DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are not all persuasive.
The examiner disagrees the amendments to claim 1 overcome both Sorensen and Bogdanov. The applicant argues that both Sorensen and Boganov do not teach the thumbturn extending below the escutcheon. Although the examiner agrees the thumb turns of both Sorensen and Boganov would not teach the thumbturn extending below the escutcheon if the deadbolt lock was mounted on a vertically mounted door perpendicular to the earth, this is not required by the claims. As presently claimed both Sorensen and Boganov read on the claim language as the deadbolt lock and door may be in different orientations and a frame of reference for “below” is not established by the claims.
The examiner agrees Sorensen alone does not teach the amendments of claim 13.
Drawings
The previous drawing objections are overcome by the present corrected drawing sheets.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sorensen US 20100257906 A1 (hereinafter Sorensen).
In regards to claim 1, Sorensen teaches a deadbolt lock configured to be mounted to a door (see fig 1), the deadbolt lock comprising: an escutcheon (34); a deadbolt (deadbolt of 168) configured to extend into an extended position and configured to retract into a retracted position (see para 68); and a thumb turn (48) operatively coupled to the deadbolt and configured to extend below the escutcheon when the deadbolt lock is mounted to the door (see fig 1, considering to the left wrt fig 10 as the bottom, this orientation is still possible when mounted to a door, at least as a door can be on its side), wherein the thumb turn is actuatable to move in a first direction to extend the deadbolt and actuatable to move in a second direction opposite the first direction to retract the deadbolt (as 48 is coupled to 44 when the clutch is engaged and 44 is capable of extending and retracting the deadbolt).
In regards to claim 2, Sorensen teaches the deadbolt lock of claim 1, further comprising a user interface (62) configured to receive a credential (authorized code, para 70), with the thumb turn being operable only when an authenticated credential is received by the user interface (para 70).
In regards to claim 3, Sorensen teaches the deadbolt lock of claim 2, wherein the deadbolt lock is an electronic lock having a clutch mechanism (58), wherein the clutch mechanism is configured to move to an engaged position (see fig 7) when the authenticated credential is received by the user interface, thereby causing the thumb turn to become operable to move the deadbolt (see paras 59 and 70).
In regards to claim 4, Sorensen teaches the deadbolt lock of claim 3, wherein the clutch mechanism is configured to move to a disengaged position (see fig 6) upon expiration of a time period after the authenticated credential is received by the user interface, thereby causing the thumb turn to become inoperable to move the deadbolt (see paras 59 and 70).
In regards to claim 5, Sorensen teaches the deadbolt lock of claim 4, further comprising an interior thumb turn (158) coupled to the deadbolt (para 67), wherein the interior thumb turn is configured to be operable to move the deadbolt regardless of the operability of the thumb turn (as the clutch does not affect 158, see fig 1 and para 67).
In regards to claim 6, Sorensen teaches the deadbolt lock of claim 2, wherein the user interface is a keypad (see fig 11).
In regards to claim 7, Sorensen teaches the deadbolt lock of claim 3, further comprising a motor (74), wherein the clutch mechanism cooperates with the motor (see figs 7-8).
In regards to claim 10, Sorensen teaches the deadbolt lock of claim 1, wherein the thumb turn is configured to swing through an arc (see fig 1, note Merriam-webster defines swing as “to turn on a hinge or pivot”).
Claim(s) 1 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Boganov et al. US 20100294008 A1 (hereinafter Boganov).
In regards to claim 1, Boganov teaches a deadbolt lock configured to be mounted to a door (see fig 1a), the deadbolt lock comprising: an escutcheon (230); a deadbolt (25) configured to extend into an extended position and configured to retract into a retracted position (see fig 3 and para 6); and a thumb turn (155) operatively coupled to the deadbolt (see fig 1A) and configured to extend below the escutcheon when the deadbolt lock is mounted to the door (considering to the south west wrt fig 1a as the bottom, this orientation is still possible when mounted to a door, at least as a door can be on its side), wherein the thumb turn is actuatable to move in a first direction to extend the deadbolt and actuatable to move in a second direction opposite the first direction to retract the deadbolt (see paras 52 and 62).
In regards to claim 8, Boganov teaches the deadbolt lock of claim 1, further comprising a passage mode switch (80, the mode described in para 62), with the passage mode switch, when activated, configured to prevent the thumb turn from moving the deadbolt to the extended position (para 62).
Claim(s) 1 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Affan US 20190145130 A1 (hereinafter Affan).
In regards to claim 1, Afan teaches a deadbolt lock configured to be mounted to a door (see fig 1 and abstract), the deadbolt lock comprising: an escutcheon (36 and 37); a deadbolt (2) configured to extend into an extended position and configured to retract into a retracted position (see fig 3 and para 6); and a thumb turn (38) operatively coupled to the deadbolt (see fig 3) and configured to extend below the escutcheon when the deadbolt lock is mounted to the door (considering down wrt fig 1 as up, this orientation is still possible when mounted to a door, at least as a door can be “upside down”), wherein is actuatable to move in a first direction to extend the deadbolt and actuatable to move in a second direction opposite the first direction to retract the deadbolt (see paras 4, 62 and fig 3).
In regards to claim 10, Afan teaches the deadbolt lock of claim 1, wherein the thumb turn is configured to swing through an arc (see figs 1 and 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sorensen as applied to claims 1-7 and 10 above, and further in view of Morstatt et al. US 20220106814 A1 (hereinafter Morstatt).
