DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to Amendments & Remarks filed on 07/23/2026 for application number 19/200,770 filed on 05/07/2025, in which claims 1-11 were originally presented for examination.
Claim(s) 1 & 7-10 is/are currently amended, No claim(s) has/have been cancelled, and No claim(s) has/have been added as new claim(s). Accordingly, claims 1-11 are currently pending.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 USC §119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. IN-2024/21042528, filed on 05/31/2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS(s)) submitted on 06/30/2025 & 10/29/2025 has/have been received and considered.
Examiner Notes
Examiner cites particular paragraphs (or columns and lines) in the references as applied to Applicant’s claims for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the Applicant fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner. The prompt development of a clear issue requires that the replies of the Applicant meet the objections to and rejections of the claims. Applicant should also specifically point out the support for any amendments made to the disclosure. See MPEP §2163.06. Applicant is reminded that the Examiner is entitled to give the Broadest Reasonable Interpretation (BRI) to the language of the claims. Furthermore, the Examiner is not limited to Applicant’s definition which is not specifically set forth in the claims. See MPEP §2111.01.
Response to Arguments
Argument(s) filed on 07/23/2026 has/have been fully considered and is/are addressed as follows:
Regarding the Claim Objections: The claim objection(s) is/are withdrawn, as the amended Claim(s) filed on 07/23/2026 has/have properly addressed the claim(s) informality objection(s) recited in the Non-Final Office Action mailed on 06/25/2026.
Regarding the claim rejections under 35 USC §112(b): The rejections of claim(s) for lack of antecedent basis/being indefinite is/are withdrawn, as the amended claim(s) filed on 07/23/2026 has/have properly addressed the said rejections and/or recite(s) proper antecedent basis.
Regarding the Claim rejections under 35 USC §102(a)(1): Applicant’s arguments regarding the rejections of the claims 1-11 as being clearly anticipated by the prior art of Olivier (FR-3130207-A1). However, those arguments are not persuasive.
Applicant asserts that:
“Olivier fails to disclose an inner shaft within an outer shaft, amongst other things. Accordingly, Olivier does not anticipate the claims.” (see Remarks pages 4-5; emphasis added)
The examiner respectfully disagrees. Examiner points to Olivier which clearly discloses an inner shaft (16) within an outer shaft (33) (see Olivier’s Fig(s). 1 & 2 [reproduced here for convenience]).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Olivier’s Fig. 1 (emphasis added)
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Olivier’s Fig. 2 (emphasis added)
For at least the foregoing reasons, and the rejections outlined below, the prior art rejections are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §102
Claim(s) 1-11 is/are rejected under 35 USC §102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by PG Pub./ Patent No. FR-3130207-A1 by Olivier et al. (hereinafter “Olivier”), which is found in the IDS submitted on 10/29/2025
The rejections below are based on the machine translation of the Olivier’s reference a copy of which is attached to this Office Action as also indicated in the attached 892 form.
