DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 19-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 19, the claim recites:
The method of claim 17, further comprises:
autonomously regulating, by a local controller in each HCM, an output power of the HCM based on power received from the distinct set of one or more solar panels based on an independent maximum power point tracking algorithm.
“The method of claim 17” is unclear because claim 17 and its parent claim 8 define a system without identifying the asserted method. That actual dependency chain also does not introduce HCMs or “the distinct set of one or more solar panels.” It is therefore unclear which method limitations and source/module relationships are incorporated.
Applicant must identify the intended parent and establish the antecedent relationships. A reference to claim 18 appears a possible correction, but that correction is not made in this rejection. The ground rests on these concrete uncertainties, rather than merely on a difference in statutory class. See MPEP §§ 2173.05(e), 608.01(n). MPEP § 2173
Regarding claim 20, the claim recites:
The method of claim 17, wherein remotely measuring the capacitor voltages comprises estimating an average capacitor voltage across all HCMs based on measurements of voltages at connection points between the HCMs.
Claim 17 and its parent claim 8 do not identify the asserted method, capacitor-voltage measuring operation, or HCM connection-point measurements. It is unclear which measuring method is being further limited and which underlying method limitations are incorporated.
Applicant must identify the intended parent and establish the measuring-operation and capacitor/module antecedents. A reference to claim 18 appears a possible correction, but the supplied reference to claim 17 remains unchanged. Different statutory classes alone are not the basis of this rejection. See MPEP §§ 2173.05(e), 608.01(n). MPEP § 2173
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,5-6 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Postiglione et al. (US 2020/0106384 A1) in view of Goetz (US 2017/0123014 A1), and further in view of Peyrl et al. (US 2016/0344277 A1).
Re Claims 1 and 18, Postiglione teaches a modular energy conversion system, comprising: (inverter arrangement 10B; Figs. 2, 12).
a unipolar voltage source; (battery ES2; ¶ [0097], Fig. 12).
a distributed power converter comprises a hybrid converter leg comprising a first hybrid converter arm (HCA) and a second HCA, wherein: (leg A: upper S1A–S3A and lower S4A–S6A; ¶ [0055], Fig. 12).
the first HCA, the second HCA, and the unipolar source are connected to form an electrical circuit; and, (ES2 across DCCP1/DCCP2; Fig. 12).
each HCA comprises one or more serially connected hybrid converter modules (HCMs), a reference voltage terminal connected to one end of the unipolar voltage source, and an output terminal coupled to a common connection point; and, (the foregoing series groups, respective DC rails, and shared AC1; Fig. 12).
a power combiner unit (PCU) electrically connected to the common connection point, and comprises a capacitor voltage sensing circuit, wherein: (control unit 12; ¶¶ [0052], [0058]; the sensing circuit is supplied below).
each of the HCMs are locally connected to an external power source distributedly placed to independently generate a distinct power output to an output port of a corresponding HCM, wherein, at the output terminal, the first HCA and the second HCA each generates an alternating current (AC) power based on the distinct power output generate by each of the serially connected HCMs; and (corresponding IS1–IS6, PV inputs, and switched AC contributions; ¶¶ [0050]–[0051], [0059]–[0060], [0064], [0069]–[0072]; Figs. 3, 6, 12).
the PCU is physically separated from the HCMs and is configured to remotely measure an electrical property comprising remote sensing of voltages of a capacitor of each of the HCMs at the common connection point, such that the PCU adaptively regulate AC power generated at the connection point based on the measured electrical property.
(The HCM mapping uses the switching-cell circuitry, with associated input-stage converter electronics where recited. Select Postiglione's disclosed full-bridge cell STB: capacitor C1B, switches T1B/T2B/T3B/T4B, series-output terminals TAC1B/TAC2B, and source-input terminals TDC1B/TDC2B (¶ [0064], Fig. 6). Apply that disclosed cell option at the Fig. 12 module positions. The B suffix in these type-level identifiers does not mean that the cells occur only in phase leg B. The PV element remains the external source; it is not included inside the mapped HCM. Fig. 3 supplies the all-PV input option (¶¶ [0059]–[0060]); battery ES2 supplies the separate unipolar source. This is a selection of disclosed component options, not a claim that Fig. 12 alone depicts each option's internal circuitry. )
Postiglione fails to teach the complete remote PCU measurement-and-regulation relationship. Its reporting channel (¶ [0053]) does not by itself establish recovery of each capacitor voltage from measurements at AC1.