In regards to claim 9, Sorensen teaches the deadbolt lock of claim 1.
However, Sorensen does not teach further comprising a privacy mode switch, with the privacy mode switch, when activated, configured to prevent the thumb turn from moving the deadbolt to the retracted position.
Morstatt teaches a similar device with a privacy mode switch (privacy button para 52), with the privacy mode switch, when activated, configured to prevent the thumb turn from moving the deadbolt to the retracted position (when the bolt is already extended by preventing credentials from being used, see para 42).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have provided Sorensen with a privacy mode switch, with the privacy mode switch, when activated, configured to prevent the thumb turn from moving the deadbolt to the retracted position, in order to prevent any person from accessing an entrance (see Morstatt para 42).
Claim(s) 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Affan as applied to claims 1 and 10 above, and further in view of themself.
In regards to claim 11, Affan teaches the deadbolt lock of claim 10.
However, Affan is silent on wherein the thumb turn is configured to swing no more than 90 degrees in the first direction.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the thumb turn configured to swing no more than 90 degrees in the first direction, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.05. Further limiting the swing amount reduces user effort in actuating the deadbolt.
In regards to claim 12, Affan teaches the deadbolt lock of claim 10.
However, Affan is silent on wherein the thumb turn is configured to swing no more than 90 degrees in the second direction.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the thumb turn configured to swing no more than 90 degrees in the second direction, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.05. Further limiting the swing amount reduces user effort in actuating the deadbolt.
Claim(s) 13-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sorensen in view of DE 202019100339 U1 (hereinafter DE ‘339).
In regards to claim 13, Sorensen teaches a method of operation of a deadbolt lock having an escutcheon (34) and a swing thumb turn (48: note Merriam-webster defines seeing as “to turn on a hinge or pivot) extending below the escutcheon (considering to the left wrt fig 10 as below), the method comprising: upon authentication of credentials presented by a user (para 70), engaging a clutch mechanism (58) to operatively couple the swing thumb turn to a deadbolt (168); and upon swinging of the swing thumb turn along an arc in a first direction to extend the deadbolt (as 48 is coupled to 44 when the clutch is engaged and 44 is capable of extending and retracting the deadbolt, see para 68), disengaging the clutch mechanism after a lapse of a period of time to render the swing thumb turn inoperable to move the deadbolt (para 70).
However, Sorensen does not teach the swing thumb turning along an arc around the escutcheon.
Sorensen teaches a swing thumb turn (10) extending below the escutcheon (with down being considered to the bottom of fig 1; at least when rotated see fig 1 and fig 5) and the swing thumb turning along an arc around the escutcheon (see fig 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have provided Sorensen with a swing thumbturn turning along an arc around the escutcheon in order to protect the thumbturn against unintended action, allow the handle to be made comparatively small and reduce attack surface for external influence (see DE ‘339 para 8).
In regards to claim 14, Sorensen in view of DE ‘339 teaches the method of claim 13, wherein the credentials are presented by the user to a user interface (Sorensen: 62; see fig 11).
In regards to claim 15, Sorensen in view of DE ‘339 teaches the method of claim 14, wherein the user interface is a keypad (Sorensen: see fig 11).
In regards to claim 16, Sorensen in view of DE ‘339 teaches the method of claim 13, wherein the deadbolt lock further comprises an interior thumb turn (Sorensen: 158) coupled to the deadbolt (Sorensen: para 67), wherein the interior thumb turn is configured to be operable to move the deadbolt regardless of the operability of the swing thumb turn (Sorensen: as the clutch does not affect 158, see fig 1 and para 67).
In regards to claim 17, Sorensen in view of DE ‘339 teaches the method of claim 13, wherein a motor (Sorensen: 74) cooperates with the clutch mechanism to engage and disengage the clutch mechanism (Sorensen: see fig 7-8).
In regards to claim 18, Sorensen in view of DE ‘339 teaches the method of claim 13, further comprising: upon further authentication of credentials presented by the user (Sorensen: para 70), engaging the clutch mechanism again to operatively couple the swing thumb turn to the deadbolt (Sorensen: para 70); and upon swinging of the swing thumb turn along the arc around the escutcheon (as modified by DE ‘339) in a second direction to retract the deadbolt (Sorensen: para 68, as 48 would be coupled to 44), disengaging the clutch mechanism after a lapse of a period of time to render the swing thumb turn inoperable to move the deadbolt (Sorensen: para 70).
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sorensen as applied to claims 1-7 and 10 above, and further in view of DE ‘339.
In regards to claim 19, Sorensen teaches the deadbolt lock of claim 1.
However, Sorensen does not teach wherein when the deadbolt lock is mounted to the door, the escutcheon extends from the door a first depth and the thumb turn extends from the door a second depth that is less than the first depth.
DE ‘339 teaches when the deadbolt lock is mounted to the door, an escutcheon (2) extends from the door a first depth (see fig 1) and a thumb turn (10) extends from the door a second depth that is less than the first depth (see fig 1, when mounted to the door 2 would extend further from it than 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have provided Sorensen with when the deadbolt lock is mounted to the door, the escutcheon extends from the door a first depth and the thumb turn extends from the door a second depth that is less than the first depth in order to protect the thumbturn against unintended action, allow the handle to be made comparatively small and reduce attack surface for external influence (see DE ‘339 para 8).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PETER H WATSON/Examiner, Art Unit 3675