As per claim 1, Olivier discloses a controlled engine assist system for a hybrid vehicle having an Internal Combustion Engine, a battery and a plurality of auxiliary components, the plurality of auxiliary components being rotatable in a first direction (F) (Olivier, in at least Abstract, Fig. 1 [reproduced here for convenience]-3, and ¶¶1-7, 12, 17-18, 22-23, 27, 42-49, 56, 57-58, 60-72, 76, 81 & 93-95, discloses the internal combustion engine (10), and an alternator-starter (30) that operates in the driven state to charge a battery and in the motor state as a starter to drive the internal combustion engine, wherein the internal combustion engine (10) to which are attached accessories, e.g. air compressor (40) and/or water pump), the system comprising:
a clutch selectively configured between an engaged configuration and a disengaged configuration (Olivier, in at least Abstract, Fig. 1, and ¶¶23, 62-66 & 81, discloses the rotational linkage device (50) that is capable of permitting independent disengagement [i.e., clutch] of only one of the drive wheels of the crankshaft (16) or of the compressor (40));
an auxiliary drive unit power coupled to the auxiliary components, in a selective manner (Olivier, in at least Abstract, Fig. 1, and ¶¶62-66, 76 & 93, discloses the alternator-starter (30) that is fixed against the internal combustion engine (10), wherein the air compressor (40) is arranged in the axial extension of the alternator-starter (30). Olivier further discloses an engine air boost by the air compressor 40 driven by the alternator-starter 30);
Olivier’s Fig. 1 (emphasis added)
an outer shaft power coupling the clutch and the auxiliary components, in the selective manner (Olivier, in at least Abstract, Fig. 1, and ¶¶62-72, discloses the drive wheel (33) of the alternator-starter (30), wherein the drive wheel (33) is fixed securely to the free end (32) of this rotation axis);
an inner shaft coaxially disposed within the outer shaft, the inner shaft being power coupled between the Internal Combustion Engine and the clutch, in the selective manner, the inner shaft and the outer shaft being selectively coupled in an engaged configuration of the clutch (Olivier, in at least Abstract, Fig. 1, and ¶¶62-72, discloses the crankshaft drive wheel (16), as well as the rotation shaft (31) of the alternator starter (30) and its drive wheel (33) are coaxial, wherein the linkage device (50) is capable of permitting independent disengagement of only one of the drive wheels of the crankshaft (16) or of the compressor (40)); and
a controller selectively operates the clutch, corresponding to a plurality of predefined mode, the selective manner corresponds to the plurality of predefined mode (Olivier, in at least Abstract, Fig. 1, and ¶¶7, 17-18, 22, 27, 42-49, 56, 58, 60-72 & 93-95, discloses a control unit of said linkage device (50), which carries out a method for controlling the operation of said elements, i.e. controls the disengagement of the drive wheel fixed in rotation with the crankshaft to allow the operation of the air compressor whose drive wheel is driven by the alternator-starter which then operates in engine mode, and/or the disengagement of the air compressor with the connection of the alternator-starter with the electric motor alone in order to reduce the power dispersions supplied by the alternator-starter and by the internal combustion engine. Olivier further discloses the linking device according to the invention allows three operating modes of the motor corresponding to three coupling positions between the three elements of the motor. In particular, it allows the functions of starter, alternator, electrical power increase, and air compressor to be performed by pooling existing components and combining them cleverly. Olivier also discloses different operating modes, e.g., when starting engine [i.e., engine start mode], “boost” operation [i.e., power boost mode] by providing torque to the crankshaft with the engine, engine mode [i.e., charging mode] when drive said alternator-starter by the control unit to allow the alternator-starter to drive the said compressor, and air supercharging in a transient mode [i.e., auxiliary drive mode], wherein the air compressor includes a drive shaft to be driven in rotation).
As per claim 2, Olivier discloses the system as claimed in claim 1, accordingly, the rejection of claim 1 above is incorporated. Olivier further discloses wherein the plurality of predefined mode are an engine start mode, a charging mode, an auxiliary drive mode and a power boost mode (Olivier, in at least ¶¶7, 17-18, 27, 44, 49, 56, 58 & 93-95, discloses the linking device according to the invention allows three operating modes of the motor corresponding to three coupling positions between the three elements of the motor. In particular, it allows the functions of starter, alternator, electrical power increase, and air compressor to be performed by pooling existing components and combining them cleverly. Olivier further discloses different operating modes, e.g., when starting engine [i.e., engine start mode], “boost” operation [i.e., power boost mode] by providing torque to the crankshaft with the engine, engine mode [i.e., charging mode] when drive said alternator-starter by the control unit to allow the alternator-starter to drive the said compressor, and air supercharging in a transient mode [i.e., auxiliary drive mode] wherein the air compressor includes a drive shaft to be driven in rotation).
