DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the correspondence filed on 05/07/2025. Claims 1-18 are pending and are examined.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on 05/07/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the term "A storage medium" is directed to signal per se, thus non-statutory.
Examiner notes that “non-transitory” can be added to the term to make it one of the allowable statutory categories.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: a monitoring unit configured to monitor , a specifying unit configured to specify, and a detecting unit configured to detect in claims 1-16 and a setting changing unit configured to enhance in claim 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim limitations a monitoring unit configured to monitor, a specifying unit configured to specify, and a detecting unit configured to detect in claims 1-16 and a setting changing unit configured to enhance in claim 15 invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function.
The specification is devoid of adequate structure to perform the claimed functions. The specification states the claimed functions of monitoring a physical input, specifying an execution condition, detecting unauthorized execution and enhancing security setting, are performed by the stated units. There is no disclosure of any particular structure, either explicitly or inherently, to perform these monitoring, specifying, detecting, and enhancing functions. The use of the terms monitoring, specifying, detecting, and enhancing units are not adequate structure for performing the monitoring, specifying, detecting, and enhancing functions because they do not describe a particular structure for performing the associated functions. As would be recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art, the terms monitoring, specifying, detecting, and enhancing refer to performing various well-known operations like observing input data, considering relevant operations, determining an outcome, and updating data; and can be performed in any number of ways in hardware, software or a combination of the two. The specification does not provide sufficient details such that one of ordinary skill in the art would understand which structure or structures perform(s) the claimed functions.
Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 6, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Roche et al. (US Pub No. 20240232338 A1, referred to as Roche).
Regarding claims 1 and 17-18, taking claim 1 as exemplary, Roche anticipates,
1. An information processing apparatus configured to detect unauthorized execution of a process, the information processing apparatus comprising:
a monitoring unit configured to monitor a physical input to the information processing apparatus; (Roche: [0037]; the second threat management model may be a decentralized model that uses information collected (monitor) by multiple data processing systems to identify new types of threats… (ii) aggregate operation data (e.g., telemetry data) (physical input) from the data processing systems.)
a specifying unit configured to specify an execution condition of the process; and (Roche: [0087]; second potential threats are identified using the anomaly detection model. The second potential threats may be identified by classifying (specify) operations of the data processing system (that are not classified as exhibiting threats using the threat profiles) using the anomaly detection model. The anomaly detection model may classify levels of anomalousness of the operations. The levels of anomalousness may be compared to a threshold or other criteria that, if met, indicate that the corresponding operations with respect to exhibiting or not exhibit threats.)
a detecting unit configured to detect unauthorized execution of the process based on the physical input monitored by the monitoring unit and the execution condition specified by the specifying unit. (Roche: [0037]; (iv) use the anomaly detection model to identify levels of anomalousness of new operations performed by the data processing system, (v) based on the anomalousness levels, identify some new operations as likely being malicious and/or otherwise indicative of malicious activity.)
Regarding claim 2, Roche further anticipates,
2. The information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the process is executed via the physical input performed by a user of the information processing apparatus. (Roche: [0025]; data processing systems 100 may provide the computer implemented services to users of data processing systems 100.)
Regarding claim 6, Roche further anticipates,
6. The information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the specifying unit specifies, as the execution condition, a physical input which is a precondition for execution of the process. (Roche: [0087]; second potential threats are identified using the anomaly detection model. The second potential threats may be identified by classifying (specifies) operations of the data processing system (that are not classified as exhibiting threats using the threat profiles) using the anomaly detection model. [0083]; the anomaly detection model may be obtained by (i) obtaining access to a corpus of telemetry data (physical input) from the operably connected data processing systems.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 5, and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roche in view of Koganti (US Pub No. 20210240835 A1, referred to as Koganti).
Regarding claim 3, Roche discloses,
3. The information processing apparatus according to claim 1,
Roche does not explicitly disclose, however Koganti teaches,
wherein the monitoring unit monitors a change in a physical quantity generated by a user of the information processing apparatus operating the information processing apparatus. (Koganti: [0133]; system can monitor for specific stress-related responses associated with the particular risky behavior, or can monitor a full-spectrum of events from the user entity. User reactions can include, for example, random motion of a gesture input device (e.g., mouse), closing applications abruptly, closing a lid of a laptop-type computer, changing pressure of keystrokes, faster typing (physical quantity);, changes in facial expressions, rapid eye movement, ceasing file transfers, and the like.)
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Koganti into the teachings of Roche with a motivation to enhance contextual information regarding detected risk events in a networked system by monitoring various stress triggers (Koganti abstract).
Regarding claim 5, Roche discloses,
Roche does not explicitly disclose, however Koganti teaches,
5. The information processing apparatus according to claim 1,
Roche does not explicitly disclose, however Koganti teaches,
wherein the monitoring unit records a time of generation of the physical input performed by a user of the information processing apparatus. (Koganti: [0106]; the user behavior factors 614 may include the user's access rights 616, the user's interactions 618, and the date/time/frequency 620 of those interactions 618.)
