In the response to this Office action, the Office respectfully requests that support be shown for language added to any original claims on amendment and any new claims. That is, indicate support for newly added claim language by specifically pointing to page(s) and line numbers in the specification and/or drawing figure(s). This will assist the Office in prosecuting this application.
The Office has cited particular figures, elements, paragraphs and/or columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the responses, to fully consider each of the cited references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage disclosed by the Office.
Status of Claims
- Claim(s) 1-20 is/are pending in the application.
Priority
The application has claimed priority based on U.S. Provisional Application Serial No. 63/376761 filed on September 22, 2022 and prior filed U.S. Application Serial No. 18472193 (now U.S. Patent No. 1236569) filed on September 21, 2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on May 7, 2025 and July 22, 2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Timing mechanism (claim 15)
Paragraphs 0121-0123 “timing mechanism that transfers motion in a coordinated manner” such as “linkage arms 2608 in FIG. 27 also movably connect portions of the connection 2702 to provide such a timing mechanism that transfers motion in a coordinated manner”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Saito, U.S. Patent Publication No. 2002008677.
Consider claim 1, Saito teaches a wearable electronic device, comprising: a display (see Saito figure 1, element 1 display part, figure 15, element 1 display part);
a facial interface (see Saito figure 1, figure 9, figure 15 and figure 16 where when head-mounted display is worn by user the portions of the device closest to a user’s face correspond to a facial interface);
an angular adjustment connection between the display and the facial interface (see Saito figure 14, elements 31, 31a, 30a, 34 and paragraphs 0075-0078 where when the left and right frames 30 are turned about the rotational axes of the shafts 31a, the left and right frames 30, 30 are always turned by an equal angle, because the gears 31a, 31a are in mesh with each other. Namely, the frames 30, 30 rotationally move in symmetry relative to the display part 1. When the frames 30 touch the temporal regions, the display part 1 always faces right front accordingly and figure 15, element 50a, 53, 52, 51, 50 and paragraphs 0082-0088 where display part 1 is attached to the frame 50 so as to be rotatable about a rotational axis 50a. A constant frictional force is given between the rotational axis 50a and the display part 1 so that the display part 1 can be fixed at any rotational position); and
a linear adjustment connection between the display and the facial interface (see Saito figure 1, element 10, 11 detail in figure 2), the linear adjustment connection comprising: a first connection (see Saito figure 2, element 11a); and
a second connection joined to the first connection (see Saito figure 2, element 11c and paragraph 0088 where In the present embodiment it was described that the adjustment of the observation distance was implemented by rotating the display part 1 about the rotational axis of the shaft 50a, but it can also be contemplated that the frontal pressing pad 54 is arranged movable relative to the display part 1 and the observation distance is adjusted by changing the distance between the frontal pressing pad 54 and the display part, as described referring to FIG. 2 in the first embodiment).
Consider claim 2, Saito teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches wherein the angular adjustment connection comprises a linkage positioned at a forehead region (see Saito figure 14, elements 31, 31a, 30a, 34 and paragraphs 0075-0078 where When the left and right frames 30 are turned about the rotational axes of the shafts 31a, the left and right frames 30, 30 are always turned by an equal angle, because the gears 31a, 31a are in mesh with each other. Namely, the frames 30, 30 rotationally move in symmetry relative to the display part 1. When the frames 30 touch the temporal regions, the display part 1 always faces right front accordingly and figure 15, element 50a, 53, 52, 51, 50 and paragraphs 0082-0088 where display part 1 is attached to the frame 50 so as to be rotatable about a rotational axis 50a. A constant frictional force is given between the rotational axis 50a and the display part 1 so that the display part 1 can be fixed at any rotational position).
Consider claim 4, Saito teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches wherein the angular adjustment connection (see Saito figure 14, elements 31, 31a, 30a, 34 and paragraphs 0075-0078 where when the left and right frames 30 are turned about the rotational axes of the shafts 31a, the left and right frames 30, 30 are always turned by an equal angle, because the gears 31a, 31a are in mesh with each other. Namely, the frames 30, 30 rotationally move in symmetry relative to the display part 1. When the frames 30 touch the temporal regions, the display part 1 always faces right front accordingly and figure 15, element 50a, 53, 52, 51, 50 and paragraphs 0082-0088 where display part 1 is attached to the frame 50 so as to be rotatable about a rotational axis 50a. A constant frictional force is given between the rotational axis 50a and the display part 1 so that the display part 1 can be fixed at any rotational position where for figure 14, elements 30 may correspond to adjustable pillars and for figure 15, element 50, 53, 51, 52, 50a which extends across a user’s head may correspond to an adjustable pillar) and the linear adjustment connection comprise adjustable pillars (see Saito figure 2, elements 11a, 11c corresponding to adjustable pillars).
