DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to communication filed on 05/07/2025.
Claims 1-21 are presented.
Information Disclosure Statement
It is hereby acknowledged that the following papers have been received and placed of record in the file:
Information Disclosure Statement(s) as received on 05/07/2025, and 10/14/2025 is/are considered by the Examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3-7, 10, 12-16, and 19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,665,116 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims in the patent anticipate all the claims in the applications.
Instant Application
Patent (US 11,665,116 B2)
A method comprising:
causing, by a processor, a modified first media content item to be displayed by a second client device, the modified first media content item being received from a first client device and comprising an invitation media overlay associated with private group, wherein the private group has access to a private collection of media content items can only be modified by a first user associated with the first client device;
receiving a selection of the invitation media overlay from the second client device; and
causing the private collection of media content items to be displayed by the second client device.
1. A method comprising:
receiving, by a processor, a first media content item from a first client device, wherein the first client device is associated with a first user;
receiving from the first client device a selection of an invitation media overlay to be applied to the first media content item, wherein the invitation media overlay is used to invite at least one user to join a private group having access to a private collection of media content items;
generating a modified first media content item by overlaying the invitation media overlay on the first media content item;
generating the private collection of media content items that can only be modified by the first client device, wherein the media content items in the private collection are received from the first client device, wherein the private collection of media content items comprises the modified first media content item;
receiving from the first client device a selection of a second user, wherein a second client device is associated with the second user, wherein the second user is included in the at least one user invited to join the private group;
receiving from the first client device a selection of a second user, wherein a second client device is associated with the second user, wherein the second user is included in the at least one user invited to join the private group;
causing the modified first media content item to be displayed by the second client device;
receiving a selection of the invitation media overlay from the second client device; and
causing the private collection of media content items to be displayed by the second client device.
2.The method of claim 1, wherein the media content items in the private collection are received from the first client device, wherein the private collection of media content items comprises the modified first media content item.
1. A method comprising:
….
generating the private collection of media content items that can only be modified by the first client device, wherein the media content items in the private collection are received from the first client device, wherein the private collection of media content items comprises the modified first media content item;
…
3.The method of claim 1, wherein the invitation media overlay comprises text received via a text input from the first client device.
3. The method of claim 1, further comprising:
causing a text input item to be displayed by the first client device; and
receiving a text via the text input item from the first client device, wherein the invitation media overlay comprises the text.
4.The method of claim 3, wherein the invitation media overlay further comprises an icon, wherein the icon comprises an avatar of a user of the first client device.
4. The method of claim 3, wherein the invitation media overlay further comprises an icon, wherein the icon comprises an avatar of a user of the first client device.
5.The method of claim 3, further comprising:
updating the private collection of media content items to comprise a second media content item received from the first client device; and
causing the updated private collection of media content items to be displayed by the second client device.
5. The method of claim 3, further comprising:
receiving a second media content item from the first client device;
updating the private collection of media content items to comprise the second media content item; and
causing the updated private collection of media content items to be displayed by the second client device.
6.The method of claim 5, wherein the first modified media content item comprises a first media content item, wherein the first media content item and the second media content item are at least one of images, pictures, videos, or text.
6. The method of claim 5, wherein the first media content item and the second media content item are at least one of images, pictures, videos, or text.
7.The method of claim 6, wherein the first media content item and the second media content item are captured using a camera of the first client device.
7. The method of claim 5, wherein the first media content item and the second media content item are captured using a camera on the first client device.
8.A system comprising:
a processor; and
a memory having instructions stored thereon, when executed by the processor, causes the system to perform operations comprising:
causing a modified first media content item to be displayed by a second client device, the modified first media content item being received from a first client device and comprising an invitation media overlay associated with a private group, wherein the private group has access to a private collection of media content items can only be modified by a first user associated with the first client device;
receiving a selection of the invitation media overlay from the second client device; and
causing the private collection of media content items to be displayed by the second client device.
10. A system comprising:
a processor; and
a memory having instructions stored thereon, when executed by the processor, causes the system to perform operations comprising:
receiving a first media content item from a first client device, wherein the first client device is associated with a first user;
receiving from the first client device a selection of an invitation media overlay to be applied to the first media content item, wherein the invitation media overlay is used to invite at least one user to join a private group having access to a private collection of media content items;
generating a modified first media content item by overlaying the invitation media overlay on the first media content item;
generating the private collection of media content items that can only be modified by the first client device, wherein the media content items in the private collection are received from the first client device, wherein the private collection of media content items comprises the modified first media content item;
receiving from the first client device a selection of a second user, wherein a second client device is associated with the second user, wherein the second user is included in the at least one user invited to join the private group;
causing the modified first media content item to be displayed by the second client device;
receiving a selection of the invitation media overlay from the second client device; and
causing the private collection of media content items to be displayed by the second client device.
