DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3 and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Santos et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0183247) in view of Frazier (US Patent Application Publication No. 2012/0279700) and Galle, Sr. et al. (US Patent No. 6,494,499).
In reference to claim 1, Santos discloses a float valve assembly 100 comprising:
a) a tubular sub member 55 configured to be conveyed into a wellbore in a tubular string 200, said tubular sub member 55 having a central through bore 57;
b) a first float valve 30 disposed within said central through bore 57 of said tubular sub member 55; and
c) a second float valve 10 disposed within said central through bore 57 of said tubular sub member 55, wherein said second float valve 10 comprises at least one seal member 12 disposed along an external surface of said second float valve 10 (Fig. 4), and wherein said at least one seal member 12 is configured to form a fluid pressure seal against an inner surface of said tubular sub member 55 (Fig. 5).
Santos fails to disclose the tubular sub member comprising internal connection threads disposed within said central through bore; wherein said first float valve comprises external threads configured to engage in mating relationship with said internal connection threads of said tubular sub member.
Frazier discloses a tubular sub member 608 comprising internal connection threads 625 disposed within a central bore 655; wherein a float valve 400 (Fig. 4A) comprises external threads 105 configured to engage in mating relationship with said internal connection threads 625 of said tubular sub member 608 (Fig. 6D). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to attach the first float valve to the tubular sub member with a threaded connection with a reasonable expectation of success as it amounts to a substitution of equivalents to perform the same function, which is in this case to attach a float valve to a tubular sub member.
Santos and Frazier fail to disclose that said internal threads of said tubular sub member and said external threads of said first float valve cooperate to form a fluid pressure seal.
Galle discloses a threaded connection (Fig. 1) that forms a metal-to-metal seal 25/45 (col. 2, lines 57-61). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to form a metal-to-metal seal with the threads with a reasonable expectation of success so that a more effective seal can be formed.
In reference to claim 3, Santos discloses that said at least one seal member 12 comprises a plurality of seal members 17 and 18 oriented in perpendicular relationship to the longitudinal axis of said central through bore 57 of said tubular sub member 55 (Figs. 4 and 5).
In reference to claim 10, Santos discloses a float valve assembly 100 comprising:
a) a tubular sub member 55 configured to be conveyed into a wellbore in a tubular string 200, said tubular sub member 55 having a central through bore 57; and
b) a first float valve 30 disposed within said central through bore 57 of said tubular sub member 55.
Santos fails to disclose the tubular sub member comprising internal connection threads disposed within said central through bore; wherein said first float valve comprises external threads configured to engage in mating relationship with said internal connection threads of said tubular sub member, wherein said internal threads of said tubular sub member, and wherein said internal threads of said tubular sub member and said external threads of said first float valve cooperate to form a fluid pressure seal.
Frazier discloses a tubular sub member 608 comprising internal connection threads 625 disposed within a central bore 655; wherein a float valve 400 (Fig. 4A) comprises external threads 105 configured to engage in mating relationship with said internal connection threads 625 of said tubular sub member 608 (Fig. 6D). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to attach the first float valve to the tubular sub member with a threaded connection with a reasonable expectation of success as it amounts to a substitution of equivalents to perform the same function, which is in this case to attach a float valve to a tubular sub member.
Galle discloses a threaded connection (Fig. 1) that forms a metal-to-metal seal 25/45 (col. 2, lines 57-61). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to form a metal-to-metal seal with the threads with a reasonable expectation of success so that a more effective seal can be formed.
In reference to claim 11, Santos discloses a second float valve 10 disposed within said central through bore 57 of said tubular sub member 55, wherein said second float valve 10 comprises at least one seal member 12 disposed along an external surface of said second float valve 10 (Fig. 4), and wherein said at least one seal member 12 is configured to form a fluid pressure seal against an inner surface of said tubular sub member 55 (Fig. 5).
In reference to claim 12, Santos discloses that said at least one seal 12 member comprises a plurality of seal members 17 and 18 oriented in perpendicular relationship to the longitudinal axis of said central through bore 57 of said tubular sub member 55 (Fig. 4).
Claims 4-6, 9, 13-15 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Santos et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0183247) in view of Frazier (US Patent Application Publication No. 2012/0279700) and Galle, Sr. et al. (US Patent No. 6,494,499) as applied to claims 1 and 10 above, and further in view of MacGregor et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0002993).
In reference to claim 4, Santos discloses that said first float valve 30 comprises:
a) a housing 31 defining an inner space 35, a flow port (Fig. 4, within seat 49) and a seat 49 disposed around said flow port;
b) a dart member 39 comprising a dart shaft 45 and a dart head 44; and
c) a spring 42 configured to bias said dart head 44 against said seat 49 and form a fluid pressure seal across said flow port, wherein said dart head 44 is configured to be at least partially displaced from said seat 49 when a predetermined fluid pressure acts on said dart head 44 and opposes said bias force applied by said spring 42 (Fig. 4).
Santos fails to disclose a metal-to-metal seal between the dart head and the seat.
