DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
This action is in response to the applicant’s filing on May 7, 2025. Claims 1-15 are pending.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
At [0018], “can form a clusters or a set” might be “can form clusters or a set” OR “can form a cluster or a set”.
At [0048], “can be use to illuminate” appears to be intended as “can be used to illuminate”. This occurs twice in the paragraph.
At [0058], “can form a clusters or a set” might be “can form clusters or a set” OR “can form a cluster or a set”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the environment”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, as in claim 10.
Claims 2-9 are rejected for incorporation of the errors of the base claim by dependency.
Claim 6 recites the limitation “the current detected environment”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 8 recites the limitation “the current detected environment”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 10 recites the limitation “the corresponding light sources”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 13-15 are rejected for incorporation of the errors of the base claim by dependency.
Claim 13 recites the limitation “the current detected environment”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 15 recites the limitation “the current detected environment”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Interpretation - 35 USC § 112
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “environmental detection system” in claim 1 and “robotic work tool environmental detection system” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 and 10-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ebrahimi Afrouzi et al., U.S. Patent 12,235,659 B2 (2025).
As to claim 1, Ebrahimi Afrouzi et al. discloses a robotic lawn mower (Column 301, Line 30 – Column 302, Line 43) comprising an environmental detection system that in turn comprises at least one camera arrangement adapted to capture environmental images (Column 12, Lines 16-53)
and a control unit adapted to process the captured images to provide environment data (Column 12, Lines 16-53),
each camera arrangement comprising an image sensor and at least two light sources adapted to emit light towards the environment (Column 145, Line 62 – Column 146, Line 38),
wherein at least two co-operating light sources of said light sources have mutually different optical characteristics that confer mutually different light distribution characteristics (Column 145, Line 62 – Column 146, Line 38).
As to claim 2, Ebrahimi Afrouzi et al. discloses the robotic lawn mower according to claim 1, and further discloses wherein the optical characteristics comprise at least one of
- main light beam direction,
- degree of light beam collimation, and
- degree of light beam focus or dispersion (Column 166, Lines 44-56, Column 164, Lines 22-60).
As to claim 3, Ebrahimi Afrouzi et al. discloses the robotic lawn mower according to claim 1, and further discloses wherein the co-operating light sources are constituted by light emitting diodes, LEDs, where at least two of said LEDs are adapted to emit light in at least one of
- the visual spectrum;
- the infrared, IR, spectrum; and
- the near IR spectrum (Column 164, Lines 22-60).
As to claim 4, Ebrahimi Afrouzi et al. discloses the robotic lawn mower according to claim 1, and further discloses wherein the control unit is adapted to operate one or more light sources, having the same optical characteristics and forming a set of light sources, at a certain time instant, and to switch between at least two co-operating sets of light sources, the sets having mutually different optical characteristics, each set of light sources comprising at least one light source (Column 242, Lines 18-41, Column 146, Line 59 – Column 147, Line 34).
As to claim 5, Ebrahimi Afrouzi et al. discloses the robotic lawn mower according to claim 4, and further discloses wherein the control unit is adapted to apply a first algorithm to captured images when a first set of light sources is operational, and to apply a second algorithm, different from the first algorithm, to captured images when a second set of light sources is operational (Column 209, Lines 49-65, Column 274, Line 40 – Column 275, Line 32).
As to claim 6, Ebrahimi Afrouzi et al. discloses the robotic lawn mower according to claim 4, and further discloses wherein the control unit is adapted to select a certain set of light sources to operate at a certain time in dependence of the current detected environment (Column 209, Lines 49-65, Column 274, Line 40 – Column 275, Line 32).
As to claim 7, Ebrahimi Afrouzi et al. discloses the robotic lawn mower according to claim 4, and further discloses wherein the control unit is adapted to select a certain set of light sources to operate for every picture frame, such that control unit is adapted to change which set of light sources that is operating for each picture frame (Column 209, Lines 49-65, Column 274, Line 40 – Column 275, Line 32).