Consider claim 6, Saito teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches further comprising a timing mechanism mechanically joining the first connection and the second connection (see (see Saito figure 2, element 11a, 11c and paragraphs 0038-0041 specifically for example paragraph 0040 where for moving the pad 10 back (away), the pair of cantilever beams 11c are bent inward (toward the long slot 11a), for example, by remote control from the support 1a and then the pad 10 is pushed forward in a state in which the claws lid are disengaged from the faces 12b of the guide member 12. Notice that due to structure in figure 2, first connection 11a would move at a same timing as connection 11c).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 5, 7-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saito, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20020008677 in view of Jo et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20200081259.
Consider claim 3 Saito teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches wherein the first connection is positioned at a forehead region (see Saito figure 1, element 10, 11 detail in figure 2 and figure 2, element 11a). Saito is silent regarding wherein the second connection is positioned at a zygoma region or a maxilla region.
In the same field of endeavor, Jo teaches a first connection positioned at a forehead region and a second connection positioned at a zygoma region or a maxilla region (see Jo figure 6, element 34A, 34B, 34C and paragraphs 0045-0049) so as to appropriately position display modules regardless of prominence of a user’s forehead. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to have modified Saito with the teachings of Jo to have a first connection positioned at a forehead region and a second connection positioned at a zygoma region or a maxilla region so as to appropriately position display modules regardless of prominence of a user’s forehead using known techniques with predictable results.
Consider claim 5, Saito as modified by Jo teaches all the limitations of claim 4 and further teaches wherein the adjustable pillars are positioned in a forehead region, a zygoma region, or a maxilla region when the wearable electronic device is donned (see Jo figure 6, element 34A, 34B, 34C and paragraphs 0045-0049).
Consider claim 7, Saito teaches a wearable electronic device, comprising: a display (see Saito figure 1, element 1, figure 15, element 1);
a facial interface (see Saito figure 1, figure 9, figure 15 and figure 16 where when head-mounted display is worn by user the portions of the device closest to a user’s face correspond to a facial interface);
an angular adjustment connection between the display and the facial interface (see Saito figure 14, elements 31, 31a, 30a, 34 and paragraphs 0075-0078 where when the left and right frames 30 are turned about the rotational axes of the shafts 31a, the left and right frames 30, 30 are always turned by an equal angle, because the gears 31a, 31a are in mesh with each other. Namely, the frames 30, 30 rotationally move in symmetry relative to the display part 1. When the frames 30 touch the temporal regions, the display part 1 always faces right front accordingly and figure 15, element 50a, 53, 52, 51, 50 and paragraphs 0082-0088 where display part 1 is attached to the frame 50 so as to be rotatable about a rotational axis 50a. A constant frictional force is given between the rotational axis 50a and the display part 1 so that the display part 1 can be fixed at any rotational position); and
a linear adjustment connection coupled directly to the angular adjustment connection between the display and the facial interface (see Saito figure 14, element 10, figure 15, element 54 and paragraph 0088 where in the present embodiment it was described that the adjustment of the observation distance was implemented by rotating the display part 1 about the rotational axis of the shaft 50a, but it can also be contemplated that the frontal pressing pad 54 is arranged movable relative to the display part 1 and the observation distance is adjusted by changing the distance between the frontal pressing pad 54 and the display part, as described referring to FIG. 2 in the first embodiment),
Saito is silent regarding the linear adjustment connection comprising: an actuator; an actuator lock engageable with the actuator; and an actuator control connected to the actuator lock.
In the same field of endeavor, Jo teaches a linear adjustment connection comprising: an actuator (see Jo figure 6, element 34A, 30 and paragraphs 0045-0049 specifically for example paragraph 0048 where posts 32 may be expanded and retracted using computer-controlled positioners 58 and/or may be expanded and retracted manually by a user); an actuator lock engageable with the actuator (see Jo paragraph 0048 where posts 32 may be locked into place at any suitable length L or may be locked into place only at predetermined lengths L); and an actuator control connected to the actuator lock (see Jo paragraph 0048 where in arrangements where posts 32 are locked at a given length using a clutch mechanism, a user may press a button or provide other user input to unlock the clutch mechanism and thereby allow posts 32 to expand or retract. In arrangements where posts 32 are locked using friction, a user may simply pull or push posts 32 to adjust the length of posts 32) so as to appropriately position display device on a user's face to align display modules with user's eyes, regardless of prominence of a user's forehead and cheeks.
