DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3, 4-9, 11 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the vehicle" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of examination, it will be assumed that this was intended to read as “the vehicle chassis”.
Claim 19 depends from claim 18, which has been cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by Cutts, Sr., et al. (US Patent No. 3,590,566).
In reference to claim 12, Cutts discloses a harvesting apparatus, comprising:
a. a chassis 1 (Fig. 2);
b. a shaker head 36 configured to engage a trunk of a tree 11 in an orchard row and apply vibratory motion thereto to dislodge fruit or nuts (Fig. 1); and
c. a blower unit 39 configured to blow the dislodged fruit or nuts to a path opposite the tree trunk (Fig. 1), wherein the shaker head 36 and blower unit 39 are operable to perform shaking and blowing operations sequentially or simultaneously in a single pass of said harvesting apparatus along said orchard row (Fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 23 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cutts, Sr., et al. (US Patent No. 3,590,566) in view of Block (US Patent No. 3,762,140).
In reference to claim 1, Cutts discloses a harvesting apparatus, comprising:
a. a vehicle chassis 1 (Fig. 2);
b. a shaker assembly 36 (Figs. 1 and 2) mounted to the chassis 1 and configured to engage a trunk of a tree 11 in an orchard row and apply vibratory forces to remove fruit or nuts from the tree 11 (Fig. 1); and
c. a blower assembly 39 mounted to the vehicle and configured to direct a flow of air beneath the tree 11 to move the removed fruit or nuts to an opposite side of said orchard row for collection (Fig. 1).
Cutts discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 with the exception of windrowing the fruit or nuts.
Block discloses that fruit gathered by a harvester can be deposited in a windrow (Fig. 3, col. 3, lines 1-2). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to deposit collected fruit in a windrow rather than a container with a reasonable expectation of success so that the fruit or nuts can be picked up by a separate vehicle.
In reference to claim 23, Cutts discloses a method for harvesting fruit or nuts in an orchard using a mobile harvesting apparatus, comprising:
a. positioning the apparatus adjacent to a tree 11 in an orchard row (Fig. 1);
b. engaging a shaker head 36 with a trunk of the tree and applying a vibratory force to dislodge fruit or nuts (Fig. 1); and
c. operating a blower 39 attached to the apparatus to direct a stream of air beneath the tree and move the dislodged fruit or nuts to an opposite side of the orchard row for collection (Fig.1).
Cutts discloses all of the limitations of claim 23 with the exception of windrowing the fruit or nuts.
Block discloses that fruit gathered by a harvester can be deposited in a windrow (Fig. 3, col. 3, lines 1-2). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to deposit collected fruit in a windrow rather than a container with a reasonable expectation of success so that the fruit or nuts can be picked up by a separate vehicle.
In reference to claim 26, Cutts discloses adjusting a pitch angle of a blower discharge outlet 71 to direct airflow (Fig. 1).
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 11, 12, 23 and 34 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5, 6, 7, 14, 18, 20, 21 and 22 of copending Application No. 18/985,084 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the listed claims of the reference application entirely anticipate the listed claims of the present invention.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13, 15, 16, 21, 24 and 28 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 2, 4-9, 11 and 19 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Marrs (US Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0319930) discloses a harvester with a shaker 27 and blower 50 (Fig. 1); and Windemuller et al. (US Patent No. 5,259,177) discloses a harvester with shakers 40 and blowers 160 (Fig. 3).
/BRAD HARCOURT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3674
9/28/26