DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant's amendment filed on 4/8/2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 2, and 5 have been amended. Claims 1-8 are still pending in this application, with claim 1 being independent.
In consideration of the amendments to claims along with the Remarks dated 4/8/2026 and Supplemental Remarks as presented in interview dated 4/27/2026 as attached (19200692_A), all previous rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C 112(pre-AIA ), second paragraph, have been withdrawn.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “refracted light”/“refractive surface” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. It is noted that no refraction of any kind in any of the Figures is illustrated at or in the “refractive surface”. It is further noted that only reflection is illustrated in any of the Figures at the “refractive surface”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
It is generally unclear how a reflective member can have a refractive surface. While Applicant has removed the limitation “reflective member” from the claims, according to the disclosure, the solid “rod-shaped member” is a “reflective member” (Par. [0006, 0007, 0019, 0035, 0045, and 0046]). According to applicants Remarks, the light “enters the bulk of the rod-shaped member 30 while being refracted, and exits toward the outside of the tubular member 20 with a direction different from the optical axis X”. The disclosure, including the Figures, do not illustrate any light entering the bulk of the rod-shaped member. Further unclear per claim 3 is how the refractive surface can comprise “a vapor-deposited metal” as such would seemingly prevent light from refracting through said surface. Claims will be examined below as best understood.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 4-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Griffin et al. (US 2021/0330383, hereinafter Griffin).
In regards to claim 1, Griffin discloses in Figures 19A and 19B, a light diffusion device for photoimmunotherapy or photodynamic therapy (Par. [0002]), the light diffusion device comprising: an optical transmission cable (405) configured to transmit light emitted from a light source (see Fig. 19B) and emit the transmitted light from an emission surface of a distal end part (at 425, see Fig. 19A); a refractive surface (430 or 440) that refracts the light emitted from the emission surface (see Fig. 19B), the refractive surface (430 or 440) being formed on an end surface of a solid rod-shaped member (400) comprising a transparent solid material (see Fig. 19B, Par. [0090, 0107]); and a tubular member (420) made of resin (Par. [0090, 0100]) into which the optical transmission cable (405) and the solid rod-shaped member (400) are inserted (see Figs. 19A and 19B), wherein there is a space that is a medium having a refractive index different from that of the solid rod-shaped member (see Fig. 19B), between the emission surface and the refractive surface (see Fig. 19B), wherein the light emitted from the emission surface enters the space (see Fig. 19B), the light having a divergence angle based on a numerical aperture of the optical transmission cable (see Fig. 19B). wherein the light passes through the refractive surface and is refracted (see Fig. 19B), thereby changing its direction (see Fig. 19B), and wherein the refractive surface is disposed at a predetermined distance from the emission surface (see Fig. 19B) in the tubular member (see Fig. 19B) and is inclined with respect to an axial direction of the optical transmission cable (see Fig. 19B), and refracts the light emitted from the emission surface at a predetermined angle or more with respect to the axial direction of the optical transmission cable (see Fig. 19B).
In regards to claim 2, Griffin discloses in Figures 19A and 19B, the solid rod-shaped member (400) is a rod-shaped member made of quartz or silicon (Par. [0090, 0100]) and is spaced apart from the optical transmission cable in the tubular member (see Fig. 19B), and wherein the refractive surface (430 or 440) is formed on an end part of the rod-shaped member on a side adjacent to the optical transmission cable (430 specifically, see Fig. 19B).
In regards to claim 4, Griffin discloses in Figures 19A and 19B, the optical transmission cable is a plastic fiber comprising a core (201) having an outer diameter of 500 µm or more (Par. [0087-0089, 0095]) and a cladding made of resin and formed on an outer periphery of the core (Par. [0095]), and wherein an outer diameter of the refractive surface viewed from the axial direction of the optical transmission cable is larger than the outer diameter of the core (see Fig. 19B).
In regards to claim 5, Griffin discloses in Figures 19A and 19B, an unevenness of the refractive surface on which the light is incident (430) has a peak-to-valley (P-V) value of λ or less with respect to a central wavelength of laser light generated from the light source (as such a surface is not suggested of having any "unevenness", it is interpreted as meeting this limitation).
In regards to claim 6, Griffin discloses in Figures 19A and 19B, the emission surface of the optical transmission cable (425) is inclined (substantially 90 degrees, vertically as oriented in Fig. 19B) with respect to the axial direction of the optical transmission cable (horizontal as oriented in Fig. 19B).
In regards to claim 7, Griffin discloses in Figures 19A and 19B, the emission surface (425) is inclined (substantially 90 degrees, vertically as oriented in Fig. 19B) with respect to the axial direction of the optical transmission cable (horizontal as oriented in Fig. 19B) so as to face the refractive surface substantially in parallel (425 and 430 substantially parallel at least at centers of each, see Fig. 19B).
In regards to claim 8, Griffin discloses in Figures 19A and 19B, the refractive surface (430) is formed in a curved surface shape that is concave with respect to the emission surface (Par. [0091]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please review the cited references found on the attached PTO-892, now including Pitris et al. (US 6,564,087), Griffin (US 9,618,700), Black et al. (US 5,163,935), Hmelar et al. (US 5,772,657), which teaches either alone or in combination optical transmission cable, reflective member having a refractive surface, and tubular member, structurally and materially similar to that which is currently claimed above.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALEXANDER K GARLEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896