Goetz teaches the missing acquisition-and-feedback technique: voltage-measuring system 407, measurement points 405/406, partial line 403, and signal 408 (¶ [0026], Fig. 4); estimator 504 receives voltage signal 506 and state vector 510, supplies individual-voltage estimates 509 to controller 505, and produces switching-state commands 511 (¶ [0027], Fig. 5). Capacitor modules and arm/arm-section estimation are disclosed (¶¶ [0024], [0035]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to equip Postiglione's controller with Goetz's acquisition and estimation circuitry. In the modified arrangement, measure each arm differentially between AC1 and its respective DC rail, provide the corresponding known switching states, recover the individual capacitor values, and use them in selecting AC-producing switching commands. This implements the existing control task with fewer isolated acquisition channels and less individual measurement traffic, addressing Goetz's identified measurement burden (¶ [0013]). The measurement endpoints are the proposed application of Goetz to Postiglione, rather than labels copied from a shared drawing.
The estimator must use sufficiently informative states over multiple samples, consistent with Goetz's ¶¶ [0040]–[0041]; it cannot identify all capacitor values from one instantaneous scalar measurement. Load-drop correction and voltage dynamics are accommodated under ¶¶ [0055]–[0058], [0093]. These requirements are compatible with retaining the externally fed capacitors and source connections.
The Postiglione and Goetz combination still fails to establish physical separation of the complete sensing-and-control PCU from the HCMs. A separate schematic block does not prove an installation's spatial arrangement.
Peyrl teaches remote controller 14, comprising outer power controller 50 and inner controller 52; feedback variables 26, power reference 54, intermediate references 56, and switching/gate outputs 28 (¶¶ [0088]–[0089], Fig. 4). Its remote placement addresses local space and environmental constraints (¶ [0088]).
It would have been obvious to implement the augmented assembly as a physically separate PCU, combining Postiglione's arm-termination wiring and control function with Goetz's sensing front end, estimator, and control logic. Goetz expressly permits estimation and control in the same central integrated circuitry (¶ [0094]). Put that assembly in a separate enclosure, connected by conductors to AC1 and the applicable DC rails, using Peyrl's remote control allocation. This reduces repeated cell-acquisition hardware and locates shared computation at an accessible termination enclosure away from the power cells' environmental and space constraints. The resulting PCU uses each recovered C1B voltage to adapt AC-producing switching.
Peyrl does not disclose Goetz's voltage-recovery method or expressly put all analog sensors inside controller 14. Consolidating those functions in the PCU is the identified modification, supported by Goetz's central-circuit implementation and Peyrl's remote placement teaching. Preserve synchronized applied-state information and account for communication delay. A reasonable expectation of success follows because the technique changes acquisition and control allocation while retaining the same series cell terminals, capacitor voltage contributions, and source/arm power paths.
Re Claim 5; Postiglione discloses wherein the capacitor voltage sensing circuit is configured to detect voltage imbalances between HCMs and trigger compensatory switching adjustments to maintain balanced operation.
Postiglione teaches the inherited source-fed converter architecture: ES2 across DCCP1/DCCP2, upper cells S1A–S3A, lower cells S4A–S6A, midpoint AC1, and corresponding PV inputs (¶¶ [0050]–[0051], [0055], [0059]–[0060], [0097], Fig. 12). The selected STB cell has capacitor C1B and four bridge switches (¶ [0064], Fig. 6).