9.The system of claim 8,
wherein the media content items in the private collection are received from the first client device, wherein the private collection of media content items comprises the modified first media content item.
10. A system comprising:
…
generating the private collection of media content items that can only be modified by the first client device, the private collection of media content items comprises the modified first media content item;
…
10.The system of claim 8,
wherein the invitation media overlay comprises a text received via a text input from the first client device.
12. The system of claim 10, wherein the operations further comprising:
causing a text input item to be displayed by the first client device; and
receiving a text via the text input item from the first client device, wherein the invitation media overlay comprises the text.
11.The system of claim 8, wherein the invitation media overlay further comprises an icon, wherein the icon comprises an avatar of a user of the first client device.
13. The system of claim 12, wherein the invitation media overlay further comprises an icon, wherein the icon comprises an avatar of a user of the first client device.
12. The system of claim 8, wherein the operations further comprising:
updating the private collection of media content items to comprise a second media content item received from the first client device; and
causing the updated private collection of media content items to be displayed by the second client device.
14. The system of claim 13, wherein the operations further comprising:
receiving a second media content item from the first client device;
updating the private collection of media content items to comprise the second media content item; and
causing the updated private collection of media content items to be displayed by the second client device.
13. The system of claim 12, wherein the first modified media content item comprises a first media content item, wherein the first media content item and the second media content item are at least one of images, pictures, videos, or text.
15. The system of claim 14, wherein the first media content item and the second media content item are at least one of images, pictures, videos, or text.
14. The system of claim 13, wherein the first media content item and the second media content item are captured using a camera of the first client device.
16. The system of claim 14, wherein the first media content item and the second media content item are captured using a camera on the first client device.
15. A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having stored thereon instructions, when executed by a processor, causes the processor to perform operations comprising:
causing a modified first media content item to be displayed by a second client device, the modified first media content item being received from a first client device and comprising an invitation media overlay associated with a private group, wherein the private group has access to a private collection of media content items can only be modified by a first user associated with the first client device;
receiving a selection of the invitation media overlay from the second client device; and
causing the private collection of media content items to be displayed by the second client device.
19. A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having stored thereon instructions, when executed by a processor, causes the processor to perform operations comprising:
receiving a first media content item from a first client device, wherein the first client device is associated with a first user;
receiving from the first client device a selection of an invitation media overlay to be applied to the first media content item, wherein the invitation media overlay is used to invite at least one user to join a private group having access to associated with a private collection of media content items;
generating a modified first media content item by overlaying the invitation media overlay on the first media content item;
generating the private collection of media content items that can only be modified by the first client device, wherein the media content items in the private collection are received from the first client device, wherein the private collection of media content items comprises the modified first media content item;
receiving from the first client device a selection of a second user, wherein a second client device is associated with the second user, wherein the second user is included in the at least one user invited to join the private group;
causing the modified first media content item to be displayed by the second client device;
receiving a selection of the invitation media overlay from the second client device; and
causing the private collection of media content items to be displayed by the second client device.
16. The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 15,
wherein the media content items in the private collection are received from the first client device, wherein the private collection of media content items comprises the modified first media content item.
19. A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having stored thereon instructions, when executed by a processor, causes the processor to perform operations comprising:
…
generating the private collection of media content items that can only be modified by the first client device, wherein the media content items in the private collection are received from the first client device, wherein the private collection of media content items comprises the modified first media content item;
…
17. The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 15,
wherein the invitation media overlay comprises a text received via a text input from the first client device.
12. The system of claim 10, wherein the operations further comprising:
causing a text input item to be displayed by the first client device; and
receiving a text via the text input item from the first client device, wherein the invitation media overlay comprises the text.
18. The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 15, wherein the invitation media overlay further comprises an icon, wherein the icon comprises an avatar of a user of the first client device.
13. The system of claim 12, wherein the invitation media overlay further comprises an icon, wherein the icon comprises an avatar of a user of the first client device.
