DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 and 11-18 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Weh et al. 5,209,528.
In regard to claim 1, Weh et al. discloses (fig. 9) a fluid coupling device comprising:
a main body (280) defining a fluid passageway extending along a longitudinal axis between a first end and a second end;
a collet (228) comprising a plurality of arcuate segments,
a front-end portion of the collet surrounding the second end 225 of the main body and defining an open internal area shaped to receive a termination of a fluid handling component (226) to be mated with the second end of the main body, wherein each arcuate segment is pivotable in relation to the main body to reconfigure the collet between:
(i) a closed configuration in which the front-end portion of the collet is arranged to clamp onto the termination of the fluid handling component mated with the second end of the main body and
(ii) an open configuration in which the front-end portion of the collet is radially expanded in comparison to the closed configuration; and
a collar (400) surrounding the main body and at least a portion of the collet, the collar being longitudinally slidable along the main body between a first position that allows the collet to be in the open configuration and a second position that forces the collet to be in the closed configuration.
In regard to claim 2, wherein a rear-end portion of the collet radially contracts when the collet reconfigures from the closed configuration to the open configuration (the spring on the end of 228, similar to the spring 26 in fig. 2).
In regard to claim 3, wherein a midbody portion of the collet is in contact with a fulcrum about which each arcuate segment is pivotable (flange portion of element14 in contact with the interior of 228).
In regard to claim 4, wherein the main body comprises the fulcrum (flange portion of 14 in contact with the interior of 228), or wherein the fulcrum is coupled to the main body (280).
In regard to claim 5, further comprising an elastic member surrounding a rear-end portion of the collet (the spring on the end of 228, similar to the spring 26 in fig. 2).
In regard to claim 6, wherein the open internal area shaped to receive the termination of the fluid handling component is shaped to receive a barbed end fitting (the interior of 228 has an opening that receives the flanged end of 226 that is shaped to receive a barb), and wherein the fluid coupling device further comprises an annular seal member (seal on the exterior of 225) arranged in an annular groove defined by the main body at a location in which the annular seal member will seal against an inner diameter of the barbed end fitting.
In regard to claim 7, wherein the open internal area shaped to receive the termination of the fluid handling component is shaped to receive a sanitary end fitting (the interior of 228 has an opening that receives the flanged end of 226 which could be clean or sanitary end fitting).
In regard to claim 11, Weh et al. discloses a fluid coupling device comprising:
a main body (280) defining a fluid passageway extending along a longitudinal axis between a first end and a second end;
a collet (228) comprising a plurality of arcuate segments; and
a collar (230) surrounding the main body and at least a portion of the collet, the collar being longitudinally slidable along the main body between:
(i) a first position that allows the collet to radially expand to an open configuration to receive a termination of a fluid handling device to be mated with the second end of the main body and
(ii) a second position that forces the collet to a closed configuration in which the collet clamps onto the termination of the fluid handling device to be mated with the second end of the main body.
In regard to claim 12, wherein the collet (228) defines an open internal area shaped to receive the termination of the fluid handling component (226) to be mated with the second end of the main body.
In regard to claim 13, wherein the open internal area shaped to receive the termination of the fluid handling device is shaped to receive a barbed end fitting (the interior of 228 has an opening that receives the flanged end of 226 that is shaped to receive a barb).
In regard to claim 14, wherein the open internal area shaped to receive the termination of the fluid handling device is shaped to receive a sanitary end fitting (the interior of 228 has an opening that receives the flanged end of 226 which could be clean or sanitary end fitting).
In regard to claim 15, wherein a midbody portion of each arcuate segment is pivotable in relation to the main body about a fulcrum to reconfigure the collet between the open configuration and the closed configuration (flange portion of element 14 in contact with the interior of 228).
In regard to claim 16, wherein the main body comprises the fulcrum, or wherein the fulcrum is coupled to the main body (flange portion of element 14 in contact with the interior of 228 is attached to 280).
In regard to claim 17, wherein each arcuate segment (228) is uncoupled from any other arcuate segment (228 are separate elements with a spring similar to 26 in fig. 2 attached at the ends of all of the segments 228).
In regard to claim 18, further comprising an elastic member surrounding a rear-end portion of the collet (a spring similar to 26 in fig. 2 attached at the ends of all of the segments 228).
In regard to claim 21, wherein the collar 230 is configured to contact rear ends of the arcuate segments to radially expand the collet to the open configuration when the collar is in the first position (the internal flange at the left end of 400 would contact the rear end of 228 to expand the collet).
Claim(s) 1 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Anderson 3,234,965.