Postiglione fails to establish the complete remote individual-capacitor acquisition arrangement. Goetz supplies measurement system 407, estimator 504, measured-voltage input 506, applied-state input 510, individual estimates 509, and control circuitry 505/511 (¶¶ [0026]–[0027], Figs. 4–5). It would have been obvious to apply that circuitry between AC1 and the respective DC rails to recover each capacitor voltage with fewer isolated acquisition channels, using informative state sequences and load correction (¶¶ [0013], [0035], [0040]–[0041], [0055]–[0058]).
That combination still lacks explicit remote placement of the complete PCU. Peyrl supplies remote controller 14 and power-control functions 50/52 (¶¶ [0088]–[0089], Fig. 4). It would have been obvious to consolidate acquisition, estimation, and supervisory regulation in a separate termination enclosure, using Goetz's permitted central-circuit integration (¶ [0094]), to obtain accessible shared control hardware away from the power cells' space and environmental constraints. The sensing front end's placement in that enclosure is the proposed modification; it is not attributed as an express Peyrl sensor-placement disclosure
Goetz's individual estimates 509 and controller 505/state outputs 511, combined with Peyrl's voltage-selective balancing (¶ [0007]), supply the imbalance-detection and corrective-switching functions. It would have been obvious to place the estimate comparisons and switching-request logic in the PCU's capacitor-voltage sensing circuit using Goetz's common-circuit implementation (¶ [0094]). The reason is to maintain the capacitor contributions required for the AC waveform. State choices account for current direction and cell polarity; an average alone is not used to detect individual imbalance.
Re Claim 6; Postiglione discloses wherein the capacitor voltage sensing circuit is configured to estimate an average capacitor voltage across all HCMs based on measurements of voltages at connection points between the HCMs.
Postiglione teaches the inherited source-fed converter architecture: ES2 across DCCP1/DCCP2, upper cells S1A–S3A, lower cells S4A–S6A, midpoint AC1, and corresponding PV inputs (¶¶ [0050]–[0051], [0055], [0059]–[0060], [0097], Fig. 12). The selected STB cell has capacitor C1B and four bridge switches (¶ [0064], Fig. 6).
Postiglione fails to establish the complete remote individual-capacitor acquisition arrangement. Goetz supplies measurement system 407, estimator 504, measured-voltage input 506, applied-state input 510, individual estimates 509, and control circuitry 505/511 (¶¶ [0026]–[0027], Figs. 4–5). It would have been obvious to apply that circuitry between AC1 and the respective DC rails to recover each capacitor voltage with fewer isolated acquisition channels, using informative state sequences and load correction (¶¶ [0013], [0035], [0040]–[0041], [0055]–[0058]).
That combination still lacks explicit remote placement of the complete PCU. Peyrl supplies remote controller 14 and power-control functions 50/52 (¶¶ [0088]–[0089], Fig. 4). It would have been obvious to consolidate acquisition, estimation, and supervisory regulation in a separate termination enclosure, using Goetz's permitted central-circuit integration (¶ [0094]), to obtain accessible shared control hardware away from the power cells' space and environmental constraints. The sensing front end's placement in that enclosure is the proposed modification; it is not attributed as an express Peyrl sensor-placement disclosure.
Goetz's individual estimates 509 and controller 505/state outputs 511, combined with Peyrl's voltage-selective balancing (¶ [0007]), supply the imbalance-detection and corrective-switching functions. It would have been obvious to place the estimate comparisons and switching-request logic in the PCU's capacitor-voltage sensing circuit using Goetz's common-circuit implementation (¶ [0094]). The reason is to maintain the capacitor contributions required for the AC waveform. State choices account for current direction and cell polarity; an average alone is not used to detect individual imbalance.
Postiglione does not teach the complete all-HCM averaging relationship. Goetz supplies inter-module measurement points 405/406 spanning partial line 403 (¶ [0026], Fig. 4), arm-section estimation (¶ [0035]), and determination of module-voltage average values (¶ [0050]). Paragraph [0052]'s temporal noise averaging is not the population operation relied upon.