19. The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 15, wherein the operations further comprising:
updating the private collection of media content items to comprise a second media content item received from the first client device; and
causing the updated private collection of media content items to be displayed by the second client device.
14. The system of claim 13, wherein the operations further comprising:
receiving a second media content item from the first client device;
updating the private collection of media content items to comprise the second media content item; and
causing the updated private collection of media content items to be displayed by the second client device.
20. The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 19, wherein the first modified media content item comprises a first media content item, wherein the first media content item and the second media content item are at least one of images, pictures, videos, or text.
15. The system of claim 14, wherein the first media content item and the second media content item are at least one of images, pictures, videos, or text.
21. The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 20, wherein the first media content item and the second media content item are captured using a camera of the first client device.
16. The system of claim 14, wherein the first media content item and the second media content item are captured using a camera on the first client device.
Claims 1-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3-7, 10, 12-16, and 19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,916,854 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims in the patent anticipate all the claims in the applications.
Instant Application
Patent (US 11,916,854 B2)
A method comprising:
causing, by a processor, a modified first media content item to be displayed by a second client device, the modified first media content item being received from a first client device and comprising an invitation media overlay associated with private group, wherein the private group has access to a private collection of media content items can only be modified by a first user associated with the first client device;
receiving a selection of the invitation media overlay from the second client device; and
causing the private collection of media content items to be displayed by the second client device.
A method comprising:
generating, by a processor, a modified first media content item including a first media content item received from a first client device and an invitation media overlay overlaid on the first media content item;
generating a private collection of media content items that can only be modified by a first user associated with the first client device, wherein the media content items in the private collection are received from the first client device, wherein the private collection of media content items comprises the modified first media content item;
receiving from the first client device a selection of a second user associated with a second client device, wherein the second user is invited to join a private group having access to the private collection;
causing the modified first media content item to be displayed by the second client device;
receiving a selection of the invitation media overlay from the second client device; and
causing the private collection of media content items to be displayed by the second client device.
2.The method of claim 1, wherein the media content items in the private collection are received from the first client device, wherein the private collection of media content items comprises the modified first media content item.
1. A method comprising:
…
generating a private collection of media content items that can only be modified by a first user associated with the first client device, wherein the media content items in the private collection are received from the first client device, wherein the private collection of media content items comprises the modified first media content item;
…
3.The method of claim 1, wherein the invitation media overlay comprises text received via a text input from the first client device.
3. The method of claim 1, further comprising:
receiving a text via a text input item from the first client device, wherein the invitation media overlay comprises the text.
4.The method of claim 3, wherein the invitation media overlay further comprises an icon, wherein the icon comprises an avatar of a user of the first client device.
4. The method of claim 3, wherein the invitation media overlay further comprises an icon, wherein the icon comprises an avatar of a user of the first client device.
5.The method of claim 3, further comprising:
updating the private collection of media content items to comprise a second media content item received from the first client device; and
causing the updated private collection of media content items to be displayed by the second client device.
5.The method of claim 3, further comprising:
receiving a second media content item from the first client device;
updating the private collection of media content items to comprise the second media content item; and
causing the updated private collection of media content items to be displayed by the second client device.
6.The method of claim 5, wherein the first modified media content item comprises a first media content item, wherein the first media content item and the second media content item are at least one of images, pictures, videos, or text.
6. The method of claim 5, wherein the first media content item and the second media content item are at least one of images, pictures, videos, or text.
7.The method of claim 5, wherein the first media content item and the second media content item are captured using a camera of the first client device.
7. The method of claim 5, wherein the first media content item and the second media content item are captured using a camera of the first client device.
8.A system comprising:
a processor; and
a memory having instructions stored thereon, when executed by the processor, causes the system to perform operations comprising:
causing, by a processor, a modified first media content item to be displayed by a second client device, the modified first media content item being received from a first client device and comprising an invitation media overlay associated with private group, wherein the private group has access to a private collection of media content items can only be modified by a first user associated with the first client device;
receiving a selection of the invitation media overlay from the second client device; and
causing the private collection of media content items to be displayed by the second client device.
10. A system comprising:
a processor; and
a memory having instructions stored thereon, when executed by the processor, causes the system to perform operations comprising:
generating a modified first media content item including a first media content item received from a first client device and an invitation media overlay overlaid on the first media content item;
generating a private collection of media content items that can only be modified by a first user associated with the first client device, wherein the media content items in the private collection are received from the first client device, wherein the private collection of media content items comprises the modified first media content item;
receiving from the first client device a selection of a second user associated with a second client device, wherein the second user is invited to join a private group having access to the private collection;
causing the modified first media content item to be displayed by the second client device;
receiving a selection of the invitation media overlay from the second client device; and
causing the private collection of media content items to be displayed by the second client device.
