between the dart head and valve seat with a reasonable expectation of success as it amounts to a substitution of known equivalents to perform the same function, which is in this case to form a seal between a valve member and a valve seat.
In reference to claim 5, Santos discloses that said dart head 44 is substantially conical (Fig. 4).
In reference to claim 6, Santos discloses that said seat 49 is substantially circular (Fig. 4).
In reference to claim 9, Santos discloses at least one adapter member 51 or 52 disposed between said first float valve 30 and said second float valve 10 (Fig. 4).
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Santos et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0183247) in view of Frazier (US Patent Application Publication No. 2012/0279700) and MacGregor et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0002993) as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of LeJeune (US Patent Application Publication No. 2011/0192608).
In reference to claim 7, Santos fails to disclose that said dart shaft has three sides.
LeJeune discloses a dart 21 with a shaft 25 having three sides (Fig. 6, par. 0050). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to form the shaft so that it has three sides with a reasonable expectation of success so that the cross-sectional area of the stem is reduced to allow for greater flow.
In reference to claim 8, Santos fails to disclose a baffle strainer member 46 operationally attached to said housing, wherein said baffle strainer member is configured to filter out solid materials from passing through said flow port.
LeJeune discloses a baffle strainer member operationally attached to said housing 11, wherein said baffle strainer member 46 is configured to filter out solid materials from passing through said flow port (Figs. 1 and 5). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include a baffle strainer with a reasonable expectation of success so that debris can be filtered out before it passes through the flow port.
Claims 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Santos et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0183247) in view of Frazier (US Patent Application Publication No. 2012/0279700) and Galle, Sr. et al. (US Patent No. 6,494,499).
In reference to claim 10, Santos discloses a float valve assembly 100 comprising:
a) a tubular sub member 55 configured to be conveyed into a wellbore in a tubular string 200, said tubular sub member 55 having a central through bore 57; and
b) a first float valve 30 disposed within said central through bore 57 of said tubular sub member 55.
Santos fails to disclose the tubular sub member comprising internal connection threads disposed within said central through bore; wherein said first float valve comprises external threads configured to engage in mating relationship with said internal connection threads of said tubular sub member, wherein said internal threads of said tubular sub member, and wherein said internal threads of said tubular sub member and said external threads of said first float valve cooperate to form a fluid pressure seal.
Frazier discloses a tubular sub member 608 comprising internal connection threads 625 disposed within a central bore 655; wherein a float valve 400 (Fig. 4A) comprises external threads 105 configured to engage in mating relationship with said internal connection threads 625 of said tubular sub member 608 (Fig. 6D). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to attach the first float valve to the tubular sub member with a threaded connection with a reasonable expectation of success as it amounts to a substitution of equivalents to perform the same function, which is in this case to attach a float valve to a tubular sub member.
Galle discloses a threaded connection (Fig. 1) that forms a metal-to-metal seal 25/45 (col. 2, lines 57-61). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to form a metal-to-metal seal with the threads with a reasonable expectation of success so that a more effective seal can be formed.
In reference to claim 11, Santos discloses a second float valve 10 disposed within said central through bore 57 of said tubular sub member 55, wherein said second float valve 10 comprises at least one seal member 12 disposed along an external surface of said second float valve 10 (Fig. 4), and wherein said at least one seal member 12 is configured to form a fluid pressure seal against an inner surface of said tubular sub member 55 (Fig. 5).
In reference to claim 12, Santos discloses that said at least one seal 12 member comprises a plurality of seal members 17 and 18 oriented in perpendicular relationship to the longitudinal axis of said central through bore 57 of said tubular sub member 55 (Fig. 4).
Claims 13-15 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Santos et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0183247) in view of Frazier (US Patent Application Publication No. 2012/0279700) and Galle, Sr. et al. (US Patent No. 6,494,499) as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of MacGregor et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0002993).
In reference to claim 13, Santos discloses said first float valve 30 comprises:
a) a housing 31 defining an inner space 35, a flow port (Fig. 4, within seat 49) and a seat 49 disposed around said flow port (Fig. 4);
b) a dart member 39 comprising a dart shaft 45 and a dart head 44 (Fig. 4); and
c) a spring 42 configured to bias said dart head 44 against said seat 49 and form a fluid pressure seal across said flow port (Fig. 4), wherein said dart head 44 is configured to be at least partially displaced from said seat 49 when a predetermined fluid pressure acts on said dart head 44 and opposes said bias force applied by said spring 42 (Fig. 4).
Santos fails to disclose a metal-to-metal seal between the dart head and the seat.
MacGregor discloses a valve 10 comprising a head 20b and seat 16 (Figs. 1 and 2, par. 0057) that form a metal-to-metal seal (par. 0021). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to form a metal-to-metal seal between the dart head and valve seat with a reasonable expectation of success as it amounts to a substitution of known equivalents to perform the same function, which is in this case to form a seal between a valve member and a valve seat.
In reference to claim 14, Santos discloses that said dart head 44 is substantially conical (Fig. 4).
In reference to claim 15, Santos discloses that said seat 49 is substantially circular (Fig. 4).
In reference to claim 18, Santos discloses at least one adapter member 51 or 52 disposed between said first float valve 30 and said second float valve 10 (Fig. 4).
Claims 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Santos et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0183247) in view of Frazier (US Patent Application Publication No. 2012/0279700) and Galle, Sr. et al. (US Patent No. 6,494,499) and MacGregor et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0002993) as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of LeJeune (US Patent Application Publication No. 2011/0192608).
In reference to claim 16, Santos fails to disclose that said dart shaft has three sides.
LeJeune discloses a dart 21 with a shaft 25 having three sides (Fig. 6, par. 0050). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to form the shaft so that it has three sides with a reasonable expectation of success so that the cross-sectional area of the stem is reduced to allow for greater flow.
In reference to claim 17, Santos fails to disclose a baffle strainer member 46 operationally attached to said housing, wherein said baffle strainer member is configured to filter out solid materials from passing through said flow port.
LeJeune discloses a baffle strainer member operationally attached to said housing 11, wherein said baffle strainer member 46 is configured to filter out solid materials from passing through said flow port (Figs. 1 and 5). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include a baffle strainer with a reasonable expectation of success so that debris can be filtered out before it passes through the flow port.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Cress et al. (US Patent No. 11,421,509) discloses a float valve comprising a dart 40 and seals 18 (Fig. 1); Montoya et al. (US Patent No. 11,242,719) discloses a float valve assembly comprising float valves 335 and 345; and Kaufman (US Patent No. 4,532,995) discloses two float valves 24 and 25 with external threads 26 and 27 (Fig. 1).
/BRAD HARCOURT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3674
2/23/26