It would have been obvious to cover the installed HCM population with observable group measurements and compute the population mean from the recovered individual values in the PCU's integrated sensing circuitry:
The reason is to provide a collective capacitor-voltage condition for supervisory regulation while retaining the required individual estimates. Count every HCM once and weight unequal arm populations accordingly. Goetz permits common central estimation/control circuitry (¶ [0094]); Peyrl supplies the capacitor-voltage regulation objective (¶¶ [0050]–[0052]). Retain inherited common-point sensing alongside the inter-module group measurements. Goetz does not expressly recite the exact all-HCM population selection; that selection and calculation are the identified § 103 modification, not an inherency finding.
Claim 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Postiglione et al. (US 2020/0106384 A1) in view of Goetz (US 2017/0123014 A1), and further in view of Peyrl et al. (US 2016/0344277 A1), and further in view of Johnson et al. (US 2012/0134186 A1).
Re Claim 2, Postiglione discloses wherein each HCM comprises a DC-DC converter electrically connected to the input port and configured to perform maximum power point tracking for a solar panel connected to the input port, wherein the input port comprises a solar port configured to an independent solar panel.
Postiglione teaches the inherited source-fed converter architecture: ES2 across DCCP1/DCCP2, upper cells S1A–S3A, lower cells S4A–S6A, midpoint AC1, and corresponding PV inputs (¶¶ [0050]–[0051], [0055], [0059]–[0060], [0097], Fig. 12). The selected STB cell has capacitor C1B and four bridge switches (¶ [0064], Fig. 6).
Postiglione fails to establish the complete remote individual-capacitor acquisition arrangement. Goetz supplies measurement system 407, estimator 504, measured-voltage input 506, applied-state input 510, individual estimates 509, and control circuitry 505/511 (¶¶ [0026]–[0027], Figs. 4–5). It would have been obvious to apply that circuitry between AC1 and the respective DC rails to recover each capacitor voltage with fewer isolated acquisition channels, using informative state sequences and load correction (¶¶ [0013], [0035], [0040]–[0041], [0055]–[0058]).
That combination still lacks explicit remote placement of the complete PCU. Peyrl supplies remote controller 14 and power-control functions 50/52 (¶¶ [0088]–[0089], Fig. 4). It would have been obvious to consolidate acquisition, estimation, and supervisory regulation in a separate termination enclosure, using Goetz's permitted central-circuit integration (¶ [0094]), to obtain accessible shared control hardware away from the power cells' space and environmental constraints. The sensing front end's placement in that enclosure is the proposed modification; it is not attributed as an express Peyrl sensor-placement disclosure.
Postiglione additionally teaches DC-DC converter 14 between PV and a cell's DC terminals (¶¶ [0089]–[0090], Fig. 9) and individual-source MPPT generally (¶ [0071]). The solar input port is the PV-side port of the corresponding input-stage electronics. The combination still does not expressly assign the MPPT operation to that DC-DC stage.
Johnson supplies that relationship through boost converter 200, switches 204/206, and MPPT controller 302, which receives the respective source voltage/current and produces boost controls qB1x/qB2x (¶¶ [0023], [0029], Figs. 2–3). It would have been obvious to place this per-source MPPT control in the corresponding HCM's converter assembly so differently illuminated panels operate at their respective maxima while the arm control synthesizes AC. Johnson supplies the actuator/control relationship.
Re Claim 3; Postiglione discloses wherein each HCM further comprises a local controller configured to autonomously regulate an output power of the HCM based on solar input conditions at the input port.
Postiglione teaches the inherited source-fed converter architecture: ES2 across DCCP1/DCCP2, upper cells S1A–S3A, lower cells S4A–S6A, midpoint AC1, and corresponding PV inputs (¶¶ [0050]–[0051], [0055], [0059]–[0060], [0097], Fig. 12). The selected STB cell has capacitor C1B and four bridge switches (¶ [0064], Fig. 6).
Postiglione fails to establish the complete remote individual-capacitor acquisition arrangement. Goetz supplies measurement system 407, estimator 504, measured-voltage input 506, applied-state input 510, individual estimates 509, and control circuitry 505/511 (¶¶ [0026]–[0027], Figs. 4–5). It would have been obvious to apply that circuitry between AC1 and the respective DC rails to recover each capacitor voltage with fewer isolated acquisition channels, using informative state sequences and load correction (¶¶ [0013], [0035], [0040]–[0041], [0055]–[0058]).