In regard to claim 1, Anderson discloses a fluid coupling device comprising:
a main body (3b) defining a fluid passageway extending along a longitudinal axis between a first end and a second end;
a collet (23) comprising a plurality of arcuate segments (25),
a front-end portion of the collet surrounding the second end (17) of the main body (3b) and defining an open internal area shaped to receive a termination 15 of a fluid handling component (2) to be mated with the second end (17) of the main body, wherein each arcuate segment (25) is pivotable in relation to the main body to reconfigure the collet between:
(i) a closed configuration in which the front-end portion of the collet is arranged to clamp onto the termination of the fluid handling component mated with the second end of the main body and
(ii) an open configuration in which the front-end portion of the collet is radially expanded in comparison to the closed configuration; and
a collar (1) surrounding the main body and at least a portion of the collet, the collar being longitudinally slidable along the main body between a first position that allows the collet to be in the open configuration and a second position that forces the collet to be in the closed configuration.
In regard to claim 8, wherein the collet 25 further comprises one living hinge 23 (all fingers 25 flex from portion 23 that connects collet together), wherein each living hinge interconnects two adjacent arcuate segments of the plurality of arcuate segments.
Claim(s) 1, 9 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nguyen et al. 2014/0035281.
In regard to claim 1, Nguyen et al. discloses a fluid coupling device comprising:
a main body (200) defining a fluid passageway extending along a longitudinal axis between a first end and a second end;
a collet (110) comprising a plurality of arcuate segments (105),
a front-end portion of the collet surrounding the second end (203) of the main body (200) and defining an open internal area shaped to receive a termination (305) of a fluid handling component (300) to be mated with the second end (203) of the main body (200), wherein each arcuate segment (105) is pivotable in relation to the main body to reconfigure the collet between:
(i) a closed configuration (fig. 2) in which the front-end portion of the collet is arranged to clamp onto the termination of the fluid handling component mated with the second end of the main body and
(ii) an open configuration (fig. 1) in which the front-end portion (105) of the collet is radially expanded in comparison to the closed configuration; and
a collar (123) surrounding the main body 200 and at least a portion of the collet (collar 123 surrounds the end tip of 105 in fig. 2), the collar being longitudinally slidable along the main body between a first position (fig. 1) that allows the collet to be in the open configuration and a second position (fig. 2) that forces the collet (110) to be in the closed configuration.
In regard to claim 9, the collar comprises two identical half portions (see fig. 8) that are configured to snap together to form the collar.
In regard to claim 11, Nguyen et al. discloses a fluid coupling device comprising:
a main body (200) defining a fluid passageway extending along a longitudinal axis between a first end and a second end;
a collet (105) comprising a plurality of arcuate segments; and
a collar (123) surrounding the main body and at least a portion of the collet, the collar being longitudinally slidable along the main body between:
(i) a first position (see fig. 1) that allows the collet to radially expand to an open configuration to receive a termination of a fluid handling device to be mated with the second end of the main body and
(ii) a second position (see fig. 2) that forces the collet to a closed configuration in which the collet clamps onto the termination of the fluid handling device to be mated with the second end of the main body.
Claim(s) 1, 7, 10-12, 14 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Larsson 5,649,723.
In regard to claim 1, Larsson discloses a fluid coupling device comprising:
a main body (8) defining a fluid passageway extending along a longitudinal axis between a first end and a second end;
a collet (5) comprising a plurality of arcuate segments,
a front-end portion of the collet surrounding the second end (6) of the main body (8) and defining an open internal area shaped to receive a termination (2) of a fluid handling component to be mated with the second end (6) of the main body, wherein each arcuate segment (5) is pivotable in relation to the main body to reconfigure the collet between:
(i) a closed configuration in which the front-end portion of the collet is arranged to clamp onto the termination of the fluid handling component mated with the second end of the main body and
(ii) an open configuration in which the front-end portion of the collet is radially expanded in comparison to the closed configuration; and
a collar (14) surrounding the main body and at least a portion of the collet, the collar being longitudinally slidable along the main body between a first position that allows the collet to be in the open configuration and a second position that forces the collet to be in the closed configuration.
In regard to claim 7, the open internal area shaped to receive the termination of the fluid handling component (2) is shaped to receive a threaded fitting.
In regard to claim 10, wherein the collar defines a plurality of longitudinally extending grooves (grooves 17 have a longitudinal portion) in which longitudinally extending protrusions 18 of the plurality of arcuate segments are slidably disposed.