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to have modified Saito to have a linear adjustment connection comprising: an actuator; an actuator lock engageable with the actuator; and an actuator control connected to the actuator lock so as to appropriately position display device on a user's face to align display modules with user's eyes, regardless of prominence of a user's forehead and cheeks using known techniques with predictable results.
Consider claim 8, Saito as modified by Jo teaches all the limitations of claim 7 and further teaches wherein the actuator comprises a side slide (see Jo figure 6, element 34B, 34C, 30 and paragraph 0046 where extendable posts correspond to slide) and a top slide (see Jo figure 6, element 34A, 32 and paragraph 0046 where extendable posts correspond to slide).
Consider claim 9, Saito as modified by Jo teaches all the limitations of claim 7 and further teaches wherein the actuator control comprises a button (see Jo paragraph 0048 where a user may press a button or provide other user input to unlock the clutch mechanism and thereby allow posts 32 to expand or retract).
Consider claim 10, Saito as modified by Jo teaches all the limitations of claim 7 and further teaches wherein upon depressing the actuator control: the actuator lock is disengaged from the actuator (see Jo paragraph 0048 where a user may press a button or provide other user input to unlock the clutch mechanism and thereby allow posts 32 to expand or retract); and
the actuator is adjustable to translate the facial interface toward or away from the display (see Jo paragraph 0048 where a user may press a button or provide other user input to unlock the clutch mechanism and thereby allow posts 32 to expand or retract).
Consider claim 11, Saito as modified by Jo teaches all the limitations of claim 10 and further teaches wherein upon releasing the actuator control: the actuator lock is engaged with the actuator; and the actuator is positionally locked in place to inhibit translation of the facial interface toward or away from the display (see Jo paragraph 0048 where posts 32 are locked at a given length using a clutch mechanism and a user may press a button or provide other user input to unlock the clutch mechanism and thereby allow posts 32 to expand or retract. Therefore, it would have been obvious that release of button would again lock to a given length).
Consider claim 12, Saito teaches a wearable apparatus, comprising: a head-mountable display (see Saito figure 1, element 1 display part, figure 15, element 1 display part);
a facial interface (see Saito figure 1, figure 9, figure 15 and figure 16 where when head-mounted display is worn by user the portions of the device closest to a user’s face correspond to a facial interface);
a connection movably constraining the head-mountable display relative to the facial interface in a first degree of freedom (see Saito figure 14, element 10, figure 15, element 54 and paragraph 0088 where in the present embodiment it was described that the adjustment of the observation distance was implemented by rotating the display part 1 about the rotational axis of the shaft 50a, but it can also be contemplated that the frontal pressing pad 54 is arranged movable relative to the display part 1 and the observation distance is adjusted by changing the distance between the frontal pressing pad 54 and the display part, as described referring to FIG. 2 in the first embodiment) and a second degree of freedom (see Saito figure 14, elements 31, 31a, 30a, 34 and paragraphs 0075-0078 where when the left and right frames 30 are turned about the rotational axes of the shafts 31a, the left and right frames 30, 30 are always turned by an equal angle, because the gears 31a, 31a are in mesh with each other. Namely, the frames 30, 30 rotationally move in symmetry relative to the display part 1. When the frames 30 touch the temporal regions, the display part 1 always faces right front accordingly and figure 15, element 50a, 53, 52, 51, 50 and paragraphs 0082-0088 where display part 1 is attached to the frame 50 so as to be rotatable about a rotational axis 50a. A constant frictional force is given between the rotational axis 50a and the display part 1 so that the display part 1 can be fixed at any rotational position); and
an actuator control (see Saito figure 2, element 11c and paragraphs 0039-0040 where for moving the pad 10 back (away), the pair of cantilever beams 11c are bent inward (toward the long slot 11a), and then the pad 10 is pushed forward in a state in which the claws lid are disengaged from the faces 12b of the guide member 12)
Saito is silent regarding an actuator control configured to be adjacent to a maxilla region when the wearable apparatus is donned.
