DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
a three-dimensional model acquisition unit that acquires a three-dimensional model of a target tissue in claims 1 and 12;
a cross section conversion unit that converts an ultrasound scanning plane including the target tissue into a model space cross section in claims 1 and 12;
a target tissue region specifying unit that specifies a target tissue region … by cutting out the three- dimensional model along the model space cross section in claims 1 and 12;
a display control unit that displays an ultrasound tomographic image … in claims 1-6 and 12;
a color Doppler processing unit that forms a color Doppler image … in claims 7-10; and
an image quality adjustment unit that adjusts an image quality of the ultrasound tomographic image … in claim 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 5, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bashir et al. WO 2024042468 A1 (“Bashir”).
Regarding claims 1 and 12, Bashir discloses an ultrasound diagnosis support apparatus (Fig. 1) or non-transitory computer readable storage medium ([0049]) that stores an ultrasound diagnostic support program for causing a computer to function as:
a three-dimensional model acquisition unit that acquires a three-dimensional model of a target tissue, which is formed based on medical volume data acquired by a medical device ([0065-0066] – preoperative images are received by image processing device 56, which may be provided by any other computing devices, [0068] - the 3D model may be generated by another computing device, a communication interface between image processing device 56 and another computing device is an inherent feature as the model has to be received/acquired; this is taken as an equivalent thereof acquisition model discussed in [0033] of instant specification as filed, and Fig. 3, “communication interface 30”);
a cross section conversion unit that converts an ultrasound scanning plane including the target tissue into a model space cross section, which is a cross section in a model space of the three-dimensional model, based on position and orientation information indicating a current position and orientation of an ultrasound probe that performs ultrasound scanning in the ultrasound scanning plane ([0078] “After the ultrasound probe 70 is localized, the ultrasound probe 70 is used to obtain ultrasound images of the tissue” – localized ultrasound probe includes position and orientation; [0079] “…image processing device 56 is also configured to construct a 3D ultrasound volume from the segmented ultrasound images”; [0086] “… the image processing device 56 registers the constructed ultrasound volume with the 3D model …” – i.e., the image processing device comprise a module that performs the entirety of this function as noted above, this is taken as an equivalent thereof cross section conversion unit discussed in [0032] and [0049] of instant specification as filed.
a target tissue region specifying unit that specifies a target tissue region, which is a region occupied by the target tissue in the ultrasound scanning plane, by cutting out the three- dimensional model along the model space cross section ([0014] the image processing model is configured to transfer a slice of the 3D model to a corresponding 2D ultrasound image, [0086] regarding the image processing device 56 registering ultrasound image with 3D model that involves transferring preoperative image or model slices to intraoperative image slices, note [0087] prior to registering landmarks are identified, i.e., target tissue is specified, as such the image processing module 56 comprises a module that performs this function and is taken as an equivalent thereof target tissue region specifying unit described in [0057] of the specification as filed); and
a display control unit that displays an ultrasound tomographic image, which is formed based on a reception signal obtained by transmitting and receiving an ultrasonic wave to and from the target tissue at the current position and orientation of the ultrasound probe, on a display unit and that displays the target tissue region in a superimposed manner on the ultrasound tomographic image ([0079],[0089]).
Regarding claim 4, see [0079], regarding segmented landmarks are displayed as different colored overlays (i.e. different aspects).
Regarding claim 5, see [0090] regarding overlay to identify margins of tissue of interest e.g. tumor “T” in an organ “O” which are attribute information regarding target tissue.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bashir as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Mory et al. US 20220005258 A1 (“Mory”).
Regarding claims 2-3, Bashir does not explicitly disclose the limitations in claims 2-4. However, Mory discloses a display control unit that changes aspect of a target region in response to an instruction form an examiner ([0028] regarding a user input device configured to receive user inputs for manipulating an image, thus changing a display aspect); the user input can be used to set a desired amount of foreground information or background information ([0045] regarding user control e.g. a slider, by adjusting amount of background or foreground information).
Claims 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bashir as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tremblay-Darveau et al. US 20230073704 A1 (“Tremblay”).
Regarding claims 7-10, while Bashir discloses wherein the target tissue includes vessels ([0087]), Bashir does not explicitly disclose a color Doppler processing unit. However, Tremblay discloses an improved technique of rendering blood vessels ([0003-0004]) by use of a color Doppler processing unit (160 – Fig. 1), while maintaining quantitative information provided by color Doppler ([0016]). The color Doppler processing unit forms a color Doppler image based on the specified tissue target (i.e., vessel) and set a color Doppler region of interest based on the target tissue region and set a color Doppler velocity range based on the target tissue corresponding to the target region ([0026], [0028], [0048], [0060]).
In view of these teachings, at the time of filing the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have modified Bashir to include a color Doppler processing unit to render the vessels in Bashir, while maintaining quantitative information provided by color Doppler as taught by Tremblay.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The prior art fails to reasonable disclose or render obvious the combination of features recited in claim 6, specifically the combination of specifying a registration target as specified in the claim, and the display control unit displaying the images as specified, before conversion processing is performed by the cross section conversion unit.
Conclusion
/BONIFACE N NGANGA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797