9.The system of claim 8,
wherein the media content items in the private collection are received from the first client device, wherein the private collection of media content items comprises the modified first media content item.
10. A system comprising:
…
generating a private collection of media content items that can only be modified by a first user associated with the first client device, wherein the media content items in the private collection are received from the first client device, wherein the private collection of media content items comprises the modified first media content item;
…
10.The system of claim 8,
wherein the invitation media overlay comprises a text received via a text input from the first client device.
12. The system of claim 10, wherein the operations further comprising:
receiving a text via a text input item from the first client device, wherein the invitation media overlay comprises the text.
11.The system of claim 8, wherein the invitation media overlay further comprises an icon, wherein the icon comprises an avatar of a user of the first client device.
13. The system of claim 12, wherein the invitation media overlay further comprises an icon, wherein the icon comprises an avatar of a user of the first client device.
12. The system of claim 8, wherein the operations further comprising:
updating the private collection of media content items to comprise a second media content item received from the first client device; and
causing the updated private collection of media content items to be displayed by the second client device.
14. The system of claim 13, wherein the operations further comprising:
receiving a second media content item from the first client device;
updating the private collection of media content items to comprise the second media content item; and
causing the updated private collection of media content items to be displayed by the second client device.
13. The system of claim 12, wherein the first modified media content item comprises a first media content item, wherein the first media content item and the second media content item are at least one of images, pictures, videos, or text.
15. The system of claim 14, wherein the first media content item and the second media content item are at least one of images, pictures, videos, or text.
14. The system of claim 13, wherein the first media content item and the second media content item are captured using a camera of the first client device.
16. The system of claim 14, wherein the first media content item and the second media content item are captured using a camera of the first client device.
15. A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having stored thereon instructions, when executed by a processor, causes the processor to perform operations comprising:
causing a modified first media content item to be displayed by a second client device, the modified media content item being received from a first client device and comprising an invitation media overlay associated with a private group, wherein the private group has access to a private collection of media content items can only be modified by a first user associated with the first client device;
receiving a selection of the invitation media overlay from the second client device; and
causing the private collection of media content items to be displayed by the second client device.
19. A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having stored thereon instructions, when executed by a processor, causes the processor to perform operations comprising:
generating a modified first media content item including a first media content item received from a first client device and an invitation media overlay overlaid on the first media content item;
generating a private collection of media content items that can only be modified by a first user associated with the first client device, wherein the media content items in the private collection are received from the first client device, wherein the private collection of media content items comprises the modified first media content item;
receiving from the first client device a selection of a second user associated with a second client device, wherein the second user is invited to join a private group having access to the private collection;
causing the modified first media content item to be displayed by the second client device;
receiving a selection of the invitation media overlay from the second client device; and
causing the private collection of media content items to be displayed by the second client device.
16. The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 15,
wherein the media content items in the private collection are received from the first client device, wherein the private collection of media content items comprises the modified first media content item.
19. A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having stored thereon instructions, when executed by a processor, causes the processor to perform operations comprising:
…
generating a private collection of media content items that can only be modified by a first user associated with the first client device, wherein the media content items in the private collection are received from the first client device, wherein the private collection of media content items comprises the modified first media content item;
…
17. The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 15,
wherein the invitation media overlay comprises a text received via a text input from the first client device.
12. The system of claim 10, wherein the operations further comprising:
receiving a text via a text input item from the first client device, wherein the invitation media overlay comprises the text.
18. The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 15, wherein the invitation media overlay further comprises an icon, wherein the icon comprises an avatar of a user of the first client device.
13. The system of claim 12, wherein the invitation media overlay further comprises an icon, wherein the icon comprises an avatar of a user of the first client device.
19. The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 15, wherein the operations further comprising:
updating the private collection of media content items to comprise a second media content item received from the first client device; and
causing the updated private collection of media content items to be displayed by the second client device.
14. The system of claim 13, wherein the operations further comprising:
receiving a second media content item from the first client device;
updating the private collection of media content items to comprise the second media content item; and
causing the updated private collection of media content items to be displayed by the second client device.
20. The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 19, wherein the first modified media content item comprises a first media content item, wherein the first media content item and the second media content item are at least one of images, pictures, videos, or text.