MacGregor discloses a valve 10 comprising a head 20b and seat 16 (Figs. 1 and 2, par. 0057) that form a metal-to-metal seal (par. 0021). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to form a metal-to-metal seal between the dart head and valve seat with a reasonable expectation of success as it amounts to a substitution of known equivalents to perform the same function, which is in this case to form a seal between a valve member and a valve seat.
In reference to claim 5, Santos discloses that said dart head 44 is substantially conical (Fig. 4).
In reference to claim 6, Santos discloses that said seat 49 is substantially circular (Fig. 4).
In reference to claim 9, Santos discloses at least one adapter member 51 or 52 disposed between said first float valve 30 and said second float valve 10 (Fig. 4).
In reference to claim 13, Santos discloses said first float valve 30 comprises:
a) a housing 31 defining an inner space 35, a flow port (Fig. 4, within seat 49) and a seat 49 disposed around said flow port (Fig. 4);
b) a dart member 39 comprising a dart shaft 45 and a dart head 44 (Fig. 4); and
c) a spring 42 configured to bias said dart head 44 against said seat 49 and form a fluid pressure seal across said flow port (Fig. 4), wherein said dart head 44 is configured to be at least partially displaced from said seat 49 when a predetermined fluid pressure acts on said dart head 44 and opposes said bias force applied by said spring 42 (Fig. 4).
Santos fails to disclose a metal-to-metal seal between the dart head and the seat.
MacGregor discloses a valve 10 comprising a head 20b and seat 16 (Figs. 1 and 2, par. 0057) that form a metal-to-metal seal (par. 0021). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to form a metal-to-metal seal between the dart head and valve seat with a reasonable expectation of success as it amounts to a substitution of known equivalents to perform the same function, which is in this case to form a seal between a valve member and a valve seat.
In reference to claim 14, Santos discloses that said dart head 44 is substantially conical (Fig. 4).
In reference to claim 15, Santos discloses that said seat 49 is substantially circular (Fig. 4).
In reference to claim 18, Santos discloses at least one adapter member 51 or 52 disposed between said first float valve 30 and said second float valve 10 (Fig. 4).
Claims 7, 8, 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Santos et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0183247) in view of Frazier (US Patent Application Publication No. 2012/0279700), Galle, Sr. et al. (US Patent No. 6,494,499) and MacGregor et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0002993) as applied to claims 4 and 13 above, and further in view of LeJeune (US Patent Application Publication No. 2011/0192608).
In reference to claim 7, Santos fails to disclose that said dart shaft has three sides.
LeJeune discloses a dart 21 with a shaft 25 having three sides (Fig. 6, par. 0050). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to form the shaft so that it has three sides with a reasonable expectation of success so that the cross-sectional area of the stem is reduced to allow for greater flow.
In reference to claim 8, Santos fails to disclose a baffle strainer member 46 operationally attached to said housing, wherein said baffle strainer member is configured to filter out solid materials from passing through said flow port.
LeJeune discloses a baffle strainer member operationally attached to said housing 11, wherein said baffle strainer member 46 is configured to filter out solid materials from passing through said flow port (Figs. 1 and 5). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include a baffle strainer with a reasonable expectation of success so that debris can be filtered out before it passes through the flow port.
In reference to claim 16, Santos fails to disclose that said dart shaft has three sides.
LeJeune discloses a dart 21 with a shaft 25 having three sides (Fig. 6, par. 0050). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to form the shaft so that it has three sides with a reasonable expectation of success so that the cross-sectional area of the stem is reduced to allow for greater flow.
In reference to claim 17, Santos fails to disclose a baffle strainer member 46 operationally attached to said housing, wherein said baffle strainer member is configured to filter out solid materials from passing through said flow port.
LeJeune discloses a baffle strainer member operationally attached to said housing 11, wherein said baffle strainer member 46 is configured to filter out solid materials from passing through said flow port (Figs. 1 and 5). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include a baffle strainer with a reasonable expectation of success so that debris can be filtered out before it passes through the flow port.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/11/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that claim 1 should not be rejected under Santos in view of Frazier and Galle as Santos teaches away from having a threaded connection. The examiner finds this unpersuasive and does not consider Santos to teach away from the combination. Santos teaches a different means of attaching the float valves than threaded connections, but this does not constitute teaching away as at no point does Santos disclose that a threaded connection would unworkable or undesirable (see MPEP 2145, “a reference does not teach away if it merely expresses a general preference for an alternative invention but does not criticize, discredit or otherwise discourage investigation into the invention claimed.”). The substitution known connection means for downhole components amounts to a substitution of equivalents that does not affect the function of the float valves.
Applicant also argues that Galle is not a proper reference in this matter as Galle neither discloses nor teaches a connection of metal-to-metal seal that is formed between the inner surface of a through bore and an object disposed within that bore. The examiner finds this unpersuasive as Galle is relied upon only for a threaded connection that forms a metal-to-metal seal (col. 2, lines 57-61). The other limitations, such as an object secured within the through bore are clearly disclosed by the other references.
Applicant’s arguments have overcome the rejection under 35 USC 112.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRAD HARCOURT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3674
6/04/26