DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending in this office action.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on June 30, 2025, September 19. 2025, and February 23, 2026, are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. Step 1: Statutory Category
Claims 1–7 are directed to a computer-implemented method (a process).
Claims 8–14 are directed to a computer program product comprising computer-readable storage media (a manufacture).
Claims 15–20 are directed to a computer system comprising a processor set and storage media (a machine).
All claims meet the threshold requirement of Step 1 by falling within statutory categories.
Step 2A, Prong 1: Recitation of a Judicial Exception
Independent claims 1, 8, and 15 recite operations for:
Receiving an event that triggers review of a file;
Identifying a classification of the file;
Using the classification to identify a data review ruleset; and
Performing a process selected from repatriation or removal of data in the file based on the event and the ruleset.
These steps fall within the Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity group of abstract ideas (specifically, business methods, managing data compliance, and rule-based decision-making). The steps describe generic conditional logic—collecting data, applying rules to classify data, and executing a predetermined decision based on the rules—which constitute basic mental or logical concepts.
Step 2A, Prong 2: Lack of Integration into a Practical Application
The abstract idea is not integrated into a practical application because the claims fail to improve the functioning of a computer or other technology:
Generic Computing Environment: The claims perform the abstract steps using general-purpose computing infrastructure (e.g., "processor set," "computer-readable storage media," "edge device") acting in a conventional manner.
High-Level Functional Claiming: The claims recite broad functional results ("receiving," "identifying," "using," "performing") without specifying the particular technological mechanism by which these operations are achieved.
Specification vs. Claim Scope: While the specification describes specific technical implementations—such as edge-topology sovereignty mapping, natural language processing pipelines, or two-person integrity confirmations—these technical restrictions are not recited in independent claims 1, 8, and 15. Patent eligibility is governed by the limitations in the claims, not the specification.
Accordingly, the claims fail Step 2A, Prong 2.
Step 2B: Search for an Inventive Concept ("Significantly More")
Independent Claims (1, 8, 15): The claimed generic computer components performing standard data management steps represent well-understood, routine, and conventional activities in the art of software engineering and data management. Merely executing abstract business or compliance rules on generic hardware does not supply an inventive concept.
Dependent Claims (2–7, 9–14, 16–20):
Ingesting third-party classification information (Claims 2, 9, 16) is conventional data gathering. Discovering backup copies or applying storage policies (Claims 3, 10, 17) represents routine data auditing. Copying data back to an original location or attempting deletion and cataloging failures (Claims 4–5, 11–12, 18–19) recites conventional file-system file transfer and error logging. Generating a compliance report (Claims 6, 13, 20) is conventional output generation. Receiving a security event based on real-time monitoring (Claims 7, 14) is well-understood event-driven triggering. None of the dependent claim limitations, considered individually or as an ordered combination, add "significantly more" to the abstract idea. Claims 1–20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,682,094. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both patent and application claim a computer-implemented method, comprising: receiving an event that triggers review of a file (determining if the data is to be moved and/or replicated), using classification of the file to identify a data review ruleset (using a determined classification of a predetermined file to determine a data compliance ruleset that applies to data of the predetermined file), performing a process consisting of repatriation and removal of the data (in response to a determination that the scheduled movement and/or replication of the data of the predetermined file violates at least one rule of the determined data compliance ruleset, instructing a controller of the source node to prevent the scheduled movement and/or replication of the data of the predetermined file from occurring). The patent further claims using natural language processing. It would have been obvious to use NLP to expediate the process.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Collins et al. (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2020/0279139).
Regarding claims 1, 8, and 15, Collins et al. teaches a computer-implemented method comprising operations for: receiving an event that triggers review of a file (paragraph 0096); identifying a classification of the file (paragraph 0050); using the classification of the file to identify a data review ruleset (paragraph 0124); and performing a process selected from a group consisting of repatriation of data in the file and removal of the data in the file based on the event and the data review ruleset (paragraph 0044 and 0079).
Regarding claims 2, 9, and 16, Collins et al. teaches wherein the operations further comprise: ingesting third party discovery and classification information (paragraph 0128).
Regarding claims 3, 10, and 17, Collins et al. teaches wherein the operations further comprise: discovering backup copies and archive copies in storage systems and storage system policies, wherein the repatriation of the data and the removal of the data applies to the backup copies and the archive copies and complies with the storage system policies (paragraph 0076 and 0079).
Regarding claims 4, 11, and 18, Collins et al. teaches wherein the operations for the repatriation of the data further comprise: copying the data from a current location at an edge device to an original location at an on-premises storage system (paragraph 0125).
Regarding claims 5, 12, and 19, Collins et al. teaches wherein the operations for the removal of the data further comprise: attempting to delete the data from a current location; and in response to determining that the data was not deleted, cataloging the data that was not deleted (paragraph 0079).
Regarding claims 6, 13, and 20, Collins et al. teaches wherein the operations further comprise: generating a compliance report that indicates the data that was repatriated, the data that was removed, and orphaned data that was not deleted (paragraph 0062).
Regarding claims 7 and 14, Collins et al. teaches wherein the event comprises a security event that is generated based on monitoring real-world situations in real time (paragraph 0041).
/BRANDON HOFFMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2433