DETAILED ACTION
This is a non-final Office Action on the merits in response to communications filed by Applicant on May 07, 2025. Claims 1-20 are currently pending and examined below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on is/are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-16, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kniss et al. US2010/0005920 (“Kniss”).
Regarding claim(s) 1, 16, 20. Kniss discloses a quick change coupling system configured to couple components of a welding system ([0035] Secured to the base member 16 is an anchor mount 20. It should be noted that the anchor mount 20 may be secured to all base members 16 on a robot end effector system frame 14 or on just selected base members 16 depending on the components to be connected to the frame 14 of the robot end effector system 10.), the quick change coupling system comprising:
a first adapter comprising a first tapered extension extending from a first outside diameter of the first adapter, the first tapered extension defining a second outside diameter of the first adapter greater than the first outside diameter of the first adapter (fig. 2, The flange 28 has a predetermined diameter with a predetermined sized bore or orifice through a midpoint thereof.);
a second adapter comprising a second tapered extension extending from a third outside diameter of the second adapter, the second tapered extension defining a fourth outside diameter of the second adapter greater than the third outside diameter of the second adapter (fig. 2, [0038] The boom 36, junction members 38, edge accessory members 48, other components and anchor mounts 20 are all interconnected with each other and fastened to one another in a multitude of combinations. The connections are created via a collar assembly 40. The collar assembly 40 includes a first and second collar member 50 and a cross key 52. The cross key 52 generally has an X-shape with a predetermined thickness. The predetermined thickness will be such that approximately half of the cross key 52 will extend into a slot 30, 46 on any of the coupling flanges 28, 42 while the other half of the cross key 52 will extend into an adjacent coupling flange 28, 42 of the other component being connected thereto The cross key 52 is arranged within all four of the slots 30, 46 and thus will secure the components being connected to one another such that no rotation can occur between the components after they are secured to one another with the collar assembly 40.); and
an intermediate lock configured to couple the first adapter and the second adapter by fastening the first tapered extension of the first adapter together with the second tapered extension of the second adapter (fig. 2, [0038] The collar assembly 40 will include a first collar half 50 and a second collar half 50. The collar halves 50 will have a semi circular circumferential groove 54 arranged on an inner diameter thereof. The inner circumferential 54 groove will have a first and second angled surface 56 such that the groove 54 has a reduced radius as the groove 54 angled surface 56 extends into collar 50. In the embodiment shown, the angle of the surface 56 of the groove 54 is generally 15.degree. from a centerline of the collar member 50. Therefore, a total angle of approximately 30.degree. is found between the angled surfaces 56.).
Regarding claim(s) 2. Kniss discloses the first adapter defines a first outwardly-facing surface at the first outside diameter; the first tapered extension comprises a first tapered face; and the first tapered face and the first outwardly-facing surface define a first tapering angle (fig. 2, fig. 5A, ).
Regarding claim(s) 3. Kniss discloses the first tapering angle is greater than or equal to 120 degrees and less than 180 degrees (fig. 2, fig. 5A, )..
Regarding claim(s) 4. Kniss discloses the second adapter defines a second outwardly-facing surface at the second outside diameter; the second tapered extension comprises a second tapered face; the second tapered face and the second outwardly-facing surface define a second tapering angle; and the intermediate lock engages with the first tapered face of the first adapter and the second tapered face of the second adapter when the intermediate lock fastens the first tapered extension together with the second tapered extension (fig. 2-fig. 5).
Regarding claim(s) 5. Kniss discloses the first adapter defines a first interior diameter and a first interior abutment face extending from the first interior diameter to the second outside diameter; the second adapter defines a second interior diameter and a second interior abutment face extending from the second interior diameter to the fourth outside diameter; and the intermediate lock is configured to lock the first interior abutment face to the second interior abutment face (fig. 2-fig. 5A).
Regarding claim(s) 6. Kniss discloses when the intermediate lock fastens the first tapered extension together with the second tapered extension, the first interior abutment face is seated against the second interior abutment face (fig. 2-fig. 5A).
Regarding claim(s) 7. Kniss discloses wherein the first adapter is an insulating adapter ([0016], The anchor mount will have a pre-stressed region adjacent to a flange. The flange also includes four grooves arranged at 90.degree. intervals from one another. The cross key is arranged within the grooves of each flange on the component and anchor mount to ensure precise positioning of the components with respect to the frame.).
Regarding claim(s) 8. Kniss discloses the insulating adapter comprises a first stress tolerance; and the second adapter comprises a second stress tolerance higher than the first stress tolerance. ([0016], The anchor mount will have a pre-stressed region adjacent to a flange. The flange also includes four grooves arranged at 90.degree. intervals from one another. The cross key is arranged within the grooves of each flange on the component and anchor mount to ensure precise positioning of the components with respect to the frame.)
Regarding claim(s) 9. Kniss discloses comprising an alignment pin, wherein: the first adapter further comprises a first alignment hole; the second adapter further comprises a second alignment hole; and the first and second alignment holes are configured to align the first adapter and the second adapter when the alignment pin extends through the first and second alignment holes (fig. 2).
Regarding claim(s) 10. Kniss discloses wherein the intermediate lock comprises a compression fitting (fig. 3).
Regarding claim(s) 11. Kniss discloses wherein the intermediate lock comprises a tapered seat configured to hold both the first tapered extension of the first adapter and the second tapered extension of the second adapter when the first adapter and the second adapter are fastened together by the intermediate lock (fig. 2-fig.3).
Regarding claim(s) 12. Kniss discloses wherein the intermediate lock is a split clamp comprising a first section and a second section bolted together by one or more clamp bolts (fig. 3).
Regarding claim(s) 13. Kniss discloses wherein the intermediate lock comprises a fastening clamp comprising a cam lock configured to close the fastening clamp (fig. 2-fig. 3).
Regarding claim(s) 14. Kniss discloses wherein the intermediate lock comprises a first quarter turn component and a second quarter turn component configured to fasten to the first quarter turn component by being turned (fig. 3).
Regarding claim(s) 15. Kniss discloses wherein the intermediate lock comprises a fastening clamp comprising a hinge configured to pivotally couple a first section of the fastening clamp to a second section of the fastening clamp (fig. 3).
Regarding claim(s) 18. Kniss discloses wherein the first auxiliary device comprises at least one of a torch connector, a clutch, a machine vision system, or a spacer (fig. 2).
Regarding claim(s) 19. Kniss discloses comprising a plurality of bolts, wherein the second adapter comprises a plurality of fastening holes and each bolt of the plurality of bolts extends through a respective fastening hole of the plurality of fastening holes for connection to the first auxiliary device (fig. 2).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Inquiry
/TRUC M DO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3658