In the same field of endeavor, Jo teaches an adjustment connection configured to be adjacent to a maxilla region when the wearable apparatus is donned (see Jo figure 6, element 34A, 34B, 34C and paragraphs 0045-0049) so as to appropriately position display modules regardless of prominence of a user’s forehead. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to have modified Saito with the teachings of Jo to have connection positioned at a zygoma region or a maxilla region so as to appropriately position display modules regardless of prominence of a user’s forehead using known techniques with predictable results.
Incorporation of an adjustment connection at a user’s cheek would result in having an actuator control adjacent to a maxilla region so as to allow moving the pad back(away) using similar techniques of Saito’s forehead pad.
Consider claim 13, Saito as modified by Jo teaches all the limitations of claim 12 and further teaches wherein the connection comprises a linear slide (see Saito figure 2 element 11c, 11a and paragraphs 0039-0040 where for moving the pad 10 back (away), the pair of cantilever beams 11c are bent inward (toward the long slot 11a), and then the pad 10 is pushed forward in a state in which the claws lid are disengaged from the faces 12b of the guide member 12. Where the structure for moving the pad forward/backward corresponds to a linear slide) .
Consider claim 14, Saito as modified by Jo teaches all the limitations of claim 13 and further teaches wherein the linear slide is back-drivable (see Saito figure 2 element 11c, 11a and paragraphs 0039-0040 where for moving the pad 10 back (away), the pair of cantilever beams 11c are bent inward (toward the long slot 11a), and then the pad 10 is pushed forward in a state in which the claws lid are disengaged from the faces 12b of the guide member 12.).
Consider claim 15, Saito as modified by Jo teaches all the limitations of claim 13 and further teaches further comprising a lock engageable with the linear slide (see Saito figure 2, element 12b).
Consider claim 16, Saito as modified by Jo teaches all the limitations of claim 15 and further teaches wherein: the linear slide comprises a first set of teeth (see Saito figure 2, element 11d); and
the lock comprises a second set of teeth engageable with the first set of teeth (see Saito figure 2, element 12b).
Consider claim 17, Saito as modified by Jo teaches all the limitations of claim 16 and further teaches wherein: the first set of teeth comprise first leading tips (see Saito figure 2, element 11d); and
the second set of teeth comprise second leading tips (see Saito figure 2, element 12b).
Consider claim 18, Saito as modified by Jo teaches all the limitations of claim 17 and further teaches wherein when the first set of teeth and the second set of teeth are engaged: the second leading tips protrude past the first set of teeth; and the first leading tips protrude past the second set of teeth (see figure 2, element 12b, 11d and paragraphs 0039-0041 where when engaged claws 11d collide against faces 12b which corresponds to leading tips protruding past each set of teeth during engagement).
Consider claim 19, Saito as modified by Jo teaches all the limitations of claim 15 and further teaches wherein the actuator control is configured to engage and disengage the lock and the linear slide (see Saito paragraphs 0039-0041 where for moving the pad 10 back (away), the pair of cantilever beams 11c are bent inward (toward the long slot 11a), for example, by remote control from the support 1a and then the pad 10 is pushed forward in a state in which the claws lid are disengaged from the faces 12b of the guide member 12).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 20 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The claimed invention recites
Claim 20 “The wearable apparatus of claim 19, wherein the actuator control is connected to the lock via a flexible drive shaft. ”
The following prior arts are representative of the state of the prior art:
Saito, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20020008677 (figures 1-2, 14-16)
Jo et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20200081259 (figures 6-8)
Clark et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20210208393 (figures 1-2)
The prior arts cited fails to fairly teach or suggest the combined features of the invention including wherein the actuator control is connected to the lock via a flexible drive shaft.
These features find support at least at figure 29 and figure 34 of Applicant’s original specification.
As such, modification of the prior art of record can only be motivated by hindsight reasoning, or by changing the intended use and function of the prior art themselves. Therefore, it is not clear that one of ordinary skill in the art would have made the necessary modifications to the prior art of record to encompass the limitations set forth in the present application. Moreover, none of the prior arts of record, taken either alone or in combination, anticipate nor render obvious the claimed inventions. Hence, claims 20 would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Sauers et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20190079301 (face seal for head mounted display), Wang et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20240004206 (head mountable electronic device spacer).
/Dorothy Harris/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2625