That combination still lacks explicit remote placement of the complete PCU. Peyrl supplies remote controller 14 and power-control functions 50/52 (¶¶ [0088]–[0089], Fig. 4). It would have been obvious to consolidate acquisition, estimation, and supervisory regulation in a separate termination enclosure, using Goetz's permitted central-circuit integration (¶ [0094]), to obtain accessible shared control hardware away from the power cells' space and environmental constraints. The sensing front end's placement in that enclosure is the proposed modification; it is not attributed as an express Peyrl sensor-placement disclosure.
The combination also requires the inherited DC-DC MPPT function. Postiglione supplies converter 14 (¶¶ [0089]–[0090], Fig. 9); Johnson supplies per-source boost stage 200 and MPPT controller 302 with source voltage/current feedback and boost gate commands (¶ [0029], Figs. 2–3). Applying that relationship permits each panel to track its own maximum.
The resulting combination still lacks the expressly allocated local module-control function. Johnson supplies local bridge controller 300, MPPT controller 302, and local feedback under shading (¶¶ [0028]–[0029], [0037], Figs. 3, 5). It would have been obvious to apply those local functions to each Postiglione STB cell to adjust module power to its own solar input, while the PCU regulates the system output. Both output stages are capacitor-fed full bridges. Use Peyrl's hierarchical option (¶¶ [0087], [0091]–[0093], Fig. 5): local loops implement the supervisory reference, and the remote estimator, where required, receives the actual applied switching states.
For the quoted output-regulation limitation, controller 300 adjusts the local bridge control using the module's stored-energy/bus-voltage condition as available solar power changes (¶ [0037], Fig. 5). This provides local response under shading while receiving a supervisory reference.
Re Claim 4, Postiglione discloses wherein the local controller is configured to implement an independent maximum power point tracking algorithm.
Postiglione teaches the inherited source-fed converter architecture: ES2 across DCCP1/DCCP2, upper cells S1A–S3A, lower cells S4A–S6A, midpoint AC1, and corresponding PV inputs (¶¶ [0050]–[0051], [0055], [0059]–[0060], [0097], Fig. 12). The selected STB cell has capacitor C1B and four bridge switches (¶ [0064], Fig. 6).
Postiglione fails to establish the complete remote individual-capacitor acquisition arrangement. Goetz supplies measurement system 407, estimator 504, measured-voltage input 506, applied-state input 510, individual estimates 509, and control circuitry 505/511 (¶¶ [0026]–[0027], Figs. 4–5). It would have been obvious to apply that circuitry between AC1 and the respective DC rails to recover each capacitor voltage with fewer isolated acquisition channels, using informative state sequences and load correction (¶¶ [0013], [0035], [0040]–[0041], [0055]–[0058]).
That combination still lacks explicit remote placement of the complete PCU. Peyrl supplies remote controller 14 and power-control functions 50/52 (¶¶ [0088]–[0089], Fig. 4). It would have been obvious to consolidate acquisition, estimation, and supervisory regulation in a separate termination enclosure, using Goetz's permitted central-circuit integration (¶ [0094]), to obtain accessible shared control hardware away from the power cells' space and environmental constraints. The sensing front end's placement in that enclosure is the proposed modification; it is not attributed as an express Peyrl sensor-placement disclosure.
The resulting combination still lacks the expressly allocated local module-control function. Johnson supplies local bridge controller 300, MPPT controller 302, and local feedback under shading (¶¶ [0028]–[0029], [0037], Figs. 3, 5). It would have been obvious to apply those local functions to each Postiglione STB cell to adjust module power to its own solar input, while the PCU regulates the system output. Both output stages are capacitor-fed full bridges. Use Peyrl's hierarchical option (¶¶ [0087], [0091]–[0093], Fig. 5): local loops implement the supervisory reference, and the remote estimator, where required, receives the actual applied switching states.