As to claim 8, Ebrahimi Afrouzi et al. discloses the robotic lawn mower according to claim 4, and further discloses wherein the control unit is adapted to control the input current of the set of light sources that is operating at the moment in dependence of the current detected environment, such that an emitted light intensity can be controlled in dependence of the current detected environment (Column 184, Lines 27-47, Column 238, Lines 16-39).
As to claim 10, Ebrahimi Afrouzi et al. discloses a method for controlling a camera arrangement used in a robotic work tool environmental detection system for capturing environmental images, the method comprising
operating at least two co-operating sets of light sources one at a time (Column 145, Line 62 – Column 146, Line 38); and
capturing environmental images (Column 12, Lines 16-53);
where each co-operating set of light sources comprises at least one light source used for emitting light towards an environment, and where the corresponding light sources comprised in at least two different co-operating sets of light sources have mutually different optical characteristics that confer mutually different light distribution characteristics (Column 145, Line 62 – Column 146, Line 38).
As to claim 11, Ebrahimi Afrouzi et al. discloses the method according to claim 10, and further discloses wherein the optical characteristics comprise at least one of
- main light beam direction,
- degree of light beam collimation, and
- degree of light beam focus or dispersion (Column 166, Lines 44-56, Column 164, Lines 22-60).
As to claim 12, Ebrahimi Afrouzi et al. discloses the method according to claim 10, and further discloses further comprising applying a first algorithm to captured images when a first set of light sources is operating; and applying a second algorithm, different from the first algorithm, to captured images when a second set of light sources is operating (Column 209, Lines 49-65, Column 274, Line 40 – Column 275, Line 32).
As to claim 13, Ebrahimi Afrouzi et al. discloses the method according to claim 10, and further discloses further comprising selecting a certain set of light sources to operate at a certain time in dependence of the current detected environment (Column 209, Lines 49-65, Column 274, Line 40 – Column 275, Line 32).
As to claim 14, Ebrahimi Afrouzi et al. discloses the method according to claim 10, and further discloses further comprising selecting a certain set of light sources to operate for every picture frame, such which set of light sources that is operating is changed for each picture frame (Column 209, Lines 49-65, Column 274, Line 40 – Column 275, Line 32).
As to claim 15, Ebrahimi Afrouzi et al. discloses the method according to claim 10, and further discloses further comprising controlling the input current of the set of light sources that is operating at the moment in dependence of the current detected environment, such that an emitted light intensity can be controlled in dependence of the current detected environment (Column 184, Lines 27-47, Column 238, Lines 16-39).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ebrahimi Afrouzi et al., U.S. Patent 12,235,659 B2 (2025) in view of Docken et al., U.S. Patent 12,642,167 B2 (2026).
As to claim 9, Ebrahimi Afrouzi et al. discloses the robotic lawn mower according to claim 1. Ebrahimi Afrouzi et al. does not disclose the other claim limitations, which are standard robotic lawn mower features.
Docken et al. discloses comprising a main body part where a first end portion is facing a forward travelling direction and a second end portion is facing a reverse travelling direction, the robotic lawn mower further comprising a plurality of wheels and a rotatable cutting disc that is driven by a cutter motor, where at least two drive wheels are drivably connected to a corresponding electric drive wheel motor (Figure 2, front sidewall 105, rear sidewall 107, cutting disc 312, rear wheels 106, Figure 5, tool motor 370, Column 5, Lines 6-24).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the relevant art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the robotic lawn mower of claim 1, as disclosed by Ebrahimi Afrouzi et al., with the use of standard robotic lawn mower components, as claimed, as disclosed by Docken et al., with a reasonable expectation of success, allowing the robotic lawn mower to perform standard mowing functions to propel the mower and the cutting disc to mow grass.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The published application of the present invention is cited. Issued patents from the citations listed in the Information Disclosure Statement are cited.
MICHAEL BERNS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3667
/MICHAEL A BERNS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3667