15. The system of claim 14, wherein the first media content item and the second media content item are at least one of images, pictures, videos, or text.
21. The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 19, wherein the first media content item and the second media content item are captured using a camera of the first client device.
16. The system of claim 14, wherein the first media content item and the second media content item are captured using a camera of the first client device.
Claims 1-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. 12,316,587 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims in the patent anticipate all the claims in the applications.
Instant Application
Patent (US 11,665,116 B2)
A method comprising:
causing, by a processor, a modified first media content item to be displayed by a second client device, the modified first media content item being received from a first client device and comprising an invitation media overlay associated with private group, wherein the private group has access to a private collection of media content items can only be modified by a first user associated with the first client device;
receiving a selection of the invitation media overlay from the second client device; and
causing the private collection of media content items to be displayed by the second client device.
1. A method comprising:
causing, by a processor, a modified first media content item to be displayed by a second client device, the modified first media content item comprising a first media content item received from a first client device and an invitation media overlay inviting a second user of the second client device to join a private group having access to a private collection of media content items, wherein the private collection of media content items can only be modified by a first user associated with the first client device;
receiving a selection of the invitation media overlay from the second client device; and
causing the private collection of media content items to be displayed by the second client device.
2.The method of claim 1, wherein the media content items in the private collection are received from the first client device, wherein the private collection of media content items comprises the modified first media content item.
2. The method of claim 1, wherein the media content items in the private collection are received from the first client device, wherein the private collection of media content items comprises the modified first media content item.
3.The method of claim 1, wherein the invitation media overlay comprises text received via a text input from the first client device.
3. The method of claim 1, wherein the invitation media overlay comprises text received via a text input from the first client device.
4.The method of claim 3, wherein the invitation media overlay further comprises an icon, wherein the icon comprises an avatar of a user of the first client device.
4. The method of claim 3, wherein the invitation media overlay further comprises an icon, wherein the icon comprises an avatar of a user of the first client device.
5.The method of claim 3, further comprising:
updating the private collection of media content items to comprise a second media content item received from the first client device; and
causing the updated private collection of media content items to be displayed by the second client device.
5. The method of claim 3, further comprising:
updating the private collection of media content items to comprise the second media content item received from the first client device; and
causing the updated private collection of media content items to be displayed by the second client device.
6.The method of claim 5, wherein the first modified media content item comprises a first media content item, wherein the first media content item and the second media content item are at least one of images, pictures, videos, or text.
6. The method of claim 5, wherein the first media content item and the second media content item are at least one of images, pictures, videos, or text.
7.The method of claim 6, wherein the first media content item and the second media content item are captured using a camera of the first client device.
7. The method of claim 5, wherein the first media content item and the second media content item are captured using a camera on the first client device.
8.A system comprising:
a processor; and
a memory having instructions stored thereon, when executed by the processor, causes the system to perform operations comprising:
causing a modified first media content item to be displayed by a second client device, the modified first media content item being received from a first client device and comprising an invitation media overlay associated with a private group, wherein the private group has access to a private collection of media content items can only be modified by a first user associated with the first client device;
receiving a selection of the invitation media overlay from the second client device; and
causing the private collection of media content items to be displayed by the second client device.
8. A system comprising:
a processor; and
a memory having instructions stored thereon, when executed by the processor, causes the system to perform operations comprising:
causing a modified first media content item to be displayed by a second client device, the modified first media content item comprising a first media content item received from a first client device and an invitation media overlay inviting a second user of the second client device to join a private group having access to a private collection of media content items, wherein the private collection of media content items can only be modified by a first user associated with the first client device;
receiving a selection of the invitation media overlay from the second client device; and
causing the private collection of media content items to be displayed by the second client device.
9.The system of claim 8,
wherein the media content items in the private collection are received from the first client device, wherein the private collection of media content items comprises the modified first media content item.
9. The system of claim 8,
wherein the media content items in the private collection are received from the first client device, wherein the private collection of media content items comprises the modified first media content item.
10.The system of claim 8,
wherein the invitation media overlay comprises a text received via a text input from the first client device.
10. The system of claim 8,
wherein the invitation media overlay comprises a text received via a text input from the first client device.
11.The system of claim 8, wherein the invitation media overlay further comprises an icon, wherein the icon comprises an avatar of a user of the first client device.