As per claim 3, Olivier discloses the system as claimed in claim 1, accordingly, the rejection of claim 1 above is incorporated. Olivier further discloses wherein the clutch is coupled to the auxiliary drive unit by at least one of a power transmission arrangement selected from the group consisting of a belt and pulley arrangement and a gear arrangement (Olivier, in at least Abstract, Fig. 1, and ¶¶36-37, 62-66 & 81, discloses the rotational linkage device (50) that is capable of permitting independent disengagement [i.e., clutch] of only one of the drive wheels of the crankshaft (16) or of the compressor (40), wherein the rotation axis attached to the crankshaft is capable of operating with the internal combustion engine running and can be the crankshaft shaft or a shaft attached to the crankshaft and rotating with the crankshaft and having an end protruding from the face of accessories such as for example a balance shaft or a free-running gear [i.e., gear arrangement]).
As per claim 4, Olivier discloses the system as claimed in claim 1, accordingly, the rejection of claim 1 above is incorporated. Olivier further discloses wherein the auxiliary drive unit is a motor selected from the group consisting of an Induction motor, a Synchronous motor, a Brushed motor and a Brushless motor (Olivier, in at least Abstract, Fig(s). 1-3, and ¶¶61 & 95, discloses figures 1 to 3, which schematically represent a linking device according to the invention with the coupling positions of the three elements of the motor [implies Induction, Synchronous motor, Brushed and/or Brushless motor], wherein the linking device according to the invention allows three operating modes of the motor corresponding to three coupling positions between the three elements of the motor [implies Synchronous motor]).
As per claim 5, Olivier discloses the system as claimed in claim 1, accordingly, the rejection of claim 1 above is incorporated. Olivier further discloses wherein the auxiliary drive unit is selectively operable as a motor and a generator, corresponding to the engine start mode and the charging mode (Olivier, in at least Abstract, Fig. 1, and ¶¶61-66, 76 & 93-95, discloses the alternator-starter (30) that is fixed against the internal combustion engine (10), wherein the air compressor (40) is arranged in the axial extension of the alternator-starter (30). Olivier further discloses an engine air boost by the air compressor 40 driven by the alternator-starter 30. Olivier also discloses figures 1 to 3, which schematically represent a linking device according to the invention with the coupling positions of the three elements of the motor, wherein the linking device according to the invention allows three operating modes of the motor corresponding to three coupling positions between the three elements of the motor).
As per claim 6, Olivier discloses the system as claimed in claim 1, accordingly, the rejection of claim 1 above is incorporated. Olivier further discloses wherein the auxiliary drive unit transmits power in the first direction (F) and a second direction (S), the second direction (S) being opposite to the first direction (F) (Olivier, in at least Abstract, Fig. 1, and ¶¶61-66, 70-76 & 93-95, discloses the alternator-starter (30) that is fixed against the internal combustion engine (10), wherein the air compressor (40) is arranged in the axial extension of the alternator-starter (30), and an engine air boost by the air compressor 40 driven by the alternator-starter 30. Olivier further discloses the tubular ring 51 is shaped to slide along its longitudinal axis X, surrounding the peripheral walls of the drive wheel 33 of the alternator-starter and the tubular body 17 of the drive wheel 16 of the crankshaft, wherein the sliding of the tubular ring allows, in one direction, the crankshaft to be rotationally locked with the alternator-starter and, in the opposite direction, to free the crankshaft drive wheel from the alternator-starter drive wheel [implies transmits power in the first direction (F) and a second direction (S), the second direction (S) being opposite to the first direction (F)]).
As per claim 7, Olivier discloses the system as claimed in claim 1, accordingly, the rejection of claim 1 above is incorporated. Olivier further discloses wherein the clutch is selectively shifted to the disengaged configuration in transmitting power in a second direction (S) from the auxiliary drive unit to at least one of the plurality of auxiliary components, via the power transmission arrangement and the outer shaft (Olivier, in at least Abstract, Fig. 1, and ¶¶61-66, 70-76 & 93-95, discloses the alternator-starter (30) that is fixed against the internal combustion engine (10), wherein the air compressor (40) is arranged in the axial extension of the alternator-starter (30), and an engine air boost by the air compressor 40 driven by the alternator-starter 30. Olivier further discloses the tubular ring 51 is shaped to slide along its longitudinal axis X, surrounding the peripheral walls of the drive wheel 33 of the alternator-starter and the tubular body 17 of the drive wheel 16 of the crankshaft, wherein the sliding of the tubular ring allows, in one direction, the crankshaft to be rotationally locked with the alternator-starter and, in the opposite direction, to free the crankshaft drive wheel [i.e., disengaged configuration in transmitting power in the second direction (S)] from the alternator-starter drive wheel).