Johnson further supplies the inherited DC-DC control through boost stage 200 and local MPPT 302, and the quoted algorithm through implementation 700 (¶¶ [0029], [0040], Figs. 3, 7). Each local instance uses its own source measurements and controls its corresponding boost converter. It would have been obvious to retain one tracking instance per HCM so one panel's optimum does not dictate another's operating point.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Postiglione et al. (US 2020/0106384 A1) in view of Goetz (US 2017/0123014 A1), and further in view of Peyrl et al. (US 2016/0344277 A1), and further in view of Jaldanki et al. (US 2019/0199213 A1).
Re Claim 7, Postiglione discloses further comprises a second hybrid converter leg having the same structure as the hybrid converter leg, and connected in parallel to the hybrid converter leg and the unipolar voltage source, wherein: (Postiglione supplies the repeatable leg structure, common rails DCCP1/DCCP2, and ES2; ¶¶ [0051], [0055], [0097], Fig. 12).
a second connection point connecting a third HCA and a fourth HCA of the second hybrid converter leg is electrically coupled to the output terminal; and, (Jaldanki supplies the parallel upper/lower arm arrangement; ¶¶ [0041]–[0042], [0109]).
the PCU adaptively regulate AC power generated at the output terminal based on the measured electrical property at both the hybrid converter leg and the second hybrid converter leg. (the remote PCU feedback is extended to both parallel arm pairs using Jaldanki's joint branch-voltage control; ¶¶ [0111]–[0113], Eqs. (45)–(46)).
Postiglione teaches the inherited source-fed converter architecture: ES2 across DCCP1/DCCP2, upper cells S1A–S3A, lower cells S4A–S6A, midpoint AC1, and corresponding PV inputs (¶¶ [0050]–[0051], [0055], [0059]–[0060], [0097], Fig. 12). The selected STB cell has capacitor C1B and four bridge switches (¶ [0064], Fig. 6).
Postiglione fails to establish the complete remote individual-capacitor acquisition arrangement. Goetz supplies measurement system 407, estimator 504, measured-voltage input 506, applied-state input 510, individual estimates 509, and control circuitry 505/511 (¶¶ [0026]–[0027], Figs. 4–5). It would have been obvious to apply that circuitry between AC1 and the respective DC rails to recover each capacitor voltage with fewer isolated acquisition channels, using informative state sequences and load correction (¶¶ [0013], [0035], [0040]–[0041], [0055]–[0058]).
That combination still lacks explicit remote placement of the complete PCU. Peyrl supplies remote controller 14 and power-control functions 50/52 (¶¶ [0088]–[0089], Fig. 4). It would have been obvious to consolidate acquisition, estimation, and supervisory regulation in a separate termination enclosure, using Goetz's permitted central-circuit integration (¶ [0094]), to obtain accessible shared control hardware away from the power cells' space and environmental constraints. The sensing front end's placement in that enclosure is the proposed modification; it is not attributed as an express Peyrl sensor-placement disclosure.
The Postiglione–Goetz–Peyrl combination still lacks the specified same-output parallel arrangement. Postiglione's separate phase midpoints AC1/AC2/AC3 do not alone establish that relationship.
Jaldanki expressly provides two or more parallel upper arms and two or more parallel lower arms to increase power rating (¶ [0109]), and accounts for both parallel paths in its control (¶¶ [0111]–[0113], Eqs. (45)–(46)). Arm reactors and connections to the same phase terminal are described in ¶¶ [0041]–[0042].
It would have been obvious to duplicate Postiglione's source-fed upper/lower arm pair across the same ES2 rails and electrically couple the duplicate's arm junction to the same phase output to increase power rating. Retain the same HCM structure, input-source arrangement, and module count in the duplicate. The original pair supplies the first/second HCAs; the duplicate supplies the third/fourth HCAs. Each pair maps to a claim-defined leg by its structure even though Jaldanki calls their collection a phase leg.