11. The system of claim 8, wherein the invitation media overlay further comprises an icon, wherein the icon comprises an avatar of a user of the first client device.
12. The system of claim 8, wherein the operations further comprising:
updating the private collection of media content items to comprise a second media content item received from the first client device; and
causing the updated private collection of media content items to be displayed by the second client device.
12. The system of claim 8, wherein the operations further comprising:
updating the private collection of media content items to comprise a second media content item received from the first client device; and
causing the updated private collection of media content items to be displayed by the second client device.
13. The system of claim 12, wherein the first modified media content item comprises a first media content item, wherein the first media content item and the second media content item are at least one of images, pictures, videos, or text.
13. The system of claim 12, wherein the first media content item and the second media content item are at least one of images, pictures, videos, or text.
14. The system of claim 13, wherein the first media content item and the second media content item are captured using a camera of the first client device.
14. The system of claim 12, wherein the first media content item and the second media content item are captured using a camera of the first client device.
15. A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having stored thereon instructions, when executed by a processor, causes the processor to perform operations comprising:
causing a modified first media content item to be displayed by a second client device, the modified first media content item being received from a first client device and comprising an invitation media overlay associated with a private group, wherein the private group has access to a private collection of media content items can only be modified by a first user associated with the first client device;
receiving a selection of the invitation media overlay from the second client device; and
causing the private collection of media content items to be displayed by the second client device.
15. A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having stored thereon instructions, when executed by a processor, causes the processor to perform operations comprising:
causing a modified first media content item to be displayed by a second client device, the modified first media content item comprising a first media content item received from a first client device and an invitation media overlay inviting a second user of the second client device to join a private group having access to a private collection of media content items, wherein the private collection of media content items can only be modified by a first user associated with the first client device;
receiving a selection of the invitation media overlay from the second client device; and
causing the private collection of media content items to be displayed by the second client device.
16. The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 15,
wherein the media content items in the private collection are received from the first client device, wherein the private collection of media content items comprises the modified first media content item.
16. The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 15,
wherein the media content items in the private collection are received from the first client device, wherein the private collection of media content items comprises the modified first media content item.
17. The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 15,
wherein the invitation media overlay comprises a text received via a text input from the first client device.
17. The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 15,
wherein the invitation media overlay comprises a text received via a text input from the first client device.
18. The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 15, wherein the invitation media overlay further comprises an icon, wherein the icon comprises an avatar of a user of the first client device.
18. The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 15, wherein the invitation media overlay further comprises an icon, wherein the icon comprises an avatar of a user of the first client device.
19. The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 15, wherein the operations further comprising:
updating the private collection of media content items to comprise a second media content item received from the first client device; and
causing the updated private collection of media content items to be displayed by the second client device.
19. The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 15, wherein the operations further comprising:
updating the private collection of media content items to comprise a second media content item received from the first client device; and
causing the updated private collection of media content items to be displayed by the second client device.
20. The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 19, wherein the first modified media content item comprises a first media content item, wherein the first media content item and the second media content item are at least one of images, pictures, videos, or text.
20. The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 19, wherein the first media content item and the second media content item are at least one of images, pictures, videos, or text.
21. The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 20, wherein the first media content item and the second media content item are captured using a camera of the first client device.
21. The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 19, wherein the first media content item and the second media content item are captured using a camera of the first client device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6, 13, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the first modified media content item" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the first modified media content item" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 20 recites the limitation "the first modified media content item" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
All dependent claims are rejected as having the same deficiencies as the claims they depend from.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kapoor et al. (US 2020/0403951 A1), hereinafter Kapoor, in view of Kanter et al. (US 2015/0013016 A1), hereinafter Kanter.
Regarding claim 1, Kapoor discloses
A method comprising:
causing, by a processor, a modified first media content item to be displayed by a second client device ([0071]: provide the ephemeral content to users directly connected to the creator via the networking systems (e.g., “friends”) or to a customized group of users (e.g., “close friends”); presenting the ephemeral content including the group messaging graphical element to a user associated with user client device), the modified first media content item being received from a first client device ([0043]: a creator can include a user of a networking platform associated with a creator client device who creates and submits ephemeral content; [0054]: the server device(s) 112 receive data from a client device, such as the creator client device 106) and comprising an invitation media overlay associated with private group (a group messaging graphical element), wherein the private group has access to a private collection of media content items ([0031]: users to select the group messaging graphical element within ephemeral content shared by the creator to request access and/or join the group messaging thread associated with the group messaging thread);
receiving a selection of the invitation media overlay from the second client device ([0031]: users to select the group messaging graphical element within ephemeral content shared by the creator to request access and/or join the group messaging thread associated with the group messaging thread); and
causing the private collection of media content items to be displayed by the second client device ([0083]: providing the group messaging thread to the user client device).
