DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
it is unclear what the lead line of reference character “8” is pointing to in Fig. 1.
In Fig. 3, disc 25 is shown to correspond to clutch 10 and disc 24 is shown to correspond to brake 11, but the drawings how the reverse relationship.
It is unclear in Fig. 3 which parts comprise the clutch 10 and which parts comprise the brake 11
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Reference character 14 is described as both the “input gearbox” ([0046]) and “input gear” ([0050]).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “working assembly” in claim 9, which the spec defines as a Press Piston in addition to an optional pick-up, cutting rotor, feed rake, and/or knotter (“The working assembly can provide a variety of different working devices, for example a pick-up, a cutting rotor, a feed rake, and/or a knotter. In any case, however, the working assembly according to the disclosure provides a press piston mounted in a press chamber so that it can move in a translational manner” [0033]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 fails to include a transitional phrase. Transitional phrases define the scope of the claim (MPEP 2111.03) and without one, the claim is indefinite. For the purposes of examination, the clutch assembly will be interpreted as comprising, and thereby positively claiming, a slip clutch and a further clutch. According to applicant’s disclosure, the other components of claim 1, namely the drive train and the flywheel, are not part of the clutch assembly, so it would be unreasonable to interpret the claim as positively claiming those components.
Claim 1 includes the phrase “with a slip clutch connected upstream of the flywheel on the drive side” (emphasis added). This claim is unclear because it is unclear which side is the drive side. The term, while appearing in the specification, is not defined in the specification. For the purposes of examination, the “drive side” with be interpreted as the side towards the tractor.
Claim 1 includes the phrase “with a slip clutch connected upstream of the flywheel on the drive side” (emphasis added). It is unclear what “connected upstream” means. For the purposes of examination, the phrase will be interpreted as though it said --with a slip clutch, located upstream of the flywheel, connected on the drive side of the slip clutch --.
Claim 1 includes the phrase “with a slip clutch connected upstream of the flywheel on the drive side” (emphasis added). This claim is indefinite for omitting essential structural cooperative relationships of elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the necessary structural connections. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted structural cooperative relationships are what the slip clutch is connected to.
Claim 1 includes the phrase “with a slip clutch connected upstream of the flywheel on the drive side” (emphasis added). This claim is indefinite because the flywheel is not positively claimed
The prior 4 rejections also apply to the phrase “a further clutch is provided which is connected downstream of the flywheel on the drive side” of claim 1
Claim 1 includes the phrase “wherein the slip clutch is designed to be switchable”. The claim is indefinite because a structure might not be capable of functions it was designed to perform. For the purpose of examination, the claim will be interpreted as though it read -- wherein the slip clutch is configured to be switchable--.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 7 and 8 recites a broad torque range, and the claim also recites a preferred value which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim 9 fails to include a transitional phrase. Transitional phrases define the scope of the claim (MPEP 2111.03) and without one, the claim is indefinite. For the purposes of examination, the baler will be interpreted as comprising, and thereby positively claiming, the clutch assembly, working assembly, and drive train.
All claims dependent upon rejected claims are likewise rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 and 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fuchs et al. (US 2024/0196803), hereinafter referred to as Fuchs, in view of Fuchs et al. (US 2024/0196802), hereinafter referred to as Schulte.
Re Claim 1, Fuchs discloses a clutch assembly (clutch 34) for a drive train equipped with a flywheel in a baler, and that a further clutch (overload clutch 34 comprising pressure chamber 36) is provided which is connected (Fig. 4 shows connections of clutch 34 on its drive side) downstream of the flywheel (flywheel 16) on the drive side, wherein the further clutch is an overload clutch (shiftable overload clutch 34) and is combined with a brake (comprising disk pack 35, piston 37, and spring 38) to form a clutch-brake combination (“the control device 19 may automatically depressurize the pressure chamber 36 by actuating a valve block so that the at least one spring element 38 presses the piston 37 against the disk pack 35 , whereby the braking process is initiated and executed.” [0061]).
Fuchs fails to disclose a clutch assembly with a slip clutch connected upstream of the flywheel on the drive side, wherein the slip clutch is designed to be switchable
Schulte teaches a clutch assembly with a slip clutch (shiftable clutch 23) connected upstream of the flywheel on the drive side (Fig. 2), wherein the slip clutch is designed to be switchable (shiftable means switchable) in order to stagger the starts of parallel drive units (“According to the advantageous development that exactly one shiftable clutch device 23 may be interposed between the first power split 10 and the at least two flywheels 16 which may be shifted independently of one another, different operating situations may be mapped during initial operation and/or execution of the startup process of the square baler 1 . In particular, in one or some embodiments, the control device 19 may be configured to automatically control any one, any combination, or all of the one shiftable clutch device 23 and one or both of the at least two flywheels 16 as discussed herein (e.g., shifting independently of one another).” [0055] and [0053]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Fuchs by adding the shiftable clutch device as taught by Schulte in order to stagger the starts of parallel drive units. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the a reasonable expectation of success.
Re Claim 2, Fuchs, in view of Schulte, discloses the clutch assembly according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), and Fuchs further discloses that the further clutch is a slip clutch (“On the other hand, the hydraulic actuation may be used to achieve variable control of the shiftable clutch devices so that they may initially be operated in slip mode for a certain time during the shifting process for coupling the ram, for example” [0023]).