Preserve branch reactance/current limiting and provide both pairs' properties to the PCU for power and circulating-current coordination. Extend Goetz's estimator to the duplicate groups using informative applied states and current/load correction (¶¶ [0055]–[0058]). Jaldanki recognizes full-bridge adaptation (¶¶ [0103]–[0104]). The compatible cell/arm structures provide a reasonable expectation of shared-output operation with the distributed source inputs retained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8, 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pan et al. (US 2020/0021236) in view of Postiglione
Re Claims 8, 9; Pan discloses A modular energy conversion system, comprising:
a unipolar voltage source (121 OR 123);
a distributed power converter (125) comprises a hybrid converter leg comprising a first hybrid converter arm (HCA 233 and 260) and a second HCA, wherein: the first HCA, the second HCA, and the unipolar source are connected to form an electrical circuit; (each hybrid generating unit has the claimed element and forms the electrical circuit) and,
each HCA comprises one or more parallel connected hybrid converter modules (HCMs DCDC 233), a reference voltage terminal connected to one end of the unipolar voltage source (231), (the converters terminal is coupled to the panel 231) and an output terminal coupled to a common connection point (113); and,
a power combiner unit (PCU) (110) electrically connected to the common connection point, and comprises a capacitor voltage sensing circuit (Par 0018, sensing DC voltage would also include sensing the voltage of the capacitor since a capacitor is a DC device), wherein:
each of the HCMs are locally connected to an external power source (129, par 0015) distributedly placed to independently generate a distinct power output to an output port of a corresponding HCM, wherein, at the output terminal, the first HCA and the second HCA each generates an alternating current (AC) power based on the distinct power output generate by each of the parallelly connected HCMs; (each converter 125 is coupled to a transformer 128 which indicates that the output is AC) and
the PCU is physically separated from the HCMs and is configured to remotely measure an electrical property comprising remote sensing of capacitor voltages of the HCMs at the common connection point, such that the PCU adaptively regulate AC power generated at the connection point based on the measured electrical property. (Par 0017)
Pan does not disclose each HCA comprises one or more serially connected hybrid converter modules.
However, Postiglione discloses connecting hybrid converters modules in series and it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing of the invention to have coupled them in series increases output voltage and efficiency for high-voltage needs, ideal for long-distance power transmission.
Re Claim 10; Postiglione discloses wherein the PCU comprises a capacitor voltage sensing circuit, and the electrical property comprises voltages of a capacitor of each of the HCMs at the common connection point. a power combiner unit (PCU) electrically connected to the common connection point, and comprises a capacitor voltage sensing circuit, wherein: (control unit 12; ¶¶ [0052], [0058]; the sensing circuit is supplied below See the rejection of claim 1).
Re Claims 11, 13; Pan discloses wherein the capacitor voltage sensing circuit is configured to measure the capacitor voltage across all HCMs based on measurements of voltages at connection points between the HCMs.
Pan does not disclose
wherein the capacitor voltage sensing circuit is configured to estimate an average capacitor voltage across all HCMs based on measurements of voltages at connection points between the HCMs.
However, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing of the invention to have estimate an average capacitor voltage across all HCMs based on measurements of voltages at connection points between the HCMs in order of Effective Balancing Strategy: The estimated average voltage is crucial for balancing algorithms that manage capacitor voltages, thus preventing overvoltage conditions and ensuring consistent operation.