The same motivation that was utilized for combining Roche and Koganti as set forth in claim 3 is equally applicable to claim 5.
Regarding claim 15, Roche discloses,
15. The information processing apparatus according to claim 1
Roche does not explicitly disclose, however Koganti teaches,
further comprising a setting changing unit configured to enhance a security setting of the information processing apparatus in a case where the detecting unit detects unauthorized execution of the process. (Koganti: [0061]; the endpoint agent 306 may be implemented to update the security analytics system 118 (enhance security setting) with user behavior and associated contextual information.)
The same motivation that was utilized for combining Roche and Koganti as set forth in claim 3 is equally applicable to claim 15.
Regarding claim 16, Roche discloses,
16. The information processing apparatus according to claim 1,
Roche does not explicitly disclose, however Koganti teaches,
wherein the information processing apparatus is an image forming apparatus. (Koganti: Fig. 3; [0033]; an endpoint device 304, as likewise used herein, refers to an information processing system such as a personal computer, a laptop computer, a tablet computer, a personal digital assistant (PDA), a smart phone, a mobile telephone, a digital camera, a video camera, or other device capable of storing, processing and communicating data, such as information handling system 100.
The same motivation that was utilized for combining Roche and Koganti as set forth in claim 3 is equally applicable to claim 16.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roche, in view of Koganti, further in view of Cutler et al. (US Pat No. 9913409 B2, referred to as Cutler).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Roche and Koganti discloses,
4. The information processing apparatus according to claim 3,
The combination of Roche and Koganti does not explicitly disclose, however Cutler teaches,
wherein the physical quantity is voltage. (Cutler: Coln. 12, l. 63 – Coln. 13, l. 5; the intrusion detection system includes a perimeter barrier; wherein at least a portion of the one or more intrusion detection modules is coupled to the perimeter barrier; wherein the one or more intrusion detection modules include at least one of an acoustic sensor, a pressure sensor, a vibration sensor, a temperature sensor, a voltage sensor, a current sensor, or a fiber network integrity sensor; identifying a change in the environment by a distinct observation.)
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Cutler into the combination of Roche and Koganti with a motivation to identify and prevent physical intrusion by using one or more sensors to identify the detected threat at operation (Cutler: Coln. 10, ls. 47-67).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roche in view of Krause et al. (US Pub No. 20170244748 A1, referred to as Krause).
Regarding claim 8, Roche discloses,
8. The information processing apparatus according to claim 1
Roche does not explicitly disclose; however, Krause teaches,
further comprising a security measure unit configured to execute restart of the information processing apparatus and notification to an administrator in a case where the detecting unit detects unauthorized execution of the process. (Krause: [0077]; the secure computing module 106 may perform at least one remedial action to prevent or otherwise mitigate the effects of the malicious activity. Accordingly, the module 106 may initiate a remedial action such as generating a human-readable report useful for system administrators, restarting the exploited virtual machine from an earlier checkpoint state, or issuing an alert to a system administrator.)
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Krause into the teachings of Roche with a motivation to use integrated security controls to ensure security of a computing environment and to remedy malicious behavior by restarting the system and alerting a system administrator when discrepancies between a node's behavior are detected (Krause abstract).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 and 9-14 contain allowable subject matter but remain rejected under 112 rejections. They are also objected to as being dependent upon rejected base claims, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims; and the stated rejection(s) are resolved.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Although prior arts Roche, Cutler, and Krause above disclose all the limitations of the prior claims (see rejections above), none of the prior arts of record alone or in combination discloses detecting an unauthorized execution of the process in a case where there is a difference between a time of generation of an execution request for the process to be executed and a time of generation of the physical input which is a precondition for execution of the process recorded; detecting an unauthorized change of administrator setting in a case where there is a difference between a time of generation of a change request for the administrator setting and a time of generation of a physical input related to a change of the administrator setting recorded; changing a remote user interface (RUI) function for executing a process by remote operation to a disabled status before detecting unauthorized execution of the process; detecting unauthorized execution of the process in a case where a process preconditioned upon the physical input is executed even though there is no reaction in the human sensor after monitoring; and detecting unauthorized execution of the process in a case where a process is executed even though a charging operation is not performed after monitoring as described in the claims.
At the effective filing date of the application, the above limitations would not have been obvious over the prior arts of record.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Borges; Nash US-PGPUB US 20230105087 A1 Methods for detecting malicious hands-on-keyboard activity via machine learning
Chen; Joseph et al. US-PGPUB US 20170046518 A1 Methods for detecting unknown vulnerabilities in computing processes
/KA SHAN CHOY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2435