As per claim 8, Olivier discloses the system as claimed in claim 1, accordingly, the rejection of claim 1 above is incorporated. Olivier further discloses wherein the outer shaft and the auxiliary drive unit are power coupled, in an auxiliary drive mode, the Internal Combustion engine being in at least one of a propelling condition and an engine idling condition and an ignition OFF condition, in the auxiliary drive mode (Olivier, in at least Abstract, Fig. 1, and ¶¶62-66 & 81, discloses the rotational linkage device (50) that is capable of permitting independent disengagement [i.e., clutch] of only one of the drive wheels of the crankshaft (16) [implies propelling condition] or of the compressor (40) [implies engine idling or ignition OFF condition(s)]. Olivier further discloses different operating modes, e.g., when starting engine [implies ignition OFF condition], “boost” operation [implies propelling condition] by providing torque to the crankshaft with the engine, engine mode [implies engine idling condition] when drive said alternator-starter by the control unit to allow the alternator-starter to drive the said compressor, and air supercharging in a transient mode, wherein the air compressor includes a drive shaft to be driven in rotation).
As per claim 9, Olivier discloses the system as claimed in claim 1, accordingly, the rejection of claim 1 above is incorporated. Olivier further discloses wherein the Internal Combustion engine and the auxiliary drive unit are power coupled to the outer shaft via the clutch and the inner shaft, in a power boost mode (Olivier, in at least Abstract, Fig(s). 1-4, and ¶¶7, 21, 62-66, 76, 81 & 93, discloses the alternator-starter (30) that is fixed against the internal combustion engine (10), wherein the air compressor (40) is arranged in the axial extension of the alternator-starter (30). Olivier further discloses an engine air boost by the air compressor 40 driven by the alternator-starter 30, and to perform the functions of a starter, alternator, power increase or electric “boost” by combining existing components and cleverly integrating them through a mechanical system. Olivier also discloses different operating modes, e.g., “boost” operation by providing torque to the crankshaft with the engine).
As per claim 10, Olivier discloses the system as claimed in claim 1, accordingly, the rejection of claim 1 above is incorporated. Olivier further discloses wherein at least one auxiliary component of the plurality of auxiliary components are selectively rotatable in a second direction (S) (Olivier, in at least Abstract, Fig. 1, and ¶¶5-7, 13-18, 21-37, 42-49, 56-78 & 86-95, discloses a control unit of said linkage device (50), which carries out a method for controlling the operation of said elements, i.e. controls the disengagement of the drive wheel fixed in rotation with the crankshaft to allow the operation of the air compressor whose drive wheel is driven by the alternator-starter which then operates in engine mode, and/or the disengagement of the air compressor with the connection of the alternator-starter with the electric motor alone in order to reduce the power dispersions supplied by the alternator-starter and by the internal combustion engine. Olivier further the air compressor includes a drive shaft to be driven in rotation).
As per claim 11, Olivier discloses the system as claimed in claim 1, accordingly, the rejection of claim 1 above is incorporated. Olivier further discloses wherein at least one of the plurality of auxiliary components is selectively isolated from rest of the plurality of auxiliary components (Olivier, in at least Abstract, Fig. 1, and ¶¶23, 62-66 & 81, discloses the rotational linkage device (50) that is capable of permitting independent disengagement [i.e., clutch] of only one of the drive wheels of the crankshaft (16) or of the compressor (40)).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. See previously mailed PTO-892 form.
Taketoshi (JP-2020056529-A) discloses a motor, e.g., a brushed motor, a brushless motor, synchronous motor, and/or induction motor, have a one-way clutch.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. See PTO-892.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or (571)272-1000.
/Tarek Elarabi/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3661