Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/07/2025 has been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6, 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hattori et al. [CN 103869661 A]
Regarding claims 1 and 10, Hattori et al. disclose a developing device [5] detachably attachable to a body of an image forming apparatus [500], said developing device comprising a developing roller [50] to develop a latent image formed on a surface of an image bearer [1], a developer supply rotator [53] opposite the developing roller [Fig. 1] to rotate in a specified direction to supply the developer to the developing roller, a removable sheet-shaped member [70] that separates the developing roller and the developer supply rotator to form a pre-storage portion storing the developer in an inner space [53a, 53b] in which the developer supply rotator is disposed in the developing device, an upper developing case [58c] above the sheet-shaped member to cover the developing roller, a lower developing case [58a, 58b] below the sheet-shaped member to form a developing case together with the upper developing case; wherein the lower developing case divided into a first lower developing case and a second lower developing case [Fig. 1] when viewed in a cross section orthogonal to a rotation axis direction of the developing roller, and the sheet-shaped member is removably attached directly or indirectly to the lower developing case.
Regarding claim 6, Hattori et al. disclose the sheet-shaped member is removable attached via a base portion of the lower developing case [Fig. 7].
Regarding claim 9, Hattori et al. disclose a process cartridge [Fig. 3] detachably attachable to the body of the image forming apparatus, said process cartridge including the developing device [5] and the image bearer [1].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-5, 7 and 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Prior Art
8. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
- Sakamaki [9,983,511] discloses an image forming apparatus.
- Oshikawa [JP 2008268238 A] discloses an image forming apparatus.
Contact Information
examiner should be directed to HOAN H TRAN whose telephone number is (571)272-2141.
The examiner can normally be reached on M-F 9AM-5:30PM.
a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is
encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at
http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
supervisor, Walter Lindsay can be reached on 571-272-1674. The fax phone number for the
organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications
may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished
applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR
system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private
PAIRsystem, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you
would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the
automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/HOAN H TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852 05/29/26