Kapoor does not explicitly disclose
has access to a private collection of media content items can only be modified by a first user associated with the first client device.
However, Kanter discloses
has access to a private collection of media content items can only be modified by a first user associated with the first client device ([0042]: an owner of a shared album specifies a title for the shared album and access an interface element to add, to remove, or to modify content items included in the shared album).
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate feature of Kanter in Kapoor because Kapoor discloses sharing ephemeral content with a group of users (page 6, [0071]) and Kanter further suggests owner of collection modifies the collection ([0042]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Kanter in Kapoor system in order to protect content by limiting access of other users.
Regarding claim 2, Kapoor and Kanter disclose the method as described in claim 1. Kapoor and Kanter further disclose
the media content items in the private collection are received from the first client device (Kanter: ([0042]: an owner of a shared album specifies a title for the shared album and access an interface element to add, to remove, or to modify content items included in the shared album), wherein the private collection of media content items comprises the modified first media content item (Kapoor: [0033]: generate a group messaging thread associated with the ephemeral content; & [0049]: a group messaging thread is associated with a particular group messaging graphical element that is included in one or more pieces of ephemeral content). Therefore, the limitations of claim 2 are rejected in the analysis of claim 1 above, and the claim is rejected on that basis.
Regarding claim 3, Kapoor and Kanter disclose the method as described in claim 1. Kapoor further discloses
the invitation media overlay comprises text received via a text input (ephemeral content toolbar 301, FIG. 3B) from the first client device (page 9, [0095], lines 1-2: present an ephemeral content toolbar), wherein the invitation media overlay comprises the text (page 9, [0095], lines 8-9: adding text to ephemeral content).
Regarding claim 4, Kapoor and Kanter disclose the method as described in claim 3. Kapoor further discloses
the invitation media overlay further comprises an icon, wherein the icon comprises an avatar of a user of the first client device (page 7, [0072], lines 7-9: the element corresponding to the ephemeral content is a thumbnail image corresponding to a creator of ephemeral content).
Regarding claim 5, Kapoor and Kanter disclose the method as described in claim 3. Kapoor further discloses
updating the private collection of media content items to comprise a second media content item (group message content) (page 8, [0085], lines 1-3: facilitating exchange of group messages); and
causing the updated private collection of media content items to be displayed by the second client device (page 8, [0085], lines 6-11: facilitate the exchange of group message content (e.g., sending and receiving messages) via the group messaging thread between client devices; user client device 102a sends and receives group message content).
Regarding claim 6, Kapoor and Kanter disclose the method as described in claim 5. Kapoor further discloses
the first modified media content item comprises a first media content item ([0043]: a creator can include a user of a networking platform associated with a creator client device who creates and submits ephemeral content), wherein the first media content item and the second media content item are at least one of images, pictures, videos, or text (page 4, [0044]: ephemeral content can include text, audio, images, animations).
Regarding claim 7, Kapoor and Kanter disclose the method as described in claim 6. Kapoor further discloses
the first media content item and the second media content item are captured using a camera on the first client device (page 8, [0090], lines 8-9: video captured by the creator device; & page 19, [0200], lines 8-9: capture or record the ephemeral digital content; & page 23, [0240], lines 1-6: the computing device includes one or more I/O interfaces and theses I/O include a mouse, keypad or a keyboard, a touch screen, camera).
Regarding claims 8-14, the limitations of claims 8-14 are rejected in the analysis of claim 1-7 respectively and these claims are rejected on that basis.
Regarding claims 15-21, the limitations of claims 15-21 are rejected in the analysis of claim 1-7 respectively and these claims are rejected on that basis.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Svendsen et al. (US 8,285,810 B2). User devices share their local media collections or aggregate media collections with one another.
Lo et al. (US 9,667,676 B1). Users collaboratively edit, draft, or work with the same content item.
Kidron (US 2014/0053236 A1). Receive a request from a client device of first user (“sharing user”) to share a target content collection with a second user (“shared user”), the target content collection includes a library, a portion of a library, playlist.
Kaylee Huang
07/25/2026
/KAYLEE J HUANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2447