Re Claim 3, Fuchs, in view of Schulte, discloses the clutch assembly according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), and Fuchs and Schulte further discloses that the switchable slip clutch (Schulte, “In one or some embodiments, the at least one shiftable clutch device is designed as a dry clutch, wet multi-plate clutch or hydrodynamic clutch” [0025]) and the clutch-brake combination (Fuchs, “In one or some embodiments, the at least one shiftable overload clutch 34 is designed as a hydraulically actuatable clutch device, such as a hydraulically-actuatable multi-plate clutch. ” [0059]) are each hydraulically switchable.
Re Claim 4, Fuchs, in view of Schulte, discloses the clutch assembly according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), and Fuchs further discloses that a gearbox (comprising second sun gear 28, second planetary gears 29, and second ring gear 31) is connected downstream of the clutch-brake combination (Fig. 4).
Re Claim 5, Fuchs, in view of Schulte, discloses the clutch assembly according to claim 4 (see rejection of claim 4 above), wherein the flywheel and the clutch- brake combination and preferably also the gearbox form a common structural unit (Fig. 4).
Re Claim 6, Fuchs, in view of Schulte, discloses the clutch assembly according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), and Fuchs further discloses that the switchable slip clutch is connected upstream or downstream of an input gearbox on the drive side (“a first power split 10 , which may be formed as a bevel gear stage,” [0038]).
Re Claim 8, Fuchs, in view of Schulte, discloses the clutch assembly according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), and Fuchs, in view of Schulte, further discloses that the switchable slip clutch is designed to slip at a predetermined value (Fuchs, “In one or some embodiments, one or more sensors configured to detect a mechanical overload may be assigned to one or both of the gear assembly or the working units. The sensors may transmit signals (e.g., sensor data) to the control device for evaluation. The control device is configured to detect the occurrence of a mechanical overload on the basis of the evaluation of the signals provided by the sensors in order to correspondingly actuate the at least one overload clutch and/or the clutch devices. For example, the control device may be configured to compare the sensor data with predetermined value(s) in order to determine the occurrence of the mechanical overload” [0026] and after modification, the control device of Fuchs would control the clutch of Schulte as the clutch of Schulte was originally controlled by the control device of Schulte, so it would still be controlled by a control device after modification).
Fuchs, in view of Schulte, fails to disclose that switchable slip clutch is designed to slip at an overload of 2200 Nm to 3000 Nm, preferably 2600 Nm. However, it would have been obvious to an ordinary artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fuchs, in view of Schulte in the claimed manner, since it has been held that a routine optimization is an obvious matter of design and/or engineering choices (MPEP § 2144.05 subsection II). Fuchs, in view of Schulte, discloses (1) a gear set in between the dive shaft and the switchable slip clutch and (2) a clutch designed to prevent high torques. As the torque at the clutch is a function of the torque output by the tractor and the intervening gear set, it would be obvious to optimize the clutch to the claimed range when the gear ratio is such that 2200 Nm to 3000 Nm constitutes an overload. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize a reasonable expectation of success.
Re Claim 9, Fuchs, in view of Schulte, further discloses a baler (square baler 1) with a working assembly (ram 7) for processing crop into bales and a drive train (clutch assembly of claim 1 and flywheel 16) for driving the working assembly, wherein the drive train has a clutch assembly according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above).
Re Claim 10, Fuchs, in view of Schulte, discloses the baler according to claim 9 (see rejection of claim 9 above), wherein the working assembly provides a press piston mounted in a press chamber so as to be movable in a translational manner (“a ram 7 movably arranged or positioned between end positions in the pressing channel of the square baler 1 for pressing the pre-compressed crop into a square bale” [0036]).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fuchs, in view of Schulte, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Rongvaux et al. (DE102020125541), hereinafter referred to as Rongvaux.
Re Claim 7, Fuchs, in view of Schulte, discloses the clutch assembly according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), and Fuchs further discloses that the clutch-brake combination is configured to transmit a torque a predetermined value. (Fuchs, “In one or some embodiments, one or more sensors configured to detect a mechanical overload may be assigned to one or both of the gear assembly or the working units. The sensors may transmit signals (e.g., sensor data) to the control device for evaluation. The control device is configured to detect the occurrence of a mechanical overload on the basis of the evaluation of the signals provided by the sensors in order to correspondingly actuate the at least one overload clutch and/or the clutch devices. For example, the control device may be configured to compare the sensor data with predetermined value(s) in order to determine the occurrence of the mechanical overload” [0026])
Fuchs, in view of Schulte, fails to disclose that the clutch-brake combination is configured to transmit a torque of 7000 Nm to 8000 Nm, preferably 7500 Nm.
Rongvaux teaches that the maximum torque required to compact can vary (“When in this pressing position, in which the main compressor piston is deflected longitudinally to the end of the chamber, the crop is maximally compressed and a maximum value of the required torque is reached. The maximum value can be, for example, 6000 Nm, depending on factors such as the degree of compaction or the crop being harvested.” [0009])
However, it would have been obvious to an ordinary artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fuchs, in view of Schulte in the claimed manner, since it has been held that a routine optimization is an obvious matter of design and/or engineering choices (MPEP § 2144.05 subsection II). Fuchs, in view of Schulte, discloses a gearset in between the ram and the clutch-brake combination and Rongvaux teaches that the require torque can vary. It would have been obvious to configure the control device to let the clutch-brake combination transmit a torque of 7000 - 8000 Nm when combination of gear ratio and torque to compress requires a torque of 7000-8000 NM from the clutch-0brake combination. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the expectation of success.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Turner et al (US20210120745) teaches a variety of torque curves
/W.D.D./Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3725
/Christopher L Templeton/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3725