In regard to claim 11, Larsson discloses a fluid coupling device comprising:
a main body (8) defining a fluid passageway extending along a longitudinal axis between a first end and a second end;
a collet (5) comprising a plurality of arcuate segments; and
a collar (14) surrounding the main body and at least a portion of the collet, the collar being longitudinally slidable along the main body between:
(i) a first position that allows the collet to radially expand to an open configuration to receive a termination of a fluid handling device to be mated with the second end of the main body and
(ii) a second position that forces the collet to a closed configuration in which the collet clamps onto the termination of the fluid handling device to be mated with the second end of the main body.
In regard to claim 12, wherein the collet (5) defines an open internal area shaped to receive the termination of the fluid handling component (2) to be mated with the second end (6) of the main body (8).
In regard to claim 14, wherein the open internal area shaped to receive the termination of the fluid handling device is shaped to receive a threaded fitting (2).
In regard to claim 19, wherein the collar 14 defines a plurality of longitudinally extending grooves (grooves 17 have a longitudinal portion) in which longitudinally extending protrusions 18 of the plurality of arcuate segments are slidably disposed.
Claim(s) 11 and 20-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Eaton 5,580,099.
In regard to claim 11, Eaton discloses a fluid coupling device comprising:
a main body (40) defining a fluid passageway extending along a longitudinal axis between a first end and a second end;
a collet (12) comprising a plurality of arcuate segments; and
a collar (14) surrounding the main body and at least a portion of the collet, the collar being longitudinally slidable along the main body between:
(i) a first position (fig. 15) that allows the collet to radially expand to an open configuration to receive a termination of a fluid handling device to be mated with the second end of the main body and
(ii) a second position (fig. 14) that forces the collet to a closed configuration in which the collet clamps onto the termination of the fluid handling device to be mated with the second end of the main body.
In regard to claim 20, wherein the collet defines a plurality of longitudinally extending grooves (66) in which longitudinally extending protrusions (52) of the collar are slidably disposed.
In regard to claim 21, wherein the collar (14) is configured to contact rear ends (32) of the arcuate segments to radially expand the collet to the open configuration when the collar is in the first position (see fig. 15).
Claim(s) 11 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Buerli et al. 10,781,955.
In regard to claim 11, Buerli et al. discloses (fig. 5) a fluid coupling device comprising:
a main body (4,11) defining a fluid passageway extending along a longitudinal axis between a first end and a second end;
a collet (3,4) comprising a plurality of arcuate segments; and
a collar (5) surrounding the main body and at least a portion of the collet, the collar being longitudinally slidable along the main body between:
(i) a first position (fig. 1) that allows the collet to radially expand to an open configuration to receive a termination of a fluid handling device to be mated with the second end of the main body and
(ii) a second position (fig. 5) that forces the collet to a closed configuration in which the collet clamps onto the termination of the fluid handling device 20 to be mated with the second end of the main body.
In regard to claim 22, wherein the collet and the collar are positioned at the first end of the main body, and further comprising a second collet and a second collar positioned at the second end of the main body (see fig. 6).
Claim(s) 11 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gjessing 4,730,853.
In regard to claim 11, Gjessing discloses a fluid coupling device comprising:
a main body (2) defining a fluid passageway extending along a longitudinal axis between a first end and a second end (the two fluid passages in 2 and 4);
a collet (5) comprising a plurality of arcuate segments; and
a collar (7) surrounding the main body and at least a portion of the collet, the collar being longitudinally slidable along the main body between:
(i) a first position (position of 7 on the right side of fig. 1) that allows the collet to radially expand to an open configuration to receive a termination of a fluid handling device to be mated with the second end of the main body and
(ii) a second position (the position of 7 on the left side of fig. 1) that forces the collet to a closed configuration in which the collet clamps onto the termination of the fluid handling device 20 to be mated with the second end of the main body.
In regard to claim 24, wherein the first end of the main body 2 includes a blank end arranged to block fluid flow through the fluid coupling device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 22-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nguyen et al. 2014/0035281 in view of Buerli et al. 10,781,955.
In regard to claim 22, Ngyuen et al. discloses a coupling device as described above, but
does not disclose both ends of the main body as having collets and collars. Buerli teaches that it is common and well known in the art to provide a main body with either a collet at only one end (fig. 1) or both ends (fig. 6) of the main body. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the main body of Nguyen et al. with collets and collars at both ends because inasmuch as the references disclose these elements as art recognized equivalents, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute one for the other. In re Fout, 675 F.2d 297, 301, 213 USPQ 532, 536 (CCPA 1982).
In regard to claim 23, Nguyen et al. discloses making the collar 123 from two pieces (see fig. 8).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Hayes, Danielson, Wester and Kiler disclose similar couplings that are common and well known in the art.
/DAVID BOCHNA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679