Re Claims 12; Pan discloses wherein the capacitor voltage sensing circuit is configured to detect voltage imbalances between HCMs and trigger compensatory switching adjustments to maintain balanced operation. (because all the sensing system is coupled to the plant controller which balances the entire circuit, it would by definition detect voltage imbalances between HCMs and trigger compensatory switching adjustments to maintain balanced operation)
Re Claim 14; Pan discloses wherein each HCM further comprises a local controller (unit controller) configured to autonomously regulate an output power of the HCM based on solar input conditions at the input port. (Par 0025)
Re Claim 15; Pan discloses wherein each HCM comprises a DC-DC converter electrically connected to the input port and configured to perform maximum power point tracking for a solar panel connected to the input port, wherein the input port comprises a solar port configured to an independent solar panel. (Fig. 1 and see Par 0025)
Re Claim 16; Pan discloses wherein the local controller is configured to implement an independent maximum power point tracking algorithm. (Par 0046)
Re Claim 17; Pan discloses further comprises a second hybrid converter leg having the same structure as the hybrid converter leg, and connected in parallel to the hybrid converter leg and the unipolar voltage source, wherein: a second connection point connecting a third HCA and a fourth HCA of the second hybrid converter leg is electrically coupled to the output terminal; and the PCU adaptively regulate AC power generated at the output terminal based on the measured electrical property at both the hybrid converter leg and the second hybrid converter leg. (Fig. 1)
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments filed 09/19/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that independent claim 8 stands rejected under Section 103 as being unpatentable over Pan. In doing so, the Office Action asserts Pan teaches every feature of that claim, except that "Pan does not disclose each HCA comprises- Pag one or more serially connected hybrid converter modules." To overcome that deficiency of Pan, the Office Action asserts that it would have been obvious to couple HCAs in series because such a configuration "increases output voltage and efficiency for high-voltage needs, ideal for long distance power transmission." Applicant respectfully disagrees because (i) Pan fails to disclose "each HCA comprises ... a reference voltage terminal connected to one end of the unipolar voltage source" and (ii) the Official Notice taken by the Office Action is improperly supported.
i. Pan fails to disclose "each HCA comprises . . . a reference voltage terminal connected to one end of the unipolar voltage source"
However, the examiner respectfully disagrees, as shown in Fig. 1 converter 125 was relied on as the claimed converter and it comprises HCA rightly identified as 233 and 260 respectfully. PV sources 123 were also identified as the unipolar source which are directly connected to the converter and by virtue connected to the HCA to form the electrical circuits.
The reference voltage terminal was understood to be any terminal used by the HCA to connect to the unipolar voltage source.
The claim limitations are matched and identified by reference. There isn’t any claimed limitation missing in the mapping. Emphasis added.
Applicant further argue
Independent claim 1 recites "a unipolar voltage source," "a first hybrid converter arm (HCA)," and a "second HCA," wherein "each HCA comprises one or more serially connected hybrid converter modules (HCMs), a reference voltage terminal connected to one end of the unipolar voltage source, and an output terminal coupled to a common connection point." (Emphasis added). That is, each HCA includes a reference voltage terminal coupled to the same unipolar voltage source - not different unipolar voltage sources. For example, a simplified architecture of such an embodiment is shown in FIG. 4 of Applicant's application in which upper arm 402 includes a terminal coupled to a first end of a battery and lower arm 504 includes a terminal coupled to a second end of the battery.
Conversely, as shown in FIG. 2, Pan teaches several DC-DC optimizer 233 "legs" and a DC-DC converter 260 "leg," which the Office Action has interpreted as the recited first and second hybrid converter arms (HCAs). Each DC-DC optimizer 233 "leg" includes a DC-DC optimizer 233 coupled to an associated, independent PV power source 123, and the DC-DC converter 260 "leg" includes the DC-DC converter 260 and a dedicated energy storage device 250. Additionally, the Office Action has interpreted the wind power source 121 or the PV power source 123 as the recited unipolar voltage source. However,- Page 13 of 18 -
none of the DC-DC optimizer 233 "legs" nor the DC-DC converter 260 "leg" of Pan include a terminal that is coupled to the same "unipolar voltage source." In particular, no two DC-DC optimizer 233 "leg" nor the DC-DC converter 260 "leg" is coupled to the same wind power source 121, PV power source 123, PV panel 231, or energy storage device 250. Rather, each DC-DC optimizer 233 "leg" is coupled to its own, dedicated PV panel 231 (or wind power source 121 or PV power source 123) and the DC-DC converter 260 is coupled to its own, dedicated energy storage device 250. As such, Pan fails to disclose, at least, each HCA comprises . . . a reference voltage terminal connected to one end of the unipolar voltage source," as recited in independent claim.
The examiner has provided a reference to support the official notice taken by introducing Postiglione (Fig. 12) which is similar to applicants fig. 4 in order to advance prosecution.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIEL KESSIE/
10/16/2026
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836